Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
141,913 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Dec 022014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 65,491 miles


My truck was diagnosed with a timing chain issue due to a whining from the engine.if timing chain fails the engine will lose power putting people at risk. Nissan has known about the issue since tsb # 07-042 issued July 17 2007. I purchased in Oct 2007 had I had this information available to me I would have made a different decision. In April 17 2009 another tsb was issued #07-042A, on December 14 2009 another tsb #07-042C.sometime between 2006-2007 the primary timing chain tensioner was redesigned. So Nissan was well aware there was an issue.the service department never mentioned this issue until I was out of warranty leaving me on the hook for repairs. The timing chain should last the life of the motor.please open an investigation on this matter. Nissan did not do anything for their customers about the radiator transmission cross contamination until a class action suit was brought against them and they lost.there is a class action suit in process in California for the timing chain issue.any one who has whining buzzing in the engine in their Nissan from 2004-2007 with the V-6 Q40 should file a complaint as well.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #24

Dec 172014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
I took my vehicle in for service 12-17-14, since the heater was not working properly and just found out the that radiator cracked and leaked radiator fluid into the transmission, possibly contaminating the transmission. They are replacing the radiator and flushing the transmission a few times to try to salvage the transmission. They informed me of a recall on this problem but I'm past the permitted mileage. I bought the vehicle used in 2012. The service dealer said the recall included a new radiator and transmission for $3800 but that the deductible was $3000"?" this is a serious design flaw that should be fully covered and fixed by Nissan!

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #23

Dec 052014

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 83,984 miles
I had just filled my tank with fuel. I pulled of the lot of the station into traffic, notice my fuel gauge didn't never register the fuel just added. Moments later the low fuel light came on and the service engine soon light also. I circle back to the station where the fuel was purchase and the truck began to sputter. I return to the station and proceeded to the clerk that sold me the fuel and explained what happen. I was thinking it was a problem with the fuel. Clerk stated she would record my claim/ I left the station and proceeded to drive home where I arrive safely.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #22

Sep 022013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the fuel and check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 08V690000 (air bags) but did not confirm if the VIN was included. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 01/23/15

- Alberquerque, NM, USA

problem #21

Oct 262012


  • 1,012,321 miles
First thing that happened the gas gauge just quit working second the fuel line started leaking on the frame just after gas gauge fixed then transmission messed up transmission radiator and thermostat fixed and no running hot took it to dealer says nothing wrong with it also code is showing egr valve.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #20

Jul 312014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
I was driving and noticed that when I slowed down or stopped, then tried to go again the car hesitated, then took off fast all at once. At times even when the gas pedal was floored the car wouldn't go, then would take off. I tried changing gas, an additive, nothing helped. I had a neighbor drive the car and he said get it in before you kill someone. I called a couple of shops, but eventually went to the dealership and told them what was happening. They diagnosed a major engine problem that there was a class action lawsuit that was ruled against Nissan. They said I needed a 5000 dollar repair, but they would only charge me 2500 because of the lawsuit. It seems they only cover full price up to 80000 miles. I was 600 miles past there repair line. I explained that I had tried many things, and the problem was going on long before the 80000 mile mark. I offered proof by calling the shops and trying to put them on the phone with Nissan, they would not take the phone. I called the neighbor to talk to them as proof that he drove the truck more than a month earlier and the problems were severe. They would not take the phone. They eventually gave me the Nissan Consumer Affairs number, and Consumer Affairs gave me a case number and have not returned a call since.whenever I call they say someone will return your call by the end of the day, of course nobody does. Meanwhile, the problem is getting worse, and I am getting scared to even drive the truck anymore. Then I came across you guys and it seems that you are aware of the problem, and have had other people like me. Please help.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #19

May 082014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles


I was driving down a back road. While traveling up a slight hill the truck slipped out of gear. When I pressed the gas pedal the engine would rev but it would not accelerate. I pulled to the side of the road and turned off the truck. When I restarted and put it in drive I started rolling backwards. I ended up getting towed to my mechanic. If this was the original transmission I could understand that at 155K miles it could fail, however this truck has now gone through the factory transmission as well as a factory refurbished transmission all within 7 years. I read online about many Frontier owners having the same issue as I have. I brought the truck to my mechanic who informed me that the radiator fails which causes the transmission to fail. I feel lucky that I was on a back road because the failure happened quickly, had I been on a highway with moderate traffic I could easily been stranded in the middle of the road.

