Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,560 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Oct 012016

Altima

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crankshaft sensor is bad causing the car to stall at any time - even at high speeds. It has happened while driving slowly through a neighborhood as well as on an interstate causing the car to be difficult to steer to get off the road. This is very dangerous! check engine light came and computer says that its the crankshaft/camshaft sensor that needs replacing.

- Barataria, LA, USA

problem #28

Apr 012015

Altima

  • 98,000 miles
My car was previously serviced for a campaign posted on your website, but the problem was not fixed. I should be entitled to have this problem re worked and fixed. The problem is that the car stalls out without warning, creating a dangerous situation. It stalls out while driving and while idle.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #27

May 062016

Altima

  • 108,000 miles
My car would stall and shut off while driving. It happened one driving about 20mph and then a few times in traffic. Then would not crank to start. Check engine light came on. Had the codes read and it was PO725 speed sensor PO335 camshaft sensor. I had both parts replaced 2 times. Car still has a hard start and check engine light is still on. There is a recall from Nissan for this problem on 2006 Nissan Altima recall id#90579. I called Nissan and they said my VIN is not affected??

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 142016

Altima

  • 5 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When check engine light is on, the car speed suddenly drop to below 10 miles per hour. This happened twice: One was on 03/14/2016, another was two years ago. Both cases happened on local roads with speed limit below 50 miles per hour. I turned on emergency light and tried to stop the car. Turned off the car, and restarted it. The car speed was back to normal.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Jun 182015

Altima

  • 159,000 miles
While pulling to a stop light, the car engine shut off without warning. I put the car in park, turned off & attempted to restart the car. It wouldn't immediately start. This happens spontaneously in drive-thrus, stoplights and when coming to complete or near complete stops in traffic as well. Most recently I was exiting the interstate exit and the car stopped as a slowed to turn left off the exit, almost resulting in a car rear ending my vehicle at 50 miles per hou. The ses (service engine soon) light is displayed and even after having an oil change and tune up the light is still illuminated, confirming it's an ongoing issue outside of standard maintenance. I've been provided a reference number and dropped the car at Nissan dealership today to diagnose. Im fearful of my safety operating the vehicle at this point.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #24

Jun 062015

Altima

  • miles
My car engine shut off periodically while being drive at low speeds and higher oil consumption. The first time occurred on June 6, 2015 while driving across woodyard road to pine view lane from the clinton shopping center. The second time was on Friday June 12, 2015 while driving home from the branch ave metro parking, with my brother on the way home, while turning off from highway 5 on to surratt's road, leaving my brother and I dangerously stuck the right side of the off curve with cars going by blowing their horns. The Altima does start back up, but only after a minute or two. No apparent reason why, no warning lights. The car has been consuming more oil than usual and after the first incident, the service engine light came on and does not shut off. A search for recalls revealed in fact that there was a recall issued, 06V-223 on the 2006 Altima, but was not notified or the recall addressed.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #23

Sep 142013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In both accidents, within 30 days of each other, the car was stopped, in park once and in neutral the other. When the engine was turned on by me and put into drive gear, it suddenly lunged forward at tremendous speed, without my foot touching the accelerator, colliding with the another vehicle. I reported it to Nissan service at the time. They said there was no problem and didn't put it in their service report. Three days ago, the tow tuck driver showed me the defective throttle positioning sensor causing the car to roar into life and go from 1000 to 2000 rpms in an instant. Nissan almost caused my and other's death! I drove the car for one year with my foot firmly on the brake each time I started it. Criminal! help! updated 12/17/14. Updated 01/21/15. Updated 01/26/15. Updated 04/15/15

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #22

Apr 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Vehicle started to idle rough. At low speeds car will shut off. It starts back up but has to be in neutral when idle. Nissan dealer had the car for over a month and told me to replace my ECM and have it reprogrammed. This still has not fixed my problem and I'm worried about driving the car and causing an accident when it randomly shuts off. Nissan usa has a claim on my issue and will not tell me what to do to fix the problem.

