Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005 Nissan Altima has two fairly significant problems with the floor pan rusting through & motor mounts breaking.

Altima owners report that up to a basketball-size hole develops under the floor mats where the floor pan metal rusts through. Average repair cost is over $1,000.

The broken motor mounts are less of a problem - they break at ~75,000 miles average & it's $400 to fix. Still, motor mounts should not break!


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Oct 222008


  • 74,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle completely shut off. The vehicle coasted down a hill. The contact shifted into park and restarted the vehicle. A few days later, the failure recurred. The most recent occurrence was on November 26, 2008, in which the contact had to make several attempts to restart the vehicle. Once the vehicle was started, it shut off again. When the vehicle restarted, the check engine indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. He took the vehicle to the dealer and stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The dealer informed the contact that he would have to pay $250 to repair the issue because the failure had little to do with the recall. He chose not to have it repaired at the time; however, he paid $80 to get his vehicle back from the dealer. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was 74,157 and failure mileage was approximately 74,000.

- Tuscaloosa , AL, USA

problem #50

Oct 102008


  • 44,691 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact observed a news report for Nissan recalls and called the manufacturer. He was informed of NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling) and the vehicle was repaired. While attempting to make a right turn from a traffic light, the vehicle stalled at 25 mph. The vehicle was able to be restarted; however, the check engine indicator illuminated and the engine continued to idle rapidly. The vehicle has stalled several times since the recall repairs were performed and have since worsened. The contact also had supporting documentation of the failures. The failure mileage was 44,691 and current mileage was 60,607. Updated 12/11/08. Updated 12/11/08.

- Huntington Park, CA, USA

problem #49

Oct 142008


  • 67,000 miles
I rec'd letter stating 05 Nissan Altima are being recalled. I took vehicle in to dealership (North Texas Nissan in corinth, tx). They fixed it and stated everything was okay. Couple days later car just cut off on me at redlight and while I was driving. Check engine light came on took it back to dealership they said they couldn't help me and to make an appt. And bring in Monday. I did, came in at 9 am, service advisor told me it would cost $98 for diagnostic test. It came back stating it was crank and cam shaft sensor. Nissan Corp. Want pay for it; stating our vehicle wasn't the VIN #S that were recalled. So we have to pay for the sensors. I will never but another Nissan again. Nissan Corp weren't apologetic, couldn't ans. My questions. Something needs to be done this.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #48

Oct 102008

(reported on)

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles


2005 Nissan Altima recall for electronic control module. Consumer states that he has taken his vehicle to the dealership for the recall on four different times but they have not performed the recall. The consumer stated there was always an excuse as to why the problem was not corrected.

- Tuckahoe, NY, USA

problem #47

Sep 202007


  • 45,788 miles
I lost power from 65mph to 40mph without warning on a hwy with the speed limit of 65mph> I took to dealership and they replaced throttle body assy. I received a recall notice "that the engine might stop running while being driven due to the program in the electronic control module. They said this wasn't a problem. 9/04/2008 the engine stalled after started this time a faulty crankshaft position sensor. Please look into related dangers. Thanks

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #46

Aug 222008


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). She consulted the dealer and took the vehicle in for repair. The dealer replaced the ECM module as the recall remedy. A few days after the repair, she noticed that it was difficult to accelerate. The failure occurred mostly on the freeway. The dealer advised her to bring the vehicle back in for inspection. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was 45,030 and failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #45

Sep 062008


  • 64,784 miles


My 2005 Nissan Altima started stalling at low speeds and the engine began jumping at acceleration. Apparently, I had a recall on the crankshaft sensor. I took the car into thornhill Nissan in fort worth, Texas and they said they would reprogram the ECM. The next day the sel came on and the car started all over again with its problems. When I called dalene vasquez at thornhill Nissan she stated that the sensor was not part of the recall and that it would cost me $200 to replace. Through my own independent research I find that this has been a known problem since their 2002 models and they won't replace the $40 sensor.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #44

