Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,871 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Aug 152009

Armada

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 15 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brake pedal and it extended to the floorboard. The brake light also illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated the ignition turned off on it own. The contact noticed a burning odor prior to the failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician stated the passenger side caliper was broken. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #48

Mar 012010

Armada

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while trying to decelerate the brakes would pulsate and slowly come to a stop. The ABS lights also illuminated on the instrumental panel. The vehicle was inspected by a independent mechanic who informed her to replace the brake pads. The vehicle was repaired and the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was also inspected by the dealer who advised the contact that there were no visible signs of a failure. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #47

Feb 182010

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that on 3-4 occasions, when he applied the brakes, the brake light illuminated and he heard a grinding and pulsating noise; the brake pedal would also extend to the floorboard. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 60,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 01/11/2011 the consumer stated he would have to turn the vehicle off and then turn it back on again in order for the problem to be corrected. A mechanic informed the consumer, the problem was the ABS or computer system. The consumer stated while driving, the vehicle lost all power and then the brake light illuminated. Updated 03/30/11

- Fountain Inn, SC, USA

problem #46

Aug 102010

Armada

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving at approximately 55 mph the brake light illuminated on the dashboard. Pressure was applied to the brake pedal, which depressed all the way to the floor. During the failure a grinding noise could be heard and the vehicle took a longer period of time to stop than usual. He stated this has been a recurring failure since the purchase of the vehicle. The vehicle has been taken to authorized dealers as well as independent repair shops where they have been unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continues to recur intermittently. The failure and current mileages were unavailable. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 11/05/10.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #45

Jul 092010

Armada

  • miles
2004 Nissan Armada with internal failure of the brake booster. The fist time the consumer experienced brake failure, Nissan agreed to replace the brake booster as a good faith gesture. However, on Friday July 9, 2010, she again experienced a problem with the brakes. When she turned off the vehicle and restarted it again, the dashboard lights went out and the brakes seemed normal. On Friday July 16, 2010 while driving 30 mph, the consumer attempted to brake and once again she experienced complete brake failure and the lights on the dashboard illuminated. Fortunately, she was on a straight gravel path and was able to bring the vehicle to a complete stop. The consumer returned to the dealer. They then claimed the problem was an internal failure in the maser cylinder, but would not provide her with a copy of the diagnostic codes to substantiate that the problem was indeed different.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #44

Mar 092009

Armada

  • 90,000 miles
Luckily, I was only driving 25 mph on my way home from taking my kids to school back in March. I approached the stop sign by my house and applied the brake, but to my surprise the truck wasn't stopping. I held the brake down and nothing. I went right thru the stop sign and kept braking. Finally my speed had decelerated enough to come to a stop. I turned off the car and then turned it back on again and could not get it to repeat what had happened. The truck seemed to be stopping fine now. I thought that maybe I hit a patch of oil. I told my husband and he said the same thing. Then about 2 weeks later the same thing happened to him. We have had our truck for 3 years now and this had occurred prob. 4-6 times. We have had the brakes and rotors replaced. This still did not solve the problem. Hopefully Nissan can figure out why this is happening and fix it before something awful happens to someone.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #43

Jun 232010

Armada 8-cyl

  • 59,812 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Today, my family & I almost bought the farm when the brakes went out on a freeway off ramp on our way back from phoenix. We exited the freeway at 70 mph and I applied the brakes to stop at the light. The brakes made a loud scraping noise, were non-functional and we were approaching cross traffic at 60 - 70 mph. I immediately dropped the car into neutral, started to apply the parking brake and headed for the dirt on the side of the road, figuring I would rather hit a tree or fence than T-bone a vehicle in the cross traffic. I was able to stop the vehicle by rubbing the passenger tires on the curb to create friction to stop. The vehicle mileage today is 61,707. The problem could not be duplicated as we had turned the vehicle off & apparently when restarted, it rebooted a sensor that caused the problem. (info from Nissan dealer). This is the 3rd time in less than 3 months that this has happened. It is a severe safety issue and someone will end up dead due to this problem if Nissan does not fix it. The consumer stated the brakes were replaced a total of five times within a years time. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed the problem was a malfunctioning sensor in the master cylinder or the power brake booster. The air conditioning system failed and the overhead console fell down while driving. Updated IVOQ 07/15/10. The consumer stated the issue has not been resolved and has become worse. The consumer stated his wife received a traffic citation for going through a stop sign because the brakes failed as she attempted to stop. Often, when the brake was applied, the pedal would go straight to the floor and a loud metallic scraping sound could be heard and the entire vehicle shakes. The only way to resolve the issue, per a technician at a local Nissan dealer was to coast to a stop and shut the vehicle off, wait 15 seconds, then start it again. The technician stated it resets a sensor in the brake booster and the brakes will work fine for a short time. Updated IVOQ 09/15/11

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #42

Jun 142010

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated brakes were replaced a total of three tmes since purchasing the vehicle brand new in 2004. The dealer advised that the braking system of his particular year and model was not designed for a vehicle his size and the 2005 and older models. The contact stated the failure was a safety issue because he may potentially not be able to stop the vehicle. The failure mileage was 19,000 and the current mileage was 67,000. Updated 08/12/10 updated 08/17/10

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #41

May 112010

Armada

  • 30,000 miles
Brakes on SUV have failed to work as designed on multiple occasions due to non-mechanical issues. Problems may stem from electrical or sensor issues. The brake light indicator displays on the dashboard and the SUV automatically locks up the brakes. The problems has been duplicated with a repair technician but they cannot find the source of the problem.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #40

