Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Nissan Altima has multiple problem trends including the CVT transmission, and now that this model is out of warranty, it earns our "avoid like the plague" badge.

Owners complain about vibration and transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission), a whining noise from the power steering pump, and constant windshield problems that appear to be the result of poor design.

Be warned: the 2014 & 2015 Nissan Altima appears to share these same problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,845 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 5 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #232

Dec 302013

Altima

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was involve in the 2014 recall for the safety defect due to a computer program could misjudge the weight of the person in the front passenger seat and conclude that a child instead of an adult was sitting there. The local Nissan dealer has tried at lest 5 time times to correct to no avail

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #231

Aug 232013

Altima

  • 500 miles
2013 Nissan Altima sv; passenger side airbag indicator light illuminates, representing that the airbag is off, when a passenger weighing 118 lbs is present in the passenger seat. This is the 5th time reporting issue to Nissan. To repeat issue, park&stop car on hill with the passenger side of car on the downhill side of slope. Have passenger seated and buckled into seat prior to starting car. Light will stay illuminated until car is turned off, passenger exits car, car is turned on and light goes off. In addition, this has occurred while driving on interstate. Incidents captured via video and available for viewing. Incident reported to Nissan after taking to dealer 4 times without resolution. Subsequently Nissan denied requests. Vehicle going for 5th time to dealership on 8/7/15. Https://www.youtube.com/channel/uc7ti0vvaa6P1-lburwfh4tq

- South Park , PA, USA

problem #230

Jul 022015

Altima

  • 66,000 miles
The red airbag indicator light does not go off on my vehicle - the exact symptom listed in recall campaign id PC214. The dealership said that even though my car is a 2013 as indicated in the recall notice that the recall does not apply to my car because the VIN number was not included. My car is the same year, with the same problem indicated in the recall and they want me to pay to have it fixed. I have reported this to Nissan and I am waiting to hear back.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #229

Sep 082012

Altima

  • 550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2013 Nissan Altima. The passenger seat air bag occupant sensor comes on showing that the passenger air bag is turned off when an adult is sitting in the seat. The adult is 200 lbs. The light will stay on for 15-20 minutes while driving. My car was recalled for the occupant sensor classifacation reset. It did not change anything. It still does the same thing. I have complained about it numorous times to the dealer. The dealer says there is still not a fix from Nissan. I want this fixed. Please help.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #228

Jul 052013

Altima

  • 1,600 miles
First and foremost, this vehicle is not safe since the air bag light for the passenger has never worked. More than 6 times the dealer has tried to fix to no avail. I wont let passengers sit in the front for their safety. I always have them sit in the back. It looks like I am their employee/driver. Also a huge problem is the cvt transmission. It shudders, grumbles and the whole car vibrates intermittently. First the dealer said it was the alternator and replaced it, that didnt fix it so they said it was a bolt, that wasnt it, finally they just gave up and said they dont know and "they cant reproduce the problem" its all a scam. This car is defective.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #227

Jun 062014

Altima

  • 7,000 miles
Several times the passenger seat / occupant detection system has failed to properly identify an adult occupant and has disabled the passenger air bag. Dealer has serviced twice but issue persist. The only resolution is to pull over, power car completely off and restart car. On restart the car recognized the occupant and enabled the passenger airbag.this happened several more times with the most recent being April 2015. Now I feel unsafe specially with my wife pregnant seating on the passenger side.

- Pacoima, CA, USA

problem #226

Jun 202014

Altima

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several times the passenger seat / occupant detection system has failed to properly identify an adult occupant and has disabled the passenger airbag. This occurs with males and females ranging from 40th to 70th percentile in all genders. I have recorded videos of these incidents for record of their occurrence. The only resolution is to pull over, power car completely off and restart car. On restart the car recognized the occupant and enabled the passenger airbag. The date of incident is of the first occurrence. This happened several more times with the most recent being May 2015 with approximately 29,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #225

Dec 172014

Altima

  • 19,000 miles
Air bag indicator light shows airbag off with adults in the passenger seat. Multiple occurances, had reprogramming done, problem persists.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #224

Dec 302014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 26,635 miles
The passenger airbag light turns on when a passenger is present, meaning if in an accident the airbag will not deploy. The dealer has had the car in 5 times for this issue and is not able to repair it since now the vehicle will not give a code to fix it. I was able to get Nissan North America involved and they said the vehicle is repaired, how do I feel safe having a passenger in that seat with out certainty that airbag will deploy in an accident. When we met with [xxx], from Nissan North America, the engineer, he stated that this airbag is under rated and causes more harm than good. Why would an engineer from the factory say something this ridiculous, this is why we bought the car..for the safety ratings and all the airbags. He stated they only cause black eyes and broken noses, to which I said "its better than the alternative..,death. I am not feeling safe in this car and hope someone can help us get it rectified. Thank you for your time. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #223

Aug 222012

Altima

  • 75 miles
Like many many of other people have complained, my airbag sensor is still not working correctly after 3 attempts to fix the problem. I was assured by the dealer that it was working properly even though the passenger airbag light show that the airbag is off when there is a passenger in the seat. I'm nervous every time I see the light on (meaning the bag is off) when my wife is in the car with me. If we get into an accident its a crap shoot whether the airbag will really work or not.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #222

