Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,516 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Mar 112009

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While backing out of the driveway at low speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The engine restarted and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure occurred intermittently and progressed over the past several months whenever the vehicle was in motion. Also, on a separate occasion, the vehicle stalled on the highway. Recently, the engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000. The recall remedy was insufficient and did not correct the failures. The failure mileage was 78,500 and current mileage was 79,280. Updated 9/17/09 the consumer stated the reprogramming of the ECM did not correct the problem. The crankshaft position sensor was faulty. Updated 09/18/09.

- Valatie, NY, USA

problem #51

Jul 202009

Altima

  • 79,000 miles
Nissan recall RO606 for 2003 and 2004 Altima and Sentra with 2.5 liter engines to reprogram the ECM electronic control module since the crankshaft position sensor may cause the engine to shut down while driving if it cannot take a proper reading. My car has shut down several times and some while traveling 45 -55 miles per hour which could be very hazardous when on a congested 3 or 4 lane highway as I travel daily. This is much more dangerous and far different than the recall states that it only happens at low speeds. I had the ECM reprogrammed per the recall but still have same issues of the car not wanting to start the engine light is on and a scan of the computer (ECM brings up code that the crankshaft sensor is faulty however replacement of the sensor isn't covered by the recall and the reprogramming of the ecn doesn't fix the issue. Many Altima owners have had the exact same problem and had to pay out of pocket to purchase and install a new crankshaft sensor to fix this dangerous problem of the car shutting off while driving or being stranded because it doesn't start once it shuts down.

- Valatie, NY, USA

problem #50

Jun 242009

Altima

  • 83,120 miles
04 Altima just turn off doing 65mph on the I5. I was fortunate that it was not in rush hour and did not hit anyone in front of me, but the car behind me was not so lucky he had to run out off the fwy so that he would not hit me. Engine light came on right after. I have researched on the net and there are hundreds maybe thousands of people with the same dangerous problem. (ECM, crankshaft, and camshaft sensors) gone bad. I called dealer and they will not even diagnose the car with out charging for the inspection and charging almost $600 for a problem that Nissan should cover as a recall.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #49

Jun 142009

Altima

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall notice regarding the ECM. Through online research, he found numerous complaints regarding the crankshaft and cam shaft. These two components cause several vehicles to stop running without warning after the recall repair has been performed. The contact feels that this will happen to his vehicle after the ECM is replaced. His vehicle has shut off while driving and he feels that this will not remedy the issue. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 45,000.

- Kapaa, HI, USA

problem #48

Apr 132009

Altima

  • 86,000 miles
Car stalled several times while traveling at low speed. Lost power steering and brakes. Car's dtc code said the fault was caused by the crankshaft position sensor. This 2004 Altima had been to dealer for the computer software recall.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #47

Oct 042008

Altima

  • 103,000 miles
I own a 2004 Nissan Altima. On September 2007, while driving along a busy highway in Arizona our vehicle lost power. The car was serviced at Nissan dealership for a recall on crankshaft sensor. The recall stated that it was only to be re-programmed but we chose to replace the part instead. Starting on October 2008, the "service engine soon" light came on and the code read "camshaft position sensor". I have read a recall for 2003 Nissan Altima NHTSA campaign id number : 03V455000, the description of the consequences match exactly on what is happening with my vehicle. We purchased the vehicle on October 2003 and it was manufactured on June 2003. My vehicle should be included in this recall.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #46

Mar 142008

Altima

  • 65,447 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the electronic control module was reprogrammed according to NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling). After the repair, the engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument control panel. She took the vehicle to a local repair shop and they stated that error codes appeared for the crankshaft position sensor. The technician further stated that there was possibly a miscommunication between the vehicle's computer and engine. The failure has not yet been properly remedied. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 65,447 and current mileage was 79,666.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #45

Apr 202008

Altima

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently while driving 30 mph. On April 20, 2008, the vehicle shut off and was towed to the garage. The mechanic found a loose clip in the intake manifold that caused the spark plugs to fail. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. A diagnosis was not performed because the VIN was not included in Nissan's preventive service. A report was filed with the manufacturer. The manufacturer stated that the VIN did not fall under the preventive service; therefore, they would not assist with the repair. The current and failure mileages were 89,000.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #44

Nov 052008

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,093 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. On November 4, 2008, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic stated that the crankshaft position sensor failed. The crankshaft position sensor was replaced at the cost of $273.97. The manufacturer stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in the recall. Therefore, they would not assist with the repair cost. The failure and current mileages were 49,093. Updated 01/23/09 updated 01/23/09.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #43

Dec 042008

Altima

  • 124,000 miles
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5S. Car stalls and bucks while driving at high speeds. Could have caused a major accident.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #42

Oct 092007

Altima

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. On October 9, 2008, while stopped at a traffic light, the engine shut down without warning. The contact noticed that the engine normally shuts down when the vehicle is driven for several hours. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop for a diagnosis, which indicated that the electronic control module failed. The manufacturer took a report and stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 84,000 and current mileage was 85,000.

