Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,122 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Sep 012016

Altima

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2013 Nissan Altima which I purchased new. The car has approximately 90K miles on it now. About 5 months ago the car beginning dying when putting it in gear and/or stopping while driving. The occurrence of the problem gradually increased until we were forced to take it to a Nissan dealer. The dealer diagnosed the car as needing a transmission reprogram. I paid the dealer to perform the work. Two weeks later when putting the car into drive or reverse the car would not move. We had the car towed to the dealer, whom took over a week to diagnose informing us it needed a new cvt. The dealer informed me that the new cvt had been upgraded with heavier duty parts including a heavier transmission cooler as these units were prone to overheating, which indicates (in my opinion) a design flaw. The dealer now wants $3.7K to replace the cvt with a new unit that only has a 1 year or 12K warranty.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #149

Sep 082016

Altima

  • 76,000 miles
2013 Nissan Altima 2.5L sv 76,000 miles cvt failure my vehicle has experienced cvt failure with only 76K miles.. unfortunately for the initial occurrence, I misdiagnosed the problem as bad gas. The vehicle shutters, bucks and stalls when decelerating or accelerating at traffic lights, stop signs or in highway traffic. Additional stalls occur when placing the vehicle into gear (drive or reserve) which may cause vehicle stranded in the middle of parking lots and roadway. The problem seemed to go into remission for the past year, even though looking back I can see some slight signs of bucking when coming to a stop, rough idles, louder whining at higher speeds, ect. I was able to have Nissan tech confirm cvt failure and that it is not a rare issue. A quick google search verifies that many others have experienced the same issues with the cvts and Nissan had provided a recall and extended warranty on all their cvt's manufactured before 2011. This issue does not seem to have been resolved on newer models and is a road hazard especially in intersections of major roadways and in heavy traffic on major highways. Please advise.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #148

Jul 232016

Altima

  • miles
En noviembre del 2014 compre un Nissan Altima 2013 con apenas 31000 millas, a las 54000 millas tuve que cambiar el alternador, Y ahora siento que tengo problemas con la transmision, ES un carro relativamente nuevo, no deberia dar tantos problemas, espero me ayuden a resolver el problema!! gracias!!

- Terrytown, LA, USA

problem #147

Sep 042016

Altima

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

One of the main problems is failure to start or stop. The other is the noisy transmission. Not a very dependable car. Now I heard a recall because of hood latches. As for engine problem could be very dangerous if you were on an interstate and the engine suddenly dies. Transmission very noisy all the time.

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #146

Aug 182016

Altima

  • 66,000 miles
When I get into drive my car it starts but it will not come out of park. I have to turn my car off turn it back on three or four times and sometimes it still won't work on able to use my vehicle. And when I am able to use it sometimes I get stranded at the store because it won't come out of park.

- Colton, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #145

Aug 212016

Altima

  • 90,234 miles
I recently purchased a Nissan Altima S from clay cooley March 2015 so I only had the car a year and some months and now the transmission is gone out I get my car serviced as I should and now this and no one wants to help clay cooley day I'm out of warranty due to miles over 24000 on the car and I'm stuck out to still fork out a 518 car payment it's not right I need help. I was leaving work my my car started vibration and started to decelerate and jerking like it was about to go dead I thought I had got some bad gas so I pulled over my car started jerking harder and cut off so I turned it back on and I shift it in reverse and it went dead so I cut it back on again and shift it in drive it cut off so I dit there for over an hour then I star it again and shifted it in drive and it didn't go dead I was able to drive home so the next day I went out to see if it would do it again and it didn't while driving my rpms went up high and my car made whining noise and started vibrations again and this time my check engine light came on so I was coming up to a light so I stopped but when I tried to drive it wouldn't move so I put the blinkers on and some guy came behind and pushed me over to the side and I say there for about hour and I started up and it moved so I went straight home and called around and explained what had happened so the man from amco told me to come down so I called for a tow and got towed there and he tested it and said that my transmission is bad and it's a cvt transmission do it cant be rebuilt it has to be replaced for as much as 4000 dollars

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #144

Nov 012013

Altima

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2013 Nissan Altima 3.5 sl with about 18,000 miles in may of 2013. The car performed well in the beginning. At about 28773 miles the car began to shutter hesitate and not shift properly. Upon inclines hills low speeds, low RPM's it was especially noticable. I brought my Nissan to a local dealership and they reprogrammed the automatic transmission control module. The car performed normally but then intermittently the same problem the shutter, lack of shifting properly the hestation, jerky strong vibrations, jumping of RPM's. I brought it back to the local Nissan dealership and they again reprogrammed the transmission control module. It was road tested and they reccommended the transaxle be replaced for repair. This was at 55002 miles. I was informed that the new transmission warranty would be 10 years and 120,000 miles. My concern is the safety for consumers. The car doesn't perform properly with the existing cvt transmission the belt slips and the car does not shift or is stuck in excelaration. It is an ongoing problem. The transaxle was replaced however I wasn't informed the existing problem was fixed correctly with the new transmission. I was informed about a warranty. I am concerned I wil encounter the same unsafe condition! the car was repaired as of 08/22/2015