- Dayville, CT, USA

problem #18

Apr 232014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Truck suddenly running rough. Plugs replaced. Took in for relearn idle. Told me also 3 of 4 cats clogged and coolant in the transmission. Knew nothing of this issue with these trucks until I looked online to try and figure what was happening with my truck. I am so angry right now. There should be a recall as it truly is a safety hazard. To imagine the thought of driving on the freeway and have your trannie lock up..." hello! this has caught me unaware and I didn't know about this until now and at 127K miles, I am sol on any kind of refund, repair, or anything? they should be liable as I should not be in this position with no recourse for a known safety issue that is now going to cost me more money that I can afford. This is their issue and they should fix it, not me. They knew and they should fix. Regardless, who knows how much actual damage this has caused my engine now" I am so angry right now.... don't know what I am going to do now. But if I buy another truck, I don't think it will be a Nissan...too many cover responses or fixes...

- Mira Loma, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 202014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 1,390,000 miles
Transmission started to rumble when shifting to overdrive. Looked into the issue and heard about the cross contamination issue. Looked for symptoms and found that water had gotten into the transmission and flud in my radiator. I have spend hundreds on flushing them out and bypassing the radiator. Transmission is still rumbling. The extended warranty does me no good, for I am over the covered milage limit. [xxx] ┐parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).┐

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #16

Dec 062013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Gas gauge quit working goes between half and quarter tank and stops, letting you run out of gas. Next item is timing chain howl on cold starts for over a year now then I read bulletin that chain tensioners are wearing and causing timing chain failures and Nissan has never notified owners I was just in to dealer about gas gauge problem about 2 weeks ago and no one mentioned timing chain problem.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #15

Dec 182013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


My 2007 Nissan Frontier developed shuddering in the transmission. It has received all regular service at 3,000 mile intervals. Today I was told that the transmission is contaminated with radiator coolant due to failure of the radiator and will cost $6200 I note innumerable examples of radiator failures with catastrophic transmission failure in the public forums and Nissan agreed to a class-action settlement up to 100,000 miles with a $2500 deductible. Most vehicles are over 100,000 miles. This is a known defect which should be subject to a vehicle recall.

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #14

Jul 302013

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 129,331 miles
Catalytic converters needed to be replaced. We have three trucks that are identical, this is second of the three that the converters went bad (approx same mileage). First truck engine went bad 5 months later. We'll see if the engine holds up in this truck also. Third truck of the set luckily no issues but we read that a lot of converters on Nissan are failing and causing serious engine damage. Nissan told us they could not help, but to file complaint with your Agency. So here we are. Thanks

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #13

Dec 102010

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 121,200 miles
Catalytic converters needed to be replaced. Engine went bad 5 months later and now vehicle needs converters again! this is one of three trucks we have - all excactly alike.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #12

Oct 172013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 80,159 miles
Our truck overheated on 10/17/13. The garage informed us the internal radiator had busted and had leaked antifreeze into the transmission and transmission fluid into the radiator. According to the mechanic it had been this way for awhile. There was nothing to indicate there was a problem this major. Nissan could not explain how this could have happened nor why only that if we give them 2500 they will replace the radiator and the transmission. This radiator and transmission are both factory installed. I think this is a definite safety issue as this will cause the engine to overheat and the transmission to go out and leave you stranded. This is a very costly repair that most people cannot undertake. So far we have paid $300 for a "band-aid" fix until we can find a way to resolve this issue. This is a definite problem with the Frontier 4.0L and it's only fair to say there is something wrong with the factory radiators.

