Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Nissan Altima has two fairly significant problems with the floor pan rusting through & motor mounts breaking.

Altima owners report that up to a basketball-size hole develops under the floor mats where the floor pan metal rusts through. Average repair cost is over $1,000.

The broken motor mounts are less of a problem - they break at ~75,000 miles average & it's $400 to fix. Still, motor mounts should not break!

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Nov 102009

Altima

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The crankshaft sensor has failed, which causes the vehicle to stall without prior warning. The manufacturer and the dealer stated that his vehicle identification number was excluded from recall #07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). He was ineligible for a free remedy, so no repairs were made. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Davey, FL, USA

problem #90

Nov 042009

Altima

  • 84,000 miles
While driving at low speeds the car is cutting off completely. This happened twice and then I took the vehicle into the dealer. The vehicle has approx 84,00 miles. The check engine and brake lights come on but there is no power to the vehicle. After waiting a few minutes the car will start back up. This happens without notice and you do not have time to pull over. After taking car into dealer I was informed that the crankshaft needed to be replaced at a cost of over $300. There is a recall to have the crankshaft reprogrammed but it does not cover replacement.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #89

Aug 202009

Altima

  • miles
Consumer have a 2005 Nissan Altima and is concerned about the use of a faulty cam and crank sensor. While entering a busy intersection, the engine shut off. As a result, the consumer lost steering and braking control. After sitting in the vehicle for a half hour, the vehicle finally started again as if nothing ever happened. The consumer contacted the dealership and was informed the problem may have been a faulty cam and crank sensor which was a known problem with the consumers year and model. The consumer stated a recall was issued and she is seeking reimbursement.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #88

Jan 212009

Altima

  • 49,916 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle a 2005 Altima isn't starting properly, I brought it to the dealer where I bought it and they said I have a crankshaft sensor failure, this means the car could shutdown at any moment while I'm driving it!!! luckily I didn't cause any major accidents so I called Nissan about this problem, they said my car isn't coverage under this recall # 07V527000. Shame on Nissan!!! I spend $255.45 out of my own pocket to get this problem fixed!!!

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #87

Jan 012009

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,916 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima S/sl. The contact stated that when attempting to start the vehicle, the engine warning light was displayed on the instrument control panel, and then the vehicle exhibited a no start condition. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and a technician concluded that she would have to pay $ $255.45 to replace the crankshaft position sensor. The manufacturer was contacted in reference to recall# 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling. Upon contact she was advised by a representative that because the vehicle identification number was excluded from the VIN range she was ineligible for a free remedy. No repairs were made. The failure mileage was 44,916. The current mileage was 49,000. Bl updated 10/13/09. Updated 10/15/09.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #86

Aug 152009

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 40 mph on normal road conditions; proceeding to a complete stop. There was pressure applied to the brake pedal. Followed by an engine stall. The engine restarted after waiting a few moments. The driver resumed operation with caution. The engine warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the failure was contributed to the crank sensor. There was a recall under the NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact experienced the identical failures mentioned in the recall. However, the VIN number was excluded from the recall defect. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for service repair. The manufacturer has been notified. The contact had concern of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 39,000. The VIN number was rejected from the system which will be updated upon receipt of the safety complaint form. Js updated 10/5/09 updated 10/07/09

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #85

Aug 242009

Altima 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 25 mph, she noticed the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel and the vehicle stalled. As a consequence her risk for serious injury and crash were increased. Approximately 3 to 5 minutes later, the vehicle restarted. She notified the manufacturer of recall# 07V527000(engine and engine cooling) in which a representative stated that her VIN number was excluded. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 11/10/09 the consumer was informed the camsahft sensor needed to be replaced. The consumer took the vehicle to a local repair and was told the crankshaft sensor needed to be replaced. Updated 11/16/09.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #84

Jul 242009

Altima

  • 57,000 miles
Began having problems w/ 2005 Altima engine stopping while driving. Found out that my car had been included in a recall, took car into dealership where purchased. Told that my car did not qualify for the recall and was charged $260 when the recall form said that it would be a free service.

- Windermere, FL, USA

problem #83

Jun 232009

Altima

  • 115,000 miles
My 2005 Altima was recalled because the crankshaft position sensor (cps) gets hot, fails to send signals to the engine control module (ECM) fast enough, so the ECM shuts down the engine, increasing the danger of being involved in a traffic accident (NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 ). in June, my car stalled on the highway. I towed it home and discovered via a code reader that the cps failed, and by google & the NHTSA web site that this was part of the recall id'd above. The remedy is to reprogram the ECM. I made an appointment with the dealer who originally sold this car when new, and dropped off the car. The next day the Nissan dealer left me a self-serving and deceptive message (that I can send you in audio format or transcribed to text) insinuating that along with the free remedy (reprogramming the ECM), the cps had been replaced for $257. I stopped by the dealer to discuss this, and to my relief (since the recall remedy didn't require this $257 repair) the cps had not been replaced. However I experienced the same failure the next hot day. Nissan's ECM reprogramming remedy had no effect - the engine stalled and the code reader again said cps failure. I opened a file with Nissan usa Consumer Affairs, who assigned a rep. The rep. First spoke with the dealer, then called me and refused to pay to replace the cps (a $37 part). Why doesn't this recall include replacing the cps (Nissan's recommended fix, when the ECM reprogramming fails)? this partial recall is problematic because it's: #1 almost free for Nissan (no parts, minutes of labor) #2 in my case ineffective, causing no cessation of accident risk (a common problem, I'd bet) #3 limited to only one of the 2 failing parts in a closely integrated failure pattern #4 an effective "loss leader" - bringing customers to their garage, allowing Nissan to make money (e.g. replacing the $37 csp for $257) #5 hard to verify (no visible new or old parts to prove they did the ECM reprogramming).