Sep 212008


  • 106,000 miles
In June of 2008, I received a notice in the mail regarding a recall on the engine cooling of the 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5L engine. I took my car in the to local Nissan dealership in lubbock, tx and the issue was supposedly corrected. I had never had any issues with my car until after this repair was done. I went to pick up my car and right afterwards my check engine light came on and has remained on since then. I called over to the dealership and was advised that it was ok for the service engine light to be on and not to worry about it. Soon afterward my car began to have trouble cranking. I would go several days without wanting to crank at all and also it would take a while to turn over if it was cranking. About two days ago my car would not crank once again. I let the car sit until the next day and attempted to crank it again. The car still would not crank. I got the car towed back to the Nissan dealership and was advised that the issue was, as others previously stated, the crankshaft and camshaft that needed to be replaced. Asked if the crankshaft would be my responsibility and was advised that it was because the crankshaft was "mentioned" in the recall but not specifically covered to be repaired by the recall. I was advised that those two repairs will be $208 to repair plus taxes and that there was no way to repair it free because it was not specifically stated that these issues would be free under the recall. I called the Nissan usa number and asked for a resolve. I asked for the repairs to be paid by them because the recall was supposed to prevent this very problem from occurring however instead of preventing the problem, the repairs caused the problem to start. They refused to pay for the fees and told me that I would need to pay the bill and then submit the bill to them for research to see if they could do anything about reimbursement. The fee should not be my responsibility because Nissan refuses to take ownership of the problem.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #43

Sep 162008


  • miles
I have an Altima 2005, several months ago I received a letter saying that all certain models that came out of the company, came with an affect on the engine. Before I receive the letter by then I already had by car taken to fix it, so I paid. Now on this month September 16, 2008 I went to the service department and first I did not like the way they attended me, second they wanted me to charge me 100 dollars just to check if it was the problem that said in the paper and if it was. It was going to be free or otherwise if it came with something else that's when they were going to charge me with that amount. Now my complain is why am I going to pay 100. If it was not my fault that it was the manufacture of the car. I did not paid 25 grand. For nothing. Now I would like that problem to be fix without charge because it's not my fault that the car, came out with a problem from the company. Please answer to my complain and help that I need to get this fix, but without charge. Thank you!

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #42

Aug 102008


  • 87,000 miles
My car was running fine until I got in my car one day and it would barely crank. It took it a minute, but it finally did. That happened several times. Then, while driving to work, my car shut off in the middle of the highway, while driving. This is extremely scary and I am not understanding why this is happening. My local Nissan dealership will not look at it because my check engine light is on. Well, my light didn't come on until this started happening. What is happening to my car fits the description of the recall to a tee. I have gone to a mechanic shop and they have told me that being what is wrong with my car will make the check engine light come on. My complaint is that the dealership will not look at it or fix it because of the check engine light. This needs to be fixed and hopefully soon. I carry young children in my car and its the only mean of transportation I have. I don't need something to happen while doing this. Thank you for your time.

- Silver Creek, GA, USA

problem #41

Sep 122008

(reported on)


  • miles


Recall notice for 2005 Nissan Altima electronic control module. Consumer does not understand why she had to pay for repairs and wants help with being reimbursed for repairs. The consumer stated she had been having problems for months with the vehicle just coming to a stop. The consumer stated the dealer told her, they had fixed the recall, but if she wanted her vehicle to stop stalling, she would need to pay an additional amount.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #40

Jul 292008


  • 85,764 miles
This summer, I visited crown Nissan in hoover, Alabama to address problems I was having with my car. Specifically, my 'service engine soonż light came on while I was driving, after my car tried repeatedly to stall. (this had happened several times before, without the light coming on.) while there, I was told my car was subject to a recall, the fixing of which was designed to prevent that very problem. The next day, I was driving my car and it stalled out (without the light coming on), and I immediately called crown's service department again. I was told that this was a common problem when the recall did not address the stalling, and it was usually the cam and crankshaft positioning sensor. I asked why Nissan usa did not recall the cam and crankshaft positioning sensor, if this was a common problem. I was told they had no say in that. So I called Nissan usa, alerted them to the problem, and asked that they open up a file for me, as I thought they should recall the cam sensor, if it turned out to be the problem. After subsequent research, I discovered that the cam /crank shaft positioning sensor was recalled in certain 2002-2003 Altima. Finally, my car kept stalling until the light came on again. I took it to a different Nissan dealership (due to other issues with crown). It was there I was told that the cam/crankshaft position sensor needed to be replaced. When asked if this was customary, I was told this was a common problem with Altima like mine, for which the recall failed to prevent the problem. Again, I asked why this cam/crankshaft position sensor was not recalled. This is a very dangerous problem to have on the road. I was told to take it up with Nissan usa. I called Nissan usa and requested a refund, and asked that they recall the part. My case was assigned to a field rep, who has never called me. After no response to my calls, I sent a letter demanding a refund and a recall. No response.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #39

