Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,713 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Nissan Juke engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Nissan Juke:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Nissan Juke Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Sep 012016

Juke

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 11V583000 does not include my VIN. All 2011 Nissan Juke should be included in the recall. My turbo currently needs replaced due to a worn bearing. Several people online have to replace their turbos in their 2011 Jukes at a cost of $2800.

- Lexington, VA, USA

problem #25

Jul 232016

Juke

  • 61,255 miles
Experienced sudden loss of propulsion and control of acceleration while traveling on 70 mph on freeway. Diagnostic suggestion is an issue identical to the recall affecting Nissan Jukes of this year in recall campaign #11V583000, in which a faulty valve casing weld breaks loose inside of the engine. However my vehicle was not manufactured in the time period specified in that recall, as it was manufactured 8 weeks after the final recall window date of 5/12/11. Car makes intermittent popping noise when driving, experiences high RPM without acceleration. Current mileage on vehicle - 61,255 miles.

- Benton, IL, USA

problem #24

Apr 212016

Juke

  • miles
It just keep dying and I took it Nissan dealership and they did not fix for 6 times now

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #23

Feb 222016

Juke

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Nissan Juke. While driving 45 mph, the check engine light illuminated and there was an abnormal popping sound coming from the engine compartment. The contact also stated that there was significant power loss to the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the turbo/supercharger booster assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V583000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Alief, TX, USA

problem #22

Feb 022016

Juke

  • 55,000 miles
Traveling in 65 mph am highway commuter traffic, vehicle lost power/speed. Could not go beyond 40 mph on hills inclines. Car stalled at light. Mechanic said turbo booster failure. Subsequently towed to dealership. Dealership said engine failure due to malfunction of turbo booster but will not replace turbo without a full engine replacement. Then, claimed engine damage due to lack of oil, though oil was replaced 5 days prior. According to Nissan N.a. this particular VIN has had 5 recalls in 1.5 years since its manufacture. These include engine air inlet tube performed in 02/09/2012 which leads to malfunction of turbo booster. "Nissan is recalling certain model year 2011 Nissan Juke vehicles manufactured from April 9, 2010, through May 12, 2011. The turbocharger boost sensor bracket may separate from the air inlet tube due to a defective weld. Consequence:if the bracket comes off, the vehicle could stall while the engine is idling without warning, increasing the risk of a crash." Also replaced in this vehicle were the ECM reprogramming, front door latch, fuel rail pressure censor and the timing change. All in less that 1.5 yrs of its manufacture. Vehicle is rendered inoperable. Owner without transportation.

- Cornwall, NY, USA

problem #21

Nov 082015

Juke

  • 108,000 miles
My wife has a Nissan Juke 2011 which has a recall on it for turbo. She was driving suddenly lost power. We took it to the repair shop they told us its a turbo that went bad and there is a recall on it. We took the car to the dealer and they refused to work on it I told them there is a recall for Nissan Juke 2011. The dealer told us yes but not our VIN number when he entered into the system. What concerns me is that she completely lost power while driving and yes thats a very serious concern. I would appreciate if you look into this and have dealer fix all Nissan 2011 Juke. They dont mention what VIN # are having issue until you go to the dealer and find out you have to pay $4000 to fix. I just think its not right but I am thankful she was not hurt more and more complaints are coming in I am hoping they will fix this issue for all car owners.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #20

Oct 142015

Juke

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I helped my daughter purchase a 2011 Nissan Juke in November 2015. In April 2015, the check engine light came on in the vehicle. She immediately took it in to a wal-mart service center. The wm technician told her that there were metal shavings in the oil pan and that the timing chain needed to be replaced. He suggested that she take the vehicle on to a Nissan dealership which she did the next day. The service technician at the Nissan dealership told her that ┐wal-mart didn┐T know what they were talking about, ┐ and that there were no metal shavings in the oil pan. They did, however, replace the timing chain since there was about to be a recall, and they also performed an oil change. Last week (October 2015), the car went dead in the middle of the highway. My daughter took it the next day to the same Nissan dealership. The same service technician as the one in April told her that there were metal shavings in the oil pan, there was no oil in the vehicle, and that due to her negligence the engine would have to be replaced at a cost of $10,000. When she pointed out that she told them in April about the metal shavings, the service tech told her he had no recollection of that. She and I both talked with a Nissan regional specialist. We were told, 'sorry, your powertrain warranty ran out at 60,000 miles.┐ as I looked over her receipt from April, I noticed there were items listed that would be used to stop an oil leak (this was confirmed by a certified mechanic), yet no such problem was mentioned to her or checked off on the inspection sheet they gave her. When I asked the regional specialist to speak to the fact that there had obviously been an attempt to patch an oil leak, he replied, ┐I can┐T speak to that. I┐M not a mechanic.┐ Nissan has been absolutely no help.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 242015

