Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,914 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan 350Z engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan 350Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan 350Z Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 232010

350Z 6-cyl

  • miles


I have had 3 recent Nissan vehicles that have had serious mechanical issues, 1st 2006 Nissan murano (only owner) 2nd 2004 Nissan 350Z 3rd 2005 Nissan 350Z which each of these vehicles are over $30,000 and top models of manufacturer. The murano which I had to sell July 2011 due to buying a home and could not deal with the problems that it was having on a regular basis....the 2004 350Z I bought off a private seller, it looked good and boy was I wrong the stereo, electrical components, seats, overheating, horrible roar from the rear end, tires, windows failing, need I say more!!!!! now to the car I am currently not using due to it being in the shop for the past 3+weeks, and finally having to drive with the tech to let him witness the defect as I drove.....this has been a huge headache to go through this with 3 new vehicles from 1 manufacturer, and them not accepting any responsibility for. They advised that my clutch had to be replaced and it was due to normal wear and tear. I don't think so the car has approx 74000 miles I bought with 47198. In March 2011 after numerous visits and calls to dealership they finally replaced the master and slave cylinder at my request because I researched to find many complaints for the same components and troubles. I could go on but I am just [xxx] sick of this crap from Nissan and I am ready to blow my top!!!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 052008


  • 36,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan 350Z with 39,800 miles on it. The warranty expired on the vehicle on November 2007. I have had a total of four crank position sensor failures which cause my vehicle to lose power at highway speeds. This has been very dangerous. I have taken my vehicle to two separate repair facilities twice, and to the Nissan dealership twice. The diagnosis has been the same. This means that the sensor has now been replaced four times. I have read that Nissan Altima have had a recall for a similar problem in 2003. Since my car was purchased in 2004, I feel that Nissan did not adequately address this issue because it has now manifested itself in my 350Z.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #10

Feb 052008

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,300 miles
I bought my car new. At 13K miles, the crankshaft position went out and there was a rattle in the rearend. The dealer fixed both problems. But now at 26K miles, the engine is knocking hard and it turned out my engine is burning oil. Btw, the rattle in the rearend is back again. I bought my car for a total of $32,000 and I don't deserve to make a few trips to the dealership for repairs already when I've only had my car for 3 years with under 30K miles only!

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,000 miles


Nissan 350Z burns about a quart of oil every 1,000 miles.

- Leesport, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 272006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan 350Z anniversary edition. It is burning oil at the rate of about 1 quart per thousand miles. Nissan internally is aware of the problem, but won't fix my car. I have been following their protocol and having an oil consumption test conducted, however, the last time I took the car to the dealership, classic Nissan in orlando, Florida, to continue the test, they sabotaged the results and lied about the findings. Since the previous oil change, I have driven 2,440 miles. The car was virtually out of oil - I base this on checking the dipstick after the car had been sitting for over 10 hours, and oil hardly registering. Prior to taking the car to the dealership, I added 1 quart of oil so the engine wouldn't seize. The dealership said they drained the oil and took over 5 quarts of oil out of the car. Draining the oil is not part of Nissan's protocol for an oil consumption test. The dealership acknowledged verbally that the engine is bad. Everytime I take the car in, they write on my receipt that the car is operating within accepted standards. I have requested the test be started again. I told the dealership that from now on, they will conduct the test in my presence to I can verify the results and when the dipstick shows virtually no oil, they will drain what is left in my presence. There are many postings on the internet about this problem. Nissan hasn't issued a tsb, but are aware of the problem. The problem exists on the Altima and Sentra. The Altima's were recalled, according to the tech at the dealership.

- Mt. Dora, FM, USA

problem #7

Apr 072007

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 7,900 miles
Manufacturer's defective crank position sensor caused the vehicle to stall unexpectedly in the middle of freeway, causing a potentially dangerous situation.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 032006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 8,421 miles


Engine quite on highway, causing loss of power steering and power brakes, nearly causing a crash on a dangerous mountain road (highway 17 in California). The check engine light came on and stayed on. The dealer, santa cruz Nissan Dodge (state reg. # aj-35673-N) traced the problem to a faulty crank position sensor which was replaced on 4/3/06 (repair order no. 157547). A problem with failed crankshaft position sensors caused a recall for 2003 350Z with VIN's in the range jn1az* 000001-100167. The engine problem recurred two days later on 4/5/06 at an odometer mileage of 8,513, again causing the loss of power steering and power breaks, again nearly leading to a crash on a freeway. This time the problem was described as engine code PO420, PO430 -low catalyst efficiency. The dealer replaced the catalytic converter (repair order no. 157686). Since then I have had four additional engine failures during freeway driving with similar symptoms but the check engine light did not stay on and there was no code indicating a failure when I took the car into the dealer at 12,679 miles on 11/22/06. The dealer did not service the car at this time (repair order no. 165910).

