Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 1
Average Mileage:
58,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Mar 152012

Altima

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. While parked, the contact noticed that the passenger side air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician advised that the front passenger side seat cushion, which contained the occupant classification system control unit, would have to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V521000 (air bags) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 012011

Altima

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 10 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel after the crash. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a diagnostic test. The technicians stated that the sensor may have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- St. Louis , MO, USA

problem #17

Nov 252011

Altima

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, another vehicle crashed into her vehicle. The impact was received on both passenger side doors and the air bags did not deploy. The driver and the three passengers were transported to the hospital by ambulance. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop. The police reported to the scene and a report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #16

Oct 222011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 63,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was a one vehicle crash (total loss) that occurred when the brakes would not work causing our car to strike a brick wall (also emergency brakes did not work). None of the vehicle airbags deployed except for the drivers steering wheel airbag which deployed once the vehicle came to a stop. The accident occurred at approx. 11:45 pm, 22 October 2011. No drugs and or alcohol were involved. The car was recently purchased from a Lexus dealer and the same company owns a Nissan dealership which confirmed that all Nissan recall items were complied with. We have several professional photographs to prove that there is still something going on with the Nissan Altima 2.5 brakes and air bags to allow something like this to happen. I have personally talked with[xxx] about this and left a voice mail with [xxx] at their NHTSA office. My insurance company confirmed that this car was a total loss and the vehicle has been now been removed from the towing and collision facility here in Indiana and sold to a parts salvage company. I was trying to have someone inspect this car before it was destroyed, but it appears that it is now to late to do anything about this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #15

Mar 182011

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,579 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 35 mph he engaged the brakes and T-boned the vehicle in front of him. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belt shoulder restraint did not restraint him during the crash. His breast bone was fractured by the steering column and he was hospitalized for 24 hours. A police report was filed. The vehicle was damaged on the right front bumper, headlights, grill and there was a dent in the hood. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 34,574 and the current mileage was 34,579. Updated 05/03/11

- Wheeling, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 192010

Altima

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that when an adult over 150 lbs to 200 lbs occupied the passenger seat, the air bag off indicator light would illuminate indicating that the air bag was not active. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they made repairs to the passenger air bag sensor but to no avail. The manufacturer advised the contact that the correct repairs were made to the vehicle and the air bag was not functioning because the passengers were not seated in the seat correctly. There were no further repairs. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 27,000.

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #13

Jun 102010

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V521000 (electrical system: Software). The failure recurred within six months. The contact stated that he would use a cushion when sitting in the seat and the dealer advised that the seat cushion could be the cause of the failure. The contact did not believe the cushion to be the culprit because the air bag light did not illuminate for six months while using the cushion. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 33,800. Updtated 2/17/11 updated 02/23/11

- Plymyth, MA, USA

problem #12

Aug 262010

Altima

  • miles
My 2008 Altima's passenger air bag light goes on intermittently. When someone is sitting in the passenger seat sometimes it says that the airbag is off. My daughter was sitting there yesterday and it did it again. She is over 100 lbs. I took it into the dealer for this in the past and they said that my VIN number was not on the recall but they didn't do anything and it continues to happen.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 012009

Altima

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima coupe. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph. The passenger side air bag warning light indicator illuminated in the on and off position without assistance. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on seven separate occasions. The technician stated that there was not a problem. The failure mileage was 800. The current mileage was 7,000.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #10

Mar 172010

Altima

  • 30,000 miles
I was at a complete stop, was rear ended by a Ford Explorer, which therefore made me rear end the person in front of me. The driver never put on their brakes. The back glass shattered, my trunk was in my backseat, gas tank exposed. None of the airbags deployed. Guess the frontal hit wasn't hard enough to make the front airbags deploy, which therefore hit my head on the steering wheel, that caused me to have a 3cm laceration above right eye, which required closing. The rear side airbags should have deployed, but didn't!! I am concerned about this because I have a child that could have been in the back seat, I had just taken her to daycare before I was on my way to work.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #9

Mar 062010

Altima

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Nissan Altima coupe and the passenger air bag malfunctions when I have a passenger sitting in the seat. I have returned it to the dealer 4 times and they test it with a 75# weight and say they can't replicate the condition. The problem becomes more pronounced as the passenger weight increases, so it malfunctions more frequently when I have my 185# son in the passenger seat than my 120# wife.

