Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,922 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan 350Z seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan 350Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan 350Z Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Apr 042014


  • 68,000 miles


I bought this vehicle used about 5 years ago. About 2 years ago I started to have a flashing air bag light on for no reason. This happens randomly usually when I just start the car up. As with most owners in the North I don't drive it in the winter so I put on around 35K since I bought it. I searched the web to see if anyone was having the same problem and they sure were. I tried the reset procedure found online and it worked for awhile. Now it comes on more often and I just try to reset it again. It didn't take much searching to find out that Nissan is charging owners (my year) $600-3,000 to repair and the problem came back for some again. Some even reported having an accident and the bags did not deploy. I have not had it to a dealer simply because I can't afford to replace the seats some have had to.

- Rittman, OH, USA

problem #21

Nov 182015


  • 49,000 miles
Like so many others that I have read, my airbag light flashes for the passengers side airbag. I am a second owner of this car that has never been involved in a wreck of any kind. This car has been babied by me as well as the previous owner. It is garage kept and hardly ever driven. Milage is only 52000 after 11 years!! light has been reset but still comes back on. This is obviously a manufactured defect and if someone is hurt because of no action I will sue Nissan as well as NHTSA for not doing anything about it!!!

- Decatur, AL, USA

problem #20

Oct 012014


  • 97,000 miles
My car hasn't been in an accident or anything and yet my airbag light is flashing and my airbags are disconnected. I don't understand why my airbags won't be fixed by Nissan I'm not sure when this happened. And I'm not sure about the miles. Nissan will have this.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #19

May 192015


  • 78,000 miles


Airbag light is constantly going on, even after resetting numerous times. After reading other complaints about this issue, air bag failing is a common issue with this car. I would appreciate if NHTSA would open an investigation into premature airbag failure in 350zs.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 012013


  • 21,000 miles
Swerved car to avoid hitting a deer. When I straightened out the car the air bag light was on. Took car to the dealer who said I needed to install a whole passenger seat. Approx $1500-2000 dollars. When checking out different websites there are many many complaints about air bag lights going on. All were told seats needed to be replaced. This car has on 25000 miles now. As I only use the car when I am by myself for fear of the passenger airbag not going off. Can't even sell the car with this problem.

- Chesterfield, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jun 122014


  • 54,000 miles
I have owned the vehicle for several years. I purchased an extended warranty when I purchased the car. Did no good. Nissan does not honor their warranties or promises. When my air bag light started flashing on and off continuously I wanted to know why. I knew their had to be a defect or malfunction some where. I was told that I would have to foot the bill for about 2, warranty would not cover the sensor or what ever they schemed to come up with. My air bag still continuously flashes. I don't drive it much any more because it's such a nuisance. Shame on Nissan and they have lost a customer for life.. I am campaigning against them. I don't want anyone to go thru what I am still going thru. Sincerely, pissed off

- Saint Marys, GA, USA

problem #16

Dec 182014


  • 39,548 miles


Owner of Nissan 350Z roadster. Car is in mint condition only has 39,000+ miles and is 10 years old. Never had any problems other than tires, battery, brakes replacement over years. All of a sudden airbag light starting flashing on dash. Took to dealer that did "diagnosis" for $100+ and said module in driver side bag code B1134 needs replacing for $1200. Driver is unemployed at moment and laid-off. Dealership just said "drive safely" when leaving and deciding not to shell out $1200 at moment. Nissan refuses any goodwill to fix car even though this is an airbag related issue and possible safety hazard. Says the car is not under warranty (which is at 36,000 for Nissan) and the car has not had any major problems therefore in 10 years and has been a "good running car." Nissan feels it is driver's responsibility to repair. Other car manufacturers constantly recall airbag devices but not Nissan -- 2007 Nissan roadster 350 has had a recall for an airbag issue. Number for 2007:NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 and the airbag module part number is 28556cd00. Owner of this vehicle looked up any other owners that may have had problem and this appears to be a common issue with owners of this year and make. See lists and lists of complaints here from other owners ofthis model when will Nissan take responsibility

