Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,985 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Aug 032013

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while traveling at any speed, the ABS sensor illuminated and there was a loud springing sound intermittently coming from the brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician cleared the computer for the vdc code, replaced the ball bearings and the differential housing. The failure recurred. The contact had to continuously turn off the vehicle and restart it in order to reset the ABS sensor and the vdc sensor to no avail. The vehicle was to be inspected, diagnosed and repaired. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 07E046000 (equipment). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000. Pam updated 8/11/14

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 262012

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Applied brakes, brake light went on ABS stopped working, brakes groan. They work at 10 %. please see youtube enter Armada brake system problem. There are 100's of complaints for the exact same failure. There is a problem in the brake booster. Once you shut off the vehicle and restart it the ABS resets until the next occurrence. This has occurred many times over the years, this system failure will cause death if not addressed.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 112011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
2004 Nissan Armada; I've been monitoring these reports for years and find it ridiculous that Nissan is incompetent in dealing with this issue. This has been an issue since the advent of the Armada platform. I have had this same ABS issue since we purchased the car in Feb 2005. Although the issue can be resolved or reset by turning off the engine and restarting, it does nothing to ward off close calls in traffic or busy streets with pedestrians. I've heard everything from replacing the computer, brake booster, pressure equalization valve...etc. These are all blind attempts to do something if not anything. The problem needs to be resolved definitely and the remedy applied unilaterally across the Armada line. The grinding noise, I believe is not at the rotors, it is a spring like resonance that comes from the brake booster and the millisecond pressure reaction to each of the wheels. It sounds like someone hits a large coil spring with a hammer. I can't tell, but is this problem limited to just the 2004 models? come on Nissan...do the right thing before someone gets hurt!

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 182010

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that on 3-4 occasions, when he applied the brakes, the brake light illuminated and he heard a grinding and pulsating noise; the brake pedal would also extend to the floorboard. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 60,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 01/11/2011 the consumer stated he would have to turn the vehicle off and then turn it back on again in order for the problem to be corrected. A mechanic informed the consumer, the problem was the ABS or computer system. The consumer stated while driving, the vehicle lost all power and then the brake light illuminated. Updated 03/30/11

- Fountain Inn, SC, USA

problem #19

May 012008

Armada 8-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Emergency brake light came on suddenly. Brake shudders and vibrates through steering wheel. Car makes a grinding noise when brake is applied.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #18

May 182007

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Armada and was traveling at low speed when the brakes failed. The vehicle rolled out into the intersection before stopping. Just prior to stopping it felt like the ABS was trying to engage, but the pavement was not slippery. I drove slowly and tried the brakes a few more times and every time it felt like the ABS was kicking in, but the braking was severly diminished. I drove the vehicle slowly)about 1 mile to a dealership. Turned the vehicle off, and when we turned it back on again, the problem was gone. The tech nician did a code scan and found that the ABS needed to be reprogrammed, which was being done now. I dod a search on the internet and this seemed prevelant in the 2004 Armadas and titans. My concern that the complaints I have read showed that this continuedc to recur even after the reprogramming. If this happened unexpectedly at high speed and a panic stop the results will be catastrophic. This should be investigated. Thanks.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #17

Mar 022007

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan pathfinder Armada. Purchased at 11488 miles on 11/5/05. Experienced very slight vibration when braking at high speed on way home. Also experienced periodic "groan or thump" when gently braking, mostly while turning. Vibration continued to increase until steering became unmanageable while braking. Difficult to be without a car so we couldn't take the car in until 1/10/07 at 22030 miles. Our mechanic said they were the worst warped rotors he had ever seen and had them turned. He also replaced 50% Nissan pads with Carquest ceramic pads. Two days later, the vibration was back and dramatically increased over 1000 mile road trip until we took car to dealer on 3/2/07 at 24,140 miles. Steering now completely unmanageable! dealer wouldn't honor warranty because we had Carquest pads on car. Also told us that warranty work had been done on rotors at about 7000 miles under original owner. Dealer turned rotors and installed Nissan pads and informed us that we were now back under warranty until 36000 miles or 8/07. Don't feel safe on road, especially after reading posts of complete brake failure, yet need a car to drive on trips. Please issue recall.

