Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,853 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Nissan Altima drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Jun 102015


  • 112,000 miles


Purchased car new Sep 2012. All manufacturer recommended services completed by Nissan dealership service centers. Cvt transmission failed Jun 10, 2015. Failure confirmed by two different Nissan service centers.

- Tyrone, GA, USA

problem #10

May 162013


  • 35,000 miles
On 5/16/2013 after a long period of highway driving my 2012 Nissan Altima, the vehicle lost power and I was forced to pull over to the right lane in order not to get hit from traffic behind me. After awhile I was able to limp into my local Nissan dealer. Nissan service said it was a electronic control module (ECM). Nissan replace and reprogrammed the ECM under warranty. On 7/11/2013 the same issue returned leaving me in a dangerous situation with no power on the highway driving at highway speeds! again I limped back to my local Nissan dealer and this time they diagnosed that I needed a new transmission and they gracefully covered it even though I now had 41K miles. Now less than 2 years later 5/13/2015 my car lost power just as it had before on the highway at highway speeds, narrowly getting creamed before pulling over! back to the Nissan dealer and at first they reported nothing wrong with my car. I told them it happens when the car is hot, they replied that they couldn't drive it that long! finally after several calls the dealer found a tsb (ntb-13-079) identifying the sensor on the transmission forced it to go into limp mode when the transmission gets hot. Nissan's fix is to sell me a $640. Transmission cooler. There is a serious defect with these transmissions putting drivers at risk of serious injury and Nissan knows about it!

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 062012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 11,858 miles
Transmission leak in bell housing. Transmission leak 1/10/13. Transmission leak 9/11/13. Transmission leak, internal failure 9/30/13.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #8

May 142014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 59,341 miles


Work/repair orders, available on request. It appears to be a common issue with Nissan Altima's featuring the ctv transmission. 1) purchased the car from hertz, 12/13. 2) acceleration problem noted when first extended trip was taken to bakersfield in 5/14. 3) problem: When the engine was warm the transmission sensor fails and car can not accelerate. Car failed going over the "grapevine" in gorman, ca. 4) under Nissan 60M warranty, took the car to get checked. Car had 59M miles on it. Explained the problem. They claimed it was a throttle sensor. Fixed it under warranty. 5) next trip to las vegas, going up the I-15 through victorville, Aug/2014. The exact same problem occurred. Acceleration failed when engine was warm and climbing a gradual incline. 6) took the car back to bp Nissan. Now they claim to know for sure the problem was not with the throttle sensor but with the ctv transmission. Unfortunately they now claim my car is no longer under warranty and requires a $4,000 new transmission. 7) after researching the problem it appears this is a common problem for the new Altima ctv transmission. They new what the problem was when I first brought the car in with 59M miles on it. They "kicked the can down the road" hoping I wouldn't come back until after the 60M mile warranty expired. Dangerous situation having to pull to the side of the freeway. Especially with kids in the car. They refuse to give me a "decline of service" letter. Please advise. Regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 242014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 34,500 miles
I was driving on interstate 17 going uphill when all of a sudden my car went into what is known as "limp mode"(loss of power). My speed dropped to 25 mph. I had numerous trucks almost rear end me, until I could limp onto the shoulder. I took it straight to a Nissan dealer in flagstaff AZ. When I got there he pointed to four other vehicles and said to me "what just happened to you, happened to those other 4 Nissan right there". I was told by the dealer " you need a transmission cooler installed because of the hot climate we live in this happens all the time, the transmission gets overheated, it's a defect Nissan has known about for awhile now". I believe this is a safety issue and it's only a matter of time until someone gets killed when their car looses power on an interstate. I have contacted Nissan on numerous occasions only to be told "since no code popped up nothing can be done". the power train is still under warranty. I have tried going through the proper channels with Nissan, but it's been in vain. This is a known problem yet they will not recall these vehicles. Again sooner or later this will cause an accident and I'm afraid it could be fatal.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Jun 182014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 7,700 miles
Car seems to slip into neutral while driving. To resolve this I need to brake, shift into neutral and then back into drive.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 062014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 48,500 miles


We were driving on the interstate at about 70 mph and were unable to accelerate. Accelerator peddle all the way to the floor and the most we could go was 45 mph. Had the car towed to a Nissan dealership and found out it was the shift select assembly that had broken/malfunctioned and the car had gone in to failure mode. There was not warning light at all and this could have been very dangerous on the interstate. First I feel that this part of the car should never have broken in a 2-year old car and I have to wonder if there is a defect in the part for this model year of the Altima. Second, if and when this piece does break or malfunction, there should be some sort of warning light on the dash to make the driver aware and pull over. Nissan is aware of my concerns as I have shared them with their Consumer Affairs department.

- Maiden, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 012014


  • 39,150 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 40 mph, one of the tires flattened. The low tire pressure sensor was not illuminated. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to properly accelerate. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who stated that the transmission and transmission axle assembly needed to be replaced. In addition, the transmission fluid pan was cracked. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the tire pressure sensor malfunction. The vehicle was repaired, but the failures recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 39,150.

- Sahuarita, NE, USA

problem #3

Jun 272014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 57,998 miles
While in operation climbing up and inclines this vehicle engine lose power to approx: 40 - 50 miles and hour, along with a whining in the transmission, also the front suspension appears to be shaking. Windows refuse to go up and down.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 092014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to cvt transmission failure. The consumer stated he started noticing little glitches, in otherwise smooth rides. Then he started experiencing a 2-3 second delay between depressing the accelerator and the vehicle actually moving. On Wednesday April 9, 2014, he was barely able to drive to work, and had to coast with his hazard lights on. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where the consumer was informed it would cost $ 3911 to fix the cvt transmission.

- Maxwell, IA, USA

problem #1

Apr 102014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Altima was serviced at a dealership less than a week ago for oil and filter change. I was driving the 2012 Altima from work on 4/10/14. It looked the car was stalling on the highway multiple times. I slowed down and managed to get home, all along it looked like it was going to stop any time, luckily it did not happen. But this morning (4/11/14) it stopped on the driveway stalled after moving 15 feet. Towed the car to the dealership to get it repaired.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?