Juke

  • 59,800 miles
When starting my 2011 Nissan Juke in mid-July 2015 (it was less than 60,000 miles at the time), a loud suction sound was heard. Then, at 35 mph moments later, more noises came from the engine and about 50% of engine power was lost but returned. Subsequently, the problem seemed to correct itself and I thought maybe it was a bad batch of gasoline. But because it acted up from time to time I contacted the Nissan dealer to ask if there was another recall on my Juke (recall P4213 timing chain was repaired 10/15/2014). The dealer where I purchased the Juke said there were no more engine recalls. But as the problem worsened I took the Juke to my local mechanic on 8/3/2015 with 59,850 miles his computer analysis showed code P2263 and he recommended that I take it to the dealer to repair the turbo charger. The Nissan dealer tested the car and informed me that the problem was, in fact, the turbo charger and it required replacement. However, the warranty was 5 years/60,000 miles and it would not be covered since it was then only 4 years old but over by about 5000 miles (although it was under warranty miles when the problem started). Thus, I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs who decided that Nissan would pay to replace the turbo charger and related parts but I would be responsible for the typical $240 in labor costs. I agreed to this arrangement. At the time of this submission (8/15/2015), my Juke is still at the dealer where it has been for well over a week. I was told today that although the new turbo charger has been installed, the oil line that feeds the turbo charger is clogged and needs replaced. Note: I discovered through online research that, in fact, a recall does exist on this turbo charger as follows: Recall number: 11V583000 recall date: 12/08/2011

- Seven Valleys, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 012014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 59,300 miles
Starting approximately 12/1/2014, we began to notice a strong smell of gasoline in the passenger compartment within minutes of starting the vehicle. The smell would diminish as the car warmed up, but would not go away completely. We contacted the local dealer service dept., and were told there was a recall on this issue. Upon taking the car in to be serviced, they confirmed the fuel leak was from the fuel rail pressure sensor, which is the precise problem which prompted the recall campaign. On further investigation, they determined the recall service (technical bulletin reference ntb12-021B) had already been performed on this VIN, and Nissan would not cover the repair at this point. Nissan's recall campaign id# is R1201, NHTSA#12V-069. It appears, at least in this case, the recall service was ineffective in correcting or preventing the fuel leak issue, making it possible that all affected vehicles may still be prone to this fuel leak problem. Nissan customer relations further stated they did not consider an engine compartment fuel leak to be a safety issue. I strongly believe an "increased risk of a fire" is a safety issue and Nissan should still be liable to correct an inherent safety vulnerability in their vehicles.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #17

May 052014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 59,500 miles
Timing chain blew while I was driving which is currently a service campaign issued by Nissan. It also blew the engine because it happened while I was driving. While they are willing to pay for the repairs to the engine simply because it falls under the warranty (not because their faulty part blew the engine) they are not willing to pay for my rental or give me a loaner. They also are not giving me an end date. So their issue is costing me $60 a day. I'm already up to $600 in rental charges with no end date in sight. Nissan also hasn't followed up with me to tell me when the issue will be rectified. It is undriveable and sitting at bertera Nissan in auburn, MA. Help!

- Auburn, MA, USA

problem #16

Apr 282014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Nissan Juke ( purchased brand new) when driving home from work the car started to idle weird and then just died in the middle of the road. Thank god I wasn't hit by anyone or in a major accident. Towed it a to Nissan dealership where there told me the timing chain belt broke and had to be replaced. The dealership called me the next morning stating that Nissan was aware of the timing chain issue and that they were issuing a recall for this very problem, so there would be no cost to me. After a week of my car being at the Nissan dealership, they called and said the car was repaired and good to go! I picked the car up and attempted to drive home but never made it out of the parking lot! Juke did the same exact thing it did when I originally had it towed in! the Juke went back into the shop that night. Next morning the service manager from Nissan calls to tell me that due to the timing chain issue metal shaving have now gotten into my engine causing damage to the point that the entire engine has to be replaced! since it was due to the recall, it will be of no cost to me...however Nissan cannot guarantee that the new engine won't have the same issues"!!? are you kidding me? and this is not the first issue with this Juke! first month I had it the entire rear differential had to be replaced! I also had to replace the alternator after it failed.....plus numerous battery issues, and the car is less than 3 years old! after further research I found out there is a class action law suit against Nissan right now as they were aware of these issues and did nothing about it! how is that possible? or legal" come on, Nissan! get it together. Safety should be your #1 priority....but apparently concealing potentially life threatening recalls is more important. To say the least, I will never, ever, buy another Nissan, and neither should you or anyone you care about.

