Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount vibration and even transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,235 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Altima electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Apr 282014


  • 50 miles


Passenger airbag off light illuminates frequently when an adult passenger is seated in the passenger seat. As a result, in the event of a crash, passenger would not be protected by airbags. Dealer has analyzed and informed that vehicle is operating exactly as designed. Vehicles has already been repaired pursuant to recall campaign 14V138000, but problem persists.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #11

Dec 142014


  • miles
I have number of problems with my vehicle - 2014 Altima sl. Several times after stop and go traffic the transmission stops switching gears (speeds). It gets stuck on a first gear equivalent in cvt transmission. The fix is to restart the vehicle, obviously this could be dangerous on the road where there are no places to stop. Another major problem is a head unit (navigation, radio, etc). It restarts by itself now and than, sometimes right in a middle of the highway when I'm trying to figure out what exit to take and I need the gps guidance. Its absolutely unreliable. I'm not complaining about the quality of the software here that is terrible, by the way, but in any situation it should not restart by itself! another problem, as mentioned by others, is mileage. I get much less miles as advertised! this is my first and last Nissan!

- Hackensack , NJ, USA

problem #10

Sep 212014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
Entered vehicle fob did not recognize system and locked me in, couldn't get out, panicked for a few seconds, had to use the remoteless key to get out. Took dealership several days before they towed my car. The battery was replaced. Updated 12/10/14

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 072014


  • 1,851 miles


After several dealerships would not address a heated steering wheel that does not heat up it gets luke cool to warm only in spots around the steering wheel! as per finally one Nissan service center the service mgr a very decent person tested it with a wireless thermometer tried very hard to get this supposedly heated steering wheel to work properly replaced it with a new one but still does the same thing! does not work like Nissan states in brochure! this is unfair that I have over 20 problems with this car and Nissan will not do the right thing! I feel my health declining over a car that needs a babysitter!

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 302013


  • 300 miles
Rear taillight housings fog up badly, some dealerships didn't recognize problem then one did when I did not go back to dealership right away they sent the parts back! finally another dealership recognized the problem but when they changed them one had a mark inside of the fixture, part missing inside truck and a new scratch mark on the car, also put in incorrectly! this car is turning into a frankenstein car and exactly what and how everything being done to it to devalue this car is happening! factory seals are being broken and not being fixed at all is the outcome! the tail lights fog up more than the last ones! this car is a lemon!

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #7

Aug 272014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 10,700 miles
While driving with the car ignition on, coasting with foot lightly on brake, the ignition button was inadvertently depressed. The ignition system shut off with loss of all power. It took effort to steer the car to the shoulder. The vehicle is an enterprise rental.....updated 09-03-14

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #6

Jul 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated the front passenger air bag sensor failed to detect when the seat was occupied. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the failure persisted. Both the dealer and the manufacturer have been made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 4,000. Updated 10/22/14 updated 4/7/2015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 3,150 miles
On Wednesday, July 15th 2014 I was leaving my community and there was a section on the way where water accumulates after it rains. During my drive out the community I needed to go through the puddle of water to continue my exit. As I passed through the puddle, the water rushed inside the car, on the driver's side under the steering wheel. It appears that the water rushed into the cabin through the steering column.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 292014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 210,000 miles
When I turn the ignition nothing happens. All I hear is a click where the car is trying to ignite. After trying several times it finally cranks up and start. I've had the battery checked and have taken it to Nissan for a diagnostic test and both came back negative. Not sure what the problem but it is happening more frequent now since the first time it happened in November 2013 and again in April 2014. If the issue isn't showing up after paying $85 for a diagnostic test at Nissan, I wonder if others are experiencing this issue.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #3

Apr 012014


  • miles
I have noticed that if you apply the emergency brake with cruise control on, it does not cut out the cruise control. I have noticed this on trips up and down I-95 in a car with a hand emergency brake. I have had numerous knee operations and on long trips I tried to just pull the emergency brake on while holding the button in. I did this because of trouble with my knees. I noticed that although the car did slow enough for what I needed the cruise was still on when I took the brake off. I realized that if someone tried this in an emergency situation that the engine would try to accel and all sorts of bad things would happen. I tried this in every make car that my friends and I have. No one cuts out the cruise control under this situation. I know the cars systems know the brake is being applied because the like comes up on the dash. It would be 1 simple program change to include the cut out. I believe this to be an important issue. Please take steps to remedy this. I have emailed this to numerous auto makers. Thank you, I have a confirmation (ODI)#10585659 NHTSA and case#[xxx] NHTSA what do I have to do in order to get this looked at? I registered a complaint on 4-1-2014 and sent a letter to them. I haven't heard anything. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #2

May 062014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 7,180 miles
I stopped the car and believed I put it in park. I got out of the car--it did not move. I went to the rear passenger door and got my two year old out of her car seat. I placed her beside the car and shut the rear door. I walked around behind the car to the driver's door. I turned the car off like I always do. The car shut off--and suddenly without warning--began rapidly moving down my driveway. My baby was at the rear of the car and she usually follows me. I ran and had to jump in the moving car. The front left driver wheel nearly ran me over. I tried to gain control of this vehicle by desperately tried to stop it. I was rolling the speed of a skateboard released from the top of the driveway. The steering wheel had locked. I had to push hard on the brake. I stopped it and there were skidmarks on the asphalt. I stopped the car before it slammed into my neighbor's car. Had I not stopped it and risked personal injury there would have been a crash. I was scared to death to move and look. I thought my baby was dead. I thought the car had crushed her. My neighbor told me my daughter had been missed by inches. When I looked at the gearshift, it was in D. I have no idea how it shut off in drive. It almost killed my daughter, damaged personal property, and I am injured. I called Nissan Consumer Affairs: They stated that this happens "in all automatic cars." Which that is false. I called back to tell them I had friends and family with varying 2014 push button cars try and turn their cars off in D. none of them would turn off unless in park. What is someone was driving and accidentally hit the button on the freeway" loss of steering, brakes, control??" this is a fatal engineering problem. I know GM had a huge recall for similar. Nissan Consumer Affairs told me " there would be no recall" and that I should "be more careful."

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 152014

Altima 6-cyl

  • 605 miles
Example 1. while driving in my town home community and slightly turning right while going up a slightly inclined road the vehicle begins to shake violently and it seems the transmission is locking up. Goes away either by removing all pressure on accelerator or if excessive accelerator pressure is applied. The type of accelerator pressure needed to stop the excessive shaking would bring the vehicle to a speed that is unsafe relative to observed speeds limits in community. Example 2. these exhibited symptoms have also occurred with an increasing frequency while driving on city roads in light to moderate traffic: When you are coasting up to slower moving traffic in front of you and then need to accelerate as that traffic increases speed, the car will shake violently. This occurs mostly at speeds under 30 -35 mph but has been felt at speeds as high as 55 mph. It feels as though the entire drive train of the vehicle is going to fall out of the car. Vehicle currently has 1200 miles on odometer and symptoms have been increasingly noticeable and frequent since 605 miles on odometer. Separate issue: Navigation / audio system has frozen screen upon start up and becomes un responsive. No ability to change previous volume level of radio which may have been left at high volume level during previous drive. Input is not accepted on head unit or steering wheel controls. Navigation will not initiate. Car must be restarted for system to reboot and this may remedy the problem for one drive cycle or more. Has occurred 5 or more times in first month of ownership. Should a catastrophic failure in the drive train occur, I feel that I am at risk of serious personal injury. Additionally I am concerned that resale value of vehicle will be diminished due to damage caused by inherent design flaw in power train and in-car electronics.

- Renton, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?