- Lebanon, IN, USA

problem #8

Jun 262008

Altima

  • miles
My 2008 Nissan Altima passenger air bag light goes on randomly while driving with my girlfriend in the seat. It does not happen at start up, or at any other regular event (I.e. - braking, etc.). I have taken this to the dealer twice, and they say that they have checked and there are no stored codes. They directed me to Nissan corporate, who turned around and called the dealer and was told the same thing. I will check with the dealer again, but I doubt they drove with anyone in the seat, and this could happen after a few miles or not for many miles. I am extremely scared and frustrated. This light tells me the air bag is shut off, and I cannot get anyone's attention. I am supposed to wait until a crash and the bag does not deploy? the dealer told me to return when the light goes on which is not practical. I cannot drive circles around the dealer until the light goes off, hope it stays on, and then hope they can quickly break a technician free to check codes. This seems like a huge safety concern to me. I am an engineer by trade and understand the workings of many sensors, transducers, etc. This does not make any sense to me. If the person sitting in the seat statically before the vehicle moves does not cause the light to go on, it should not then go on *shutting air bag off) randomly. Randomly could be in the case of an accident. I really no longer want this vehicle unless someone can show caring and understanding to this issue. Please help!

- Boston, NY, USA

problem #7

May 012008

Altima

  • 400 miles
The occupant classification system on my 2008 Nissan Altima coupe is not working properly. The indicator saying that the airbag is off is lit when there is a full size 150 lb person in the passenger seat. There is a recall out right now for 2008 Nissan Altima coupes but my VIN number is not one of those being recalled. I have taken it to the dealership 4+ times and they keep telling me that everything is working according to specifications. I have talked to Nissan and they said there was nothing they could do. This upsets me greatly because I don't have a passenger airbag for full size passengers. Obviously there is something wrong, I told them that I would send a video of my driving with a full size passenger and having the airbag disabled. There is no way to over-ride this function. So I am stuck with either having a one person car or telling my passenger that if we get in a wreck that his airbag wont deploy. They continue to tell me my car is under the correct specifications but I have someone who is double what the sensor weight needs to be in order for the airbag to be enabled. I am stuck with a one person car, because I refuse to drive anyone knowing that if I do get in an accident they will die. I just want the problem fixed. Both Nissan and the service shops believe my story fully but they continue to say that until they can find the root of the problem that it cannot be fixed. So again, I am stuck. They ran all of their tests and they came back "ok". I told them that I would like for Nissan to buy back my car but they of course refused. I cant drive a car with no passenger airbag and yet they keep telling me that there isn't anything I can do! I am extremely frustrated and upset because I have found the problem before an accident had occurred but yet I cannot fix it. Please help me. I have run out of options.

- Clinton, MI, USA

problem #6

Jan 152009

Altima

  • 4,000 miles
To many recalls.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 012008

Altima

  • miles
Passenger airbag light comes on when the vehicle is in motion and an adult passenger (150 + pounds) is in the front passenger seat. This occurs intermittently and sometimes corrects itself and sometimes not. When the light is on the passenger is not protected and therefore subject to serious injury in the event of an accident. I have taken it to the dealer at least three times and each time I am told that the airbag system is working properly. I even took it back with my wife sitting in the front seat and the airbag light was on so they could see for themselves the problem. It did not make any difference to them. This problem occurred immediately after I purchased this vehicle new in December 2007 and continues today. Because the problem occurs intermittently you never know if your front passenger will have airbag protection when riding in the vehicle.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #4

Oct 042008

Altima

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. In October of 2008, the front passenger air bag indicator remained illuminated while driving 5 mph. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer replaced the air bag control module in November of 2008. The failure has not been corrected. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that the dealer would not allow the contact to drive an unsafe vehicle. The failure mileage was 8,000 and current mileage was 14,000.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #3

Jul 102008

Altima

  • miles
I bought a brand new 2008 Nissan Altima in July 2008. I have had ongoing problems with the passenger airbag light turning on and off while I have a passenger who weighs 125lbs. When the light turns on, this means the airbag will not deploy. I've taken my car to the dealer twice for this problem and they said they can't duplicate it nor fix it. I've called the Nissan consumer hotline number more than a dozen times and just seem to get the run around. I'm told my file was "assigned" to someone, but this "someone" can't seem to return calls nor answer my calls. I'm astounded that this problem with my airbag is not elevated to a priority status as there will be a very large lawsuit against Nissan if my passenger is injured or killed due to the malfunctioning airbag sensor. Please help. I feel totally helpless with this issue.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 162008

Altima

  • miles
Purchased car new in July 2008, and have since noticed that my passenger air bag light will indicate that the air bag is "off" when I have passengers in the front passenger seat. Light will also indicate that the air bag is "off" when there is nothing in the seat. Not a consistent problem, have seen the light indicate that the air bag is "on" when there is only a small bag or books on the seat. Took to dealer where purchased, they said my airbag is functioning properly.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 152008

Altima

  • 1,000 miles
Driver's seat on '08 Nissan Altima moves side to side as you go around turns; very disconcerting. First response from dealership was "we can not replicate, and this is the first one we've heard of". next visit I was told "Nissan is aware of the problem, and should have a fix in 30 days or so". that was 45 days ago. 2nd problem, my passenger airbag light stays on a lot of the time my wife is seated in the seat. She's about 150 pounds, so there should not be a weight problem. Had it in twice for this, and another "can not replicate". I'm concerned that in the event of a collision, she will have no air bag protection.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?