Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!

5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Sep 302006

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 5 mph, the engine compartment or the wire harness overheated and melted. The vehicle was deemed totaled.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
2006 Nissan Altima engine consumed to much oil causing engine to be replaced twice. The new engine has started making a ticking noise. The dealer is considering installing a third engine.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jul 212006

Altima 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
I purchase 2006 Nissan Altima from eastern Carolina Nissan in May 2006. I have been hearing a rattling noise 1 week after purchase. I notified Nissan and they stated that is was spark knocking but when I contacted them to inquire on service report, not noted. The airbag light on/off during driving. The doors lock when keys are in and car is started/off.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #15

Mar 182006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,827 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Nissan Altima has been burning/consuming oil since the day I bought it brand new. The dealership has not been willing to help me and has directed me to Nissan corporation. I have tried to call them various times but have not received any information. They have also failed to contact me. I found out that my car has a recall and that it may catch on fire. I would think that Nissan would be concern enough for my safety to at least send me a letter.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 152006

Altima

  • miles
I bought my first 2006 Nissan Altima 2.5 S in may of 2006. Just after a 2 weeks of having this car, I received a letter from Nissan motors that your car can use excessive amount of oil and as a result can blow up. And they are telling me to check the oil every 700 miles to make sure it doesn't blow up. After all I didn't spent $20,000 to check oil every 700 miles and hoping it doesn't blow up while I am driving. I have also researched and found that lots of owners have complaint like this. I contacted Nissan motors on the 800 number that was on the letter and they notified me that they will notify me with the outcome of this problem within 60 days. I received this letter on June 9, 2006 and today is August 15, 2006. It has been more then 60 days and I still don't have any reply back from Nissan motors. I strongly think that as a result of this problem Nissan should not only replace the engine or fix whatever the problem is. But, they should give 100% refund including the fees like destination charge of $605. This is not a small problem, no one should spend $20,000 and still have to hope if they won't blow up with car while driving.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 192006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,800 miles
Enroute to tucson AZ on interstate 10, my vehicle, a 2006 Nissan Altima SE, became uncontrollable. I heard a sound that I thought was a blowout in one of my tires as I attempted to guide the vehicle to the median. Upon just barely entering the median, I checked my tires and discovered the problem was not a blowout. I noticed another driver pulled into the median on the opposite side of the road. She was checking her vehicle for damage to the front. I crossed over and she informed me that she observed smoke & fire emitting from my vehicle before undetermined "parts of my vehicle" struck hers. I did smell a strong odor of smoke and a flow of black fluid towards the rear of the vehicle. I called aaa of Arizona and was towed to the Nissan dealership in tucson. My 2006 nisssan Altima has 16800 miles on it and is still under factory warranty. Upon arriving at my home at approximately 7:00 pm, I received a call from the Nissan dealership advising me that the incident was caused by the auto technician who had performed my previous oil change not reinstalling the oil plug securely after the oil change and they, Nissan, had conclusive proof that was the case. I contacted jiffy lube who will be sending a representative to inspect the vehicle to determine the veracity of the Nissan claim. Subsequently, I learned of recall 06V223000 affecting 2006 Nissan Altima vehicles.the recall is for excessive engine oil consumption as a result of improper performance of the piston rings. Prior to this incident, I had not been contacted by Nissan nor was I aware of the recall. As my oil change at jiffy lube occurred in may and I had not noticed any leaking oil, I am skeptical of Nissan's efforts to point the blame at jiffy lube when it appears extremely likely my near accident was likely caused by the source of recall 06V223000. I know that only divine providence saved me from being struck by traffic behind me on a road where the speed limit is 75mph. Causing improper

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jul 202006

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had heard from others that Nissan had issued a recall on my vehicle. I called the dealer, gave them my VIN, and it was confirmed. I was told to check the oil, add oil if needed, and that my power train warranty had been extended to 100,000 miles. I was also told that Nissan would contact me and let me know what they planned to do to fix the problem. Today I called to the dealer again to get "100,000" mile warranty extension information sent to me in writing. I was then told it would have to come from the manufacturer. I then called the number I was given and was forwarded around and left on hold. I saw online that customers had been notified of a recall over a month ago. I've never received any notification from Nissan. This has been a horrible experience and I would like to know what options I have??

