Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,369 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mini Cooper engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mini Cooper Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #89

Apr 022015

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving home for easter, all of the sudden a light came on. I pulled to the side of the road and the electricity went out in my car. I was stranded in the middle of nowhere. The timing chain in my car broke and caused catastrophic engine failure.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #88

Jan 062015

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
I bought a car from new country MINIin hartford on January 2, 2015. At first the car worked great, however the friction point of the clutch was pretty far towards the end range. Because it's a hydraulic clutch, I thought this was adjustable. However I started noticing the next day that there was a grinding noise coming out of first and in reverse. I emailed the person at new country MINIfrom whom I bought it from explaining what I was hearing/feeling and was concerned about the clutch going. He replied that it probably just needed to be oiled and it would be fine. He did not ask any other qualifying questions, or offer to look at it. As of January 5, the clutch has become exponentially worse. The car now shutters while engaging the clutch, and continues to shutter after the clutch has been engaged. Additionally there is a burning smell coming from the car. Also, this is not my first car I've had that was a manual transmission. I learned how to drive one when I was 16, so I don't believe this is driver error; especially how quick the clutch diminished. I am inclined to think that new country MINInew about the problem prior to selling it, but didn't do anything about it. Moreover, there is a clunk that happens when accelerating from 2nd gear to 3rd gear. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

- Redding, CT, USA

problem #87

Dec 232014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
In 2013 my MINIstarted to overheat. I had the fluids checked and everything was ok. I drove approx., 10 miles and the car completely overheated, the oil light came on and the car smoked and almost caught on fire. I had it towed to the dealership (MINInorthwest in fife wa, ) they said there were no recalls and I needed a new motor and cooling system. I paid 7500$$ for a new engine installed by the MINIdealership in July 2013 at my own expense. On Dec, 23rd 2014 I drove my MINIapprox. 12 miles and parked the car in the driveway. The car was not overheating, no warning lights came on, 15 minutes later the car had flames shooting out from the hood. Fire extinguisher would not put out the fire. The car then moved approx. 5 feet forward up against the house and became completely engulfed. The tires blew up the sunroof blew up and then the back window blew out. The car is a complete loss. MINIclaims they have never heard of this before, yet there are several articles of the same thing happening to other cars, including a class action suit and recalls.

- Rochester, WA, USA

problem #86

Sep 152014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 MINICooper. Was informed the car was unsafe to drive because of a cracked valve cover which was leaking.

- Charlestown, NH, USA

problem #85

Dec 092014

Cooper

  • 48,000 miles
This is a complaint against the timing chain and tensioner for the MINIcooper which is known to be faulty. The timing chain had begin rattling and was inspected at a MINIdealership. They stated that it's a known issue with MINIRepair for this job is 2000 usd. This is a tremendous price tag.this can lead to a very very dangerous situation on the highway heading to work. Imagine going 65 on the highway the chain snap. Lost power and control of the car. Not only the driver is at risk but other as well. What if it cause a family in the car an accident. Let's say 3 car were involved filled with families but one person died. You are causing a lifetime of heartache for not acknowledging the fault in your engine. Please be aware that people lives are at stake. It's better that MINIshould take responsibility. Is money so much more important to MINIthan the lives of people. The lives of families. If future accident can be avoided. It must start now. Do the right thing and make this recall happen. Don't let me start on carbon buildup. Engine design wasn't tested thoroughly. Everyone should be given a courtesy clean every 70000 miles or so. Already show sign of carbon buildup with 48K miles.

- Round Rock , TX, USA

problem #84

Oct 272014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 99,700 miles
On 27-Oct-2014, when I was driving home the check engine light came on and it gave a message about the catalytic converter. Luckily I was close to home and the message just said to slow down which I did. I had it towed to a local mechanic the next day since it was not drivable.it was real shaky and didn't feel safe to drive when I started the engine. They had the vehicle for 3 days and checked everything from the coils, spark plugs, ran a compression test which showed that cylinder 3 was not getting enough power, etc. They stated that there were no leaks or fluids found in that area like they had expected since that was the only cylinder that was not running properly. I contacted miniusa to see if they would fix the vehicle out of goodwill because this was a known issue with these vehicles/engines (R56). Needless to say, miniusa would not fix the repair nor would they respond to my emails. MINIof concord offered to cover 25% of the cost leaving me to pay $3600 out of pocket for something that they know is faulty. This is unacceptable.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #83