- Clermont , FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 092013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 99,200 miles
While driving in a small street, gas peddle just stops working. Car just keeps moving at speed of 5miles like in neutral mode but checked being in drive mode. Then all lights start flashing and stops after some distance). Towed to dealer-states battery suddenly died. Bring it home. Then same thing happened - again just stops working at redlight with flashing all lights but clearly battery ok as powered drive seat can be moved. Again towed and dealer stating that they are changing alternator. Appears recall of 2007 - crankshaft position sensor/engine stall or similar nature problem happening again. Very dangerous to suddenly stop on road. Called Nissan- opened case #[xxx]. waiting for their assessment. Car has been repaired so many times since bought new in 2006, even engine changed. Still multiple problem- dealer visit. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Beverly Hills , CA, USA

problem #20

Jun 202013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
I had coolant service and after that I started experiencing low levels of coolant which led to overheating of car. I kept getting the car check to find out if there were leaks. I checked recall notices and then was told I needed sensors. I called Nissan in September and was told out of the 653K cars mine was not affected! I find that hard to believe. I then had sensors replaced (crankshaft and speed). Now I'm being told head gasket blown and engine needs replacement. The recall from Nissan says there we engine cooling problems.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 272013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my way to work, I drove approximately one-half of a mile. From a stopped position and as I was about to turn onto stone mountain freeway-hwy 78, my car would barely move. I had to enter the freeway. I put on my emergency lights and was able to get off about one-half of a mile further. While trying to get to the dealership, the car lurched and picked-up its normal speed. I went to the dealership, they ran a self diagnostic test and this is what came up: A/T 1st gr fnctn [P0731] once at work, a co-worker googled P0731, and found this recall id # 07V527000 stating that on certain passenger vehicles equipped with a 2.5L engine, the crankshaft position sensor can overheat causing a brief interruption in signal output from the sensor. I called Nissan. They said my sensor had been replaced in 2007. I purchased the car used in 2013. A couple of weeks later, first thing in the morning, it happened again right outside of my apartment complex and before I entered the freeway. This time at about 10 mph. I slowly road on a rarely traveled access road. I just let the car crawl. I did not try to force anything. After about one mile, the car lurched and the speed became normal again. It has happen one additional time since. On Saturday, 9-21-2013, I went to the Nissan dealership close to my apartment and I was willing to pay to have the part replaced, but I was told by the service manager that if they can not duplicate the problem, they can not repair it. I was told by the service manager to call Nissan corporate and ask them to open a case. I did. A person called me back and basically reiterated that if the technician can not duplicate the problem, they can not repair the vehicle even if my life is in danger because I'm at risk of being in an accident due to a documented Nissan recalled defect.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 132013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle shut off in traffic. Was able to start back up and went to park. Hood of vehicle was extremely hot. Multiple times since then I have had issues starting car after having driven it. Car cranks fine in the morning. I have had to leave hood open when I get home to allow engine to cool. Car will start fine again after an hour or two but sometimes taking up to 5 hours. I can feel when the car is about ready to give out as it doesn't accelerate when gas is pushed until you get around 45mph. I have even felt car pull/jerk forward when in stop and go traffic when I let up brake a little bit. I have to keep a good distance from cars ahead of me to ensure I wont hit anyone if it pulls forward.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 012013

Altima 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
While entering my 2006 Nissan Altima while it was parked on June 15th 2013, I attempted to start the car only to find my clutch pedal was pressed up all the way into the underside of the car giving the appearance of not having a clutch pedal. I had to use my hand to pull the pedal back down at which point it fell to the floor of the car. After repeatedly pressing down on the pedal and pulling it back up, the pedal eventually gave resistance. I purchased this vehicle in January 2010 and for the year following I had to bring the car back to koeppel Nissan in jackson heights multiple times to have the clutch pedal replaced. They finally replaced the entire clutch system roughly the summer of 2011. And I am now having this problem with the pedal barely giving resistance when pressed as well as the pedal falling to the floor of the car.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 082013