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #11

Jul 072006

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,289 miles
There was a recall sent to me stating that the car has a high oil consumption rate and that there have been complaints of engine fires. However, the car has not been physically recalled. I had been hearing the brakes squeal and scrub after 3 weeks of having the car, have only had 2 months, finally 2 months later it was found that all 4 calipers were leaking. The parts that were needed were on national back order. The parts were shipped in and the brake pads, calipers, and rotors were replaced, according to the dealer. This was a week ago, currently I am having more trouble with the brake area.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #10

Apr 092006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Nissan Altima equipped with the 2.5S engine. Purchase date: Feb 28, 2006. Soon after purchase I made a trip to beaufort, SC. On return home I checked the oil level and found it ((oil) to be black, smelling burnt, and considerably below the add level. At this point, 1676 miles, I changed the oil. Checked oil level once more at 3165 miles and found the oil down 1/2 quart. Drove the vehicle to the dealer who verified the oil level. I added the oil of my choice. Rechecked the oil level again at 3927 and found it to be dirty and down 1/2 quart. Changed oil once more. In fairness to the owners, I strongly recommend they be reimbursed the full purchase price plus incidental expenses.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #9

Mar 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,800 miles
Purchased a 2006 Nissan Altima in January of 2006. When car had about 2800 miles on it, we were eating dinner at a restaurant across from our local Nissan dealership. When we started the engine to leave, it made a horrible clattering noise. My husband checked the oil and it did not register on the dip stick. We immediately drove it across the street and showed it to the sales manager since service dept was closed. We had to leave car there over the weekend. When service dept checked oil, they said it was low and changed the oil, but did not measure how low just said about 1 and 1/2 quarts low. I went to pick the car up and they tried not to provide me with a service ticket saying it was no charge. I told them I was not leaving with out a service ticket saying that my brand new car was so low on oil that it was not even registering on the dip stick!! their answer was we aren't even charging Nissan for it - like I care!! anyway I got my ticket. Went back a few weeks later and was low again - then they decided to really take this seriously and changed the oil again and said to come back in 500 miles. We did and service manager said it was definitely using oil and he would have to replace the engine. That was about the time the recall came out in the newspaper. We are still waiting on our engine. Have been fighting this since about March. My husband was told by service dept that Nissan had changed ring manufacturers and had received a faulty batch. I am tired of going to Nissan every 700 miles to have my oil checked. That is why I bought a new car!!! we requested a new car, but like all the other people with complaints, they just laughed. I guess it is going to take someone getting killed in a fire for them to get off of the rears and actually do something!! I am tired of hearing we don't know what we are going to do yet!!

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 202006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nissan Altima excessive oil consumption. Oil level was at L at 700 miles. Added oil again at 1,000 miles.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 232006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was informed that I am currently driving on a recall engine and no one seems to know how the problem will be addressed. I just purchased this 2006 Nissan Altima not even 2 months ago and already there is a recall on the motor in regards to oil consumption. However Nissan wants to ensure that the oil level is being maintained at a correct level in which I was informed that I needed to go to the dealer every 700 miles. Why"??? do you know how much of an inconvenience that is to individuals. Give me a break. This problem has to do with the engine which is being explained that it has to be replaced. When??" how long do we have to put our lives on hold for Nissan. This is a multi-million dollar company and they have sold 85,000 defective units. Why should I pay a car note on a vehicle that is defective and no action is being taken to correct the problem. I feel more communication is needed asap. Please advise.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 022006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles
We purchased a new Nissan 2006 Altima 2.5 on 05/31/06. Two days later, June 2nd, it was on the news that Nissan told their dealers to stop selling this car due to engine fires and excessive oil consumption. Within a week we received a letter from Nissan telling owners about this problem and to monitor oil level. We then contacted Nissan with the phone number that was on this letter. We told them we would like to return this car and pay the difference for the V-6 model. They laughed! we feel that we should not have to monitor the oil on a brand new car. We bought this car for my wife to commute to school we have had this car for 22 days and do-not feel safe. They have already made an acknowledgement of this problem in their letter about monitoring the oil which could be the result of engine fires if not properly maintained. As a consumer buying a new car you should not be burdened by this problem between recommended oil changes, this was our first Nissan purchase and Nissan headquarters made us feel very poorly about them. I am very dissatisfied with my purchase of this vehicle and not safe at all, why should something happen, an engine fire or anything else like this before something can be done to make me a satisfied customer.