- Gurnee , IL, USA

problem #41

Mar 202008

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,266 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions, the engine stalled without warning. The engine restarted after several attempts. The check engine warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the failure was related to the crank shaft sensor. The vehicle was repaired. On three separate occasions, the failure recurred. The VIN was excluded from the recall, although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 69,266 and current mileage was 79,400. Updated 11/17/08

- Mt. Arlington, NJ, USA

problem #40

Feb 052007

Altima

  • 67,000 miles
Car wouldn't start on several occasions in early 2007 (February timeframe). I brought the vehicle into a Nissan dealership. They said there was a recall and the ECM needed to be reprogrammed. After that was done, I brought it back in 2 days later and they said the crankshaft position sensor needed to be replaced. I paid them to replace it ($152.07) and the issue of not starting has not since reappeared. I have since found that recalls for this make/model have been issued for model years 2003, 2005 and 2006 of the Altima to have their crankshaft position censors replaced, but not for 2004 Altima.

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #39

Sep 222008

Altima

  • 63,000 miles
I own a 2004 Nissan Altima and there's a recall on a sensor in the engine that causes the car to shut off while driving and without notice. I called the recall number and I was told that my car was not on the list for the recall. I explained on how that was possible if it was doing exactly what the recall was for. Then I went to the dealer to have them look into it but, I was told that I had to pay the service, why I don't know, I paid $330 for something that was recalled and has been posted everywhere on the internet where recalls are posted but, I was still charge. Now I don't think that was fare. Will be the last time I buy a Nissan car.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #38

Jun 272008

Altima

  • 47,542 miles
A recent 15K mile service interval reveals that I have 2 motor mounts which are the fluid type are leaking badly and need to be replaced. I feel this may be safety related as it should be considered a major vehicle component. Many blogs reveal numerous motor mount issues on several Nissan models that use these fluid type mounts. I find this very unusual since I only had 47,500 miles on the vehicle when I had this service done in June 08. One of the service advisors I talked to did indicate he has seen many failures of these motor mounts as well as the crank case sensor which Nissan did replace at no charge but refuses to replace the motor mounts. I would like your input as to whether this may be viewed as a safety issue and also if you have received prior inquiries into this very premature issue. Thank you, jim weeks

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #37

May 102007

Altima

  • 53,000 miles
This is the second time the diagnostic test has reported the crankshaft sensor is bad. This causes the car to hesitate, quit going down the road & not to start. We replaced the sensor & within 2 days the ses light was back on. The car ran fine for about 6 months then back to the same thing!

- Newbern, TN, USA

problem #36

Aug 062008

Altima

  • 31,446 miles
Car died at stop light. "check engine soon" light came on. Car would not restart. Cam sensor was found defective by repair shop. Internet search found this to be a recall item for 2002 and 2003 model year Altima, but not 2004 model year. Failure of this part on the highway is a safety hazard and may be affecting later model years..

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #35

Apr 192007

Altima

  • miles
I own a 2004 Nissan Altima, in April 07 I experienced the service engine light coming on and I took it to a dealer and paid to have the crank sensor replaced. I subsequently received a recall letter for the same problem and contacted Nissan where I was told that I was eligible for a reimbursement. After faxing all the relevant information, I was told after waiting 3 months that I was denied a reimbursement because the recall time had lapsed. I don't think I was treated fairly as nowhere in the recall letter it stated any expiration date. I do believe I am due a reimbursement. I would appreciate your looking into this matter. Thanks much yvette buckland

- New York, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 232008

Altima

  • 70,000 miles
The crank angle sensor was recalled on my Nissan 2004 Altima. I took this in to the dealer and it was fixed.......except 2 weeks after my car began to do the same the it was already doing. It goes dead when I am pulling away at a red light or turning. When I take it back, they just reset the sensor switch and within 1 weeks my check engine light is back on and the car starts going dead on me again. I am nearly been ran over my other cars due to this issue. I think it's just a matter of time before someone gets hurt if this type car. I have done internet research and there are many people who are still having this problem after the recall.

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #33

Jan 152008

Altima

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving 65 mph or lower, the vehicle acts as if it will shut off. Sometimes the vehicle stalls and will not even start. When the accelerator pedal is depressed, the vehicle will not pick up speed. The vehicle will not exceed 30 mph. Also, when driving, the vehicle jerks back as if it will shut off. The dealer stated that the crank position sensor needed to be replaced; however, the contact stated that it was replaced last year. The dealer also stated that the speed sensor failed. NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The current mileage was 74,000 and failure mileage was 69,000.

- Reidsville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?