Jan 092008


  • 64,306 miles
I took my Nissan Altima in for repair for the recall on it in Jan 08 and when I picked up my car I cb the next day and advise them that my car was not running correctly, it has continue to get worst I was able to get my car in for repair on Aug 20 because my car stalls while my car is in motion and the engine light keeps coming on and off. They call me back on 8/22 and said that it was the speedo cluster and it has been fixed charged $420. 2 weeks later my service engine light is back on and my car is still stalling. I feel as if my car is going to cut off while I'm on the interstate and cause a accident or worst my life. When I took my car back to them and they will not take responsibly for not fixing my car correctly they said that the computer is saying something different now that what the computer said 2 weeks ago but I advise them that I did not bring my car there for an experiment it was taken there to fix the stalling and its still do the same thing. I asked them for my money back so I can get my car fix else where. Sheehy Nissan of glen burnie also says that they think it may be my crank sensor but this is why I took my car in for the recall because of everything that is now happening with my car. I pull up history on the Nissan Altima and a lot of customer are having the same problem after they take it in for repair on the recall the engine light and stalling happens with your vehicle. This is a very serious issue and they are taking it likely. It started out stalling around once or twice a week now its doing it everyday and the light is constantly on.

- Baltmore, MD, USA

problem #38

Aug 092008


  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact received a safety recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). She took her vehicle to the dealer and noticed that her check engine soon light was illuminated. She was informed that she would have to have the vehicle repaired before the recall repair could be performed. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Charleton, MA, USA

problem #37

Jul 292008


  • 52,949 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle shut off in the middle of the road. The contact waited a few minutes before restarting the vehicle and drove to her residence. The following day, while on the way to the dealer, the vehicle shut off again. She waited awhile, restarted the vehicle, and continued to the dealer. The dealer stated that the crank sensors needed to be replaced because they were not on recall. The contact paid $482 for the vehicle to be repaired. The failure and current mileages were 52,949. Updated 09/24/08. The consumer stated she received a recall notice in the mail and is seeking reimbursement. Updated 10/01/08.

- Lakeworth, FL, USA

problem #36

Jul 262008


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall notice for the crankshaft position sensor. She did not call the dealer until the failure occurred. While driving less than 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and drove to the dealer. She was informed that the crankshaft position sensor failed and the dealer could not reprogram the ECM. Because the failure already occurred, the dealer could not repair or replace the sensor under the recall. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #35

Jul 162008


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. On July 14, 2008, the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle completely shut off and lost total power. The check engine and battery lights illuminated prior to the failure. The vehicle would not restart. The contact activated the hazard lights and attempted to shift into neutral, but it appeared to lock into the park position. The vehicle finally restarted after being shut off for a while. The dealer advised the contact to come in next week for a recall repair, which was believed to be the cause of the failure. The current and failure mileages were approximately 45,000.

- Selden, NY, USA

problem #34

Jul 102008


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). She called the dealer and was informed that the recall repair would only involve reprogramming the computer, rather than repairing the crankshaft, which really needed to be replaced. The contact's concern was that the recall repair only stalled the failure instead of providing a remedy. On July 10, 2008, the vehicle completely shut down at a stop sign. The vehicle lost total power and no warning lights were illuminated. After waiting two minutes, the vehicle was able to be restarted. When the contact turned off the vehicle to pump gas, it would not restart. The vehicle would also surge occasionally. The current and failure mileages were approximately 64,000.

- Mcintosh, AL, USA

problem #33

Jun 212008


  • 52,300 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle shut down and the service engine warning light illuminated afterwards. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the electronic control module failed. The dealer reprogrammed the electronic control module. The engine light illuminated again after the reprogramming of the electronic control module. The manufacturer stated that the crank shaft position sensor caused the engine light to remain lit. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact would be responsible for the crank shaft position sensor repair. The failure mileage was 52,300 and current mileage is 52500. Updated 09/16/08. Updated 09/17/08.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 012007


  • 57,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima. The service engine light illuminated and the engine revved while the vehicle was idling. The contact was concerned that his vehicle would not pass inspection. The vehicle was repaired for the same failure in January of 2007, but recurred 4,000 miles later. The contact is concerned that the repair will need to be made after every few miles he travels. NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The failure mileage was 57,800.

- Fuquay Barina, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?