If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.1

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,998 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mercury Sable suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mercury Sable:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mercury Sable Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jan 012011

Sable 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am writing the NHTSA in order to warn of a dangerous, potentially fatal, hazardous condition on a Mercury automobile. To the best of my knowledge this condition has been addressed by a previous recall notice on earlier year models of the Mercury Sable but not on the year model that I own. I own a 2002 Mercury Sable. In February of 2010 I had a flat tire on my driver's rear side when pulling out of a parking lot. When I removed the tire I found that a spring had broken and punctured the side of the tire and had cut the tire in a circular motion causing a rapid expulsion of air. On January 1 of 2011 the driver's side front tire flattened while pulling out of a parking lot. The same thing had happened again. The spring had broken and punctured the side of the tire. After the second occurrence I searched the internet for information to see if others have had similar experiences and found NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000. Campaign id number 04V332000 exactly describes the conditions that I have on my vehicle. However, my vehicle is a 2002 Mercury Sable and the recall covers 1999-2001 and does not address the rear springs. Were these to occur at highway speeds this may have caused serious injuries or fatalities. This condition has the potential to cause loss of control to the vehicle and needs to be addressed by Ford Motor Company immediately in order to warn the public of this dangerous condition. Expansion of the recall should include the later year models and the rear springs of all vehicles that utilize these springs and engineering design. I purchased this vehicle used at a Ford/Mercury dealership and have never received a notice, recall or otherwise, concerning this condition.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

problem #23

Jun 152010

Sable

  • 69,000 miles
2002 Mercury Sable with 60,000 miles and always garaged. Rear spring broke on smooth city street puncturing and shredding tire causing violent jerk and sliding of rear of vehicle. I understand front springs are covered under recall 04V332000 but Ford claims they don't have to do anything about the rear. If it is established that springs are defective why does front versus rear make any difference?

- St John, IN, USA

problem #22

Apr 202010

Sable

  • 70,000 miles
Both rear suspension coil springs on my 2002 Mercury Sable broke at the same time. They have been replaced. Why isn't this a recall since it seems to be a common problem with both the Sable and Ford Taurus?

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #21

Feb 152008

Sable

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Suspension spring braking.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 272009

Sable

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph in the driveway and heard a loud noise outside of the vehicle. He immediately shut the engine off and observed that the rear driver side strut was broken. The vehicle is in the process of being taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. There are photographs available of the defective component. The failure and current mileages were 125,000.

- Edinburgh, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Aug 272009

Sable

  • 55,030 miles
This complaint may be relative to NHTSA action number EA08018. This is in regards to my 2002 Mercury Sable. On 8-27-09 I was driving at a slow speed on a residential street when I heard and felt a loud pop followed by a friction grinding and before I could slow to a stop, my rear tire blew. Both rear coil springs had broken with one of the springs piercing a tire. Replacement of the rear assemblies and tire cost me approximately $1200. I feel that if I was going at a higher rate of speed, I would have been in a dangerous accident. I was headed to the expressway that day and was glad I never made it to a high rate of speed. Today on 1-3-2010, I was backing my car from a garage when I heard the loud pop again followed by the hissing of my right front tire. This time the right front coil spring cracked and pierced my tire. Affording to fix this defect is one headache. I am looking at tow and repair fees. Worrying when the final coil will break concerns me more, as I drive the highway alot. This defect should be recalled. As of the time of this complaint, my vehicle has yet to be repaired, and I will save the old parts for examination if requested. I do live in a "salt belt state", Illinois, but my car is garage kept. It only has 56,000 miles on it. I have owned this vehicle since 2004 and not only has it been garage kept, but never used to haul heavy loads or anything to compromise the coil springs. They just snap and tear up your tires.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

May 282009

Sable

  • 55,623 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Mercury Sable that has only 55,623 miles on it. Both of the rear springs broke. The spring on the drivers side broke in a way that it punctured the tire. Thankfully I happened to be backing out of my drive way when I heard the noise of the spring rubbing and not on the highway when the tire was punctured. I think the springs should last longer than 55,000 miles. I contacted my dealer who said this was not covered under any warranty. I was also told by the dealer that many other people have had this same problem. I contacted Ford and they will not cover this repair. I think that this could be a very dangerous failure when the spring can break in a way that it pops the tire since people could be driving at highway speeds. Ford should be recalling this vehicle and replacing these springs.

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #17

Mar 132009

Sable 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Mercury Sable. While the vehicle was undergoing a state inspection, the contact was informed that the rear coil springs failed. He heard a rattling noise coming from the rear of the vehicle prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they confirmed the rear coil spring failure. The coil springs, stabilizer mounts, and two stabilizers were replaced at the cost of $1,198. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 73,000 and current mileage was 73,010. Updated 04-14-09 updated 04/16/09.

- Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #16

Feb 272009

Sable

  • 70,000 miles
02 Mercury Sable has broken rear spring that caused the tire to explode. It is going to cost $450 to have repaired plus a new tire. After reading numerous other complaints about the same, I am afraid this may also happen on the front end. The care only has 70,000 miles and there is no sign on rust.

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #15

Dec 242008

Sable

  • 63,000 miles
In mid-December 2008 I purchased 4 new tires for my 2002 Mercury Sable. On December 24, 2008 while driving home I had a catastrophic failure of my rear passenger tire. When the tire was pulled, it was determined that the rear coil spring had broken, puncturing the tire. I found the following on a website: "the Office Of Defects Investigation (ODI) has received 355 complaints from consumers residing in "salt belt" states that allege front suspension coil spring fracture in the subject vehicles. (note: For purposes of this investigation, the "salt belt" includes Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia and Wisconsin).approximately 72% of the complainants allege the broken coil spring punctured the adjacent tire. Resulting in loss of inflation pressure. ODI is aware of 3 alleged crashes related to the alleged defect resulting in one person injured.the subject vehicles are substantially similar to those previously investigated by ODI (PE02-080 and PE04-044) and recalled by Ford (NHTSA recall no. 04V-332).an engineering analysis has been opened to assess the frequency, scope and safety consequences of the alleged defect." I would appreciate it if someone could review this complaint.

- Scotia, NY, USA

problem #14

Jan 122009

Sable

  • 25,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a catastrophic blowout on rear tire. This was caused by the failure of the coil spring on the left strut. I was able to get home and my local mechanic replaced both rear struts. The cost was more than a weeks pay.

- Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #13

May 152007

Sable

  • 120,000 miles
3 of 4 springs broke on Sable at a hotel in Indiana. 2 rear springs and 1 front spring. Vehicle was not moving. Repair included 2 tires, 1 rear strut, one front steering bar and all four springs also required rental vehicle for 1 week, and an additional trip to indianapolis to get the repaired vehicle.

- Davisburg, MI, USA

problem #12

Nov 272008

Sable

  • 72,000 miles
Had normal tire maintenance (rotation), was advised both rear coil springs on my 2002 Mercury Sable were broken and would need replacement. Mechanic indicated this was a common problem with the 2002 Sable and Taurus models. With spring replacement, also had to replace the shocks/struts and control bars to the anti sway. Total price of repairs was $624 searching on the internet, found this problem is common among other 2002 Sable/Taurus owners.

- Grosse Point Woods, MI, USA

problem #11

Aug 062008

Sable

  • 83,736 miles
While having tires rotated at sam's club, the technician notified me that both rear springs were broken.

- Cold Spring, MN, USA

problem #10

Oct 022008

Sable

  • 76,600 miles
I took my 2002 Mercury Sable sedan in to the dealer to have the oil changed and the front left tire checked. When I called to pick up the car, I was told that the left front inner tie rods were loose and that the rear coils/springs were all broken. There are only 76,600 miles on the car. We are the only owners. The repair cost was nearly $1,000. This needs to be addressed by Ford. Very dangerous. And unheard of for a 6 yr old car with low mileage.

- Warren, RI, USA

problem #9

Jun 012008

Sable

  • 92,000 miles
Earlier this year my front spring broke and put a hole in my tire - thank goodness I was not driving - I was just pulling out of my parking place at work. When we took it to the garage to have it fixed they mentioned that my back ones were also broken and needed replaced. The technician told me that this is common in these cars and that I should try to find out about the recall on these parts from Ford. I own a 2002 Mercury Sable. But apparently due to most of the reading I have been doing the recall only went until 2001. But I see that many many people with 2002 & 2003 cars are having the same issue.

- Middlefield, OH, USA

problem #8

Sep 042008

Sable

  • 51,011 miles
2002 Mercury Sable with 51,000 miles - took car in for an oil change; dealer informed me that both rear coil springs were broke, almost touching the rear tires. Replaced those but then heard & felt thump in back; dealer said the strut was broke on the right rear & left rear was almost broke. Now both struts are being replaced. Told by dealer there were many complaints about the Sable front and rear springs but no recall as of yet for the rear. How can that be if so many people are having this problem? can this be researched - there are a lot of people being affected by this. I am a senior with limited income! I could have been in an accident! please help!!!!!

- Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 022008

Sable

  • 49,000 miles
2002 Mercury Sable both rear coil springs in suspension are broken.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #6

Aug 172008

Sable

  • 91,000 miles
2002 Mercury Sable. Rear springs and struts sagging causing low/unstable ride and crunching noise. Service attendant said condition could be dangerous and is common problem with Sable/Taurus.

- Delanco, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jul 082008

Sable

  • 117,000 miles
Own a 2002 Mercury Sable sedan and on 2-11-08 had to replace both front coil spring/struts at a cost of aprox. $ 1200. Now on 7-9-08 we will have to replaced both the rear coil/spring assemblies. I know there is a recall up to 2001 for the front. Nothing for 2002.

- Corning, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?