Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Mercury Sable Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 052011

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Mercury Sable. The contact was driving in reverse 3 mph and in a residential driveway when the vehicle stopped moving. The engine was still running. While inspecting the vehicle, he found that the front coil spring had fractured and punctured the front driver side tire. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 132,000. Updated 05/24/11 updated 05/26/11

- Belfast, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 012009

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns 1998 Mercury Sable. Several mechanics stated that the rear suspension and the rear coil springs failed. The dealer stated that the rear coil spring corroded and was related to a manufacturers recall; however, the VIN was not a part of the recall. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and the failure mileages were 80,000. Updated 10/21/09 the consumer was also informed the front coil springs were defective as well. Updated 10/23/09

- Wharthon , NJ, USA

problem #13

Dec 212007

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles
98 Sable wagon. (spring plate gave and spring blew out tire and damaged front end rods or arms, shock according to Ford service analysis) and left front end almost sitting on the ground. According to Ford analysis). I thought it was just a blow out so I had aaa come to tow it to my dealership. When the aaa driver saw the damage, he said he's seen this several times and that there was a safety recall out for this specific situation. Ford dealership looked up recalls for my car and said there was one for what happened to my car but it was for 99 and newer models and that there was nothing they could do about repairing it under a recall. I called Ford corporate customer service and they told me that there was nothing they could do and wouldn't invest their money into repairing my car. Fortunate for me the incident occurred while backing out of my driveway. If it were on the highway, it would have been a catastrophe. I've been told that the 98S and 99S are very similar, so I don't understand why Ford wouldn't make the repairs at their cost under the safety recall.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #12

May 271998

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was just pulling out of work when I heard my front drivers side tire exploded. I was still in the parking lot going less than 10 mph. When I got the tire off I noticed that my spring had broken and was rubbing up against my tire causing my low-speed blowout. Ford has acknowledged that there is a problem with these springs due to rust and corrosion, but have only recalled the 99-01 models. I would like Ford to look into extending the recall as I know I am not the only 98 owner to experience such an issue. I am thankful, though, that this did happen in a parking lot. I was only two minutes away from getting on I-75, and probably could have lost my life.

- Ecorse, MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 212006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,267 miles
: the contact stated while backing out of the garage a loud bang was heard. When the consumer exited the vehicle the front driver side tire was observed to be flat. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, where it was determined the coil spring fractured causing the flat tire. The coil spring has been replaced. Updated 08/14/06.

- Manchester, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Jun 192006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph the right front coil spring fractured and blew out the right front tire. The dealership has been informed. Updated 07/25/06.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #9

May 042006

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noise from front during turns. Took car to shop same day and was told the driver front coil spring had fractured and rubbing on tire during turns. This is the second fractured coil spring on this car. Both rear coil springs were replaced 4/20/05 after the passenger side rear spring fractured (reported to NHTSA -ODI 10146034). Broken front coil spring replaced 5/4/06. Was told by shop we were lucky the tire didn't blow.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 082005

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 174,030 miles
Got into vehicle and heard a sudden snapping noise. Vehicle was parked in the driveway and the left front coil spring sheared off. Driver contacted the dealer for appointment.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #7

Jan 032004

Sable

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
While parked front driver's side coil spring failed. As a result, the tire was punctured. One month later, the front passenger side failed. Consumer doesn't know if first failure was occurred while parked or while moving it out of 3ft of snow. Consumer couldn't see it until moved from snow, 2nd failure occurred in the parking lot. Both times it ripped a 12' whole in the tire. Consumer neighbor also has the same model vehicle and the same problem. Consumer had to replace both coil springs and tires.

- Forest City, NC, USA

problem #6

Feb 202004

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,926 miles
While the tow truck driver was backing the consumer car out of the garage noticed a scraping noise. Tow truck driver found that the coil spring broke and punctured the left tire. Dealer was contacted. Dealer informed consumer that the vehicle was not covered under a manufacturer's recall. The consumer stated that the front springs, struts, sway bar needed to be replaced.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #5

Jan 012003

Sable

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving left spring popped and punctured the tire, causing it to blow out. One year later the same incident happened with the right side.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #4

Jul 222004

Sable

  • 92,000 miles
Recall 04V332000 concerning front coil springs failure. Dealership did not repair the problem, because the VIN was not included.

- West Hurley, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 152004

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
Car set in driveway and left front spring broke.

- Dansville, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 122003

Sable

  • 51,800 miles
While driving at 20 mph, the front coil spring failed, and punctured the passenger side tire.

- North Bennington, VT, USA

problem #1

May 222001

Sable

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While consumer was backing out of driveway front coil spring broke, and went through the tire. Dealership was aware of problem.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?