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #5

May 312006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
I picked up my new Nissan Altima on the evening of May 31. I was going to buy a used car but the dealer convinced me that I would never have any problems if I leased it new instead of buying a used vehicle. The next day I find that there is a problem with engine oil consumption and possibly engine fires. The problem is so bad that Nissan has stopped selling this vehicle 24 hours after I picked up my vehicle. I questioned the dealer who swears he had no knowledge of any problems. This must be a lie. I was not permitted to return the vehicle. I checked my oil after 580 miles driven and it is already down two quarts. The dealer must have known of reported problems.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 032006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2006 Nissan Altima on February 25, 2006. The first oil change I was almost a quart low, the second oil change about the same thing. I received a notice from Nissan stating that there is an engine problem relating to oil consumption and engine fires. I also saw an article in autoweek about this problem. They are extending the warranty to 100,000 miles and want me to check my oil every 700 miles. Are they kidding, a car that burst into flames if you don??T check the oil almost every time you fill with gas and all they are willing to do is extend the warranty. I have only 8,000 miles on the car, and feel completely unsafe driving it now. Niacin need to correct this problem now if that required changing the engine so be it. This will be the last Nissan I purchase ever and I have owned 4 before.

- Rosedale, VA, USA

problem #3

Jun 132006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Nissan has admitted via a letter that certain vehicles (mine is one) are subject to high oil consumption and the result could be a fire in the vehicle. Nissan has attempted to correct this by: Changing the oil and filter, promising to monitor the level - subject to another trip to the dealer- at 700 subsequent miles, they will then provide an unknown 'fix' to the issue if the oil level has decreased to their satisfaction, if no noticeable decrease in their perception, then monitor another 700 miles - return to dealer again and have them review, possible fix is to replace the engine at that time. The concern is that when one purchases a new vehicle, if the manufacture knew of the defect and potential hazard, then the sale should not have been allowed. Further, a new vehicle now needs to be monitored and returned to the dealer every 700 miles - I can not think of an example of more inconvenience. The safety hazard of a fire or breaking down - all in a vehicle with 1500 miles on it is incredulous. I can not let my family drive in the car and am concerned with my own safety. A 22000 vehicle that is brand new should not be allowed to be sold and have consumers asked to continue to operate the vehicle. I do hope this is investigated. I understand that a total of 80000 Altima were affected. I would like to know when the manufacturer was aware of this problem, why it did not stop sales immediately and why the manufacturer will not just fix the issue. I also understand that the vehicles within the VIN range that are on Nissan dealer lots are being sent back to have the engines replaced. Next, a problem at 1500 miles with the transmission occurred. The vehicle experienced problems in shifting and maintain gear. This resulted in the service engine light illuminating and the dealer 'getting a part' to fix it. I would like to know what the issue is with the transmission that had only 1500 miles on it to malfunction.

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #2

Jun 132006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2006 Nissan Altima on May 22, 2006. Yesterday, I received a notice from Nissan stating that there is an engine problem relating to oil consumption and engine fires.(I also saw an article in the paper about this problem) I have only 700 miles on the car, I checked the oil as soon as I received the notice and the oil was down by 1/2 quart, which is unheard of for a car with only 700 miles. I called the dealership and was told that Nissan is increasing their warranty and to keep my oil levels up. For the amount of money I paid for this car (cash), I should not have to be concerned with an engine catching on fire. I think Nissan should buy my car back and sell me a model that is not defective(only had the car 3 weeks). I am still waiting to hear from the dealership on how they will handle this problem.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #1

Jun 052006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2006 Nissan Altima that was manufactured on 2/06. There have been reported fire issues due to the oil consumption. I am not comfortable diving the car. I called the service department at hilltop Nissan on rt 10 in E hanover and was told they weren't doing anything for another 60 days. I want to get out of the car before there is an issue to report. I will add the date I contacted the dealership.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?