Oct 082012

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 48,934 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

MINIusa was well aware of the massive timing chain problem (affecting 500,000 MINIcoopers),but refused to fix it because it was out of warranty. I've complained of the cantankerous rattle during a cold start which was clearly related to the failing timing chain due to a defective and poorly designed timing chain tensioner. (apparently MINIhas come out with a new one due to this problem). The dealership quoted me $1800 to replace the whole chain assembly. I ultimately took it an independent MINImechanic and had it replaced for less ($1144). Now I am hearing that MINIdealerships are replacing this defective part beyond the warranty period. I believe that there is now a campaign to replace the tensioner and chain. They should have replaced it when the problems were obvious and should now compensate those who've paid out of their own pockets for this poorly designed part.

- Windermere , FL, USA

problem #82

Apr 222014

Cooper

  • 49,000 miles
My car started to act funny. Almost sounding like it was suffocating. It would die about ten to fifteen times every morning before I would finally get the car started. It would shut off when I stopped at intersections. The only time it ran decent was when I was driving highways speeds for 20 minutes or more. I changed out filters, spark plugs, and fluids but none of it changed the way it was running. Come to find out it that the chain and chain tensioner had broken. This damage caused roughly $1000 to fix. Luckily I caught it in time before it did additional damages to the crank shaft. With low miles the mechanic even told me its a fault part and brakes easily. He has had to replace numerous american model minis in italy. My country code is 39 if you call.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #81

Jun 012014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Catastrophic failure and stall on the highway without warning. No engine light or warning lights. Vehicle stopped and stalled at highway speeds. Vehicle had to be towed. Not drivable. Very dangerous, nearly got hit by semi trucks on highway and other vehicles. Very unsafe. Problem: Needed new clutch and flywheel @ cost of $3000 plus towing. This is the 3rd time that this car has had catastrophic engine failure while driving on highway in the past 6 months. The other times were caused by some electrical issues pertaining to the engine. Dealer denied it was timing chain. The MINICooper 2007 needs to be recalled before someone is killed or seriously injured.

- Winthrop Harbor, IL, USA

problem #80

Jan 012013

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Have had a severe rattling noise from engine for some time now, research says that it is a faulty timing chain tensioner problem. Also have a leaking oil supply line to the turbo. Both problems are major issues for which there has been no recalls from MINIThese are both extremely expensive repairs which I can not afford.......there should be recalls on these problems! please help.....

- Bloomingdale, NY, USA

problem #79

Mar 122013

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a defect in the design of the oil line feeding the turbo charging unit. Oil now leaks directly onto the turbo charger causing large discharges of smoke at lower (city) speeds from the hood. The burned oil smoke is not visible at highway speeds, although once one slows down for a ramp the smoke pours out again. Due to the high risk of fire the car is no longer parked in our garage. It is parked towards the end of the driveway as far from our house as possible. I believe that this should be an urgent safety issue seeing that the engine could catch fire at any time.

- North Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #78

May 062014

Cooper

  • 54,600 miles
After buying this vehicle, drove about 30 or so miles....while slowing down noticed the car had shut off. No warnings, no lights, no noises....car would not crank. Left me stranded in middle of four lane highway. Towed the vehicle to MINIwhere I was told a vacuum pump went out. Due to this not covered under warranty (extended) now im told have to pay 8000 for an engine. This issue should be resolved, there was no warning and from reading the online notices it seems to be a big issue. MINIwould do nothing about this. It created a dangerous situation for me, as it gave no warning when all this occurred.

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #77

May 232014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I was driving at highway speed when without warning the car lost partial power and the engine light came on and began flashing. I pulled over to the roadside and turned the engine off. I looked at the owner's manual to see what the flashing engine light indicates. Nothing definitive was stated in the manual, so I started the engine and drove it to my home about 10 miles under partial power. I contacted a local garage (mienke) and let them know the problem. The garage was about three miles away so I drove it to them. They diagnosed a loss of compression in one of the valves that would require a valve job. I contacted miniusa to report the problem. They requested I take it to the local dealer for diagnosis. I contacted the dealer and let them know what occurred and asked if it was safe to drive the approximate 20 miles to their location with a compromised engine. They said it would be okay and bring it in. They diagnosed it the next day with a failed timing chain ($1800), vacuum pump ($600) and valve cover assembly ($385). I let them know the timing chain was already replaced by a MINIdealership at 40781 miles and they should replace it at no cost as this is supposed to last 100,000 miles. The dealer would not. I contacted miniusa again to report the issue and request to have this replaced at no cost. They have not gotten back to me yet and it is still pending their decision. I began to look online for similar issues and found hundreds of complaints from owners regarding the same issue with the timing chain. MINIBMW is well aware of the issue but still does not cover this recurring problem. This is an expensive repair and unknowing MINIowners are spending thousands of dollars to have their cars put back on the road. There is also a pending class action law suit in New Jersey for this same issue.