May 042010

Armada 8-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
While exiting the freeway, going approx. 45 mph the brakes on my 2004 Nissan Armada completely went out. When I pressed on the brake pedal I heard an awful grinding noise and the felt a vibration throughout the car and the pedal just went to the floor. The 'brake' light lit up on the dash and the emergency brake pedal moved 4-5 inches upwards from its normal position. This was the first time my brakes have completely gone out. I wasn't stopping and narrowly missed plowing into the back of a delivery truck. I was able to pull over at a safe place and call a tow truck- it was towed to a Nissan dealership. According to the dealer, my brake booster assembly was defective and they would replace it to the tune of $1300. It is still at the dealership being repaired. I reported this to Nissan hq on 5/6/2010 as well. I had 2 kids in the car with me at the time and this was an extremely terrifying event! the consumer stated the dealer informed her the vehicle needed a new brake booster assembly. The consumer stated there have been no other failures since the brake booster was replaced. The consumer did notice there was a difference in braking ability when she applied the brake. The dealer stated there was nothing wrong. Updated 10/08/10

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #39

Feb 282010

Armada

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2004 Nissan Armada that has had complete brake failure. What happens is the brakes begin to jump/jitter and then there is 100% brake failure---there are no brakes period! we've talked to Nissan and taken the car to the dealership and they say there is nothing wrong with the brakes. We don't know what else to do, we can't sell the SUV because we would be passing a life threatening problem to someone else and we cannot drive it because the brakes will fail. To solve the problem at the time they fail obe has to turn off the car, remove the key from the start switch, and then turn the engine again. This seems like the type of problem that the computer controls since the problem temporarily disappears after resetting the computer. Can you help?

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #38

Aug 132009

Armada

  • 6,000 miles
2004 Nissan Armada brake failure problem. About every 4-6 months the brake pedal goes all the way to the floor with very limited stopping power. There is a grinding sound while applying brakes. To me seems to be a matter of time when I smash into something.

- York, PA, USA

problem #37

Aug 172009

Armada

  • 75,000 miles
Sinking brake pedal with diminished stopping power. Pedal sinks to floor. Vehicle must be turned off multiple times to regain power. This has happened sporadically. Dealer has not offered a solution.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #36

Jan 132010

Armada

  • 5 miles
We own a 2004 Nissan Armada which we purchased less than 1 year ago. Since then, there has been 3 or more instances in which I've lost complete braking on the car. The last incident occurred this January 13th. I've taken the vehicle to a local specialized brake shop and was subsequently told that there is a known defect with the ABS system and subsequently triggering the brake and ABS sensors on the dash to light up. We verified this with Nissan and they too acknowledged that there is a known defect with regards to the ABS malfunctioning causing the vehicle to lose breaking at low speeds. After calling Nissan they have refused to recall this known defect and have offered to try and find the cause by starting out with replacing break sensors, ABS computer, master cylinder with all costs incurred on us and no guarantee the problem would be fixed. The car has the ABS system disabled at the moment so I can get to and from picking my children up from school. However, I cannot drive the vehicle under wet conditions as it could be dangerous to do so. Nissan should be held accountable and we should not have to pay out of our pocket to resolve a known defect that could cause serious injury or death.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 022009

Armada

  • 24,500 miles
My 2004 Nissan Armada brakes failed at 24,500 miles. They were replaced by the dealer under a TB due to shaking and premature wear at 16,000 miles. The brake lights suddenly came on and brakes started to shake making me lose control. Checked brake and they were down to metal at less then 10,000 miles.

- Staten Is, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 282008

Armada

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada.the contact stated that intermittently when driving the service brake warning light illuminates on the instrument control panel, then the vehicle shimmies. Simultaneously he has to use heavy brake application to decelerate. Usually he has to restart the engine to reset the brake sensor. Brake failure increases the risk of vehicle crash. He took the vehicle to dealer and had the ABS sensor replaced. The repair did not remedy the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000. The current mileage was 90,000.

- Chesapeake , VA, USA

problem #33

Aug 012009

Armada

  • miles
2004 Nissan Armada intermittent brake failure. The consumer stated the incidents occurred without warning, or any indication on the dashboard that the brakes were malfunctioning. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the brake failure. The dealer suggested that the master cylinder and booster be replaced at a cost of $1,200.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #32

Jun 032009

Armada

  • 68,000 miles
2004 Nissan Armada - brake failure. This is an on-going problem. I have contacted Nissan in the past to open a claim. The person on the phone recommended I take it to the dealer (which we had done at least 3 times prior). We took it to the dealer and they indicated that there was 'no trouble/problem found' (only one time prior did they update the code to the computer - all other times - no trouble found). I mention that we have taken it to the dealer 3 or 4 times, but according to my wife who drives this car every day, this happens to her at least once a month - that is over 20 times since we have owned it! I cannot afford to keep taking my car to the dealer, renting a car for the day - just to have 'no trouble found'. quite frankly, my wife does not feel safe driving the car. I know there have been other incidents of this problem registered. I just would like it fixed once and for all so my wife and children do not have to keep putting their lives at risk, wondering if the brakes are going to work or not. Please help.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #31

Jan 012004

Armada

  • miles
2004 Nissan Armada shakes uncontrollably when braking especially at speeds in excess of 40mph. Has been repaired 4 times so far and still happens.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #30

Dec 052008

Armada 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving 60 mph, a warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle has been to the dealer approximately three times for repair. The first time it was taken to have the brakes repaired for making grinding noises. The contact stated that she was using the wrong brakes. When the accelerator pedal is depressed, the pressure goes down and the vehicle decelerates. The contact would have to bring the vehicle to the dealer in order to determine the cause of the failure. In addition, there is a clicking noise coming from the transmission. The dealer cannot locate the cause of the failures. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 84,000. Updated 05/08/09. The right side exhaust manifold was replaced and the engine light had illuminated. Updated 05/11/09.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?