Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,933 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Altima drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Apr 102014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My cvt transmission went out with 126K miles. I was never notified of any recalls regarding the transmission and there have been a few. I started hearing the infamous "whining noise" about 6 months ago which would have been around 100K miles. Had I been notified of the recalls I would have taken the whining a little more serious and researched it. Well, too late but after the fact I found many youtube videos and hundreds of complaints from people with the exact same issue. If you hear this whining noise, it's your transmission. Nissan knows they put out a garbage transmission which is why they doubled the warranty on it to 10 years or 120K miles. Conveniently, mine did not go out until 126K. I bought this car three years ago with 17K miles. Yes, I drive a lot but it's for work and it's primarily highway mileage. I wouldn't have ever expected the transmission to go out in a car this new. I have learned my lesson. I will never buy another piece of jap crap from Nissan as I am now dumping 4K to get this repaired. I checked with nissanusa and they denied any responsibility nor did they offer any financial assistance because I am 6K over their extended (doubled) warranty. When my car broke down I called my mechanic, who is ase certified, and super trustworthy. He came and towed it, ran diagnostics on it and determined it was the transmission. I called nissanusa and was advised to have it towed to an authorized dealer because they would not offer assistance until an authorized dealer diagnosed it. I did just that, paid the dealer $150 to tell me what I already knew (bad transmission), only to have nissanusa deny me assistance after the dealer confirmed it was the transmission. Then I had to pay to have it towed back to my mechanic as the dealer's quote was outrageous. I will never buy a Nissan again and I hope you won't either!

- Laporte, IN, USA

problem #14

Apr 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 230,968 miles
I was driving at 65 mph on a major highway and without any warning the car stalled out. The vehicle would not engage in any gear. The transmission failed without any warning lights or codes. Vehicle towed immediately to dealership. Diagnosis stated checked for coded all ok, however internal hard failure new transmission. $4000 vehicle was serviced always at crowley Nissan bristol ct and serviced on 3/28/2014 checked a week prior. Paper work indicated transmission fluid full and excellent. Nissan usa refused to assist in any matter and dealership was the worst. This vehicle had issues in the past having numerous items replaced under warranty. Never buying a Nissan again...

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #13

Sep 062013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
On 9/6 at approx. 3:30pm mnt the car began having issues accelerating past 60 mph on I-70 E in Colorado. At times it would even start de-accelerating. Around 4pm, smoke was coming out of the front hood. My boyfriend and I then pulled over to the side of the highway, and after about 10 minutes we noticed that transmission fluid was leaking from the car. After being towed to the mechanic about 20 miles away, he worked on the car for about an hour and completed an official diagnostic. He said the transmission fluid had overflowed from the transmission and that we could have had a fire on the highway. He also came to the conclusion that the transmission was blown and the car was not drivable. We had to store the car in the mechanic's parking lot for the night and get a rental car. We then had to stay in a hotel for the night in grand junction, co. The next day we called around to find a Nissan service center that would be open to accepting the car and could get the parts in a reasonable amount of time given that we were stranded in Colorado. We found a service center in Aurora about 250 miles away from grand junction. We worked with aaa to get the car towed to the dealership just before they closed. Since they were closing the Nissan service center did not have time to look at the car until Monday. I ended up being stranded in Colorado for a 6 days with my boyfriend, until the car was fixed. I am very displeased with Nissan's customer service. I called specialists for 3 days with no help. They have refused to compensate me for the other damages incurred by the faulty transmission. This trip cost $2,000 in unexpected costs due to be stranded, and my life was put in danger because none of the Nissan service adviser's told me about the issues with the cvt transmission (I took my car to be checked before the road trip in May 2013 and late August 2013).

- Evanston, IL, USA

problem #12

Jul 272013

Altima

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, there was a sudden loss of acceleration power without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the inter-cooler kit for the power transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- Floor Park , NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 182013

Altima

  • 77,500 miles
Transmission wines, and wouldn't shift into gear from park 2 times froma parked situation. Numerous other ongoing small problems, which I've read about with customer complaints for this vehicle. I have them also. Radio display out, center console loose, with weight, car bottoms out on speed bumps, failed stop light/start brake switch,

- Parkton, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Feb 192013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the engine was running but the vehicle would not move. The contact mentioned that the failure was experienced once before. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that this was a known issue because of the belts that were used in the transmission. The dealer also stated that the steering lock needed to be replaced. The current mileage and failure mileage was 129,000.

- Wenonah, NJ, USA

problem #9

Sep 302012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter and I were about 30 minutes North of san antonio on our way home to dallas. In an instance my car stopped accelerating and the mph declined. I checked to make sure the car was still in drive and it was. I pulled over as to not cause an accident and turned off my car. It took a few times to start it back as it would start and die. About the 3rd try it started and I revved the gas - it sounded normal so I drove to an autozone - it was the closest. I asked if they would check the computer to see what it said and they said it wouldn't read w/O a code. I took the car 10/1/12 to bankston Nissan in dallas (the car drove fine all the way home) and they said it may be too much cvt fluid. Took it in and they couldn't duplicate the issue and the fluid was fine - did not need to be changed or anything. The tech said when it happens again to pull over and have it towed to a Nissan - he thinks maybe since I restarted it may have cleared the codes. I asked if he thought it would happen again and he said yes. Looking online I see this same description and issue over and over again. I even called Nissan Consumer Affairs and received a call back... this did not happen before when I had a master cylinder issue that was recalled 6 months later. Nissan at that time just said sorry. This time I got a call back inquiring, but then still get a sorry. I think something is up. They all seem to know the issue but w/O a code they wont replace the transmission under warranty. What if there is never a code??!!!

