Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
119,284 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

May 092016

Frontier

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Entering 4 lane highway with 70 mph traffic. Kicked Frontier into passing gear to enter ongoing traffic. Frontier stalled and slowed instead of increasing speed. Transmission slippage and jerking caused motor to increase rpms. I had to move my truck over to right of paved lane and onto pulloff area in order to prevent accident. I was told at the Nissan dealership that I had transmission damage due to radiator fluid leaking into transmission. It cost me $2500 to repair a problem that could have cost lives. I understand this was a problem that was not recalled by Nissan.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #134

Mar 212016

Frontier

  • 84,000 miles
"takata recall" transmission failure due to water damage of transmission valve body due to coolant leakage from radiator into transmission. I began to notice a vibration around 1200 to 1600 RPM that would smooth out at higher rpms.

- Troy, AL, USA

problem #133

Apr 142016

Frontier

  • 111,269 miles
Transmission will not go into gear due to coolant leaking into transmission. It is a manufacturer defect that Nissan has known about, but refuses to fix. They do not tell the buyer of the looming catastrophic failure, and continued to manufacture the vehicles for several more years even after discovering the problem, probably because it fails after the warranty is up. I now have a truck that I bought just a little over a year ago for $17000 that will not move. The cost to fix the problem can range anywhere from $4000 to $10000 depending on how much damage was caused by the defect. If it were to have been in a wreck and that much money in body damage would have occurred it would be totaled. How ever since it is a mechanical issue I am stuck paying $360 a month for a useless vehicle, that even if I could afford to get it fixed, I would be putting way more money into it than it is worth. When I purchased it from the Nissan dealership it had an as is no warranty tag in the window, but that was not true. Nissan had a warranty for that specific problem, but the dealership did not tell me. When I called and asked the service department, the service writer pretended not to know anything about it until I started grilling him about it. He then admitted it was a big problem in 3 of their vehicles, then told me it wasn't his problem, it was sales problem and transferred me to them. I talked to the manager, he said that the extended warranty Nissan offered, the one they neglected to mention, expired the month before my transmission failed, and even then I would have been out $2500 for a known defect that they continued to put in the vehicles for several more years. I was lucky it failed in a parking lot and not when I was pulling out into traffic where I could have been hit by another car and injured or killed! this problem is not the consumers fault, it is Nissan!

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #132

Apr 142016

Frontier

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracked radiator leaked fluid into the transmission cooler ruining the transmission.an issue Nissan knows about, yet does nothing but extending a bogus warranty. Truck has 68K.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #131

Feb 022016

Frontier

  • 98,000 miles
Transmission fluid cooler failed causing water to to get into the transmission fluid which damaged the transmission computer valve body and other transmission parts. After looking @ numerous complaint on the web I have learned that this has been a common problem that Nissan is aware of. I am very disappointed that Nissan did not send out any notification that there was a problem with this cooler failing. I read where they extended the warranty on some vehicle but no notifications were sent out to consumers who owned affected vehicles. Even if they did not do a recall it would have been better if they would have warns consumers of the possibility of this happening. It's much less expensive to change a radiator than to rebuild or replace a transmission! fortunately my transmission went just after I made home from a trip. Now I am stuck with over $3500 transmission rebuild that could have been avoid if Nissan had done the right thing by letting people know that they had problems with their transmission coolers.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #130

Mar 242016

Frontier

  • 170,000 miles
Nissan is aware of leaking radiators and not until a class action lawsuit was filed they did not take responsibility and only help pay with a copay if the vehicle is less then 90,000 miles. Which is ridiculous because it should it be unlimited mileage for that type of repair. Radiator leaked coolant fluid into transmission and corroded and broke seals on transmission caused it to brake and have car shut down

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #129

Feb 292016

Frontier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck stopped running as I was getting off the highway. I tried to put it in gear and it wouldn't go. I turned it off and on couple of times til I got it to slowly drive off thr traffic lane. I parked it then had it towed, turned out the radiator coolant has leaked into my transmission. It's been in the shop for over 3 weeks now and the repair cost is going to be around $6500.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #128

Feb 142016

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. While driving 30 mph, there was an odor emitted into the vents and the contact noticed smoke under the hood. The contact coasted over to the side of the road and noticed oil and antifreeze fluid spilling from the reserve tank onto the transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the spill caused the transmission and radiator to fail. Both the radiator and transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 04/14/16 updated 04/18/16.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #127

Dec 082015

Frontier

  • 150,000 miles
Trans cooler rupture and mixing coolant with transmission fluid. Ruined transmission/computer/radiator and left stranded on road. Very expensive fix for a problem that Nissan has with 2005-2010 models and were aware of. Nissan deceived the consumers and has not done enough to satisfy customers. I will not purchase another Nissan vehicle. I think they need to send letter to each VIN with proper instructions on how to fix this issue so it does not happen again.

