Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,517 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Cube steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Cube:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Cube Owner Comments

problem #12

Jul 302016


  • 85,866 miles


Escl failed for 3rd time. Drove the car, parked it for 15 minutes and it would not start when I came back out. This will make the 3rd escl installed in my car by Nissan since I bought it new in July 2009. The 2nd escl was replaced under warranty on November 2011 at 22912 miles. The 3rd one cost me $892.09 plus $140 to tow it to the dealership. It took Nissan warranty 2 weeks to tell me that they would reimburse me for the cost of the part only. Dealing with the warranty people was more frustrating than going to the dmv. I would rather have a root canal without novacaine than deal with them again. Talk about making you want to just walk away and not buy another Nissan. I love my car but Nissan's customer service for faulty parts sucks. The escl has issues that still aren't resolved. Nissan said it was normal wear and tear. That is bull- normal wear and tear is replacing brakes, tires and exhaust. I just replaced my tires last year and my brakes and muffler are still in good shape and original from when I bought the car. They should leave the escl off going forward. It does nothing for you if it leaves you stranded.

- Gordonsville, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 222016


  • 95,000 miles
Nissan issued a voluntary service campaign bulletin ntb11-057 on June 23, 2011. This notice acknowledges a manufacturing defect with the electronic steering column lock (escl) which renders the vehicle incapable of starting. I own a 2009 Cube equipped with an escl which has malfunctioned. When the service technician proceeded to initiate a service comm to repair the defect as instructed in the bulletin produced by Nissan when he entered my VIN the voluntary service campaign was not noted on my VIN record. I contacted Nissan corporate office to determine why and they had nor record of this issue although it is clearly reported on NHTSA's website and the actual bulletin was obtained from Nissan. A quick google search revealed several owners who utilized this bulletin to have their vehicles repaired. My car cannot start without this repair being completed. I would like to know if this bulletin is legitimate and why my vehicle fits the described affected vehicle but is not eligible to be repaired.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #10

Jan 102016


  • 54,012 miles
On two separate occasions, within a 7 day period, after a short drive in cold weather, and then parked for 1/2 hour period, the ignition would not respond (I.e. start) when key would be turned to start position. The car had to be towed to service facility, where no common problem could be found, and ignition operated as expected. This is the same situation as reported on NHTSA reference #10040035, Nissan tsb #ntb-11-057 for this make, model, year, with the sole exception this car has a intelligent key ignition, as opposed to push button ignition for the cars covered under the Nissan tsb. In call to Nissan concerning the problem, the local dealership acknowledged the tsb, but stated that it only concerned models with the push button start.

- Kewanee, IL, USA

problem #9

Nov 032015


  • 41,200 miles


The intelligent key system warning light illuminated yellow and remained on while the engine was running and while the engine was stopped. I took my Cube to the local Nissan dealership where it was diagnosed that the electrical steering lock system was malfunctioning. This same dealership repaired my Cube 9/19/2011 for a recall on this same part. Part D8700-1fa0C lock steering was malfunctioning and had to be replace again in my 2009 Cube. The dealership recommended that I call Nissan to report the issue and see if they would cover the repairs. Nissan refused to cover any of the repairs and said to call back if it happened again.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #8

Oct 052015


  • 130,000 miles
Escl (electric steering column lock) needs to repaired on my '09 Cube. I shut my car off after driving it for 10 minutes and it would not start again.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 012012


  • miles
My wife's 2009 Nissan Cube has had intermittent issues with the vehicle shutting off. It has happened a few times in rush hour traffic on the highway to and from work and most recently in a parking lot (luckily) it locked up completely. Most times she describes it like it is stalling, where she is able to move off to the side of the road and is able to restart the car after a minute or two. A few times however after coming to a complete stop, everything locked up. Car wouldn't start, steering wheel locked, brake pedal wouldn't even budge. After a minute, it started right back up. When we took it to the dealer, they could find nothing wrong and just ended up costing us "diagnostic fees". reading through other complaints on here about this same exact issue, I find it hard to believe that Nissan is not aware of something of this magnitude. Searching the web returns no type of help whatsoever. How are we supposed to just accept a vehicle that randomly shuts off, the results of which could be fatal? there has to be something that can be done.

- Dundalk, MD, USA

problem #6

Feb 062015


  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Cube. After the vehicle was refueled, the steering wheel seized without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the lock steering system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 012014

Cube 4-cyl

  • 48,362 miles
I bought a 2009 Nissan Cube brand new in June 2010 that has been nothing but problems. To date the vehicle has had the following problems: 1. steering lock mechanism has failed twice 2. rotors had to be resurfaced 3 months after purchase 3. throttle chamber failed and had to be replaced 4. fan doesn't work during winter months rendering the heater useless 5. fuel filler tube replaced (recall) 6. the exhaust has rotted and the result is it separating/breaking off from the muffler. Hummel Nissan in des moines wants $460 to repair the problem with the muffler. Tom at the dealer said he"S seen this problem with almost every vehicle minus the frontier. He said the way the exhaust is designed causes moisture to build up and rot the system out, and that I need to drive it more. I told him I don"T believe a vehicle with less than 50,000 miles should have to have the exhaust replaced, especially after having vehicles with 180,000 miles on them with no such trouble (not Nissan). He then told me to take it to a local shop because it would be cheaper to fix. Nissan customer care on facebook asked for my VIN number so they "could look into the issue, " and then replied back saying to work with the local dealer (hummel Nissan). All in all they've been completely useless and unhelpful. Hummel Nissan and Nissan could care less about making sure their customers are happy/safe and continue to buy their vehicles.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #4

Jun 062014

Cube 4-cyl

  • 46,894 miles
The electronic steering wheel lock failed car wont start. The part was replaced in July 2011 on a recall the new part failed in June 2014 Nissan would not replace a 2ed time under recall, with much begging they paid for part I paid for labor. This left my wife stranded in a less than ideal spot Nissan extended the warranty on this same part on 2009 Nissan Altima but not on Cube.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #3

Feb 172014


  • 86,169 miles
Electronic steering column lock (escl) failed, the car was totally immobilized, was not responding to keyless start, steering wheel was locked. This happened when the car was parked. The problem with escl lock is known to Nissan, it issued a recall and extended warranty for the part for other car models. I'm worrying whether this can happen while car is moving.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #2

Feb 102014


  • 79,000 miles
The vehicle would not start after it was working properly, but once parked and off tried to turn the vehicle on and it would not start. It is a problem with the escl which was part of the manufacturing irregularity, which was confirmed by Nissan dealership service center, and will not fix under warranty.

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #1

Dec 092013

Cube 4-cyl

  • 20,700 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Cube. The contact stated his daughter was stranded when the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the steering lock module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 20,700. Updated 01/23/14

- Edmond, OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?