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 022012

Altima

  • 53,000 miles
I have 2008 Nissan Altima 2.5 S which has push button start. I.e. person has to push button and press brake at same time to start the engine. There is a switch / sensor near brake pedal which sends signal that brake has been pressed (and also turns on rear brake lights). One day, all of sudden, when I tried to start car it didn't start. It keep saying press brake (accessories / radio etc all turn on). So the cycle of accessories - on- off kept on happening. I thought battery is weak and even tried jump start. So, after trying pushing brake + button for 30minutes, car finally started. This happened 2-3 times and I got very frustrated....finally I started reading online about this problem. Many people have posted same complain / issue. They suggested to check whether rear brake lights turn on when I press brake or not.. if not then the switch is bad.. I saw many people were able to fix problem by replacing switch ($50 expense). I did the same and car has been working fine since then (2-3 months). Dealer tries to charge $150 only for switch and then $500 for other stuff to eliminate root cause of issue.. as many people are effected by this issue, I firmly believe that Nissan should recall and fix this issue at their cost. Dealers are making tons of money off 2007-2008 Altima owners.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #7

Aug 312012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 64,500 miles
Vehicle was driving along with other normal traffic when it suddenly lost power and stalled on an incline. Driver carefully steered vehicle to a safe place downhill and called a towing company to tow vehicle to driver's residence. Upon visual inspection of engine compartment, a rubber seal on the ECM wiring harness was found buckled up. On trying to remove and re-insert the harness, it was found that ECM terminals had corroded and some pin contact had actually fallen off. Upon doing some research, this was found to be an issue covered under federal emissions warranty. Driver/owner called the local Nissan dealership who immediately, presumably at their own expense, towed the car to their facility, checked and found the ECM to be faulty but blamed the faulty wiring harness for the failure. And further, the dealer claimed since the harness carries a 3 year warranty and was the "cause" of the ECM failure, this was no longer covered under federal emissions warranty resulting in a bill of $2,000+ for replacing the faulty - corroded - wiring harness and the faulty ECM. Attempts to have the dealer do more research or contact Nissan usa for advise fell on deaf ears. If the car had stalled on high speed and caused fatalities on the highway, would these repairs then have been "part" of federal emissions warranty coverage for publicity purposes? it is out of sheer luck that 1. the car stalled while going downhill and, 2. the car was traveling at 40 miles per hour. I desperately need advise on this while I await for delivery of a special order for the ECM and harness. In the meantime, my rental car expenses are piling up and are not covered by any warranty.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #6

Dec 072011

Altima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I have 2008 Nissan Altima with a manual transmission. About three weeks ago I noticed that the vehicle has been "dragging" in first and second gear. I have not noticed any problem with the clutch. The gears shift as normal but there is a squeaking noise. Even in 3-6 gears the vehicle will not pick up speed as it should. I took it to the dealership and they tell me it is the clutch that is worn out. There is no check engine light or any warning sign showing. Normally a clutch burns out and the pedal will fall flat to the floor. In this case none of that has happened. I bought the vehicle from the dealership in 2009 with 11000 miles on. I have been driving a jetta with manual transmission since January 2005 with no such problems. My research on internet indicate other people have similar problem with Nissan manual transmissions.

- S. Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 012009

Altima 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has developed a terrible wobble or shimmy between 30 and 40 mph. Nissan maintains it is in the cvt transmission. I have had the car into dealer many, many times.. no solution. But, all agree the car wobbles and shimmies at 30-40 mph. I have had Nissan engineers drive car, same result;.nothing. I have written to Nissan corporate offices, no solution. Told by Nissan that my driving style may be too conservative for car. Told by Nissan execs to drive car harder and faster and avoid speeds between 30 and 40 mph. How absurd. Nissan says there is no solution, so live with it. This car is a danger. What will happen on snow and ice. The consumer stated the transmission was reprogrammed several times, but to no avail. Updated IVOQ 12/08/11

- Villa Grove, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 032011

Altima

  • 41,023 miles
My Nissan shakes and flutters when I take off., I think that there is a major defect in these new transmissions. The Nissan dealership assured me that this was a normal operation. I've been around long enough to know that a car shouldnt hesitate from 20-55 mph.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #3

Jan 032011

Altima

  • 41,023 miles
My Nissan shakes and flutters when I take off., I think that there is a major defect in these new transmissions. The Nissan dealership assured me that this was a normal operation. I've been around long enough to know that a car shouldnt hesitate from 20-55 mph.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #2

Oct 102008

Altima

  • 3,000 miles
Purchased a 2008 Nissan Altima, drove the car for 3,000 miles. Cvt transmission started making strange noises. Turned out to be defective. They replaced it, but did not put it back together properly. Been having problems with it ever since. Nov 30, 2009 took vehicle in for scheduled maintenance, had them examine transmission again for a grinding noise. They did not "see" anything wrong with it but acknowledged transmission could be defective. Car is going in for more "tests". Nissan extended the warranty to 10 years 120,000 miles for cvt's, however I don't feel safe driving the vehicle.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 122009

Altima

  • 23,400 miles
Brakes were making a noise for a 2nd time; already replaced once when I told abc Nissan phoenix, AZ (where purchased) that at speed less then 25 mph my brakes were making a noise. The other day went to brake at 14 mph in very heavy traffic on the freeway during rush hour and brakes locked up and had to use the emergency brake to avoid a collision (mind you I was one car length behind the car in front of me). I am afraid to drive my Nissan Altima now!! this is ridiculous.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?