Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,778 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Feb 142016

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. While driving 30 mph, there was an odor emitted into the vents and the contact noticed smoke under the hood. The contact coasted over to the side of the road and noticed oil and antifreeze fluid spilling from the reserve tank onto the transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the spill caused the transmission and radiator to fail. Both the radiator and transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 04/14/16 updated 04/18/16.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #49

Dec 062015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 145,396 miles
My Frontier died on 12/6 / on 12/7/2015, I had it towed to the boardwalk Nissan and paid $100 to have the problem diagnosed. I was told the repairs would cost $10,500. The radiator caused the transmission to go out in turn causing the computer panel to burn out. I asked the service adviser was there something I could've done to prevent the problem. He said no, the problem happens. I then had the truck towed home. Now, I find out there was a problem that Nissan should've known about, had they made the repairs to the radiator, my truck would be working today. This makes me angry. It makes me angry that I just paid $317.44 to replace tire sensors that may not have been needed!! the radiator issue resulted in a $417.44 expense that may not have been necessary ($100 for a diagnosis). The truck was parked in front of my house. I attempted to start the car on 12/6/15, it wouldn't start. Thinking it was a battery issue, I waited until the next morning; only to find out it wasn't the battery. I called boardwalk Nissan and had the truck towed to the dealership for diagnostics & repairs only to find out it would cost me $10,500.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #48

May 012015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Like so many other Nissan Frontier owners, the radiator coolant got mixed with the transmission fluid. This is factory defect known by Nissan. Had to replace radiator and transmission since the car was not responding well and was not able to run properly. Called Nissan three times to ask for some financial support and they denied it.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #47

Apr 132015

Frontier

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving 2007 Nissan Frontier when 4WD light came on and check engine light came on. Slowed down and came to a stop. When I tried to accelerate, there was no response. Apparently, transmission is ruined due to a known defect with the radiator where coolant leaks into the transmission. Nissan never issued a recall for the radiator assembly, just extended the warranty to 100,000 miles, leaving the consumer responsible to fixed catastrophic transmission failure. Cost $6500.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 162015

Frontier

  • 76,000 miles
Making a noise when traveling at 35-40 mph accelerating. Nissan dealership states it is the radiator leaking coolant into the transmission which is causing the transmission to fail. Warranty expired on 12/2014. Nissan dealership states a co-pay of $2500 is what will be charged to fix.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #45

Mar 192015

Frontier

  • 43,000 miles
When driving along the truck lost power then when the truck was turned back on the motor made a loud noise. Now the repairman tells me the truck needs a new motor. It has not given me any trouble before. It is not a work truck it's a pleasure truck. I'm retired. With that low mileage you would think the motor would be better than that. I hope you can help me. Thank you

- Gaston , SC, USA

problem #44

Feb 132015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A defective radiator installed by manufacturer, rotted, causing a mix of transmission fluid and coolant permanently damaging the transmission.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jan 052015

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Started experiencing radiator overheating and erratic transmission shifting. Mechanic found radiator and transmission fluids mixed. Radiator and transmission need to be replaced +/-$4000 estimate. Normal driving history and vehicle in good condition otherwise. www.nissanproblems.com/trends/coolant-leaks-destroy-transmission/ www.nissanassist.com/web/radiator/faqs.php"menu=22 classaction.kccllc.net/caseinfo.aspx"pas=nissanatoilcoolersettlement.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

Aug 162014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 120,695 miles
Purchased the vehicle on 8/16/2014 and I was driving the vehicle to work and transmission wouldn't shift out of gear along with the check engine light came on. I scanned the vehicle and pulled a code for the transmission output sensor. Took the vehicle to the dealership where they said they found coolant in my transmission and I was outside of the previous extended warranty and they've never seen this before. They told me I needed a whole new transmission and radiator. And Nissan wouldn't cover any of the damages due to it being out of the last extended warranty that was added to the vehicle. Now they want to charge me $6,756 to repair my vehicle I've owed for less than a week.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #41

Jul 162014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Transmission fluid leak into radiator.

- Chattanooga , TN, USA

problem #40

Jun 092014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Radiator and transmission cross contaminated due to a cracked atf line.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #39

May 282013

Frontier

  • 81,000 miles
Transmission failed due to radiator leakage into transmission fluid. Just out of warranty! Nissan claims powertrain warranty will not cover since it is a radiator problem which causes the failure. ----- leaking coolant causes transmission failure an alarming number of Nissan xterra, pathfinder and Frontier owners are stepping forward with stories about how cracked radiators are causing coolant to leak into the transmission. Once mixed with the transmission fluid this lethal combination kills the valves, seals and torque converter -- rendering your entire transmission useless. This issue is currently contained to the 2005żż2010 model years. Some articles online claim that being aware of the proper warning signs may help prevent your Nissan from needing a rebuilt transmission. These warning signs are: Heavy vibration while shifting heavy vibration while accelerating abrupt stalling shuddering noises car doesn't warm up when sitting owners who have had their radiator crack are claiming that even if you catch it early, your transmission is still doomed trouble due to this engineering / manufacturing defect. You can read their stories over at carcomplaints.com for the three Nissan models that are showing the defect: Pathfinder: 2007, 2006, 2005 xterra: 2005, 2006, 2007 Frontier: 2005. 2006, 2007 perhaps even more troubling is owners who have already had their transmissions "repaired" by an authorized Nissan dealer are still reporting catastrophic transmission failure. Through no fault of their own, Nissan owners who are out of warranty are left to cover the hefty repair bill, which can be over $4,500 when all is said and done.

