Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan 350Z seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan 350Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan 350Z Owner Comments

problem #12

Apr 052016

350Z

  • 16,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag warning light illuminated on dash on 2004 350Z Nissan. This vehicle is not listed for Nissan airbag recall. Within warranty period the airbag was previously replaced by planet Nissan (dealer las vegas, nv) in 2004 or 2005, not sure of specific date. Dealership said it wasn't covered under warranty but they would take care of it.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #11

Dec 152013

350Z 6-cyl

  • 28,517 miles
Air bag fault light for passenger seat stayed on. Investigation by Nissan determined it to be a faulty sensor. Another incident occurred on 3/05/14, with same problem. Appears to be the same problem as recall of 2013-2014 Nissan. I think recall should be extended to include my 2004 Z350.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #10

Oct 012011

350Z

  • 68,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan 350Z. The contact stated that the air bag sensor warning lamp illuminated. In addition, the water temperature and fuel level gauges continuously fluctuated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,500 and the current mileage was 71,755.

- Santa Rosa , CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 302011

350Z

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan 350Z. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated upon starting the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The contact also stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle surged forward and accelerated to 70 mph. The vehicle eventually stopped on its own. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the throttle body was repaired. The failure continued. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #8

Aug 182010

350Z

  • 71,000 miles
Airbag light on 2004 350Z touring roadster continues to flash. Diagnostic investigation gives no particular code that leads to prompt correction of airbag system malfunction.

- Miami, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Feb 072011

350Z 6-cyl

  • 26,331 miles
2004 Nissan 350Z. Current mileage - 58,000+. purchased new from a local dealer in November of 2004, after searching all of the dealers in central Florida for the Z that had the trim and safety package that we wanted. Beginning in 2007, the vehicle has had ongoing problems with the airbag light / airbags / diagnostic unit: 08/08/07 - airbag light is on - "false code? 08/14/08 - airbag light is on - ?ordered left side airbag? 08/27/08 - ?replaced failed left airbag unit? 11/11/08 - airbag light is on - ?found pass codes clear all ok? 05/03/10 - airbag light is on - ?needs diag unit and pass side curtain air bag? 06/22/10 - ?replaced diag unit and rh side module? 11/08/10 - airbag light is on - ?recommend LH front side air bag and diagnosis sensor? we were told by our dealer that the diagnosis sensor would be covered under warranty because it was less than five months since it had been replaced, but that we would need to pay over $700 for the airbag to be replaced. Logic tells us that the airbag may not need to be replaced if the diagnosis sensor is bad, but our local dealer is telling us that Nissan will not allow the diagnosis sensor to be replaced without also replacing the airbag. Logic also tells us that, unlike other parts, the airbags are not ?wearing" items that require maintenance or replacement (unless they deploy, of course), so why do they need replacing" we contacted Nissan usa and asked that the faulty diagnosis sensor be replaced with one that will work for longer than five months, and will stop giving false codes. We also asked Nissan to replace the airbag at no cost to us because it is their 'requirement'. this morning, a regional representative from Nissan usa finally contacted us, and we were told that we would have to pay for the airbag if we wanted the faulty diagnosis sensor replaced! our concern is for our safety. What will happen if we have an accident? will any of the airbags deploy?"

- South Daytona, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 082009

350Z

  • 31,360 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 06/08/09, I took my Nissan 350Z in to for an oil change and because the air bag light was flashing. I received a call later that day indicating that the ┐entire system would need to be replaced┐. the costs quoted for this service were: - diagnosis (already paid) $120 - replacement of 2 parts$1,450 - tax, repair not estimated the car has only 31,360 miles on it and has always been garaged and seldom driven in the winter. I have never had this type of problem with any other vehicle that I have owned. The car was purchased at this dealer on 04/28/04 and is 5 years and 2 weeks old. I spoke with the regional specialist on 6/15/09), and she informed me that Nissan was not willing to provide me any assistance in this matter. She said she had also covered this with the district manager.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #5

Feb 052010

350Z

  • 115,000 miles
I was told, by the dealer, that the airbags on my 2004 Nissan 350Z will no longer work unless I replace the left and right modules and sensor at an approx cost of $1700. Nissan is no longer willing to warranty the aribags, since the car has 116,000 miles (per 2/5/10 call from Consumer Affairs division). Their wty is 60 mos or 60K miles; however, the seat belt wty is 120 mos. Or 120K miles. The airbags are a safety issue that are just as important in the event of a crash as seat belts. They have never been deployed. I suggested Nissan reconsider the air bag wty and assist me with getting this ($1700) issue resolved as I cannot afford to. They declined my offer. I do not feel safe driving the car if the air bags will not deploy in the event of a crash. I am trying to proactively avoid serious injury or a fatality in the event of a crash.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 182006

350Z

  • 6,000 miles
I was involved in a near fatal auto accident, which Nissan didn't report to the death and injury reports done every quarter per annual year. The accident almost left me paralyzed and I broke over 6 bones in various body part locations due to the car not living up to the "safety" features the maker boasted to have which falsely lead me to buy the car and nearly killed me during an accident, at no fault of mine. The accident was on 1-18-2006, the vehicle a total loss, and occurred in Arizona on interstate 51 in phoenix AZ. I was rear ended, while sitting in traffic pile-up during rush hour traffic. The other driver was estimated to be driving upon impact at 43 mph. I had my sealtbelt on, which broke my collarbone, and a rib. I also ruptured a silicone breast implant from the force of the car into the steering wheel. The air bags didn't deploy, the leg and feet compartment for the driver area caused one foot I had on the brake, to break the sessamoid bone; the rt knee was thrown into the steering column and I broke my patella and tore my meniscus. Both required surgery, both on opposite legs. I required surgery for the ruptured implant. My neck was fractured and the blow and whiplash from the inadequate head restraint caused vertigo for nearly 3 months. I suffered brain bruising and swelling from hitting my head against the headrest after being thrust forward without an airbag to cushion the jolting of the neck and spine. My thoracic spine was fractured, and remains that way since I've opted not to have surgery. The lumbar spine has a ruptured disk and developed a mass from the impact blunt force trauma that developed from the other drivers car hitting my rear end of the car and the seat thrusting all the contents of the vehicles structure into the seat behind where I sat. I had surgery on the removal of the mass and the lumbar spine repair 3 times. My life was completely destroyed as a result of the false misleading claims the Nissan manufacturer and dealer claimed.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #3

Mar 262008

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 41,000 miles
Passenger side A/B deployed and seatbelt tensioner is taught and appears to have worked. Driver side A/B did not deploy and seatbelt tensioner is not taught and appears to have failed. Mva involved a head on accident to the left front side of the 350 Z convertible. Impact was at 40mph. SRS lights are not indicating that the A/B deployed.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 282006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
: the contact stated after getting a carwash, it was noticed that a dimple had formed on the dashboard above the passenger airbag. The dimple worsened through time and the dashboard eventually caved in. On 10/13/06, the dealer was contacted, and determined that the entire airbag system had failed. The airbags and dashboard needed to be replaced. The contact planned to notify the manufacturer after filing a complaint with the NHTSA.

- Newhall, CA, USA

problem #1

May 082006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,100 miles
Recently driving my Nissan 350Z along a highway, the airbags for no reason, deployed on their own. It was sheer luck that I wasn't killed. You would think Nissan would take responsibility for this problem with their airbags, but no! Nissan won't fix the car until I sign a legal release letter so they can't be sued.

- Dix Hills, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?