- Cary, ND, USA

problem #76

Dec 032012

Cooper

  • 85,000 miles
My vehicle developed a rattling noise in the engine, which worsened and caused the timing chain to brake and thousands of dollars in damage, which if at high way speed, could have caused a serious accident. MINIis denying account ability.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #75

Apr 012014

Cooper

  • 59,400 miles
The very well known "timing chain failure". the event started with rattling noise in the engine bay on the passenger's side, then the big messy oil leaked and the engine was drying up and choked (made a very dangerous driving situation).luckily, I wasn't on the highway!! BMW denied reimbursement for the repair cost of this fault design/engineering.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #74

Aug 162011

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 51,842 miles
After multiple frustrating complaints and unsuccessful service attempts on 8/17/11, 9/1/11, 9/6/11, 9/21/11 and 9/28/11 for my 2007 MINICooper S (purchased on 8/16/11) at mayors auto mall Saab located at 6001 northern boulevard, woodside NY 11377 and failing inspection on 9/1/12; I was fed up and brought my vehicle directly to hassel BMW MINIof freeport located at 100 cleveland avenue, freeport NY 11520 on 10/31/11. After a service bill of $3,546 (service) +$141.21 (evaluation fee) = $3,688.03 from BMW MINIthe problems were still not resolved. I then filed a lemon law case against mayors auto mall and won on. Despite winning the case, mayors auto mall refused to return my monies for the purchase price of vehicle. After contacting dmv with the issue and having them suspending their business license, mayors auto mall finally refunded my monies for vehicle purchase but it was excluding service bills of $3,688.03 from BMW MINIsince lemon law did not cover this amount. I am filing a complaint against BMW MINIand would like to find out possible remedies for getting a refund services paid towards a vehicle that I no longer have due to lemon law case and am out of $3,688.03 for no reason. I understand BMW MINIis currently being sued for these same issues by many consumers. Please contact me with any possible information you may be able to provide regarding my case. I am in awe shock that I am still dealing with this and it has been 3 years already since I had to return the car to mayors auto mall. Thank you for your concern with this matter and would appreciate any information you are able to provide.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #73

Apr 022013

Cooper

  • 113,000 miles
Timing chain tensioner, a well known problem with these cars... I worked my a** off for a year saving up for one of these cars and what do you know the tensioner goes... MINIdoes not care about you or the car they sell, its all about taking whats in your wallet and putting it in theres, dont buy one of these cars and not expect to pay for it twice literally in fixing it..

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #72

Mar 092014

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Was driving car downtown at a speed on average of 15 mph. Trip only lasted 15 minutes when I parked and noticed smoke coming from my hood. Smoke quickly escalated into a fire. Called 911 to have fire trucks out. Grabbed a fire extinguisher from a nearby business to try to put out the flames, but was unable to even while spraying directly at the flames. Firemen had to pry open the hood to get to the engine to put out the fire. Car engine was totaled.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #71

Dec 102012

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The timing chain tensioner fails causing the engine to suffer catastrophic failure. The customer is expected to pay out of pocket for a repair even though MINIhas admitted a poor design and are replacing tensioners via a campaign. The customer will not get reimbursement.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #70

Feb 172014

Cooper

  • 100,000 miles
I tried to start my car and only heard a spinning sound. First I thought the transmission or starter would need replacing but after having it towed to the MINIdealership, I was informed it is the timing chain. Upon further review I was informed that the timing chain belt had shattered and bent the valves, and now the pistons are blocked and a plethora of other things. The total to repair this domino effect of damage is above $8,000 and just the chain alone is 1500 but I was informed would be a grand mistake because the car will not run. I am a college student who is financially challenged and am now in too deep to even try and float.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?