Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Sep 062012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles


My gas gauge began giving bad reading after driving several miles. Went to 1/2 tank and stayed there. This continued for several weeks. Filled the gas tank. The next day the engine repair light came on while driving to work. Checked the code and it was the fuel sending unit. Reset and the light went out. Unit worked fine. Next fill up the light came on again and the fuel gauge. Kept jumping around. Not knowing the amount of gas and running out at speed would cause lose of steering and brake control. Nissan recalled the 2006&2008 models to fix. I can't imagine that they did not use same unit in 2007 model.

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #82

Mar 262012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Service engine light came on for the first time since I bought the vehicle brand new. Auto zone checked it out and stated it was a fuel sending unit failure. I did noticed the pass week it was having trouble reading how much gas I had left (dte) I researched and found it there was a recall on this particular issue for our vehicles. Contact united Nissan dealership and told me I was passed the 72,000 mile so it doesn't cover the recall" I don't understand how they would predict when it would fail? I did not receive a notice of this recall or I would have had it done weather I did have the problem or not. Its a common problem for our vehicles so why put a mark on when it is covered" its not fair for those experience the problem after. Contact Nissan consumer usa and stated there was no recall for my vehicle " Nissan Frontier" which makes no sense to me. So no help there... ill never buy a Nissan ever again very poor on assisting their customers. We need a class action lawsuit on these guys its a common problem fix it!!!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #81

Dec 162011


  • miles
At 7600 miles I hear a noise on the engine and check engine lights came on and gas gauge star reading empty went was full I took to the dealer they told me the noise was coming from some where in the engine they never told me was timing, chain, I took to a local repair shop and they found out that timing chain was the problem, the check engine light at the dealer told me the was the that the reason for the gas tank read empty was T due a gas module.

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #80

Dec 222010

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


I was driving home on the expressway hwy 75 South downtown atlanta ga and all of a sudden my truck just stopped running. I manage to cost to the side of the expressway. After several attempts to restart the truck I called for help. Had the truck town to a local shop only to find out that it ran out of gas. The culprit a faulty fuel gauge a known issue with the 2007 Frontier models. I contacted Nissan to have it replace but I was told that since I was over 72000 miles that I would have to replace it the cost to me. I will never buy another Nissan as long as I live I almost got ran over trying to get the truck to the side of the roadway. My fuel gauge was reading 1/2 of tank of gas. This should be a safety recall. I know that it will not be considered one until someone is killed as a result of this issue and this is very sad especially since Nissan has known about the issue since day one.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #79

Dec 022011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
After filling with fuel on 12/2/2011, the fuel gauge was hung at about 1/4 tank. I drove approximately 75 miles before the fuel gauge was registering near full. On 12/8/2011, I filled the tank with fuel, and upon starting the engine the fuel gauge read "empty" and the fuel light was on. I drove approximately 85 miles, but the fuel gauge remained on empty with the fuel light on. On 12/9/2011, I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs concerning the recall on this model of vehicle and I was told that my VIN was not included in the recall. However, Nissan did open a file number (7327001) and it is being forwarded to a regional specialist for review, but am told it is unlikely that the fuel sending unit will be covered. There is apparently a problem with the fuel sending unit, as Nissan had extended the warranty on this component to 72,000 miles, but am told that unfortunately I have exceeded the warranty period. I was also told that I would have to take my vehicle to a Nissan dealer for diagnosis, at my expense, and no certainty if Nissan will stand good for the defective part. So the dealer can charge me approximately $120 to me what I already know? I would consider this a highway safety issue; not knowing if you are getting an accurate fuel quantity reading, and the possibility of being stranded.

- Oakland, MD, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #78

Nov 052011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
2007 Nissan Frontier at 54K mile check engine light came on with the error code P0463 (fuel sending units failure). Found out that this problem is also happened to the 06 and 08 Nissan Frontier that was on the safety recalled list. The check engine light light up on (P0463) and gas gauge indicator will drop to empty fuel even still at 1/4 full, due to the defective sending units Nissan manufactured. I am hoping that NHTSA will includes the 2007 Nissan Frontier as a safety recall fix list. Thank you.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #77

May 022011


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the vehicle stalled and the check engine lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel level sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #76

Nov 162011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 66,660 miles
Driving on highway at speed, 11:30 pm truck stalled out, attempted neutral restart while maneuvering to the right was a very hazardous situation. Truck fuel gauge was reading 1/4 tank. The check engine light was now on so I did not consider it had run out of fuel. I had it towed to mechanic, code read P0463 which is the fuel level sensor on the fuel pump located in the fuel tank. Mechanic wants $700 to repair, the 2006 and 2008 versions of the vehicle have been recalled, but not the 2007, seems that Nissan has used these defective parts in all 3 and probably more model years. I was placed in a situation that was extremely hazardous to me, my passengers, and those motorists on the road around me. Since this event I have read website after website describing this product defect, it is the same in every case it is clear that Nissan has placed inferior parts in this truck and they are failing putting their customers and those around us in harms way. Do we need to wait for fatalities to recognize this is a manufactures defect. Nissan needs to take responsibility for the 2007 and any other model years that have this part in them.