- Clayton, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 152006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
On eight different my 2004 Nissan aramada had complete brake failure. Executive Jeep Nissan did nothing to fix problem. Vehicle very unsafe. Been off the road for 3 months. Driving down the road went to stop vehicle and brake went to the floor and no stopping power. Nothing has been done to fix problem. After looking into this issue many people with 04 Armada having same problem.. Nissan refuses to fix problem! very dangerous.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #15

Apr 062006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
One day last summer, the brakes on my Armada failed to work properly. The brake pedal felt like it depressed more than normal and the car did not feel like it was going to stop. When the brake pedal was depressed firmly the car would come to an immediate stop. Loud noises coming from near the front of the car could be heard. I drove very carefully across town to horizon Nissan notifying the service writer that I would be there shortly. I pulled in. Turned the car off. A service advisor came with me for a test drive. The car did not have the problem. I was informed that perhaps a rock got stuck in my brakes and fell out after I turned the car off. Two more times, the brakes failed to operate in a safe manner. I pulled off the road. Turned the car off. Turned the car on and the brakes worked normal. Once again, today, the brakes failed to work properly. While waiting at the intersection at a red light, I thought I could reset the brakes to work. Turned the car off, on, and the brake light stayed on and the brakes did not work. I arrived at my destination and tested the brakes again. Turned the car off - on. Brake light went off, but came on after about 10 seconds. I then had the car towed to the dealership as I am very weary of driving the car anywhere not knowing when the brakes are going to act up.

- Roseburg, OR, USA

problem #14

Nov 122004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Contact stated Nissan, Armada had a serious brake system problem. On one occasion when depressing the brake pedal the vehicle steered by itself to the right side of the road, and then came to a complete stop. The road conditions were normal. The contact took the vehicle six times to the dealer for service. On four occasions the brake rotors and pads were changed. The contact said the vehicle continued to be driven at a risk of an accident.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 042005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

October 5, 2005 re: VIN# [xxx] (2004 Nissan Armada) the brakes are defective and do not work properly when applying pressure to stop. We have never received any notification from Nissan disclosing any brake issues or concerns. We have always been the ones to inform the dealer of our problems each time even though there was a Nissan bulletin in existence. Last month (September, 2005) was the first time we received a letter from Nissan with respect to the brakes and they have informed all of the Nissan Armada owners that they will allow unlimited mileage/or up to 36 months to fix anything that has to do with the brakes. After four times getting the brakes fixed the brakes are still defective. The brakes are a hazard to me and my family as well as to others on the road. The brakes vibrate intensely and causes the whole car to shake and vibrate not just the steering wheel. It is hard to control the steering wheel and the vehicle itself is hard to control. My wife and my child are not riding in the vehicle at all and we had bought this vehicle to have as our new safe family vehicle but it is not safe at all. We have begun the process allowed under the Massachusetts new car lemon law and other possible options including court action. Just yesterday on October 4th, I (dino) while driving on the highway was almost in a three car accident I had applied my brakes going 50 mph to avoid a another car changing lanes without a signal and when I applied the brakes to avoid the car the brakes vibrated so much and the steering wheel and the whole car shook, I lost control of the vehicle and spun around to the breakdown lane thankfully, and was not hit from behind. I am formally informing the NHTSA of this and am praying that these vehicles are taken off the road before accidents occur and god forbid someone is injured or killed. [xxx], [xxx] [xxx], [xxx],[xxx], [xxx]. updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #12

Sep 112005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Contact stated vehicle had defective brakes. On 11-12-2004 he took the truck to dealer, and they advised him that it was a defect on the internal parts of the brakes. They fixed the brakes under warranty. On 5-2-05 had the brakes resurfaced. Now, the brakes are grinding when applying them.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #11

