Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: You don't want to get 2009 and 2010 Altima owners started about their cars. That is, unless, you know how to start their cars.

These vehicles can suddenly become impossible to start thanks to a faulty electronic steering column lock (ESCL). Nissan dealers will gladly replace it, but that will run you $1000.

It's one of the many reasons this car was named CarTalk's Turd of the Week and given our Beware of this Clunker badge. Two dubious honors.

More info & videos are available over at NissanProblems.com.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Altima steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 26)

problem #508

May 172016

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Not too long ago my car would not start in several ocassions I had my children with me ages 4 & 7 in the heat stranded because my car would not recognize my key... I have contacted Nissan consumers affairs at one point their was a recall but has expire in 2015..now its June 2016 and my car just started doing this I made 1yr with my pre owned car still makin payments not once was I notified about this recall..I just felt scared and this vehicle is not safe for me and my children.it could leave us stranded any time and its June I cannot risk it in this heat.... this is a safety issue... Nissan did state to me that their was a recall and their sorry but it has expired and im responsible for the part... this is a manufacture issue they knew their vechicles had a safety issue when they made them I believe they are responsible for this costly matter... I am a single mom of 2 still making payments on a car that wont unlock and read my key I need help please someone..... this part is $680+ labor=$1150!!!! I believe Nissan is responsible for this issue...

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #507

Jun 042016

Altima

  • 109,000 miles
My car left me stranded because the steering wheel lock failure. I went to start the car and the car wouldn't start at all. Nissan doesn't see this as a safety issue which is ridiculous because this issue is clearly unsafe because it strands the driver. The car becomes immobile and dead. The only way to fix this is to pay at leave $600 for the part plus another $200-$300 for installation. The worst part is that Nissan was aware of this problem when they manufactured the car because it is in the owners manual warning the driver that the car will leave you stranded. How is this not a recall?!

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #506

Dec 042015

Altima

  • 50,000 miles
I parked my car when arriving home one night, I noticed the intelligent key light was lit, but didn't think anything of it. I came out to my car the next day to take it to work, I noticed that the light was still lit and tried to start my car, but it wouldn't start. So I replaced the batteries in my intelligent key because the light was on. I tried to start my car, but it still didn't start. I got the car towed to Nissan and learned that it was the steering column lock that needed to be replaced for over $800. My car only had 50,000 miles on it at the time, so I did some research and learned that there are many complaints about this part and it should be recalled. I learned that there was an extended warrenty through November 2014, but I didn't drive the vehicle enough to have this problem sooner for it to be covered by the warrenty.

- Abington, PA, USA

problem #505

May 292016

Altima

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electronic steering column lock is defective and will not allow the car to start leaving me stranded with my family without any other way or form of starting my car. Nissan will not respond or fix the issue due to expired warranty with only 80K on the car.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #504

Jun 022016

Altima

  • 103,000 miles
My 2009 Nissan Altima would not start for me today while I was on my way to atlanta. I stopped for gas and once I hopped on my car, in an unknown location, my car would not start. I haven't had any signs or issue with my car since I bought it 3 years ago. After waiting for hours in a town in which was very creepy I've finally found out it was my escl (electric steering column lock). Not only did I have to get my car towed way back to North Carolina, I also ended up paying an arm and a leg at Nissan!!! come to find out everyone with a 2009 Altima has had this problem it seems like! they extended the warranty for a few months and that ended a year ago! I got nothing in the mall from Nissan regarding this so I was totally unaware of the defect! this has been a liability for me and my family being that I've spent over $1000 getting this done as well as towing fees! Nissan has to do something about this defect or else their will be thousands more than end up stranded who knows where because of Nissan defects! and their irresponsibility of their product!!

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #503

Jun 022016

Altima

  • 43,918 miles
The car suddenly didnot start and when checked with the dealer, they said it is a known issue of electronic sterring column lock failure of 2009 Nissan Altima.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #502

Jun 022016

Altima

  • 43,918 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start as the key warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic steering column lock needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 43,918.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #501

May 302016

Altima

  • miles
Steering lock 48700-9N00B went out no warranty Nissan dealership said. We did not get any information on this issue. All they have been doing is giving us the runaround said we could bring it in and it would cost us $1K dollars after parts and labor. This is there issue don't see how they are not responsible to fix the issue. They said there was a warranty on the transmission and the noise while we drive don't know if I will ever buy an Nissan again after not receiving any information on recalls.

- Portland, TX, USA

problem #500

May 272016

Altima

  • miles
Steering lock malfunction and now I'm unable to start my car. Nissan knows about this and hasn't recalled and now my warranty is over and I have to pay $900 to get it fixed

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #499

May 292016

Altima

  • 146,000 miles
Steering lock release malfunction indicator on; can't start car. It's sitting like a bump in my driveway. Thanks goodness it didn't leave me stranded!! but now I'm carless!!