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 032014


  • miles
I am the original owner of a 2007 350Z. I just found out today that there has been a recall on the passenger air bag sensor since November 2008. I first began to notice the passenger air bag light being off over three (3) years ago. I had my 100,000 mile service around six (6) months ago. The sensor was listed as problematic, but not identified as a potential recall. Today, I called the Nissan usa number and spoke with [xxx] who told me that my VIN # did not match the ones from the recall in November 2008. I informed her that if a passenger in my car is harmed because Nissan usa will not live up to its responsibility to its customers and community, there will be a major lawsuit coming. I feel that the callus position of the company will prevent me from purchasing from them again, ,,although I like their cars. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 152012


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan 350Z. While driving approximately 65 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The dealer stated that the air bags needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 12/9/14

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #13

Jun 012014


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan 350Z. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. Also, the contact mentioned that the seat belt and horn failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the air bag sensor module and tire pressure sensors were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #12

Jun 022014


  • 62,200 miles


I didn't have an incident/accident yet, but after reviewing similar issues/complaints I wanted to add my concerns to the list as well. I bought a 2005 350Z Sept. 2013 with approximately 48,000 miles and now my air bag light is blinking. Called Nissan service and of course for a fee they will diagnose the problem. It seems to me they already know the problem and haven't done anything to address it. If its an issue on the 2007 edition, it's surely an issue with its predecessors.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #11

Jun 202014


  • miles
Just bought my 2005 350Z 35 days ago and my airbag light all of a sudden begin blinking on an off. I am taking it in to the mechanic to see what could be the cause of this and hopefully he does not tell me that I have to get the airbag replaced. It is very odd to see the other complaints of this very same thing but there is no recall on them.

- Deatsville, AL, USA

problem #10

Dec 032012

350Z 6-cyl

  • miles
Took my to the local Nissan dealer after the airbag light started flashing continuously and paid $85 for the test which indicated the passenger side airbag needed to be replaced. At the time, the car had less than 40,000 miles. The estimated cost of the replacement was $600. I have not replaced the bag yet but have avoided carrying passengers to minimize risk of injury. I have contacted Nissan and been told that this is not a recall item which seems hard to understand after reviewing numerous posts about this problem and other passenger side recalls.

- Saint Simons Island, GA, USA

problem #9

Dec 052013

350Z 6-cyl

  • 110,216 miles
Airbag light comes on every 4-8 weeks flashing red until the light is reset. As others have stated, this is an obvious defect in the car and needs to be addressed. This is a safety concern and I feel the airbags will not deploy if an accident occurs. The Nissan dealer wants 100 plus dollars to check the light each time and do a reset. Each time they tell me I need to replace airbag sensors or the entire airbag unit with no guaranty this will resolve the issue. I can see that no amount of money will resolve the issue as all threads and even in the complaints on this site point out the thousands people have spent replacing sensors and units, still resulting in the airbag system failures and return of the airbag light. I want Nissan to address this as a major safety issues. This is a very fast, small car. I don't want to end up with major injuries or death due to airbag failure, which at this point is a fact if an accident should occur. Since the dealership is in the business of draining me of money and not resolving this airbag issue I formally request action in regards to this known safety issue.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #8

Jun 272012

350Z 6-cyl

  • 60,580 miles
This is a follow-up to my initial complaint (confirmation # 10516123) referring to my passenger side air bag which was found to have failed the diagnostic check on 6/6/13. Since my initial complaint, Nissan corporation in Tennessee had requested me to have a second diagnostic check done at a Nissan dealership to verify or dispute the findings at the infinity dealership where I had purchased the 350Z. As stated in my initial complaint, the drivers side air bag light was on just prior to my purchasing this vehicle and the bag was replaced (no charge) before I drove it off the lot. An appointment for 6/19/13 at 1:00 P.M. was schedule with Nissan of cherry hill (NJ) and I arrived several minutes early since I was not familiar with their location or procedures. After waiting for 45 minutes I observed that my vehicle was still in the same slot I had parked in ( I attributed this to lunch hour) but went over to the service desk and inquired about the delay and was advised that the first available technician would do the check and it should not take more than 20 minutes. In discussing this matter with the service manage, [xxx] I advised him of the circumstance behind this appointment and my contact with Nissan in Tennessee. As I told him about the problem he stopped me when I pointed out that the icon light was out upon my getting the car back from the first dealership, he then told me that the diagnostic would not be accurate without the light on since it would not show the code or proper history of the problem. I'm quoting him here "on the scale of 10, your chances of this check being right, is a 4". I then told him that I could not in good faith do a check knowing that it was only 40% chance of getting it right. I called Nissan twice while there, but no response. 6/20/13 a voicemail from a [xxx], I called but got her voicemail. This is where it stands. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 272012