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #143

Aug 062016

Altima

  • 72,000 miles
2013 Nissan Altima 2.5L sv 72,000 miles cvt failure my vehicle has experienced cvt failure with only 72K miles. This is the second time this issue has occurred, with the first instance happening a little over one year ago. Unfortunately for the initial occurrence, I misdiagnosed the problem as bad gas. The vehicle shutters, bucks and stalls when decelerating or accelerating at traffic lights, stop signs or in highway traffic. Additional stalls occur when placing the vehicle into gear (drive or reserve) which may cause vehicle stranded in the middle of parking lots and roadway. The problem seemed to go into remission for the past year, even though looking back I can see some slight signs of bucking when coming to a stop, rough idles, louder whining at higher speeds, ect. This second occurrence I was able to have the issue diagnosed by Nissan technicians at causeway Nissan in manahawkin, NJ and they have confirmed that this is indeed a cvt failure and that it is not a rare issue. A quick google search verifies that many others have experienced the same issues with the cvts and Nissan had provided a recall and extended warranty on all their cvt's manufactured before 2011. This issue does not seem to have been resolved on newer models and is a road hazard especially in intersections of major roadways and in heavy traffic on major highways. Please advise.

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #142

Aug 022016

Altima

  • 77,000 miles
"takata recall" I went to put car in reverse and car just shut off. Started right back up but shut off again when put into drive. Eventually I got car to go without shutting off but felt car jerking on and off and almost shutting off when I came to complete stop. Would have to quickly push on gas to keep car from turning off. Continues to jerk while driving but not continuously.

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #141

Jul 302016

Altima

  • 44,552 miles
The car has 44,500 miles and was growling, shuttering and vibrating when driving. Especially at acceleration and stopping. Finally I was stopped at a red light when the car jerked harshly and shut off. It would start right back up, but then die when put into (D) drive. The road was a very dangerous highway and I was alone so could not push car to the side. Finally after about 20 start and 15 minutes, I managed to engage into drive. I drove it to the Nissan dealer directly while it was bucking, jerking and would not accelerate. I blew threw 2 red lights because it would not downshift to stop. The dealer had the car approximately 6.5 hours when they called to tell me that no lights were on and they could not find a problem. If I wanted to pay $120 diagnostic fee, they could go ahead with some work. I asked to speak to manager, however had left for the day. About 20 minutes later, they called again stating that he spoke to the manager and it is most likely an ABS system problem, but I would still have to pay the $120 diagnosic fee.

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #140

Jun 232016

Altima

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 60 mph on the highway, the speedometer dropped to 25 mph without warning. The contact was able to pull over safely, activate the hazard lights, and exit the highway. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Ft Worth, TX, USA

problem #139

Jul 112016

Altima

  • 77,780 miles
I drive a 2013 Nissan Altima and I am outside of my power train warranty 77,800.my car stopped on my way to work and I had to restart it several times, a diagnostic test was performed and was told it is my cvt torque converter (transmission).was bad, the auto shop printed a recall that was done for Nissan customer, contacted the service department no knowledge of the recall, they stated not under warranty. Contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs had a case review done and received a call back, I explained to them I researched information, there are so many cvt transmission issues with their cars, rep stated there was nothing they could help me with. Contact legal advice and was given this website and other information there is an ongoing investigation concerning this issue.something has to be done a.S.a.P. with this faulty transmission, I am very disappointed to know this has been an issue for a while recalls were done from 2003-2010 and the problem was fixed.please make a decision soon to fix this issue, it is a hazard, car starting and stopping at red lights, etc. Thank you

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #138

May 302016

Altima

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. While driving 80 mph, the power independently reduced to 40 mph without warning. The vehicle was restarted and shifted into the drive position. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to respond. The contact stated that the failure also occurred when the vehicle was shifted into the reverse position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000. Updated 09/08/16

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #137

Jul 092016

Altima

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. After starting the vehicle, the gear lever was shifted into the drive position and the engine unexpectedly became inoperable. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the contact's residence. An independent mechanic diagnosed the vehicle, but there were no trouble codes detected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #136

