Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,269 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Altima body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Altima Owner Comments

problem #7

May 152014


  • 164,161 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the dashboard was melted and cracked. The failure caused a glare on the windshield, which obstructed the contact's visibility. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer who advised that the vehicle was experiencing normal wear and tear. The dealer offered to replace the dashboard at a cost. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to a local dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure mileage was 164,161.

- Mayo, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 222014


  • miles
My dashboard is melting and crock

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 302010


  • 69,421 miles
In 01/12, we specifically purchased this pre-owned vehicle for its low mileage & new cvt transm replaced on 8/30/2010 at 69,421 mi at Nissan fort worth, tx. Vehicle had 92.069 mi. On 6/22-25/13, trophy Nissan in mesquite, tx supposedly replaced the burnt up cvt transm with a new one again, flushed out lines at 105,022 mi [after only 35,601 mi]; also performed electronic fuel injection service, clean throttle chamber, decarbon upper engine area; replaced & reprogrammed intelligent keys. I paid pay $398.48 for air intake cleaner, intake kit, basic inj flush and replacing drive belts & fan. I really didn't understand what that had to do with replacing the automatic cvt transmission.] service advisor ignored memo from corporate office not to place intelligent keys to prevent a "no start fault error". on 7/3/13 the car refused to start due to keys being placed together. New cvt transm installed by trophy Nissan still whines, stalls, hesitates, jerks & gears not shifting right. Due to bad service, rude, nasty, unprofessional people at trophy, I took car to courtesy Nissan, richardson, tx in 7/13, service advisor, bob schille contacted trophy Nissan & refused to check cvt. On 8/10/13 at 110,856 mi, I took car to clear lake Nissan, league city, tx. Cvt was whining, jerking, stalling, hesitating, not shifting properly when test driven but yielded no diagnostic codes. On 6/28/14 - 7/1/14 at 118,531 mi, took car back to courtesy Nissan. I was lied to, car was never test driven nor cvt diagnosed. Took car back to clear lake 11/22 still cvt didn't give diagnostic codes. Went back 12/12/14, cvt gives codes for new cvt after abt 25,000 mi. Now warranty has run out! contacted Nissan usa again via phone, then email 5/18/15. Contacted by angie, Nissan usa, regional Consumer Affairs specialist, 5/28/15 refusing to repair this defective cvt tranm. No car needs 3-4 cvt transm in 8yrs!

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #4

May 012015


  • 35,000 miles


My dashboard is cracked by many parts. My car is always in a garage, because I don't work. Sole owner since 2007, no kids.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #3

Jan 132013


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the entire dashboard melted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Feb 232013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 67,300 miles
Observed pipe suspended from beside right rear wheel of the 2007 Nissan Altima 2.5. vehicle was parked. Looked under vehicle and determined it was a pipe linked to the rear wheel and suspension assemblies. The end of the pipe was nearly dragging on the ground. Did internet research concluding that the broken pipe was the rear sway bar or torsion bar. Prior to observing the visible hanging torsion bar end, we frequently experienced the rear end of the vehicle was unstable when cornering at highway speed such as when entering or exiting a highway ramp. Given this frequent experience, the actual failure in torsion bar functional strength may have occurred months earlier. After determining there was no recall or service bulletin, and also noting that NHTSA records in this database show over 50 event descriptions nearly identical to ours, I went to the Nissan dealer to ask if they offered payment or credits for this repeatable defect. The dealer was not offering any credits. Then, took my vehicle to my master mechanic. He performed the service replacement of the broken sway bar and end link assemblies. We retained the broken sway bar in hopes that NHTSA begins to research this problem. According to the mechanic, this "bar" is really a 5/8" diameter pipe that seared near one of the bushing supports. There is surface rust present within the pipe indicating that the pipe had fractured some time earlier with water entering the fracture causing the rust. It is not a solid steel "bar" as typically found in other vehicles throughout the industry. Cost of repair was approximately $200 for parts plus 1 hour shop labor. We respectfully request that NHTSA investigate this failure due to its apparent common failure mode and for the potential risk of injury should the rear end of the vehicle lose traction on curves or rough pavement at highway speeds.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #1

Aug 282009


  • 35,000 miles
I have a rubbing or scraping sound coming from the front of my car only when I turn the steering wheel. The Nissan dealer could hear it but could not isolate it. It really sounds like a tire rubbing but there is plenty of room in the fender wells. It only happens when you turn the steering wheel backing or turning from a stop.

- Albemarle, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?