350Z 6-cyl

  • 60,580 miles
Vehicle icon light started to flash upon starting the car. This vehicle had a similar problem (driver side) upon purchasing it on January 6, 2012, (58750 miles on the odometer) the dealer replaced it prior to driving it off the lot. An extended warranty for 48 months was initially purchased by me but the dealership called and advised me that the salesman was incorrect in offering this (quality guard+ plus app#06414075) to me and asked me to come down and revise it to 1 year. I have recently replaced the mechanism for the drivers' side window which had broken, this was done 5 weeks ago for several hundred dollars. The estimate to replace the passenger side window is $730 which I was told would be the cost since there were no recorded complaints for the 2005 model. There were, according the dealership (holman infiniti, maple shade, New Jersey) complaints for only the 2001 through 2003 models. After contacting Nissan's main office in Tennessee, I was advised that they would look into this problem, that was on Friday, june7th. I was contacted today (6/10/13) and advised that they didn't think they could assist me but "might" qualify under the "goodwill campaign". I have no expectations of this matter (case # [xxx]) being remedied in my favor. I feel there is a problem with this car despite being showed the car fax which did not have any unusual problems, still. There seems to be an ongoing safety issue with airbags with Nissan continues to exist. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #6

Apr 162012

350Z 6-cyl

  • 17,200 miles
My SRS light came on, the dealer says the right side side air bag (in the pass seat) is defective and needs to be replaced.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 042011

350Z 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Prior to the accident the airbag light stayed on took it to the dealership and they said it was a error code. On June 4th I had a car accident and the airbag didn't deploy just the airbag light indicator just stayed on. Even until today it is still on cause I can not afford 3 grand to replace the driver side seat which I was told the problem was.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #4

Apr 122011

350Z 6-cyl

  • 39,685 miles
I have a 2005 350Z roadster, aprox mid summer my airbag light came on and stayed on. I put the car in storage for winter when I took it out this spring I brought it to the dealer and asked them to check the light. The dealer confirmed the airbag lite was code B1129, and told me I would have to have the airbag replaced. The air bag just "went bad". I don't feel this is a maintenance issue, I could not have done anything to prevent this from happening and don't feel I should be responsible for this repair. This is a safety issue and I believe Nissan should replace the air bag if infact this is the prob, since getting my car from the dealer the airbag lite hasn't come back on yet. Is this really an airbag gone bad or a dealership trying to boost their sales?

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #3

Nov 202010

350Z 6-cyl

  • 24,775 miles
Approximately 3/1/08, my 2005 350Z airbag sensor light started flashing. I took it to the dealer on 3/8/10 where I purchased it. Tech verified failure code B1129 rh side module. Replaced with yhehm-CD000 module assy-side. Light was cleared. Then approximately 10/1/10, again that sensor light started to flash. I took it into the same dealership where I purchased my new car on 10/6/10 (7 months later). Tech diagnosed failure code B1134 LH side air bag module failure. Replaced with yheha-CD000. Light was cleared. On Nov 20, 2010, I hydroplaned in the rain, hit a guard rail head on, did a 1080 (360 degrees X 3) then hit a tree on the right side. My airbags did not deploy and after the point of impact, that same sensor light started to flash on the dash. I filed a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs (1800 nissan1) option 7 then option 3. they had a technician/engineer come out to perform an inspection, after about 4 weeks waiting for a response from them (I called numerous times asking about an update) I received a phone call from my [xxx]stating that the technician found everything in working order. I think that the tech should have found an error code because of the flashing sensor light. There should be a recall on this vehicle. I was wearing my seatbelt and I had only minor injuries but still this should be considered a lemon because its safety related and was "fixed" twice and still did not function when I really needed it to. I did not have my cell until my wife drove out to my location then I recorded the dash with the sensor light flashing. Bystandards called police but only paramedics came out, when called dispatch, they said that they were unable to locate me so therefore no police report was taken. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?