Altima

  • 115,000 miles
6/08 - car lurched and tried to stall on interstate and check engine light came on. Was able to drive to mechanic's shop. Issue was determined to be the crankshaft position sensor by mechanic, and part was replaced with an oem part but this did not resolve the problem so the sensor was removed and replaced with the sensor that was pulled out. Was able to drive to dealership from mechanic's shop on 6/15 (yes, he had the car for a week). Issue was determined to be crankshaft position sensor, which was replaced. One day and 20 miles later the problem has manifested itself...check engine came on and car does not want to start. This sensor was part of a previous recall for 2006 Altima but I was told my car (when checking VIN) was not part of the recall. I have to take the car back to the Nissan dealership.

- Simpsonville, KY, USA

problem #15

May 112013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway in Texas going 70 miles an hour on cruise control then two unexpected jerks in the engine happened and loss of speed and the service engine soon light came on.

- San Marcos , TX, USA

problem #14

Oct 232006

Altima

  • 300 miles
The vehicle was purchased new in 2006. Two weeks later the car would not crank and the engine had to be replaced. Shortly after, I noticed that the heating system did not work in the vehicle. When I placed my foot on the brake, the heat blew out cold air. I knew there was something wrong, therefore I called the dealership to report this problem and was told "that is the way new models are made". this problem was not fixed. In the winter when the car is not moving (such as at a red light) cold air blows in the car, not heat. I have experienced rattling noises with my car. It can be heard when the car is driven as if something is loose. I took the car to the dealership in 2011 to have it checked. I got the car fixed by an independent mechanic and the noise continued. Each year I have gotten my rotors and brake pads replaced in the front and rear. I do not think this is normal. I have had my car 5.5 years with 79K miles. Problems have occurred with the electrical part of the car. The lights have become deemed when I drove on 2 occasions, the passenger door will not lock, the seat does not adjust all the way down, and sometimes when I press the alarm button on my key, my windows have went down automatically.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #13

Apr 042012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
While driving at 55 mph in highway, there was a brief speed interruption without warning. Then service engine soon light was on. I took the vehicle to the local mechanic for a diagnostic test. The test results showed a failure with the crank shaft sensor. The mechanic replaced the crank shaft sensor but the repair did not remedy the issue. It happens only on highway speed.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #12

Feb 272012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Crankshaft position sensor signal.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #11

Dec 032011

Altima 6-cyl

  • 1 miles
I have a 2006 Nissan Altima, that is constantly 5-7 mph off. I am getting concerned because this is a hazard as I have been asked by the local city police for me to pick up my speed a little as I am restraining the flow of traffic by driving at or below what I believe is the speed limit. Also, I am really concerned since the factory tells you to use a certain size of tire, with me using their recommendation, this will cause the wheels to spin faster than what I am actually really going, thus saying I am traveling farther (mileage) than what I truly am. This, I believe is effecting my gas mileage as my tires are having to spin faster than what is needed and thus causing me to use more fuel. Please help me consider my options or do you know if there is a recall on the speed sensor, drive/powertrain, wheels, etc. Someone who drives 10 mph on the interstate is a hazard, I believe. I am having all kinds of vehicles and semi-trucks pass me on the interstate and I feel the safety of my family is at risk in driving this vehicle. (my current mileage (supposedly is: 43500 miles) I may have traveled less than that. Can you help me get this issue resolved? here is a cbs story on the issue: www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/03/13/earlyshow/main2562144.shtml please help, my families safety could be at risk as well as other passengers who own or are on the road around these cars. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Portland, TN, USA

problem #10

Oct 262011

Altima

  • 49,000 miles
This 2006 nisaan Altima is experiencing the exact same malfunctions as in previous recalls. The crank sensor is causing the car to abruptly stop running if driven at low speed. Incident almost occurred on pa turnpike during am rush hour traffic and finally stopped at a traffic light in a residential area in mid-day. I had to put caution lights on immediately and hope that I didn't cause an accident. Please re investigate this matter. It is such a major concern and needs immediate attention once again I see. Thanks so much!

- Horsham , PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?