Aug 092014

Altima

  • 15,681 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've had the passenger airbag light that is in the center of dash come on multiple times even with an adult sitting in the seat. The first time I took my car to the dealership (8/9/14), they said this is new issue and that they would do some sort of software update and the problem will be solved. The issue happened again so I took the car back in (11/19/14) and they said the update might not have taken properly, so they did the update again. Well it took several weeks, but the issue happened again. I took the car in (3/16/15) and they said that they will do a complete reprogram just in case there was a lingering issue from last time. Well, that did not work. The issue is still happening and I took the car in yesterday (4/14/15) and the dealership called me today and said that they performed a function test and couldn't find any error codes, so they said that they couldn't do anything. They said that if it happens to bring it in asap. With this issue being so intermittent, I have resorted to taking photos of people in the passenger seat of the car while the car is in motion. I feel this issue needs to be addressed more seriously.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #221

Feb 252015

Altima

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy and the seat belt failed to lock and restrain the driver. A police report was filed and the contact sustained chest injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where an inspection was done on the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 13,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Clevland, OH, USA

problem #220

Mar 112015

Altima

  • miles
Vehicle was serviced by Nissan dealership per NHTSA campaign #14V138000 on 3/11/15. On 3/12/15, the occupant classification system continued to operate improperly (e.g. not detecting an occupant in the passenger seat). This has been noted several times since the OCS software was updated by the oem.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #219

Oct 222013

Altima

  • 10,183 miles
The passenger side air bag light will come on intermittently when there are passengers sitting in the seat. The light stays on indicating that the air bag is not functioning. The safety of the passengers are at great risk when this is occurring. The vehicle has been to a Nissan dealer numerous times for this safety concern to no avail.

- Lemont, IL, USA

problem #218

Mar 262013

Altima

  • 300 miles
Air bag off light comes on with passenger in seat. Dealer checked, no issue found. Months later, light continues to come on, dealer finally replaced sensor and reprogrammed car's computer. As of today, two years later, light still turns on. Have pics of air bag off light on with passenger in seat, and light on with no passenger in seat. Car now out of 36,000 mile warranty, but have appointment with dealer to check out again on 04/14/2015.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #217

Mar 242015

Altima

  • 22,000 miles
This is the fourth time the passenger air bag sensor light came on with an adult in the seat. Nissan has attempted to fix it numerous time without success. I question whether the bag will go off in an accident. I was told by the local dealer that I should call corporate and recorded the complaint. They said they would get back to me.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #216

Nov 152013

Altima 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
I noticed that the air bag indicator light came on (indicating no one was in the passenger seat) when an adult was sitting in the seat. I called the dealer and also heard that there was a recall. Dealer told me that a fix was unknown at the time and that I should wait for a recall notice. I received a recall notice many months later. I took the car in and something was adjusted/fixed per the dealer but problem was not resolved. I was told that I probably was not sitting in the seat correctly or I was under weight. Neither are true. Dealer retested and said nothing was wrong but I still have the problem with the indicator light. I do not feel confident that the passenger side air bag would deploy if I had an accident. Problem is intermittent. I heard recently on tv that other people like me were still complaining. I thought you should know that this problem may be more widespread since I am also experiencing it. Hope I never have an accident in this car!

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #215

Jun 192013

Altima

  • 1,500 miles
The light that indicates my passenger frontal air bag will not deploy is coming on when a normal sized adult is in the front seat. Apparently, this is tied to a sensor which is supposed to disable the air bag if someone has a small child (between 30 lbs and 80 lbs) in the front seat due to the increased risk of injury with an airbag deployment. When I first bought the car, it happened approximately 10% of the time I had an adult in the front seat. I have taken my vehicle into the Nissan dealership twice for this issue. Once I was told that it was inspected with no issues found. And the second time, the dealership performed a re-programming of the computer according to a tsb from Nissan that they had on file. Since the re-programming was done, the frequency has increased to roughly 30% of the time an adult is in the front seat. The size of the passenger is irrelevant. It happens equally often when my 135 lb wife is in the front seat as it does when my dad or father-in-law (both roughly 180 lbs - 200 lbs) are in the front seat. I love the car, but this safety issue needs to be addressed. The previous recall/tsb has not resolved or even improved the issue. It actually made it worse.

- Royse City, TX, USA

problem #214

Sep 012014

Altima

  • miles
My Nissan dealer supposedly said they fixed a faulty passenger air bag sensor. Since the "fix" the sensor is showing that there is no passenger in the seat when in fact their is someone riding there. When I went for my last routine oil change about three weeks ago, I let them know of the problem but they said that I would have to come back and schedule a different appointment to have this fixed.

- Gretna, NE, USA

problem #213

Feb 052014

Altima

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the front passenger side air bag sensor light would intermittently illuminate indicating that the air bag system was not activated although the passenger was seated in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the failure was caused by the occupant classification system software. The software was updated but the failure continued to intermittently occur. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?