- W Islip, NY, USA

problem #75

Oct 062011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 55,679 miles
Fuel gauge failed. Slight smell of fuel in cabin. Dealer stated that they would replace the fuel sending unit under an extended warranty. Dealer stated that while troubleshooting the fuel sending unit they discovered that there was a problem with the fuel lines leading to the fuel tank. Technician stated that there appeared to be damage to the fuel lines caused by an unknown animal chewing through the fuel line, requiring the replacement of the entire fuel tank. This sounded very improbable and I believe it has to be a result of the poor quality of the plastic fuel tanks used in this vehicle.

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #74

Aug 252011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 40,180 miles
The fuel line has rusted through and gas is leaking. Nissan will not correct the problem under their 60 month/unlimited mileage corrosion/perforation warranty.

- Johnstown, OH, USA

problem #73

Jul 292011


  • 42,000 miles


I pulled into the gas station and filled up like I normally do. When I started my engine, my gas gauge did not climb past the 1/4 mark. I turned my truck on and off 2 more times to see if this might fix the problem, it did not. As I drove home, the gauge climbed ever so slowly before stopping at 1/2 tank. This is when the check engine light came on. I got home and googled the problem and this seems to be a fairly common problem. What I don't understand is why the 06 and 08 models are recalled but not the 07. I refuse to take it to my local dealership because I have always had less then stellar service and just refuse to deal with them and be forced to overpay.

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #72

Jun 132011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The fuel sending unit on my 2007 Nissan Frontier went bad at 74,000 miles. Nissan has declined to repair it as it is out of the warranty period. However this is such a common and well documented problem, the 2007 Frontiers should be included in the recall that is available for some of the '06 and '08 Frontiers.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #71

May 052011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
I turned on the car, at which point the needle did not register the full tank. After driving a couple miles, the check engine light came on. I went directly to the dealer and was told that it was a fuel sending unit/sensor and that it was no longer covered after 30K miles. After returning home and doing research, I went online to after performing a search, I came across many others who have experienced the same problem. Apparently it has something to do with the fuel sending unit. A similar problem was found on the 2000-2004 xterra models and a recall was performed when the vehicle would stop after not getting any fuel, posing a great danger. It seems that something in the unit is faulty and will corrode over time. There is a general consensus that everyone who is having the problem is experiencing the same thing after having the vehicle for over 2 yrs and with around 39K-49K. If this problem existed in previous models, and it was recalled, the 2005-2007 xterras, Frontiers, and pathfinders should get this fixed at no charge to the customer!! why wait for accidents and possible deaths, especially since the problem lies in an integral part of the vehicle. Cost of repair ranges from $300-600."

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #70

Apr 022011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 71,346 miles
Check engine light comes on with error code P0463. This is due to a faulty fuel level sensor. This has been a problem with Nissan and the previous models with the same issue were recalled. This failure causes the vehicle to be out of compliance with Texas laws and will not pass annual inspection without repair.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #69

Feb 252011


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, the fuel level indicator would display the tank as empty. In addition, when the fuel tank was full, the fuel level indicator would only display one quarter a tank of fuel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was working on diagnosing the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000. The VIN was not available.

- Willmington, DE, USA

problem #68

Mar 122011

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 31,954 miles
Filled up gas tank gauge would not move then my service engine light came on.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #67

Feb 232011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 58,582 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Frontier. I ran out of gas despite my fuel gauge showing that I had a little less then 1/4 tank of gas left in the tank. I see that there was a recall for 2006 and 2008 vehicles but not the 2007. Have there been any other complaints for this problem for 2007? my gas gauge takes a long time to get back up to full and my check engine light stays on. I make certain that the gas cap is on tight after each fill up. I was told that the fuel level sensor may be bad. I have not had the problem fixed yet so the part would be available after I have the problem fixed.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #66

Jan 212011

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The fuel gauge malfunctioned it would indicate that it was empty eventhough the tank was full. I talked to service manager, he says that Nissan would not cover repair because it was not a recall item. Nissan did have a recall on the same item for the 2006 and 2008 models. They could not explain why the 2007 models were not included.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #65

Dec 292010

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Service engine soon (ses) light is on constantly. Fuel system reads erratic levels - when it reaches approx 1/4 to 3/8 of a tank, the fuel gauge drops to the bottom and the light comes on, as though the tank were empty. The truck reports P0463 code.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #64

Nov 202010

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 98,563 miles
Fuel gauge problem and sevice engine soon light.

- Covington, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?