Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,211 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Armada Owner Comments

problem #13

Aug 232006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2005 Nissan Armada (16,000 miles) with brake problems. I purchased the vehicle on August 22, 2006. It was taken to a Nissan dealer two days later with brake problems. The dealer replaced the front rotors and pads, the rear rotors were resurfaced with new pads. I picked the vehicle up on Friday, and returned with it back to the dealer on Monday. My Armada was not fixed. The steering wheel still was violently shaking, and the front brake pedal was spongy, as well as the brakes over heating. The dealer had the Armada for three days to fix/replace a front caliper new pads again, and wheel balance. I believe more work was done, however the work order does not reflect any other repairs. What really disturbs me is that I found out that in October of 2005 the Armada had the brakes replaced by the original owner. The vehicle was not even a year old at that time. This makes 3 repairs for the same problem in less than two years. Nissan states the brakes issues are corrected, I think that every 10K I will have to have the brakes replaced over and over. Nissan stated that no other pads or rotors will be covered under a warranty, since they were fixed twice already. I will say the dealer has been very good so far, but what happens when I need brakes again. I am aware of other Armada owners with this same issue. What can be done to finally correct this safety problem.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #12

Apr 262006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
2005 Nissan Armada brakes shake when applying the breaks. The rotors are warped. Shaking is getting worse.

- Littlton, CO, USA

problem #11

Mar 272006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Armada with 7000 miles and the brake rotors seem to be warped already. I have a cousin who has a 2004 titan and has had plenty of brake problems also. When braking, especially at higher speeds, the steering wheel has a lot of vibration. After doing research on the internet there seems to be a lot of other people with the same problem. But Nissan has yet to recall these vehicles with these problems. There are service bulletins out to replace the front and rear rotors and brake pads but after reading many of the complaints posted by other people they only want to turn the rotors which is not the solution. I would like to know what my rights are and how to get Nissan to correct the problem right the first time.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #10

Jun 232005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2005 Armada in may by June vehicle went into service because a noise was coming from the rear side. 2 attempts to fix and part was replaced. August 2005 taken to dealer again because of shaking while braking, and front rotors /pads were replaced, and rear rotors resurfaced. January 2006 vehicle taken back to dealer because there was a grinding. Apparently the problem were the tires that needed balancing and rotating. Another problem was the liftgate, it did not want to open and close automatically. My car has been in the shop for 3 days and they still did not know what the problem could be. As another consumer mentioned the stability of this vehicle was very poor, I have swirved sharply to the left when braking at 50 mph or more. According to the Nissan service they have not found anything wrong with this.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 052004

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Disk rotors and brakes, had them replaces a few month after leased the vehicle, two month later the car is in the same shape, when braking the car and the steering wheel feels like it is coming off the car, feels very dangerous to drive, dealer does not have brake pads or rotors and is putting everyone with the same complain in a waiting list. What is out options when something like this is happening to all the 2005 Nissan Armada?

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 022005

Armada 6-cyl

  • 7,058 miles
Consumer steering wheel vibrates when applying brakes. ** received 9-29-05*** the vehicle was taken to the dealer twice within 3 months for this problem. The dealer replaced the rotors but the problem resurfaced.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #7

Aug 302005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes on my 2005 Armada warped at about 5,000 miles. I took it to the dealership and was informed they have an upgrade kit to fix the problem because the stock brakes are too small for the vehicle. When I picked up the vehicle, I was informed that they only turned the rotors because they didn't have the parts and now cannot give me the upgrade because there is no visible problem and Nissan will not authorize the work. I was never asked if I wanted the rotors turned. It appears that they are trying to avoid a recall by making it look like they are fixing the problem, but then only doing what costs them the least.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #6

Jul 182005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Bought Nissan Armada January 2005. By March of 2005 just a little over 2000 miles the steering wheel started shaking when braking. Brought car back to dealer and was told rotors too small for the car. Rotors replaced. Steering started shaking again early June. Car brought back again. Told it was the same problem and the permenent "fix" would be available by the end of June. Told at the end of June the "fix" would be available buy mid July. Now mid July with no "fix" available. Steering wheel shakes so badly it is difficult to drive. Car will be brought in for the 3rd time on 7/19/05 for third visit and 2nd set of rotors. Still no permenent "fix" available.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 012005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Consumer stated that the braking system caused the steering wheel to vibrate and pull to the right. He was told by someone who did not work for Nissan but for enterprise rental car that the rotors were not sufficient for the size and weight of the vehicle. He took the vehicle to a dealership, and he was told that Nissan was sending out the repair kits and will have the vehicles fixed. Consumer was concerned that there wasn't a recall, but Nissan was fixing the problem. Consumer took vehicle to the service department twice, and was told it will be a continuing problem until the kit arrived to fix the problem permanently. The problem was better when the vehicle was taken I to dealer, but the same thing happened after a week.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 302005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,385 miles
The consumer states when she brakes the car pulls and violently shakes. The steering wheel felt very lose. Dealer was aware of the problem. She brought it to dealer on 6-27-05, who acknowledged the problem they were having with the Nissan and recommend a repair kit to fix the problem. They told consumer they could not get to her car until 6-27-05 because they were busy with fixing all of the brake problems they were having with the Nissan. She asked for a loaner V and they refused to give her one.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #3

Feb 152005

Armada 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2005 Nissan Armada in December 2004. Noticeable shaking in steering wheel column when braking. This usually occurs when braking from speeds greater than 40 mph. Took the car to the dealer where I purchased it from and they acknowledged that there has been an issue with steering wheel shaking, which the service advisor explained, is due to rotor becoming heated and warped. He said that they have a temporary fix for the problem - changing brake pads, rotors, and installing a bolt somehwere, and that Nissan was working on a permanent fix. I wish I new about this issue before I dished out the big bucks. Hopefully, this problem does not pose a deadly hazard in the not to distant future.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #2

Mar 022005

Armada

  • miles
Brake system undersized for size of vehicle, "judder" started at 2800 miles and now at 3400 miles is much worse. Dealer wanted to do a temporary fix and I refused pending permanent fix. Larger calipers, rotors and pads are desperately needed.

- Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #1

Feb 202005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
Brake system seems unsafe. The rotors are making some serious noises, and the vehicle only has 5,000 miles on it. Vehicle is 2005 Nissan Armada.

- Riverside, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?