Sep 012004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada 4 wheel drive. The contact complained about a brake problem, especially the front brakes. He has already decided that it was the front brakes because he could not stop the vehicle.. also, brake rotors warped and faded. There was 14,000 miles on the vehicle, and he has been having this problem since purchasing the vehicle. He refused to let his wife or family drive the vehicle because it was unsafe. At first he thought this problem was caused by the disc brakes, pads, and the rotors that rusted, but afterwards he decided that this was caused the vehicle sitting on the lot. But since the problem became progressively worse when braking hard at highway speeds. The brakes will shutter and fade. This vehicle was made with the highest towing package and when towing something he felt like he was going to crash with this vehicle because it got so worse. He contacted a dealership and spoke with the manufacturer. The dealership told him that they were going to replace the brakes by a by owner basis but had no plans in making this a recall. There has almost been several accidents with this problem. He retired from the sheriff' S department and has been to professional driving school. Therefore, the contact did know how vehicles were suppose to be handled.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 192005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact owned a 2004 Nissan Armada. T when depressing the brakes front end shakes. The people at Nissan's corporate office thought this was not a big deal because there was not recall. However, the government became involved, and that was why consumer enlisting Y help. I began having problems with front rotors in February of 2004. Took vehicle to a local Nissan dealer who fixed the problem by rotating the rotors. Then, on June. I had same the same problem. Called the local Nissan dealer again and they checked the front end again. This time they said that this was a problem that has been happening with the Armada, and that they would have to order the part for the vehicle, and that it would be about three weeks. Three weeks were up Saturday July 16. Consumer called the dealership on July 15 and spoke with someone from service. He advised consumer T that they could not tell when they will be able to fix the truck because they could not order the parts from Nissan. Also, they have a stack of order forms, and if consumer came in about two or three weeks ago then she would have had about 7 or 8 people ahead. When consume R told him that she do not feel safe driving the vehicle, and it did not make her feel any better to know that they did not know when it will be fixed. Dealer then said that the vehicle was safe. Consumer asked him how could it be safe when the front end shakes.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #9

Nov 012003

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Nissan - 2004, pathfinder Armada at present 22,000 miles. Problem stated at less than 2,000 miles. Vehicle has been back to dealer 6 times since acquisition for brake problems. Failure of the brake system. Take longer to stop with severe shuddering of the steering column. This could result in a crash with loss of lives. Delear refinish the existing rotors or install new ones with new pads and bolt assembly.

- Glenn Dale, TX, USA

problem #8

Apr 102005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,850 miles
Complete brake failure-- vehicle: 2004 Nissan Armada le this vehicle has been in the shop (dealer) several times with brake issues. The rotors have been turned and replaced and turned again. Nissan has not as of yet corrected the problem. About a week ago, I was making a stop at an intersection when the brake pedal went completely to the floor. I "pumped" the pedal and got enough pedal to be able to stop. On exam of the brake system, I found that the brake fluid reservoir was over half empty. Why? I do not know. I added fluid and the brake problem appeared to be corrected. I took the vehicle to the dealer and requested it be examined to see if they could determine if there was a leak of some kind that may have caused the fluid level to get low. In checking out the vehicle, the problem occurred again with the technician. They could not determine the cause.

- Madisonivlle, KY, USA

problem #7

Jan 262005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While applying the brakes and without warning vehicle started shaking uncontrollably. Driver was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and drove to the dealer for inspection. Mechanic informed the driver that a problem was present, but a solution was undetermined at this time.

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 202004

Armada

  • 6,300 miles
Complete brake replacement at 6300.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 272004

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
Front brakes made squeaking noises, and steering wheel shook while braking, unsafe to drive. Brakes repaired 3 times. Truck was only 4 months old with 6000 miles.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 122004

Armada

  • 15,500 miles
When braking at any speed steering wheel vibrated, and the brakes made a squeaking noise. This caused extended stopping distance. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?