Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Radiators are still cracking, leaking coolant and destroying transmissions. Which is a shame when you consider that otherwise, this would be a great small pickup truck.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Frontier fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #132

Mar 112014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I called Nissan in regards to NHTSA campaign number: 10V075000. They claim that it does not apply to my VIN [xxx]. my vehicle has roughly 52,000 miles on it and is experiencing this issue. They want me to take it to Nissan for a diagnosis that will cost me ~$150. My check engine light is always on and refers to the fuel sending unit. The in cabin fuel gauge shows 1/4 tank nearly all the time. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #131

Aug 012015

Frontier

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Frontier. When starting the vehicle, the fuel gauge provided inaccurate readings. The failure recurred numerous times. The dealer diagnosed that the fuel sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/17/16.

- Excel, AL, USA

problem #130

May 242014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
My "service engine soon" light came on. A code read said it was my fuel sending unit. There was a recall for the issue but Nissan customer support said my VIN was not covered. They did not explain why but upon my follow up, they said they would investigate if they could help/assist with the repair costs. They required the code read from the dealer (which I did and they confirmed it was the fuel sending unit). They call me back a week later and told me that they would not pay, although the representative admitted it was the defect from the recall campaign, but this time, she said it was because the recall warranty had expired. Since I was never part of the recall notice, there was no way for me to know when the campaign was in effect, plus - they did not include my VIN number. This same problem has happened to many, many people and it seems Nissan has scammed NHTSA and the recall system to minimize the amount of repairs they have had to make (e.g. they volunteer to perform the recall, then artificially limit the number of VIN numbers included), and put a time limit on the recall by calling it a warranty extension. When people like me experience the problem and follow up, they are prepared with a cascading number of ways to say "so sorry", but none of them own up to their original commitment to the public and the NHTSA to conduct and execute a full recall on this safety issue. Very slick, and very unethical. I am hoping that the NHTSA will conduct a full investigation, not just for me, but to eventually force Nissan to honor the recall on all vehicles that experience this problem - not just a few vins they named so they can save money.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #129

Jan 022014

Frontier

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Report receipt date: Mar 03, 2010 NHTSA campaign number: 10V075000 component(s): Fuel system, gasoline I was told by Nissan of usa that our vehicle, even though it falls within the date of the campaign, does not meet the recall due to the VIN and not the year of vehicle. Our vehicle exhibits the symptoms and basis for the recall and I do not understand why it isn't covered by Nissan.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #128

Mar 212014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
We bought this Nissan new in 2006 -great little truck. But recently the engine would stall and all the lights on the dash came on. Took it to our mechanic he said it was a tran code took it to the Nissan dealership and they said the coolant had gotten into the trans or vise versa (a lot to take in),so I needed a new transmission and radiator. I found this issue on your website for a recall but my vehicle was within the years of the recall but it has over 100,000 it has130 so the dealership said there was nothing they could do to help with the $5500 bill they just quoted me. Is there any help out there for me on this issue"?" please.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #127

Mar 102014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I was driving at posted speed when my vehicle ran out of gas. The fuel gauge showed that I had 1/2 tank, nearly causing a crash. I am a former memphis police officer with extensive defensive driving. My truck is not under the recall. But, it is in the date range. I have filed a complaint also about the transmission coolant problem also! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #126

Feb 102014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 66,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service engine soon light came on and fuel gauge went to empty. Distance to empty was erratic, however slowly recovered. Filled vehicle with gas even though it was only on 1/4 tank. Service engine soon light continues to stay on and fuel gauge remains on empty. I have seen many posts online with people having the same issues. This is an issue Nissan should remedy due to so many having this problem.

- Perkiomenville, PA, USA

problem #125

Mar 172013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 98,004 miles
The instrument panel fuel gauge to shows that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty. Found out that the fuel level sending unit inside the fuel tank dose not work sometime.when we fill the fuel tank the fuel gauge will drop to empty an shows that we don't have fuel.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #124

Dec 122013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Nissan has a well known problem with faulty fuel sensor sending unit on Frontier and xterra trucks. This causes the gas gauge to stop working and record inaccurate fuel level. The fuel gauge will show empty when tank is full. This is a safety concern as vehicle owner does not know how much fuel is in the tank and could run out of gas on an interstate/highway or moving through intersection, going onto highway exchanges etc. This puts driver and other vehicles on the road at risk. I called Nissan and they will not stand behind this part even though it is defective. I even went as far to ask them if I paid for the part (~$100) would they cover the labor (the fuel tank needs to be dropped to change the defective sensor). They said no.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #123

Dec 012012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
About 1 yr ago fuel gauge stopped registering-was unaware of issues, never received notice of issues and past mileage for warranty. I have not been able to afford to fix it, so we are constantly worried about running out of gas. In August of this year, truck running rough, hesitating in low gear. Had our mechanic flush transmission, but started again and got intensely worse the past 2 months. Unable to afford to fix, we had to wait, but finally no choice but to take it in. Radiator leaking into transmission, seals cracked, etc. Going to cost 3100 to fix. Called Nissan, but they basically told me I was out of luck as truck past mileage for standard and extended warranties (that they charge you for, knowing there is faulty transmission).