Feb 122015

Altima

  • 68,000 miles
I purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima in September of 2015 with less than 43,000 miles. The car was really good gas and I was really happy with the purchase. In February of 2016 while me and my husband was driving in traffic we came to a stop and the car shut off. We started the car up fine but as soon as we placed the car in drive it shut off again. We repeated these steps over and over again until he was able to keep the car running while in drive so we could pull on the side of the road. We were very close to the warranty expiring so we took the car to antioch, ca Nissan dealership. They said that they would have to "duplicate" the problem before moving forward. They kept our car for 3 days to no avail. They said that they could not "duplicate" the problem and to come pick up the car. 2 days later we started experiencing the same problem. We decided to take the car to a different Nissan dealership in concord, ca hoping that we would get a different outcome. Needless to say they couldn't "duplicate" the problem for 2 weeks!! the guy in services admitted that they have many cars coming in with the same exact problem and he knew how to get the car to act up so that they could move forward. How crazy is that"?" he called me 2 weeks later and told me that they had to "reset" the transmission system. He also told me that even though I was very close to my warranty expiring that if the problem occurs again that they would still honor the warranty because the problem pre-existed. Not even a whole 2 months passed when my husband and I were moving from California to Texas did my car started having the exact same problems it had before but this time I noticed that the transmission was slipping. I was going 80 miles per hour on the freeway when my car slowed all the way down to 40 miles per hour while driving in front and on the side of a big rig!!!!

- Lewsiville, TX, USA

problem #135

Jul 012016

Altima

  • 62,000 miles
On 7/1/16, while at a stop sign, my car shut off. I was able to restart the car, without hesitation. I drove 2 miles & the car started jerking. Once I let off the gas, while still driving down the road, my vehicle shut off again. I pulled over (luckily), restarted the car, once put into gear, it started jerking & shut off. My car is now at the dealer & I've been advised that I need a transmission. Now, back to the very beginning....12/30/2013, I was searching for a car, as I had totaled my ever-so-faithful Toyota Camry. I went to Nissan to look at a used Altima. I got better financing on a brand new model, for which I'm writing this complaint about. I negotiated, come to a deal, and that was that. I did not purchase an extended warranty because I was buying a Nissan, a brand new Nissan. Anyway, very soon after, I noticed a vibration while my car was in idle, and more so while accelerating. I mentioned my concern numerous times to the service dept at Nissan, was told everything was normal. Eventually I got another opinion from another Nissan dealer, they shimmed my exhaust & replaced my alternator bracket, without resolving my problem. I was advised by their service manager that on 11/29/2013, my vehicles cvt transmission was replaced. One month before I purchased my brand new vehicle. I was never informed of this at the time of purchase, or I would've passed on this car. Now, at 62K miles, 2K miles over warranty, my transmission needs to be replaced. I find it strange that a 2 1/2 year old car is needing a 3rd transmission. My car has only been serviced at the dealer, I've complained of vibration at every service from day 1, now I'm expected to pay $4000 for an obviously defective cvt, which will only be a band-aide. This could result in an extremely unsafe situation & I just pray that Nissan does the right thing & corrects this issue, before it's too late.

- Tennessee Ridge, TN, USA

problem #134

Jan 062015

Altima

  • 27,000 miles
While I was driving it just stop and forcing to start when have it check they say said its gas pump with other several problem, I recently bought the car not even after three months it start gave those problem, now it have been sitting for almost a year now without driving, I still makes my payment every month, I can't have you guys a exact date when it really happened but I really need a investigation for the car as soon as possible my cell number [xxx]. thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #133

Jun 012016

Altima

  • 81,000 miles
While stopped at a traffic light the car cut off ! I restarted and put it in gear and the car cut off again. The car would idle fine in park and neutral but cut off whenever I put it in gear. After pushing the car to a lot and leaving it for 12 hours the car started to work normally. However the next day the same exact thing happened ! after researching the issue I found that this transmission has major issues and Nissan isn't addressing it. I opened a case with Nissan Consumer Affairs case number 22626692 and was told me that there is nothing they can do because my car has 81K miles. Making it 20K miles over the manufacture warranty. There is no way that a well maintained cars transmission should fail at 80K miles. Nissan knows this yet they are failing to help consumers with this problem ! the cvt tansmission can cause someone to lose their life..

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #132

May 252016

Altima

  • 86,062 miles
Transmission stopped working while I was driving on Wednesday May 25th 2016. While I was driving the car cutoff twice, after the car restarted and I placed it in drive it would not drive.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #131

May 252016

Altima

  • miles
Car stopped responding to pressure on the gas pedal - took its time getting in gear, both from a cold start, and after stopping at an intersection. Even after the car was moving, car was slow to respond to gas pedal. Repair shop diagnosed it as a cvt failure; we've had to replace the transmission on a 3 year old vehicle at 74,000 miles.

- New Albany, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?