- Bristow, OK, USA

problem #498

May 262016

Altima

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car was stationary and the steering wheel locked and so the car could not be started. I needed to have the car towed to the dealer to have the part replaced for $900 before taxes. Nissan is aware of the issue on the part and had extended the warranty but the extension ended in 2015. I don't understand how they can do this -- the defective part needs to fail within a certain timeframe in order for them to make it right?

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #497

Mar 182016

Altima

  • 76,000 miles
My steering lock failed. I was stuck in the middle of the night at the airport parking lot with my 7 year old and my 3 year old daughters. I had to pay a towning truck to tow me. Witch cost me $560! later to contact Nissan about the warranty and was told it had expired in January! I called in March! I still haven't been able to fix my car the repair is over $1,000! there are so many cases with this same exact problem but Nissan refuses to help!

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #496

May 232016

Altima

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Altima. While attempting to restart the vehicle, it failed to start. The vehicle was towed to the manufacturer where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel sensor lock malfunctioned. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 147,000. The VIN was unknown.

- Bellows Falls, VT, USA

problem #495

May 222016

Altima

  • 114,500 miles
Takata recall. My complaint is regarding the 2009 Nissan Altima steering lock failure. My lock failure occurred on 05-22-16. I returned home after a day of spending time with some friends. I parked my car and later that evening, I decided to go to the store. Once I got in the car, I couldn't start it. The brake was really hard to push and yellow key light illuminated from my dashboard. The fob would allow me to unlock and close doors. The lights worked, but the engine would not start. I was lucky enough to have this situation occur in the parking lot of my apartment complex otherwise the car could have broken down somewhere really unsafe. My vehicle had to be towed to the nearest Nissan dealership where it was fixed for $939.38

- Pickens, MS, USA

problem #494

May 162016

Altima

  • miles
I own a 2009 Nissan Altima on May 16, 2016 I arrived home at 10:30 I parked the car in my drive way turned the car off an went inside my house. I prepared my dad's lunch and went back inside the vehicle when I attempted to start the car it would no longer start the a red car light with key was blinking and a orange key as well my windows are rolled down and won't roll up and its been raining please help I called Nissan they asked if without hurting myself could I jerk the brake and start the car they want me to pay for a diagnostic at Nissan this has happened to so many people

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #493

May 172016

Altima

  • 134,000 miles
My 2009 Altima would not start, checked battery in car, put new battery in key fob and still nothing. I did some research online and found that it was possibly the steering lock. Hit on the box and finally car started. It has done this too me 2 time in the last week. I was not at home either time. Very frustrating and dangerous for a single woman. I do not have the $800 to $1000 dollars for the part and labor. Isn't there something Nissan can do to correct this with those of us that still have a 2009?. I went in wal mart today and came out and would not start. It took almost 1:50 hours tapping the box before it would start. I would appreciate any help or a solution for this problem. I have done some research on this and it looks as tho Nissan quit using this part in 2010 due to issues. Seems there should have been a recall.

- Mooringsport, LA, USA

problem #492

Apr 212016

Altima

  • 116,121 miles
This complaint is being filed in reference to the defective steering column lock (part # 48700-9N00A) on this car. When this component fails, it leaves you stranded by being unable to start the car. I had just ended my late shift only to find that my car would not start. Fortunately nothing happened to me, but this put me in a situation that could have ended very badly, as I had to wait for someone to come pick me up. Nissan obviously knew of this problem because they extended the warranty and also improved the part, (now part #48700-9N00B); but I believe that a defective part, which they acknowledged as such by extending the warranty, should have been replaced through a recall. From the number of people on-line who have also been affected, I would think they would do this recall just to keep the customer satisfied. I know I will be looking at other brands for my next car.

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #491

May 132016

Altima

  • 85,000 miles
Car will not start because steering lock will not disengage.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #490

May 092016

Altima

  • miles
Takata recall - I believe my car has that escl problem because I cant turn on my car at all. On Monday evening I was on my way to work from home and my car was driving fine until innotice that my steering wheel was wobbling. I arravied at work parked my car and went in my workplace for a meeting then when I came back out to my car to take it to the garage it wouldnt start up. I pressed my feet on the pedal like usual but nothing happen it kept showing on the dashboard only a key error. After I got off I tried to start it up again and nothing happend I even had got a hotshot because I thought it was something wrong with my battery but it wasnt. So then inhad to leave my car on the side streetbfor 24 hours because I couldnt afford to get a tow at 5am until I went home and got more money. So then when I came back to work the next day I got my car towed to my house which was on Tuesday May 5th 2016 until I have money to get it fixed because right now I cant afford it. I honestly feel like there should be a recall for this problem because I always toke car of my car since I had and this is the only problem that I had with my carbso far. I dont know what is the cause of the problem.

- Essex, MD, USA

problem #489

May 112016

Altima

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Altima. Immediately after parking, the vehicle stalled without warning and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the electronic steering column lock unit was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and refused to provide any assistance since the vehicle was no longer eligible for repairs under a customer satisfaction campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Freeport, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?