Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,924 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #115

Apr 152012

Altima

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Nissan Altima and I can only go about 800 miles per quart of oil. Is there a way to get this resolved and have Nissan fix this problem? thank you.

- Portland, TN, USA

problem #114

Apr 042012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
While driving at 55 mph in highway, there was a brief speed interruption without warning. Then service engine soon light was on. I took the vehicle to the local mechanic for a diagnostic test. The test results showed a failure with the crank shaft sensor. The mechanic replaced the crank shaft sensor but the repair did not remedy the issue. It happens only on highway speed.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #113

Mar 252012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 80,011 miles
Experienced a violent shake 03/25/2012 while driving. Had it checked by a dealer 03/27/2012. Multi-point inspection, power steering system flush, auto transmission fluid service, and premium fuel service completed 03/27/2012. The engine died while driving on 4/11/2012. On 4/12/2012, dealer says loss of compression, and suggested an engine rebuild.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #112

Apr 092010

Altima

  • 166,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the engine was burning excessive oil, causing the catalytic converter to fail. In addition, the rear suspension was sitting abnormally low to the ground and was sitting noticeably lower than the front suspension. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed him that the engine and catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 166,000.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #111

Feb 212012

Altima

  • 77,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. A local mechanic diagnosed that the crank shaft position sensor was defective. The dealer also diagnosed and confirmed the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but advised the contact that NHTSA campaign id number: 06V223000 (engine and engine cooling) did not include the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 77,800 and the current mileage was 78,000.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #110

Feb 272012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Crankshaft position sensor signal.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #109

Jan 182012

Altima

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 30 mph. In addition, the vehicle intermittently would not start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a diagnostic test and the mechanic stated that the crank shaft position sensor was faulty. The contact noticed the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling), but the recall only included the 2005 model Altima. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #108

Aug 232010

Altima 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Approximately 1 1/2 years ago, I started hearing a clicking noise coming out of my 3.5L engine. I took the car to a dealer and he said I needed a new engine ($6000). I drove the car for another 3K miles and the noise continued and became louder. It sounds like an [xxx]movie projector. I took the car to another Nissan dealer who told me the primary timing chain guide was causing the noise. I suspect that Nissan knows of this defect in the timing chain which causes the timing chain guide to become damaged. I have also read it happens between 20K to 80K miles. Anyway, if the timing chain jumps it cause serious internal engine damage. I have talked with Nissan consumers affair group with no results. I think this should be investigate and Nissan owners warned of this engine defect. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #107

Jan 062006

Altima

  • 25 miles
The contact owns 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that after having the vehicle examined by an authorized dealer, the dealer stated that the vehicle was consuming oil quickly due to the piston rings on cylinders one and four. The dealer also stated that the pressure on those rings was too low, making the vehicle consume oil much faster. The dealer informed the contact that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 06V223000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was approximately 25.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #106

Jan 042011

Altima

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact was driving 55 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact restarted the vehicle and took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The test results showed a failure with the crank shaft sensor. The dealer replaced the crank shaft sensor but the repair did not remedy the issue. The contact stated that the crank shaft sensor was replaced twice after the first repair and the vehicle continued to stall. The failure mileage was 126,000. The VIN was not available.

- Glenn Heights, TX, USA

problem #105

Nov 282011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 52,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident happened on 11/28/11 as I was driving on interstate 93, New Hampshire. The car suddenly cut out on power and jerked then the service engine light came on. I scheduled an appointment at belknap tire in laconia, nh and they reset the code for the crank positioning sensor, replaced the air filter and performed routine service on my car. On 12/3/11 I was driving again on interstate 93 and the car again cut out on power, jerked and the service engine light again came on. The code was checked and it is again the crank positioning sensor. I then went on the Nissan website and there was a campaign for this exact same issue - campaign #07V527000. I was finally able to talk with [xxx], a Nissan service phone rep, who advised that my car VIN was not affected by this campaign. I inquired why it wasn't as it is the same exact problem as the recall and he said that it does not effect all Nissan. This is an unsafe driving issue for me and obviously there has been this same problem with the Nissan Altima yet my 2006 is not considered one of them. Nissan will not cover this and said I could apply for financial assistance but there is not any recall relief to get this corrected. I feel that this is a safety problem and there is a history of this issue with Nissan vehicles. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Northfield, NH, USA

problem #104

Nov 192011

Altima

  • 75,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that he was able to restart the vehicle almost immediately. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the R&R crank shaft sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 75,700 and the current mileage was 75,738.

- Oakdale, CT, USA

problem #103

Mar 022010

Altima 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Since 1st occurrence date listed herein through present 11/15/2011, vehicle continues to randomly fail to start & stalls at freeway & surface street speeds and when idling at a stop; I have used an autel maxiscan MS300 can obd-II scan tool everytime the vehicle has presented these symptoms. Each time the scan has confirmed a "crank shaft position sensor" failure and sometimes includes an "engine speed sensor" failure; I phoned Nissan U.S.a operations and was told by their representative that my vehicle was not included in a recall for these problems; this is obviously a scam by Nissan to not include my VIN based upon the number of complaints for the exact same issues and the VIN's not being included; I plan to sue Nissan for the repairs in small claims court in California if it is not rectified.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #102

Oct 262011

Altima

  • 49,000 miles
This 2006 nisaan Altima is experiencing the exact same malfunctions as in previous recalls. The crank sensor is causing the car to abruptly stop running if driven at low speed. Incident almost occurred on pa turnpike during am rush hour traffic and finally stopped at a traffic light in a residential area in mid-day. I had to put caution lights on immediately and hope that I didn't cause an accident. Please re investigate this matter. It is such a major concern and needs immediate attention once again I see. Thanks so much!

- Horsham , PA, USA

problem #101

Nov 022011

Altima

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the crankshaft position sensor and electronic control module needed to be replaced. The contact was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure and the current mileage was 72,000.

- Iuka, MS, USA

problem #100

Oct 082011

Altima

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While parked, the contact noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated intermittently. A few days later the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technicians advised that the engine speed sensor and the crank shaft position sensor failed and would have to be replaced. The contact referenced a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling) and the manufacturer was contacted who advised that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #99

Jul 202011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 74,076 miles
Under NHTSA id number 07V527000. On 07/20/11 I had a service engine soon light come on. Car was not operating properly, so we took it to ken ganley Nissan for service. This is the same problem that appeared on NHTSA id 07V52700 for the 2.5 engine crankshaft position sensor. The dealer stated this vehicle was no on the recall list. Since this is the same failure that was to be recalled, why was I charged $315.22 for repairs? it appears to me that Nissan did not take care of all the recalled vehicles, but picked and chose only certain ones to reduce their expenses. It distorts the purpose of a recall process. Updated 10/20/11

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #98

Jul 142011

Altima

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 5mph and above and the crank shaft sensor light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the crank shaft sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Saugerties, NY, USA

problem #97

Jul 042011

Altima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that when driving various speeds over 5 mph, the check engine warning light would illuminate followed by the vehicle stalling. The vehicle was taken to and inspected by the dealer who advised that the crankshaft sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised him that he was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Wyomissing, PA, USA

problem #96

May 312010

Altima

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. After several attempts, he was able to start the vehicle within fifteen minutes. The vehicle was diagnosed and the failure codes revealed that the crank shaft position sensor was malfunctioning. The dealer was contacted and they advised him that the vehicle was not recalled and would provide no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Commerce, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?