- Excelsior, MN, USA

problem #82

Jun 272009

Altima

  • 103,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 and in Nov of 2009 there was a recall on this car due to a ECM reprogram(crankshaft position sensor code R0712).on June 27 I was driving my car and when I went to turn the corner at 10mph the car shut off, it restarted back up rite away so I thought nothing of it.however the next day it happened again and it didn't restart right away.on Monday June 29th I called Nissan and made an appointment.I took my car in to Nissan of hayward ca on June 30th at 8:30am described the problem, the guy told me that my car was not affected in the recall(which I knew was untrue) but that there was a upgrade that had to be done on the cars computer but that it mite not fix the problem, because he thought it could be the crank shaft position sensor.after the reprogramming was complete I was informed that there were no other codes that came up and that reprogramming the ECM fixed the problem and that everything should be ok.unfortunately I was driving my husband to work and soon as we were taking off from the light the car shut off again and did not restart for 10 minutes.Nissan reprogrammed the computer in my car and probably in many other 2005 Nissan Altima's however just like in my case reprogramming theses computers isn't enough because obviously it doesn't solve the problem. I was sold a defective car and I feel like Nissan should take more concern and responsibility than just reprogramming the computer when it clearly isn't fixing the very dangerous problem that these vehicles impose. This is a serious problem to my family and others as my car is just shutting down without warning. Something needs to be done on behalf of Nissan to ensure that this problem is assisted in the proper manner.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 082009

Altima

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving in traffic yesterday; engine stalled twice nearly causing and accident. Auto will be taken to dealer today for inspection.

- Waycross, GA, USA

problem #80

Jun 042009

Altima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions, the service engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The indicator remained lit until the engine was turned off. Suddenly, the vehicle stalled and coasted to the side of the road. The engine restarted after ten minutes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000, although the failures were identical. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileages were unavailable.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #79

May 252009

Altima

  • 199,750 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The vehicle shut off without warning while driving approximately 50 mph. The contact managed to restart the vehicle and drove to a repair shop. The mechanic stated that the crankshaft position sensor failed. The crankshaft sensor was replaced twice. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact will have to pay $700 for the repair. The manufacturer stated that the dealer had the final decision to either charge for the repair or repair the vehicle under the recall for free. The current and failure mileages were 199,750.

- Fort Valley , GA, USA

problem #78

May 132009

Altima

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact noticed that the engine warning light would consistently illuminate on the instrument panel. He experienced a no-start condition when attempting to start the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle stalls at relatively low speeds. He received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling) and immediately called the dealer. He was informed that before the vehicle could be repaired according to the recall, he would have to pay for a diagnostic. The manufacturer agreed with the dealer. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 150,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #77

Apr 182009

Altima

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The check engine light illuminated and the engine experienced difficulty starting. The contact made numerous attempts before the vehicle finally started. While driving at unknown speeds, the vehicle felt as if it would stall every five miles; however, it never completely stopped. The contact took the vehicle to a repair shop for diagnostic testing and was informed that the crankshaft position sensor faulty. The dealer stated that her VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07527000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact believes that the manufacturer should include her vehicle in the recall if the failures are identical. The crankshaft position sensor was replaced by the dealer at her expense. The current and failure mileages were 55,000. Updated 05/14/09. Updated 05/14/09.

- Minneanapolis, IN, USA

problem #76

Apr 242009

Altima

  • 86,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 70 mph, the contact noticed a "jump" in the vehicle as if something slipped. Two days later, she noticed more jumping so she stopped to get gasoline because she believed that was causing the failure. Afterwards, the vehicle failed to restart. She attempted to restart it twice and was finally able to drive to her residence. A friend stated that the sensors were the cause of the malfunction. Her friend took the vehicle to a mechanic and had the sensors changed. After leaving the mechanic, the issue recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the shop. The mechanic stated that the crankshaft position sensor was the cause of the failure and made the replacement. There had not been any failures since the last repair. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 and the dealer stated that she could not receive reimbursement. The current mileage was 86,815 and failure mileage was approximately 86,500.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #75

Apr 222009

Altima

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The vehicle has become very difficult to start and while driving 30 mph the engine shut off twice. The vehicle was used; however, it was purchased from an authorized dealer. The dealer stated that the ECM was reprogrammed before the vehicle was purchased. NHTSA campaign id # 07V527000 is related to the failure; however, the VIN is not a part of the recall. The contact is aware of the safety risk. The current and failure mileages were 65,000.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #74

Apr 252009

Altima

  • 59,930 miles
Nissan Altima 2005 experiencing problems shutting off while driving - according to www.NHTSA and multiple other sites this is a problem covered by Nissan recall 07V527000 - we took it to gwinnett place Nissan for repair - they said this and another sensor are bad but not covered under recall - then charged me $125 for "diagnostics" to determine this is the problem when I explained to them exactly what was happening and showed them the recall information. He says this car VIN not covered under recall, but according to recall description it is covered and this is the exact problem caused by the issue. When a car stalls out while driving, it can lead to very serious safety issues putting the driver and others at risk of death or serious illness. This is a very serious problem. He told me it would cost me over $400 to repair and that they would apply the $125 diagnostic charge to the repair if we opted to have it done. Service advisor listed on bill as C. mark wyatt

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #73

Mar 232009

Altima

  • 66,000 miles
The engine stopped running without warning during vehicle operation, the "service engine soon" warning light to came on, created a no start condition.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #72

Apr 052009

Altima

  • 70,000 miles
Crank shaft sensor needs to be replace. I had the ECM reset with the recall but now the check engine light is back on. The car stalls out on me on the interstate. Is that safe?

- Cambridge, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?