Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,486 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mini Cooper seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mini Cooper Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #152

Aug 012014

Cooper

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag sensor in the detection mat of the passenger's front seat does not recognize passenger. The air bag light for the passenger in the front panel is intermittent, putting at risk of not deploying the air bag during an accident. The light will come up even when I have a purse on the seat or with a full grown adult (over 150 pounds). I recently called 2 local MINIdealers in southern California (July 2015) regarding this and both stated the same: That they have not received the spare part required for this recall and cannnot perform until MINIprovides them with an authorization letter. Called immediately the MINIcustomer service line for recalls (1-866-825-1525) to find out when this will be solved since this has been on ongoing issue since mid 2014. MINIs customer service representative stated that we needed to wait until a new re-design of this sensor in the detection mat is available from them in order to provide this spare part to the dealers. In the meantime, we are putting at risk any passenger who will ride in our cars for an issue that has been known by MINIfor over a year!

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #151

Jun 012015

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper. The contac stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,500. Updated 10/27/15.

- Courtland, OH, USA

problem #150

Jun 042015

Cooper

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper S. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans , LA, USA

problem #149

Jun 242015

Cooper

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #148

Feb 032014

Cooper

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the passenger side air bag sensor light illuminated. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags) in June of 2015. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the contact was informed that the parts needed to remedy the failure would not be available until August of 2015. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Vienna , VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #147

May 012015

Cooper

  • 120,000 miles
The air bag light came on and stays on constantly now regardless of whether there is a passenger in the car or not. Because it is the air bag light located on the center panel where all the lights and gauges are located rather than the one up by the rear view mirror that refers to the passenger seat only, I assume that at this time the air bag system is not operational. Is there a recall for the air bag system on this car? if so, I have not been notified.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #146

May 282015

Cooper

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light is malfunctioning on my MINICooper S convertible. It says on the MINICooper compliant list there is an issue. The dealer says its a seat problem, requiring $1,800 for a new seat. This site shows 14 other cars with the same issue. I don't know if the airbag will truly work if I was in an accident. No recall has be issued as of 5-28-2015. Please help us get this fixed.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #145

May 012014

Cooper

  • 42,000 miles
The passenger side airbag light will not turn off. Seat cannot detect passenger and disable airbag. There is a recall going on, but it did not include my VIN number. MINIusa representative gave no answer, no timeline, no additional information. Just told me to wait. I cannot believe that's BMW/MINI

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #144

Feb 052015

Cooper

  • 44,421 miles
I am on my 4th passenger seat mat since purchasing this vehicle new in January 2007. In April I found a manufacturer recall part 573 safety recall report 15V-205 that listed the vehicles affected by this recall. My vehicle was manufactured on Nov 18, 2006 within the production date range. I have not received any information regarding this recall and can no longer find the recall on this site. As mentioned, this is my 4th front passenger seat occupant detection mat sensor. I would like information on what the procedure is to recover my costs associated with the last replacement of the sensor.

- Lafayette, , IN, USA

problem #143

Oct 202014

Cooper

  • 66,865 miles
Passenger seat airbag warning light illuminated and remains on. Inspection is due 5/31/2015 so I had it diagnosed by MINIdealer. Diagnosis was a fault in the sensor system in a module located in the dashboard, behind the glove box - repair cost, $2,000+. they said they had never before experienced a failure in this part. To my understanding, this is not related to the recall in process, which has to do with the sensor in the seat itself (which I have already replaced, December 2012.).

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #142

Aug 152014

Cooper

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger seat air bag warning light comes on regardless of the seat occupancy. It is unclear if the air bag is operational or not.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #141

Feb 052014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp continued to flicker off and on even though the front passenger seat was occupied. The authorized dealer was notified of the failure several months ago and the vehicle was not repaired. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 5/26/15 updated 05/29/15

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #140

Apr 212013

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 44,377 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper S. the contact stated that the passenger seat air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. Updated 6/11/15

- Blue Springs , MO, USA

problem #139

Sep 302014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper S. the contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V205000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 7/8/15

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #138

Jul 012014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Passenger airbag light constant on and disabled even if I have passenger. There are numerous attempts to talk to the san francisco dealer to have to defect fix the previous owner not able to afford to get it fix.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #137

Jun 012009

Cooper

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 MINICooper. The contact stated that the frontal passenger air bag warning light remained illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #136

Mar 142014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 46,220 miles
The passenger seat air bag light came on and will not go off. I was advised by an authorized MINIcopper mechanic that the passenger seat air bag sensor is bad. It's my understanding that MINIcooper usa is not owning up to their responsibility to recall and repair what could possibly be a life safety problem. The leather seat is practically new and there's no excuse for this faulty air bag sensor seat/equipment. There was a recall for BMW's with the same issue. It's very disappointing.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #135

Aug 192014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 49,306 miles
The passenger air bag sensor stopped working. Now, even when there is someone in the passenger seat, the airbag is deactivated. The air bag sensor in the seat needs to work in order for the airbags to deploy-- and all of these systems are down due to a faulty sensor!

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #134

Jan 012015

Cooper

  • miles
My 2006 BMW MINICooper S passenger air bag light sporadically is showing that it is deactivated regardless if there is a full sized adult or no one in the passenger seat. This has been a on going problem/concern will my passengers be protected in the event of a crash since the air bags are showing that they are shut off will they still work? I had it checked out at authorized MINIdealer and they said the entire passenger seat needs to be replaced because the seat sensor was sending off faulty signals. This is ridiculous - $2000! I have been researching this and it is an onging issue with this model. BMW had a similar problem with another one of their models and it had to be recalled. The same should happen with this car. They are putting peoples lives at risk with they install faulty passenger seat sensors and are charging an arm and a leg to fix their faulty part. Something needs to be done.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #133

Aug 262014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 94,410 miles
Air bag warning light (passenger side) on the dashboard came on intermittently at first and now stays on all of the time, regardless if someone is sitting in the passenger seat or not. Took the vehicle to the local MINIdealer (international autos, milwaukee, wi) and was told that there was a "faulted air bag OC3 mat" that could be repaired/replaced for $1163. As this was an obvious safety issue unrelated to the age or accumulated mileage on the vehicle, I felt that MINIusa should authorize a no-cost repair or, at a minimum, provide a replacement part(s) at no cost. The cost to remedy other wear-related issues noted during the inspection of the vehicle are clearly my responsibility. A subsequent phone conversation with MINIusa on 01/27/2015 disclosed that, while this was an legitimate vehicle safety issue, they did not feel that this was their responsibility and that I should pay the entire amount necessary to repair this vehicle defect.

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?