Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 & 2014 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount of low-mileage problems related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,634 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Nov 012015

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall notification for the air bags. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for repairs, but the air bag indicator illuminated again. The vehicle was taken to a dealer at least three times due to the failure. The failure mileage and NHTSA campaign number were unknown.

- Marston, NC, USA

problem #44

Nov 062016

Altima

  • 27,277 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. While driving 65 mph, the contact struck a deer. The front driver and passenger air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries sustained in the crash. The vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the failure was experienced in the crash. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,277. The VIN was not available.

- Pilgrim, KY, USA

problem #43

Oct 312016

Altima

  • 32,000 miles
When an adult passenger (my wife) rides in the passenger seat, the airbag off light comes on. She weights 107. Nissan has looked at it and says no problem found.the light comes on when the vehicle is moving and when stopped. This means that my wife does not have a working airbag in the event of an accident.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #42

Oct 272016

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light still on after recall. Found airbag control unit code stored abnormal voltage after airbag reprogram was performed. Replaced airbag control unit and tested system airbag light no longer on.. per dealer 9/2/16. 10/27/16 I took back to dealer airbag light still not coming off with adult passenger most of the time. Sometimes it would work other times light telling airbag was off would not work. It's back at dealer and only has 10,000 miles. I'm really concern for the safety of my family.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #41

Sep 292016

Altima

  • 11,000 miles
Recalled due to the air bag light not working properly. Went into dealer and was fixed. 3 times since then the same thing has happened. Dealer feels it's not a problem!

- Imperial, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Sep 102016

Altima

  • 9,500 miles
I was driving through a green light northbound. A truck driving eastbound hit me on the drivers side of car twice resulting in my vehicle facing East bound. Airbags did not deploy in a car accident

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #39

Aug 152016

Altima

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag turned off a few times since new. Took in to dealer for recall to reprogram. Was told light would be on until an adult sat in the seat. Several adults have sat in seat with adequate weight to sense presence. Air bag is still off and has been off since reprogrammed. Dealer should have had person sit in seat to verify operation prior to releasing an unsafe vehicle to customer. Have not returned to the dealer.

- Woodlawn, TN, USA

problem #38

Aug 182016

Altima

  • miles
Having fixed a recall related to airbag sensors, the passenger side airbag light keeps going off (indicating the airbag is off) even when occupied by a 130 pound passenger sitting properly in the vehicle seat (back straight against set back, knees bent at edge of seat, feet flat on the floor) with seatbelt on properly (lapbelt across hips/lap and shoulder belt across the shoulder) this happens repeatedly, though to had to select 1 date to file this report.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #37

Aug 042016

Altima 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning light remained illuminated after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 8,000. Updated 10/18/16 the consumer stated after the recall was performed, the lighted illuminated again. The consumer went to another dealer, where the reset the light. Updated 10/25/16.

- Lakeworth, FL, USA

problem #36

Jul 292016

Altima

  • 9,600 miles
I received a recall notice for my 2015 Altima for the OCS module. This shuts off the front passenger air bag if the person sitting in the seat isn't heavy enough to be an adult. I took it into the dealer and they reprogrammed it according to the recall directions. Two days later I was riding in the front passenger seat while my wife was driving and noticed the light was on that tells you the front passenger air bag is off. I called the dealer and they said it might not have taken the whole program and they would do it again. When I took it in the service person wouldn't even look at it other than to sit in the passenger seat and tell me it was fine because the light didn't come on. In the year I owned it the light only came on twice with an adult in the passenger seat before the recall. The service person even tried to tell me the air bags will work with the light on saying they are off. That's not what the paperwork says that the same dealership gave me when they did the recall work. So now I'm left with a car that someone in the front passenger seat could get injured or killed if there's an accident and the air bag is off because the OCS module isn't reading their weight right. I filed a complaint with Nissan North America and they told me after conferring with the dealer there is nothing they can do to help me. What!!!

- Kaukauna, WI, USA

problem #35

Aug 012016

Altima

  • 4,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was reprogrammed for the "OCS" fix. Have same problem still.

- Liberty Hill, TX, USA

problem #34

Jul 202016

Altima

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags). After the repair was performed, the contact noticed that the front passenger side air bag warning light indicated that it was deactivated. The contact was uncertain if the dealer's repair caused a failure. Prior to the repair, there had been no failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #33

Jul 102016

Altima

  • 6,000 miles
After the car had its firmware updated due to a recall, we noticed the passenger airbag sign lit even though the front passenger seat was occupied by a 250 pound male. The light came on while we were driving, stayed on for a few minutes, and then went out. It has only happened this one time.

- Gilford, NH, USA

problem #32

Jun 062016

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for an unknown air bag recall repair. Shortly after the repair, the air bag warning light remained illuminated whether or not the passenger seat was occupied. The dealer reset the code three times, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no repair solution. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 08/30/16 the consumer stated after the dealer reset the code, the failure happened four additional times. The consumer put the vehicle in park, open the driver's door and the air bag light went out. Updated 09/28/16.

- Clinton, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 282016

Altima

  • 10,339 miles
On or around 6/20/16 I received a NHTSA ans Nissan North America, Inc recall notice regarding the occupant classification system (OCS) in my vehicle. I scheduled an appointment for 6/28/16 with Nissan of union city, where I purchased my vehicle. My vehicle was serviced on the aforementioned date, and I was informed by Nissan of union city that the recall malfunction was corrected. However, that is not the truth. The OCS has apparently been turned off completely, thereby causing a safety risk to myself and my passengers. With this function turned off, the vehicle restraint system may not work. I need the system to be tested because I have not been assured of the safety of the system by Nissan of union city after the issue was allegedly corrected by them. Please investigate my complaint.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #30

Jul 062016

Altima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lisbon, CT, USA

problem #29

Apr 262016

Altima

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #28

Feb 012015

Altima

  • 22 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the driver side air bag warning light was illuminated. The warning chime to latch the seat belt did not sound. Both failures began when the air conditioning stopped working. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times for the failure. The mechanic reset the air bag lights three times and repaired the air conditioner. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 22.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #27

Jun 162016

Altima

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. When the contact started the vehicle, the front passenger side air bag off warning indicator illuminated without the seat being occupied. The failure occurred only after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the warning indicator functioned normally. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 07/20/16

- Bartow, FL, USA

problem #26

Jun 132016

Altima

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2015 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V244000 (air bags) and 15V116000 (latches/locks/linkages). The contact was unable to determine when the dealer would be able to schedule a repair appointment. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Copperhill, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?