Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,654 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mini Cooper fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mini Cooper Owner Comments

problem #2

Feb 022010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 7,308 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brand new vehicle was towed in for repair at 7,308 miles 1/27/10 vehicle was brought in for service due to misfires 1/27/810. MINIservice cleaned fuel system and provided "courtesy" first time injector service. Vehicle was returned to me and brought back the next day for the same misfire faults 2/2/10, high pressure fuel pump was replaced and fuel rail was removed. 7,318 miles, 10 miles later... the vehicle was towed in again for combustion misfires 24,491 miles 8/12/11 brought vehicle in for strange noise, MINIsaid it was nothing to worry about. 24,783 miles 8/18/11 vehicle was towed in due to engine seizing...turbo carbon build up, turbo feed line issues 33,124 miles 01/31/12 vehicle was making noises, brought in to service, MINIsaid they would need to inspect the car closer to see what was going on. I scheduled a service and loaner for 2/1/12 (report said that there were misfire issues, I was not informed...until I noticed it on the report a week later) 33,250 miles 2/1/12 vehicle was towed in engine seized, engine completely replaced. MINIclaims that this is not a lemon in any way and that I will need to continue to pay for my lease until the contract end. I feel unsafe driving a car, with a track record of seizing or misfiring at any time on a highway or road, putting me in a very dangerous situation.

- Bernardsville, NJ, USA

problem #1

Sep 162010

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
I own a 2006 MINIcooper and recently, at 62,000 miles had an issue with the cylinders losing compression. I was told it was due to carbon build-up which "pitted" the valves as a result of ethanol in gasoline. I was also told that this is becoming a frequent problem with MINIcoopers because the car can not handle the gasoline with ethanol, as they are intended to be run on pure gas. So due to the ethanol mixture, this is going to be an issue. Shouldn't these cars sold here in the United States be able to run on the gasoline that is available here" I have used high-octane premium gas only in my car. I was told that I had done nothing wrong, yet was still financially responsible for the entire repair. I have an extended warranty on the vehicle purchased through the dealer and have followed the MINImanual in terms of fuel to use. They told me they are seeing this problem more and more frequently in the MINIIt sounds to me like this is a vehicle problem and perhaps deserves a recall. Is this something you can help me with" they cleaned, machined and tested the cylinders and replaced the valves at a cost to me of $4800. Thank you.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?