Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,776 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Altima body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Altima Owner Comments

problem #10

Feb 202015

Altima

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My dashboard is sticking and starting to melt.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #9

Jan 012014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
The dashboard of my Nissan Altima 2007 is melting (literally). I noticed a small pond of goo like material on my dashboard. In less than a week it spread out like cancer and continues to spread. This pond of goo reflects the sunlight on the windshield, creating a glare that blocks my view and endangers my ability to drive. Not to mention the loss of my investment not caused by improper use of the vehicle (see picture) I've unsuccessfully tried to get Nissan to assume the repair of their defective dashboard. I'm not claiming normal wear and tear or mechanical items but rather a real life threatening issue. I've talked to adrian (457295), john (457263), jessica (57758). I went a Nissan dealership where they diagnosed that it'll continue to experience melting and only replacing could fix the issue. Today nick (7583) called me to sympathize with me but how unfortunately Nissan cannot replace my melting dashboard and that the issue cannot be escalated any further. It is shameful to see how NHTSA has more than 200 reports of melting dashboard, Nissan can spend millions of dollars in a super bowl ad #with dad appealing to customer loyalty but Nissan cannot assume responsibility of a defective material that couldn't perform in Florida...updated 03-04-15 updated 6/17/2015 updated 12/09/15.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 172014

Altima

  • 92,000 miles
I have a crack separating in a perfect seem around the Nissan symbol on the steering wheel, where an airbag would deploy- from the far left, all the way to the far right. There has not been any specific incident that has caused this to occur, this issue was noticed by myself on 11/17/14. I brought my car to the tempe autonation Nissan 11/18/14 at 3 pm to meet with the service team member, [xxx]. I was explaining the crack and separating of the materials to [xxx] prior to him looking at my car.after showing him the wheel, I had stated "I just don't feel like this situation looks very safe and it's definitely not comfortable", and [xxx] replied "yeah", agreeing with my statement. [xxx] proceeded to take down my VIN and look it up in his computer.he said my car was not a part of any recalls and that if I wanted to replace the part, I would need to replace the entire steering wheel system and it would be over one thousand dollars. I asked him if he had seen this happen before, and he said "yes, I have seen this on another Altima". I explained to him how I didn't think it was safe and he said "well it will just keep tearing and it's not like the airbag is going to just eject at you. It needs impact for that to happen." I then asked him if the rip continues, if the airbag would be exposed and he said it probably would. After obviously noting I was not happy with the accountability not being taken by Nissan, a co-worker of [xxx] asked if he could also look at my car. He took a peek and said that there was not anything unsafe. It was very discomforting with the fact the service team member originally agreed that it was not safe, and then after noticing my vehicle was not covered by a recent airbag recall, and taking notice to the fact I refuse to pay for such a defect, he then claimed there was nothing unsafe about the situation. Please look into this, seems very unsafe. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #7

Oct 102013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard is melting.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #6

May 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
My nissian Altima, the dashboard is starting to crack and melt. The local news channel in my area did investigation on this problem. Looks like I'm not the only one having this problem. They advise to file a complaint, and the local dealership only solution is to have the whole dashboard replaced.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Jun 282012

Altima

  • miles
The rear sway bar on my 2007 Nissan Altima is broken. I drive less than 6,000 miles per year, and rarely in bad weather conditions. I was told this is not under warranty and there are no recalls, but I have seen several complaints online about the 2007 Nissan Altima sway bar. This is a safety hazard, especially considering it can happen when not driving that many miles (I only knew to have it checked because I parked on a hill and could see something hanging from my car. Otherwise, with the limited number of miles I drive, I would not have had my car checked, and would have been driving a hazardous vehicle this whole time).

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #4

Jun 012011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I walked out of my house and my windshield was cracked on the passenger side. The crack begins at the passenger side molding of the window and spreads all the way to the middle of the window. About an hour before, there was nothing on my window. Since this occurred to present, I have seen about 3 other Nissan Altima's and one brand new Nissan maxima, with the same problem and the owners have also stated it cracked out of nowhere. I was also able to find several complaints about the same problem online.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 282010

Altima

  • miles
Sway bar broke for no reason. Very expensive to fix. It is a hollow sway bar.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #2

Jan 022008

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,420 miles
Purchased a 2007 Nissan Altima 2.5S. 1. first problem started when I heard a loud rattling noise when I start the car (this was 2 months after I bought the car). Increase RPM to 1.5 RPM to get a louder, crisper noise. Took it to the dealer and was told that the heat shield was cracked and needed to be replaced. Took 2 weeks for the dealer to fix the problem. Noise went away. 2. noise came back again 2 weeks later after it was fixed. Brought it to a different dealership to have it checked out to get different opinion. Finds out the heat shield was installed incorrectly. Resolved, and later told me that there was many complaints about this noise. 3. had a 110lb passenger on the front passenger seat and the air bag off light turned on. Have yet to go to the dealer to see why this is happening. 4. after all this, I start the car on December 10th, 2008 and did not warm up car. When starting to accelerate car on street, clicking noises started to emerge. Was wondering if there was a problem with the clutch motor or the belt. Noise starts disappearing when the car is warmed up (after 8 minutes) decided to test it out by warming up the car first later in the day after it had cooled down, and then driving it, clicking sound emerged again. Bought it to the dealership, and told them to make sure to check noise when the car is cold (giver or take 3 hours), they did not listen and checked it when warm, when there is no clicking occurs. Deemed fine. 5. brake squeals once in a while when used. Have yet to check this one out to the dealership. 6. on a morning of Jan. 2, 2008, I have started the car only to notice that the air mode has switched from defrost/foot air mode to foot mode. I thought the air control unit was supposed to memorize the last time I had the mode on but once every often, it switches back to the foot air mode plus turning on the A/C every time the car starts. Computer problem maybe? have yet to go to the dealership for this.

- Gillette, NJ, USA

problem #1

Aug 112007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,341 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The air bag light blinked intermittently and remained illuminated. The contact weighs 112 lbs. When riding in the passenger seat of a Tahoe, she stated that the air bag light does not illuminate. The dealer stated that this was normal because her air bag has a smart system. The manufacturer stated that the dealer was incorrect and advised the contact to install the air bag on/off switch in the vehicle. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 2,806 and failure mileage was 1,341. Updated 01/11/08. The dealer stated passenger front speaker popping off, vehicle sounds really loud, and sometimes key light will stay on. Updated 12/12/07

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?