Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems are a major issue with the 2005 Mini Cooper, with hundreds of owners reporting complaints to the NHTSA about their power steering suddenly failing while driving.

Some power steering failures have caused crashes & injuries. Average mileage at failure is well under 100,000 miles & the repair cost is over $1,000. Not good.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,075 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mini Cooper steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mini Cooper Owner Comments

problem #15

Sep 012009

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 37,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper S. the contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the steering wheel would not turn in either direction. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and they advised her that the power steering pump and assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately one and a half years later while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they advised her that the power steering pump failed again and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the power steering pump. The manufacturer was contacted on both occasions and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 37,800. The VIN was unavailable. The consumer stated one incident occurred on 01-Sep-2009 with 37800 failure mileage and again on 16-Feb-2012 at 53827 updated 06/07/12

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #14

Oct 092011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 44,776 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper convertible. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph the power steering became unresponsive. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the power steering pump was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 44,776. Updated 01/18/12 the stated she experienced a total failure of the power steering as she rounded a curve. The sudden loss of power steering forced her off the road and nearly into a ditch. The consumer was informed it would cost $1400 to replace the steering pump. Updated 02/28/12

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 092011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The power steering on my 2005 MINICooper convertible suddenly failed on a turn, nearly causing me to go into a ditch. My MINIdealer told me it was probably the power steering pump & would cost $1400 to replace. I researched the problem on the internet & found this was a common issue with the MINIcooper & that an investigation was taking place into the defective pump & that a recall might be forthcoming. I called MINIusa's customer service dept. Their rep told me that they were aware of the issue & that they might be able to offer "goodwill" assistance in getting it replaced if I took it to my dealer for verification that it was a pump failure. I took it to the dealer who verified that the pump needed replaced. Their service department said this had been a common problem & that they were aware of the complaints made about the pump going bad. I called MINIusa's customer service, spoke to a supervisor who told me she'd get back to me. A week later, she called & told me that my request for assistance has been denied & that I would be responsible for the replacement. I strongly feel that, in light of the numerous complaints about the power steering pump, BMW/MINIshould be held accountable for its replacement. $1400 is an incredible amount of money to replace something that shouldn't have gone bad in the first place. There are no local mechanics who can take repair this so MINIusa/BMW has us right where they want us - powerless to fight a big company & helpless because we need our vehicles. I would have never expected this to happen on a car with less than 45,000 miles on it. Suddenly losing one's power steering can be extremely dangerous. I encourage NHTSA to further investigate this vehicle's power steering pump defect & issue a recall to ensure the safety of the vehicle's drivers, passengers & anyone who could be injured due to sudden loss of its power steering.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #12

Sep 042011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 62,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The contact mentioned that she was able to merge onto the shoulder but was not able to continue driving. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the steering pump was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 62,300 and the current mileage was 64,000. The power steering pump was replaced. Updated 10/18/11 updated evoq 11/01/11.

- San Francisco , CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 022011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Power steering pump failed while driving on the freeway, resulting in loss of steering control.

- Pleasant Hill, CA, USA

problem #10

May 312011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper convertible. The contact stated the steering column locked and the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated there was a failure with the steering electric power assist. The cost would be $1000 for the repairs. The dealer stated they would give her a return call if they repair the vehicle under warranty. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 07/08/11 the dealer replaced the power steering pump. Updated 07/29/11

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #9

May 082011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper. The contact stated the power steering failed, without warning, while driving approximately 55 mph. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road and shut off. He inspected the vehicle and was unable to detect a failure. The contact restarted the vehicle and resumed operation with the steering failure. The contact planned to take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 57,000. Updated 06/03/11 the consumer was informed by the dealer that the power steering pump failed. Updated 06/13/11

- Glen Allen , VA, USA

problem #8

Jan 292011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 33,950 miles
The power steering pump failed suddenly and was unable to turn the car. Updated 08/24/11 updated 08/29/11

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 102010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper. The contact stated while driving various speeds, there was a loss of power steering. The contact was able to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to both the dealer and independent mechanic and they informed the contact that the electric power steering pump would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 2/23/11

- Wilmington , DE, USA

problem #6

Jan 292010

Cooper

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler MINICooper. The contact was driving 10 mph and attempting to park the vehicle when the steering wheel became extremely stiff without warning. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer where the dealer diagnosed the vehicle and located the failure at the power steering pump. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Portland , MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 022010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 104,304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper S. the contact was driving approximately 5 mph when the steering wheel became extremely stiff. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the contact was informed that the power steering pump would need to be replaced, but it was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 104,304. Updated 01/20/11 the power steering pump was replaced on October 15, 2010. Updated 03/28/11 updated 03/28/11

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #4

May 172009

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper. The contact stated that while driving and trying to make a turn, the power steering would fail occasionally. He would continue turning the steering wheel with much difficulty. The failure became progressively worse until the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 70,000. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 01/06/11 updated 03/30/11

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 272010

Cooper

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper S. the contact stated that the power steering failed suddenly with no prior warning. A local mechanic stated that the electronic power steering pump failed which caused the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were approximately 51,000.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 092010

Cooper

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 MINICooper S. as he was making a left turn at 5 mph, the power steering pump locked without warning and caused uncontrollable hard steering. The dealer advised that the power steering pump would need to be replaced. The manufacturer advised there were no recalls and the failure was normal for his year, make and model. The contact advised the vehicle would be replaced by an independent mechanic. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 082007

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 53,000 miles
Absolutely no unusual noises or any other symptoms leading up to the failure. Car has about 53,000 miles on it, power steering pump failed- car is now exceedingly difficult to steer & a safety hazard to drive. Thankfully I was driving at low speed when the failure occurred, so no crashes or injuries occurred. Power steering pump & fan will need to be replaced, but have not had it done yet, as I am told it will cost approximately $1500 for this repair & I am about 3000 miles out of warranty now. I have also heard this is a common problem in 2002-2006 MINICoopers.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

Not what you are looking for?