Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Apr 072014


  • 47,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 60 mph, the speedometer failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the speedometer needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #41

Jul 012014


  • 11,000 miles
Vehicle has a shudder when decelerating from 65 to 60. Has progressively been happening more often. In addition to the shudder at higher speeds, it now has started to shudder and lack response at lower speeds at random. The gas mileage has dropped at least 5 mpg since all of these issues started. I have taken to Nissan service twice for the same issue. Both times the problem "couldn't be duplicated" and there isn't a code that shows anything wrong on computer diagnostics. All searches for these issues in relation to a 2013 Nissan Altima 3.5 sl, return numerous complaints about the same problems and no resolution. Current mileage IS15,000. I have been told to keep all reports from service so if there is a problem later I have documentation that it has been an ongoing issue. It appears Nissan should get in front of this problem quickly as it is not leaving a good mark on their name to have such new vehicles with this drastic of a problem.

- Necedah, WI, USA

problem #40

Oct 012014


  • 10,000 miles
For over a year this vehicle has had an issue where the airbags will turn themselves on and off. No matter if there is a person in the passenger seat or not. The seat can be empty and the airbags warning indicator light will randomly come on and off. The same is true when there is a person in the seat. The vehicle was repaired numerous times right after purchase, it was fixed for the safety recall for this problem and it has been repaired numerous times since. The problem continues. Nissan corporate has refused to re purchase this obvious lemon and has said they will continue to attempt to fix it. Since they have been unable to identify the problem... they now have resorted to blaming the dealers. Search vimeo for 2013 Nissan Altima airbag light and you will see the video of this issue.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #39

Oct 052014


  • 28,000 miles


Passenger airbag light is stating that it is off, when the seat was occupied by an adult. There was a recall issued and the car was taken to the dealership to have this fixed. The recall did not solve the problem. It has been taken to the dealership multiple times since the recall to have the problem corrected. I have video evidence of the last time it happened. The dealership ([xxx]) states that Nissan can not do anything further. The Nissan 800 number stated the same. Both want to push the issue to the other with no one providing resolution. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #38

Aug 072014


  • 37,000 miles
I purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima in July 2014 with 36,000 miles. About 3 weeks after purchasing this vehicle, the check engine light came on. I took it into the local Nissan dealer to determine the cause. I was told that they couldn't find the source and it would require further diagnostic testing for $80. I disagreed and left. Two days later, my daughter and I were traveling along interstate 10 when suddenly the car wouldn't accelerate. As I merged over to the left lane, every light on the dash came on and the engine went dead just as I made it to the shoulder. I put the car in park and waited 10 minutes before I attempted to start it up again. The following day, I took the car back to my local Nissan dealer. At that point, they told me there was an electrical malfunction that was covered under warranty but they would need to order a replacement part. I was without a vehicle for 3 days when I received a call that the car was ready. I sent my mother to pick up the car because I was at work. They didn't provide any repair summary to show what repairs were made. Fast forward three family was traveling to mobile, Alabama to depart for our annual walt disney world trip, when you guessed it...the car wouldn't accelerate although my foot was literally on the ground. I pulled over once again and didn't try to start the engine again for about 20 minutes. The service engine light has been on every since. I have constantly fought with the seller (bob tyler Toyota) about returning this vehicle. I sold a 2006 Honda Accord ex-L with 176,000 miles to purchase this lemon. It is an absolute clunker. Will someone please suggest other options for me"?"

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #37

Jun 252014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the passenger's seat did not acknowledge when a passenger was occupying the seat. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing but was unable to be diagnosed. The failure persisted. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Poway , CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 182014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 26,041 miles


With 130 - 140 lb passenger in front passenger seat, dashboard indicator signals that front passenger airbag will not deploy. Vehicle has been returned to dealer for recall service under NHTSA campaign number 14V138000, but this did not resolve the problem.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #35

Aug 032013


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on several occasions where the failure was unable T be replicated. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V138000 (airbags, electrical system) but the failure recurred. The contact noticed that the air bag light was indicating the air bag was off when a passenger was seated in the front passenger's seat. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Lathan, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 202014

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,076 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger airbag illuminated off when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that there was no failure with the airbag. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system).the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,076. Updated 9/4/14 the consumer stated the recall, did not rectify the problem. Updated 09/18/14

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #33

Sep 252012


  • 328 miles
I have had major issues with this vehicle since the third day after purchase. The brakes have malfunctioned. The brake light would intermittently come on and I had it in several times, but the dealership could never "duplicate" anything. Then the car started to misfire and emit a thick black smoke from exhaust. I contacted the dealership and at first they said it was normal because the car has a cvt transmission. Then they said bring it in for assessment. A service technician test drove with me and experienced this first hand. I was told they could not service it that day, but to bring it back in. When I took it back a week later, they "could not duplicate" the problem. There has been much back and forth. I asked them to buy the car back because the problems were life threatening. The car actually shut off on me, twice, in traffic. When I last contacted the dealership, on July 24th, 2014, about the major issues I've been experiencing; the earliest they said they could see me would be on August 11th, 2014. On yesterday, it finally shut off for good, in the middle of the interstate. As I was on a trip, I had to have the vehicle towed 125 miles to my hometown dealership at the cost of $230, out of pocket. The only reason I got it home that cheaply was because I have four roadside assistance coverage packages and luckily one of them covered towing up to 100 miles. The car is now sitting on the dealership's parking lot.

