Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,628 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

Aug 012016


  • 138,000 miles


Brakes failed to operate correctly causing my wife to rear end the vehicle in front of her. Damaging both vehicles I am glad that her or my two sons who were in the vehicle and the other person were not hurt. Nissan is aware of the brake issues related to the Nissan Armada and titan

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #94

Aug 232016


  • 225,215 miles
Brake issues grinding turn car off stops brake light comes on when a problem but goes of when restarted. See attached lawsuit.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #93

Jul 092016


  • 150,000 miles
As I was driving my Armada I heard a noise and felt that something was wrong with my breaks. I tried to brake and my breaks wouldn't respond, it also sounded like my breaks were hitting metal with metal, the break light also came on. After pushing the break pedal several times it stopped had to turn on my emergency lights as I stopped at a main street. I turned off the car and back on my brake light turned off and drove home through the small streets since was afraid that the breaks wouldn't work again.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #92

Jun 052016


  • 104,000 miles


The brake light randomly turns on. When trying to brake there is a very loud grinding noise. The noise is scary and the brakes work but not as well. This has happen to me while I'm driving. I have to stop turn the truck off then the brake light disappears and starts working again. It's hard to diagnose because it's random. It has happened more than once, I was told it might be a brake booster but can't tell for sure because when I take it to the shop it's normal.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #91

Jun 212016


  • 125,000 miles
The brake light would display in the car. There is a loud grinding noise which happen when breaking. After car is turned off and turned back on its like nothing ever happen. This situation happens randomly.

- Haltom City, TX, USA

problem #90

Jun 262016


  • 140,000 miles
Braking system doesnt work properly at times. Brake light on dash lights up and brakes pulsate like it would if you are trying to stop on ice. After restart vehicle it will be ok until it happens again.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #89

Feb 052016


  • 133,000 miles


Check engine light is

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #88

Aug 112014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 65 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #87

Nov 192010


  • 88,000 miles
Original complaints filed July 31st and October 22, 2015, respectively. A response has been received from the insurance company regarding their decision of supplemental repairs, ODI #10745373 and #10781329, as it relates to the vehicle safety determination after the collision loss in November 2010. I forwarded the dmv-349 and additional documents by mail to the NHTSA address provided previously.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #86

Nov 122015


  • 5,000 miles
While driving and slowing down the break lights come on and you can hear a grinding sound and the vehicle begins to pulse. The only way to quickly fix the problem is to restart the car. I've taken the Armada to my local dealership to rectify the problem. However, the technicians drive the vehicle around the lot for a few minutes and say they do not notice any problems with the breaks. This issue has a potential to generate fetal outcomes. Fortunately for my family, we have not been in harms way. The problem has been on going since we purchased the vehicle in May 2006.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #85

Nov 012015


  • 104,900 miles


While driving on the road at slow normal speed the brake pedal went to floor no braking available with kids in my car this is a known problem with Nissan Armada brake debooster valve equipped with delta sensor. Safety issue that needs to be a recall to resolve this problem. During this no braking the ABS light illuminates and slip warning and brake warning light illuminates the only way to resolve this is by safely pulling over and turning the ignition off which then might resolve this problem. Took my car to the dealership they exactly know what the problem is they got the code C1179 which clearly outlines a bad delta sensor within the brake debooster valve. I believe Nissan has know this problem and has not yet made a recall O this issue will like the Transport safety board look into this electrical, software, mechanical problem before it's too late whereby innocent lives could be lost. There needs to be a safety recall. The dealership also wants to charge for the software upgrade and yet said this might not fix the problem but if it happens again then the brake debooster valve would have to be replaced, I am shocked to know that they know it's a safety issue but yet tend to ignore this problem frustrated consumer.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #84

Oct 272015


  • 154,640 miles
I was driving my kids to school and as I approached a stop sign, I noticed my brake light, vdc light and slip light came on. When I pressed on my brakes it made a grinding sound and would not come to a complete stop. I had to jerk my car into neutral and then try to put it into park. When I pressed my brake pad it went all the way down to the ground and then I was able to put my car into park. This all happened while driving in the flow of traffic pulled over and parked, I turned my car off, when I restarted my car the light were off and I drove on my way.