- Jonesville, NC, USA

problem #126

Dec 192015

Frontier

  • miles
Around 3 months ago I started noticing between 1000 and 2000 rpms and usually between 40 and 60 mph my vehicle would shake like I was driving on rumble strips. Turns out I had a cross contamination issue with coolant and atf. Looking in my radiator looked like a strawberry milkshake. Also dropped the transmission pan and found a brown shiney mixture of atf and coolant. I immediately went out and bought a new radiator and fluids for my truck. Total cost around $400 so far. After the fluid flushes and new radiator truck ran good for about 1700 miles. About a week ago 01/20/2016 a slight rumbling started again. 2 days ago the issue turned very severe. Rpms were staying very high around 3000 then would get a very violent clunk as the transmission shifted gears. This happened multiple times. I drove the truck yesterday and was sitting in traffic and went to start went light turned green. Rpms went to almost 3 with no movement from the truck then all of a sudden truck gave the violent clunk again and slammed into gear and started moving. I did not drive the vehicle today in fear of a catistrrophic breakdown or worse. Like a transmission lock up at 60 mph causing an accident. I have been shopping transmission shops and it looks like definitely need transmission rebuild or replacement at an estimated fee of $3000 to $6000. This is for an issue that Nissan has been aware of and failed to communicate or take responsibility for with their customers. Issue seem to be when driving straight city or highway at the above speeds and rpms range.

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #125

Jan 212016

Frontier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Radiator fluid mixed with transmission fluid due to faulty radiator, beyond useless extended warranty, resulting in my burden to pay, according to Nissan a $2500 dollar deductible, plus taxes. Nice, my truck has only 49,000 miles on it, no off road use, and now getting to the point of useless. Thanks Nissan. Oh, don't forget the towing charge to the nearest dealer over one hour away for repairs. I just started with transmission symptoms of intermittent grinding with overdrive engaged on the shiftier. Took my truck to garage for inspection, they checked the transmission fluid and, ya you guessed it, radiator fluid mixed with it.

- Reynoldsville, PA, USA

problem #124

Dec 062015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 145,396 miles
My Frontier died on 12/6 / on 12/7/2015, I had it towed to the boardwalk Nissan and paid $100 to have the problem diagnosed. I was told the repairs would cost $10,500. The radiator caused the transmission to go out in turn causing the computer panel to burn out. I asked the service adviser was there something I could've done to prevent the problem. He said no, the problem happens. I then had the truck towed home. Now, I find out there was a problem that Nissan should've known about, had they made the repairs to the radiator, my truck would be working today. This makes me angry. It makes me angry that I just paid $317.44 to replace tire sensors that may not have been needed!! the radiator issue resulted in a $417.44 expense that may not have been necessary ($100 for a diagnosis). The truck was parked in front of my house. I attempted to start the car on 12/6/15, it wouldn't start. Thinking it was a battery issue, I waited until the next morning; only to find out it wasn't the battery. I called boardwalk Nissan and had the truck towed to the dealership for diagnostics & repairs only to find out it would cost me $10,500.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #123

Dec 132015

Frontier

  • 85,000 miles
With no prior warning, transmission failed on the vehicle. This has now happened twice, in November 2013 and December 2015. In both cases, vehicle lost all transmission of power to the drive train. In both cases, transmission fluid could be smelled when the hood is opened afterwards. Manual clutch continues to function perfectly, and guage shows proper rpms, but the vehicle will not move. In both cases, vehicle was moving in a straight line, once at freeway speeds of about 65 mph and once in a residential neighborhood at approximately 25 mph. Because of the sudden loss of power, especially on the freeway, the problem caused a sudden slowing which affected the traffic around me.

- Pacheco, CA, USA

problem #122

Oct 172015

Frontier

  • 141,000 miles
My transmission failed to water in transmission due to faulty radiator because of recall I was never informed of untill I researched it after it happened 10 /17/15 it stayed in high gear on hwy 98 I almost got hit 2 or 3 times I had it towed to advanced trans. Spanish fort, al invoice #10892 water in trans. $3996.89 for rpairs

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #121

Sep 032015

Frontier

  • 145,485 miles
Was stationary ready to go to next appointment put it in drive and it would not go. Engine reved but not moving. Was told at dealership coolant has gotten into transmission. Needed new transmission. After repairs, headlights and windows did not function correctly.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #120

Jun 252015

Frontier

  • 115,000 miles
The transmission doesnt shift down as it needs to when it is called for, and a chatter happens when it does shift down.

- Brookline, VT, USA

problem #119

Oct 172015

Frontier

  • 110,000 miles
These vehicles contain a defective radiator cooler tank that ruptures and forces coolant into the transmission through the cooler lines. When the coolant mixes with transmission fluid it creates a frothy liquid that eats valves, errodes seals and causes corrosion. It's toxic, irreversible and will eventually kill the 5-speed automatic transmission. Which it did

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #118

Mar 192015

Frontier

  • 86,256 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the transmission cooler fractured and caused anti-freeze to spill into the transmission. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The details of the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,256.

- Burnsville, NC, USA

problem #117

Sep 282015

Frontier

  • 1,700 miles
Purchased the truck 8-1-2015, drove it about 2 months (1700 miles). While driving and turning left with oncoming traffic, the transmission hesitated nearly causing and accident. Took the truck to Nissan to be checked out. They diagnosed that the radiator cracked causing contaminatiion of coolant into the transmission. Since the transmission cooler was built inside the radiator. Which after reading a little research was a known problem by Nissan for 6 model years (2005-2010).

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #116

Sep 012015

Frontier

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shook violently. The contact coasted to the side of the road and was able to restart the vehicle after thirty minutes. The contact also stated that the radiator cracked. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact was advised by the dealer that the vehicle needed a new transmission and radiator. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Alexandria, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?