- Greenville, MS, USA

problem #32

Apr 252013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated when an adult passenger was seated in the front seat, the air bag sensor light illuminated indicating that the front passenger seat air bag system was defective. The contact stated that the air bag sensor light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under the NHTSA recall campaign number 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 1,000. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times. They re-programmed the computer twice, and replaced the sensors, to no avail. Updated 07/22/14

- Troy, IL, USA

problem #31

Jun 162014


  • 24,000 miles
While slowing down for an intersection all electronics on car stopped with no warning and motor shut down. No indicator lights on dash. Car became completely malfunctioning in an instant. No power breaks or steering, dash lights, console display or ignition on indicator. Got car to a stop. Put the car in park and restarted with no errors or indications that the car mechanically and electronically just died. Clock was set to the correct time but trip odometer and many other customized settings were reset. Acted as if the ECM did a reset while driving.

- Hudson Falls , NY, USA

problem #30

Dec 192012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
The problem is with the A/C compressor staying on even though I turn the defrost off. Same if I turn auto on then off. The A/C light stays off, but the A/C compressor stays on. The only way to turn the A/C off is to press the A/C button twice (once to turn the light on, next to force the A/C to go off). If the defrost is off, auto is off and the A/C light is off, the A/C compressor must turn off. It should not be a guessing game for the driver to wonder if the A/C is off. I have complained about it before and been to the dealer 3 or more times about it. There are multiple postings (complaints) about it on the internet (see one link below). I have complained about it to Nissan and was asked to see the dealer. The dealer checks other same model cars and the problem is consistent amongst all cars, so he says "there is no problem". the dealer mechanic agrees with me that this is not how it should work, but since all other similar cars do the same thing, there is nothing they can do about it.

- Viera, FL, USA

problem #29

Apr 062013

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima and within 1 week the brake light came on and would not go off during the same time period the phone would ring in the car and would not stop ringing until the car was completely shut off. The car has been into the dealership over 5 times for the same 2 issues and the problem still has not been corrected, as recent as yesterday May 31, 2014 the car continues to have the same problem.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #28

Sep 102013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a 2013 Nissan from bill seidle's Nissan in miami Florida. When I purchased the car they told me the mileage was around 30 mpg with an average of around 26 mpg. Months after I bought the car I mentioned to the dealer that the car's computer was saying around 20 mpg and they told me that I needed it to track the mpg myself because the computer from the car is not accurate. I tracked the miles and the results were 20 mpg. I took that car in to the dealer, I was told that they checked the car and there was nothing wrong with the car and that is the mileage that I was going to get. I also have a problem with the electronic key that on multiple times "no key detected" message comes up and it takes me a while for the car to start. Eventually it turned out the battery was not good and it was changed. About a month later the same problem continued and I took the car to the dealer and they told me they could not duplicate the problem so they could not do anything about it. This problems continues to occur and sometimes when the cars turns on the message stays on for a while. This problem does not occur all the time there is no consistency. I now take pictures when the problem occurs and are taking the car back to the dealer. I'm concern about the safety of the car.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #27

Apr 082013


  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag and the brake lights illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #26

Apr 302014


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the passenger's side seat belt light intermittently illuminated when a passenger was in the seat and secured. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system), however the failure was recurring. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Dalycity, CA, USA

problem #25

Sep 032013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 850 miles
Summary: The vehicle blind spot warning & lane keep system intermittently stops working. The warning on the dash says to clean the camera lens but the lens are clean. If you stop the car & shut off the engine then restart the system will start operating again. Nissan can't find the problem.

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #24

Apr 262014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 6,950 miles
I have the key-less entry and many times with the key fob in my pocket I can not open the door. The door sensor does not recognize the key fob unless I take it out and press the lock unlock button. At times with the car in my garage the vehicle says no key code found and I have to either pres lock unlock on the key fob or I have to put the key next to the start button for a few seconds before it recognizes it. I've tried to see if I could think of an emi source each time it happens, and the only thing I have noted is that it only happens when close to a wall. Has not yet happened in open parking lot. Once is happened when I was parked next to an F250 and I figured maybe it has to do with being in proximity of large objects. It has happened about 15 times so far from Jan to April 2014.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #23

Apr 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 51,100 miles
When I tried to turn vehicle on, radio and other system was on, but could not put car in gear, eventually car had to be towed. The dealership advised me that the BCM has an internal short and needed to be replaced. This vehicle was bought brand new and has under 52,000 miles, has not been owned for even 2 years and it breaks down with no one taking responsibility on this issue on a semi new vehicle. My sister owns the same vehicle and I am afraid that it will happen to her too. I have done some research and found numerous boards with people complaining about this issues or something similar.

- Kaufman, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?