- Harbor City, CA, USA

problem #83

Oct 202015


  • 50,000 miles
I have had this happen multiple times. I am driving and the brake light goes on on the dash. When I attempt to apply the brakes the whole car shakes and makes a loud noise. The car barely slows. Eventually if I get the car stopped and I restart it the problem goes away. No one has been able to find out what the issue is but it happens to a lot of Armada owners. It's terrifying. It usually happens if I am driving, then turn the car of and then on again within a few minutes. The brakes will fail and I can only get them to work correctly if I restart the car.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #82

Oct 052015


  • 88,182 miles
Original ODI #10745373 - 11/19/2010 still unresolved. Review of nc dmv - 340 (rev.3/2001) with insurance company, insurance affiliated collision repair shop and Nissan of North America confirmed acknowledgment of rotor/ brake damage during repairs. The collision repair shop and (Nissan)modern service mgr. Both internally notated the issue until the claim was confirmed by a Nissan service tech (5936) on 12/21/2010 during a collision re-inspection. Front/ rear brake pad replacement has not resolved the rotor issue confirmed during 2010 repairs. Brake pads were not worn to require replacement during inspections to address concerns. The Nissan edr issue has remained unaddressed by the insurance company while Nissan has provided all warranty/ recall services for the vehicle from 2006 to the present. Geico has provided a guarantee of all losses related to collision on 12/07/2010.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #81

Sep 202014


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving at 65 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal. The contact stated that the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard and the brake warning indicator illuminated. In addition, a loud abnormal grinding noise was heard coming from the brakes. The contact stated that the vehicle was turned off and restarted as a result the brake pedal lifted back into the correct position. The contact stated that the failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000.....updated 11/02/15

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #80

Sep 252014


  • 68,000 miles
My Nissan Armada brake light comes on and the car starts braking on its own without me pushing on the brakes. And sometimes the vdc light also comes on. I will be driving on the road and suddenly the brake light comes on and the car starts braking on its own without me pushing on the brakes and then the vdc light also comes on. There is a defect in this car that needs to be investigated. My Nissan Armada 2006 is not safe to drive and there is a manufacturers defect in this make and model

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #79

Sep 162015


  • 100,000 miles
After picking my kids up from school, I was exiting the highway, and as I pressed on the brakes they began grinding loudly, the vehicle seized up, and the brake light came on. I was able to maintain control of the vehicle and come to a complete stop. However, unfortunately, that's due to the fact that this is the 3rd time this has happened in the last year, and I knew what was happening. I also know that if I turn off the vehicle, and restart it the problem goes away, making it impossible to diagnose, "code-wise." Each time this has happened, I have been slowing down either, on the interstate, or exiting it, going at least 60mph. I have 6 children, and this is our family vehicle. They have been with me 2 out of the 3 times this has happened. Had I needed to make an abrupt stop when this happened, the turnout might have yielded in injury, or worse, for multiple people. I have new brakes and rotars, my brake lines have no leaks, and it has been serviced at a Nissan dealership with a full diagnostic check up. They fixed older recalls and changed my belts. There are clearly enough people with the same exact year model, at different milages, in and out of warranty, to warrant this as a defect. This is a major safety concern with the driver and passengers of this vehicle, as well as others on the road. Please do something about this!

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #78

Jul 232014


  • 107,000 miles
I was driving at about 40mph I was coming to a red light and proceeded to apply my brakes when the braje pedal vibrated and shook my ABS and 2 other light illuminated on my dash car took several times of applying tge brake to slow down. It fekt like I had no control of braking. The brakes made a grinding noise abd brakes went to less then 50% of original braking power. I turned my car off and on again and lights went off and braking was normal again. This has happened pretty much on a weekly occurrence since then. I've called the dealer and asked if they had any recalls they said no.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #77

Aug 122015

Armada 4WD 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle started to shake violently and made an unusual noise as the brake pedal was depressed. The brake light illuminated. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road and was towed to a dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified, but did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 12/03/15 the consumer stated the part in question, was called the delta stroke sensor, updated 12/21/155.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #76

Aug 122015


  • 85,000 miles
I was driving and towing a sea doo to the dealer. As I approached the driveway, I lost my brakes by greater than 50%. they were grinding and sounded like ABS was on. This continued as I crept along the driveway. The brake light also came on during this time. Once the car was turned off and back on, the error reset. The dealer was not able to find anything wrong and the car drove fine. As I researched my issue, I found many items that match the description that I experienced today. They all had no luck at the dealer in diagnosing a problem. Nissan has even settled a lawsuit pertaining to a brake experience that was similar to mine today.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?