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 292005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 16,000 miles
This has happened three times now. I have been driving my 350 down the highway at about 65 mph and it just stops running I can push the pedal down and nothing happens. I had it towed into the dealership the first time and they said it was the cam shaft sensor. No big deal right? well about 2000 miles later it happened again same exact thing. On my way to work in rush hour traffic the car just stopped again, and I was almost rear ended. After sitting in the fast lane for about 3 minutes the car finally started again and I got out of the way and they towed my car to the dealership again. The call came that for the second time the cam shaft sensor was bad, it was replaced again. The last time this happened I was on my way home and the car started doing the same thing. This time I smelled smoke like something was on fire. The car was towed and the call came the next day saying the cam shaft sensor went out again and that this caused the catalytic converter to brake and the beads were sucked up into the engine which caused the engine to catch on fire.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #4

Aug 132005


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The 2nd time the crank sensor went out I was traveling down the freeway at about 75-mph when the car just died - I mean no power and no warning. I had to make my way across all lanes to the right shoulder with only a prayer! I've contacted Nissan direct on several occasions where I've been advised ridiculous things from the "specialist" like they put my car on the scope and there was no reading of a bad part (see other complaint about the transmission replacement) - question is how do you scope a shifting problem with a manual transmission"?? and "why was I so upset when the crank sensor was only a cosmetic thing" - a what?" if you call having your car shut down driving down the freeway a "cosmetic thing" I think the so-called "specialists" are a farce and stall tactic, nothing else. After the 2nd time the crank sensor went out I was told by Nissan (not the dealership but Nissan Corp) that the "master tech drove the car at 80 mph and couldn't get the crank sensor to go out again" - that's funny, the 1st time it went out I was in a parking lot doing about 15 mph so why have they acted as if the situation only happens at a certain mph"?? makes you wonder if they know a lot more than they're saying! there was a recall for the crank sensors for the 2003 & 2004 cars, which they say my VIN number does not meet the criteria. Well what does then?" I understand on an overall basis from the reports I've read the 350Z is a good car - what I'm the most disappointed with is Nissan's extremely poor customer service attitude and lack of acceptance when there are legitimate problems. At this point I will never purchase another Nissan product - they are not the only game in town. I pay a healthy price for the privilege of driving a new sports car - I expect to get what I pay for even if Nissan has to bite the big one on this particular vehicle.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 132005


  • Manual transmission
  • 2,500 miles
I purchased a 2005 350Z in Nov 2004 - where do I start. To date I've had the car in for service on 7 occasions ranging from minor annoyances of the gauges coming on saying I had low tire pressure when I didn't, the utility plugs not working where I was told even though my phone charger works on every other car known to man it must be bad there couldn't be a problem with the car's plugs, having the transmission replaced, the front caliper replaced and the crank sensor replaced twice. Each time I've taken the car in for repairs the 1st responses are "we cannot duplicate the problem". I was told that 3 times before they replaced the transmission (at only 7,000 miles I might add). Strange how it can go to "nothing wrong" to "we have to replace the transmission". in addition, when I picked up the car after the 2nd crank sensor replacement the porter shifted the car and to my joy the service advisor heard the clunk I had been telling them about they said "they couldn't duplicate". the service advisor then drove the car, then sat in the drive at a stop shifting from 1st to 2nd and each time hearing the loud clunking noise. He agreed the transmission is still not correct so I was to bring it back the next week, which I did. This time they brought in the "master tech" who said he couldn't duplicate the problem. This says to me that even though a Nissan service advisor has admitted he's heard and experienced the problem, which I've stated is not every time I drive the car, the master tech can pop in and say "nope, no problem here" and Nissan feels no obligation to did deeper into the problem. Are they saying their service advisors are morons and don't know what they're talking about. That's odd, my service advisor use to be a tech. * additional info about the replacement of the crank sensors.**

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 172005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,500 miles
Caller stated 4 different times the crank position sensor shut the engine down while driving 65 mph. Twice he had close calls. Cars around contact's vehicle had to slam the brakes. This happened on March 17. Twice on July 28, and on July 30, dealer had vehicle three different times for same problem. Manufacturer has been contacted 3 times, and they have not called contact back. This is was a leased car.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #1

Jun 112005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles
2005 Nissan, xterra, consumer drove the car less than 150 miles, and the first time it had been driven above 65 mph. Heard a pinging noise, pulled off the road, noticed smoke coming out of engine and exhaust. However, did not see any fire, but called the fire department. The car was at dealership, and they replaced the engine block and catalytic converter.

- Madison, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?