- Hiddenite, NC, USA

problem #11

Oct 052013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 95,450 miles
The engine overheated. When I lifted the hood I noticed a cream colored substance coming out of coolant reservoir. Had the truck towed to Nissan dealer. After diagnosis was told the transmission fluid and the coolant fluid got mixed together. Apparently this has happen before on 2007 Nissan Frontier engines. Dealer said I needed to have the transmission and the radiator replaced at a cost of $7,000 of which they told me Nissan would pay $4,000. My complaint is that Nissan knew this was a problem with apparently no way to keep it from happening. I feel Nissan should be responsible for the total bill.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #10

Sep 052013


  • 88,000 miles
While driving I notice steam from under the hood and the temperature gauge was at maximum hot.I immediately pulled into an auto shop. I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and they told me they were aware of the issue of the water pump and anti-freeze getting into the engine. They said the warranty had been extended to cover this problem but it was only extended to vehicles that had less than 80000 miles and since I was over the allotted mileage I was responsible for repairs. How can they not be responsible for repairs on a problem that they knew existed and would have blown up my engine had I not immediately stopped the truck and have it towed to a dealer? if I had been traveling at a high rate of speed I shutter to think of what may have happened.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #9

Aug 232013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
I was driving when my vehicle suddenly lost speed and would not accelerate when I pressed the gas. It eventually stopped, and would not start back. The following day, I had it towed to a reputable repair shop, where I was told that I needed a new transmission and a new radiator, which would cost me more than $6000. They explained that there was a crack in the radiator, that caused the transmission fluid to mix with the coolant. This fluid mixture ruined both the transmission and the radiator. Believing this was an absurd occurrence, I looked online, and learnt this was a common defect for Nissan xterra, Frontier and pathfinders from 2005-2010. I called the Nissan toll free number and explained my situation. I was given a case number - 11982851 - and was told I needed to get the vehicle diagnosed at a Nissan dealer. I paid a second towing fee and got the vehicle to the nearest Nissan dealer, where the diagnosis was confirmed. I called back the Nissan toll free number, and was told that because my vehicle was over 100 K miles, they would do nothing to help me. I asked to talk to a supervisor, and was told none was available, but one would call me within 4-8 hours. That time has expired, and I have called back three times, but still have not been able to talk to a supervisor. Frustrating to have bought a Nissan vehicle right off the freight truck, brand new, and having to change out the transmission so soon, especially knowing the manufacturers were aware of the defect. Also, I was not given any warning, and was just driving along, and had a failure that could have caused a serious accident.

- Lavergne, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 052013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,569 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that transmission fluid was erroneously entering the radiator. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the radiator and transmission both needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 75,569...updated 09/30/13 the consumer stated there was an engine whine (noise) at all speeds. There maybe a failure with the timing chain. There was a rear axle leak which may be caused by a bad vent check valve. The power socket counsel was not working. Updated 10/29/2013

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Jun 052013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 102,950 miles
I was driving my truck on a two lane road at approximately 40 mph when the truck started to shake and shutter and would not shift properly. I was almost rear ended on a bend in the road because of the reduced speed I had to drive to keep the truck from shaking. I have researched my Nissan Frontier's transmission issue and it appears to be a cross contamination issue where the transmission cooler leaks allowing transmission fluid and radiator coolant to mix causing damage to the transmission. I have not driven the truck since the incident for fear of a total transmission failure which has happend to other Nissan Frontier owners causing them to be standed on the roadway. Nissan seems to not want to recall the trucks for the cross contamination issue which I feel puts peoples lives in danger.

- Valencia , PA, USA

problem #6

May 182013

Frontier 6-cyl Diesel

  • 174,000 miles
After reading about previous complaints online and an investigation performed by NHTSA I think the transmission is leaking fluid into the radiator. What was the conclusion of your investigation?

- Sherwood, AR, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?