- Ballston Lake, NY, USA

problem #38

May 142014

Frontier

  • 116,000 miles
The transmission cooling unit in the radiator leaked. My coolant system became a brown sludge due to having transmission fluid leak into it. My transmission fluid had coolant leak into it and transmission is damaged.

- Hooksett, NH, USA

problem #37

May 112014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Transmission abruptly stopped transferring power. Owner checked transmission fluid after incident in which it was filled with radiator coolant and radiator had a mix of coolant and transmission fluid.

- Columbia Falls, MT, USA

problem #36

Apr 022014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
I recently purchased a 2007 Nissan Frontier and have only had it since Feb 2014 and all of a sudden there is a strong vibration at 40 mph in the rear end. So I had the tires balanced then re balanced thinking it was the tires. Even went as far as replacing the rear tires. After that did not correct the issue I then took it to a Nissan dealership and they determined that it was a failure in the radiator that leaked coolant into the transmission. They told me that my radiator and transmission need to be replaced. If I have it done before my truck reaches 100K it will only cost me 3000 to get it fixed and Nissan will pick up some of the cost. But if I go over 100K I will be responsible for the full repair cost. My current mileage is 98910. I had purchased an extended warranty through the place I had purchased the truck and because they don't cover the radiator I am now liable for the repairs. So now I am at a loss, just started paying on the vehicle and now I have to spend 3000 at min to get it fixed. I should not be putting this kind of money into this truck after owning it for less than 6 months.

- Danielson, CT, USA

problem #35

Apr 282014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 144,074 miles
Coolant backed up into transmission and destroyed the transmission and radiator.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #34

Apr 192012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • miles
I took my truck into the dealership for a diagnostic test. I was told that I need a new timing chain. Nissan has been aware that the timing chain systems installed in the subject Nissan vehicles are prone to premature failure, and Nissan continued to install defective timing chain systems in the subject Nissan vehicles knowing that they were prone to premature failure. Nissan not only refused to disclose the problem, but also actively concealed knowledge of it. Nissan undertook affirmative efforts to conceal the failures through, among other things, technical service bulletins issued to repair facilities. Although Nissan was aware enough of the problem to issue multiple technical service bulletins to repair facilities, informing them of the need for timing chain systems to be replaced, Nissan selectively chose not to inform consumers of this fact. Nissan concealed this so that the warranty period on the subject Nissan vehicles would expire before owners become aware of the problem. Through this practice, Nissan unlawfully transfers the cost of replacement from itself to the owners of the subject Nissan. The fact that the timing chain systems were prone to sudden premature failure is material to consumers because it presents a serious safety issue and places the driver and passengers at a risk of harm.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #33

Apr 132014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Frontier which has only a 122,431 miles on it and something went wrong with the transmission. When I was going up the hill it was like it just stalled out on me. I've been doing research on it and it seems like alot of other people is having the same problem and it seems like Nissan is just trying to hide the problem. If its something that their at fault with they should be the one who fixes it. I depend on my truck everyday to get me to work and if its the coolant and transmission fluid is mixing its a very expensive fix which I can't afford and the other people shouldn't be reliable for so I wish U would consider this and do and investigation on it and try and get this problem fixed before it messes anybody else's up and puts them out alot of money. There's just to many people on the internet with the same problem and if U all don't do something about it Nissan is just going to keep doing the same thing til someone does something about it. Thank you for your time

- Mount Vernon, KY, USA

problem #32

Mar 202014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 101,444 miles
The automatic transmission started shifting "hard" and the heater stopped working. I took it to a local shop and they told me that the radiator fluid had contaminated the transmission fluid, and visa versa. I needed to have a transmission shop look at it. They told me the same thing as the previous shop, but also that I would be needing a new transmission and radiator system, at the cost of $4848. This was due to a failed transmission fluid cooler located in the radiator assembly that allowed coolant to mix with and contaminate the automatic transmission fluid, resulting in damaged internal transmission components and a damaged internal transmission computer. After researching, this has occurred to hundreds of Nissan vehicles, including 2005-2010 Nissan pathfinder, Frontier and xterra vehicles. Nissan has been aware of this problem since 2007 and has undertaken no preventive measures to protect consumers from failure.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #31

Feb 072014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 97,750 miles
The transmission had been shuttering and slipping for a couple of months. It was getting worse so I took it to kings transmission on 3-13-14 to have it looked at. They discovered water in the fluid and informed me that this model of vehicle had a wide spread problem with the radiator failing and leaking coolant into the transmission cooling lines. The truck is now at a Nissan dealer getting a new transmission and radiator.

- Brier, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?