- Dorchester, SC, USA

problem #122

Dec 202013

Frontier

  • 118,875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge is no longer accurate. NHTSA campaign id # 10V075000 was issued for 2006 Nissan Frontiers. I called Nissan but they said my VIN number was not included in the recall. Apparently they think it's just a coincidence that I'm having the exact same problem with my 2006 Nissan Frontier. "Nissan is recalling certain model year 2006 and model year 2008 Frontier, xterra and pathfinder vehicles. The molded fuel tank shells can deform, causing the fuel sender float arm to contact an embossment molded into the tank shell causing the instrument panel fuel gauge to show that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty. Fuel gauge reads just under a quarter tank at all times, no matter if the tank is empty or full.

- Willington, CT, USA

problem #121

Jun 102012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • miles
The "service engine soon" light came on and the fuel gauge was slow to rise after filling up. This time when I filled up the gauge was at 1/4 and would not move. After sitting in traffic for a little bit the gauge indicated that a was low on fuel and the low fuel light came on.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #120

May 182011

Frontier 4-cyl

  • miles
I recently had a "service engine light" appear and when I had it diagnosed at the dealer I was told it was a fuel sensor failure that is located in the gas tank.. I of course agreed to have it serviced which they did and reset the engine light. I was researching another issue with my vehicle when I stumbled across a recall on this same year truck for the same items I just paid for. The recall by Nissan ntb10-031A issued in May 19, 2010. This recall extended into 2011. It seems ironic that within a few months period I had a fuel system failure that required the same service and exactly the same parts replaced as described in the recall. I feel this was just too close and too much of a coincidence to not fall into this recall.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #119

Apr 142012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My truck began to shake and tremble when I was trying to back into my drive way. The truck had been making noises and I had taken the truck in to be checked by 3 different mechanics. I was told that they could not find anything and one stated he heard the noise but did not know what it was. The truck continue to make the noise of a grinding and shuttering sound. Did not drive but to work and home due to the problems. The noise would stop when the overdrive was turned off. Lately the truck sounds like the transmission is going. The fuel gauge does not work. It was in a recall but Nissan would not repair even though I was mailed the recall after my mileage was too high for the repair which makes no sense to me because if they sent the notice out late, what does my mileage have to do with their negligence to repair their faulty vehicles" could not repair, the cost was over $600. Had to replace a wheel bearing, over $400. Tire gauge light on. I have had nothing but trouble with this truck. I will never purchase another Nissan product. When dealing with the Nissan recall people I felt as though they could care less. Working on a fixed budget and unable to pay for high cost of repair. What can you do when the big companies refuse to repair their trucks and cars" I was informed there was no one to help me. Have run out of gas several times due to the gas gauge. I have read other's complaints on Nissan and I am surprise that no one forces them to repair their vehicles. This is my only form of transportation and without the repairs, I will be riding the bus. Tired in Virginia. Thanks for listening.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #118

Apr 062012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the fuel gauge did not indicate that the fuel tank was empty. As a result, the vehicle stalled while driving 65 mph. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair because the VIN was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileages were 83,000...updated 04/26/12 updated 04/30/12..... updated 05/21/12 the consumer stated the recall was fixed. However, he was charged because his VIN was not included in the recall. Updated 05/31/12.

- Sparks , NV, USA

problem #117

Jan 022011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Air bag front sensor failure at 38000 miles, failure of fuel system evaporation valve at 38500 miles. Failure of rear differential seal at 42,000 miles, failure of rear axle bearing seals, gear oil to leaking on parking brake shoes causing slippage at 48,500. Truck has 49,000 as of 3/24/2012.

- Hewitt, NJ, USA

problem #116

Mar 062012

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 110,870 miles
The instrument panel fuel gauge to show that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #115

Feb 212012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Service engine light comes on with error code 0463. Nissan tsb #ntb07-069D corrects this but not out of warranty! with all the complaints this should be a recall situation!.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #114

Dec 292011

Frontier 4-cyl

  • miles
The fuel sending unit fails to indicate the amount of fuel in the fuel tank. Nissan Frontier ex. Nissan North America has sent me a letter regarding this failure and have extended the warranty, however now that I went to a dealer for the repair, Nissan has been very uncooperative and giving me the runaround, refusing to pay for the repair even after they assigned a file # to my case.

- Tolland, CT, USA

problem #113

Oct 012011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
This complaint is in regards to NHTSA campaign # 10V-075. Summary of the issue we are having is the same as the one stated in the recall. Due to a problem with the fuel sender float arm, our fuel gauge is showing that the vehicle has about 1/4 of a tank when the fuel tank is empty. We took the Nissan Frontier to a dealer to get this problem fixed and that told us that they would not fix the problem for free (as stated would happen in the recall notice) because the vehicle had too many miles on it. They confusingly tried to describe that the issue was a warranty extension and not a recall. We then call Nissan national customer affairs and they confused things even more. I was told by a service rep manager that there was 2 service programs for the problem we were having. One was a "recall" that would be fixed without date or mileage limits. In this situation, the problem caused the fuel gauge to be stuck on full. The other was a "warranty extension" that had a date or mileage limitation. In this situation, the fuel gauge would be stuck at about 1/4 tank when the tank was really less than that or empty. This is completely inaccurate information regarding what is stated in this safety recall campaign. I was told by the national service rep manager that Nissan will not fix this problem under this recall campaign.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?