- Newberg, OR, USA

problem #15

May 012014

Juke

  • 61,000 miles
My car developed a ticking sound, upon research and having a mechanic looked at it, the timing chain needs to be replace, being that this car was purchased brand new only 3 years, it should not already developed such a major issue. If the timing chain snaps the car will shut off most likely require a engine replacement. This is especially dangerous in highways and roads while driving.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 182014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
My 2011 Nissan Juke has 28,000 miles on it. About two weeks ago I start to hear this rattle noise coming from my engine. I make an appt to find out about this noise and for my state inspection to be done. Well, a few days before my appt my Juke completely stalled on me while driving around 40-45mph on a busy two lane road. I almost got rear-ended but luckily they stopped just in time. I didn't have any warning lights come on at all. It just stopped! I get it towed to my dealership and find out I need a brand new engine ($9,050) because my timing chain broke and ripped my engine apart. I go online and find out that Nissan has a class action lawsuit against them right now for timing chain issues, but they refuse to issue a recall. Even more research is done and I'm beyond mad at this point. Now Nissan tells me that they won't cover it with my 5yr/60,000 mile powertrain warranty because I can't produce 8-9 service records of oil changes and "sludge" is what broke my engine at 28,000. Just doing some math, for me to even have 8-9 service records means I would have needed to change my oil (at the dealership they said) about every 3 months!!!! so now I'm stuck with a 2011 piece of junk and they want me to pay over $9,000 even though they are well aware of the timing chain issue and it was the faulty timing chain that broke and ripped apart my engine. But because I can't provide 8-9 service records (which is crazy) they get off scott-free! I've been ripped off completely and sold a lemon. This is so unfair!!!! I will be joining that class action lawsuit!

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 182014

Juke

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Nissan Juke. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the timing chain fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 48,000.

- Mclean , VA, USA

problem #12

Apr 022014

Juke

  • 54,000 miles
My Juke began to have a ticking/clicking sound in the motor which sounded worse with acceleration. I took it to a dealer and they first told me it was the exhaust, then later told me it is timing chain and damage to motor done which would require replacement motor but approval from a district manager was needed prior to proceeding on the warranty work. Although still under warranty and able to show receipts for service dates, they told me they may void my warranty for not having a Nissan brand oil filter on the Juke. I called to check ion my engine replacement the next day and was told they were waiting on parts and that the tensioner broke off and the timing chain was rubbing the motor but they will replace worn parts instead of entire motor and that the rubbing on the motor would not alter the functioning of the motor. One week later, still waiting on my car and paying for a daily rental. This is my 8th Nissan owned. And the second to have engine problems (2006 Altima with blown engine at 147,000 miles). Purchased Juke October 2010 and it is driven only by myself and at speeds less than 65mph most days. There is an obvious flaw in the design of these timing chains and components which hold it all together. Still owe 11,000 on my Juke and am worried about the future reliability and safety for my travels in it.

- Greenfield, TN, USA

problem #11

Aug 012013

Juke

  • 63,000 miles
I was driving out of my neighborhood as usual when my car suddenly lost power going uphill at 25 mph. I had the vehicle towed to the dealership a week later and they said the engine had to be replaced because of a timing chain failure. At first I thought it might have been a strange incident since there weren't many other Jukes with the mileage I had on mine. I was barely 2 years into my car loan and already had to dish out $7K for a new engine. I opted out of having the car repaired so last year and had to buy another car for work. I had a 4 year loan on the car and half of that period the car will have been the car sitting dead in the garage.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #10

Feb 102014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I was driving down transit rd depew NY 14043. I felt my torque drop and then my engine sputtered and died. The road is a two lane one direction with no shoulder. I barley able to get it in the right lane, with no power steering, before it rolled to a stop. I believe the only thing that saved me for being hit by another car was a police officer putting his emergency lights on. I took it to a Nissan dealer for service and they said the timing belt broke and bent the piston in the engine. Please act on this before someone is injured or killed due to this faulty timing belt.

- Medina, NY, USA

problem #9

Jan 132014

Juke 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I took my car in to a local Nissan dealership for a recall on a fuel sensor and gasket(s) and I had a rattling noise I asked them to look into while they had the car. They informed me that the timing chain was loose and needed to be replaced at $2100. The car has lost half of its value in less then 2 years of owning it and I didn't even buy it brand new (had less the 7,000 miles on it). I have gone back and forth with a manager at nissanusa who is offering to help out with paying $400 of the bill. I have seen where this is a common problem with the 2011 Juke and really needs to be a recall. Nissan has paid for new engines when the chain broke, leaving people stranded. They pay for a new engine (not the labor) with a 1 year /12,000 mile warranty, but will not put out a recall on the timing chain! I called and got an estimate for the repair from a different Nissan dealership who quoted me quite a bit less then the $2100 and I asked if Nissan was willing to give the $400 towards the repair at that location and they refused. I now have oil spewing all over from a cracked timing chain cover. The car is not drivable and I do not have $2100 plus the cost of a new cover now, especially when I'm upside down by $5,000. This truly is the worst car ever.

- Harrison, TN, USA

problem #8

Dec 282010

Juke 4-cyl

  • 4,977 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Nissan Juke. The contact stated the engine failed and the battery drained excessively. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. The windshield made a squeaking and rattling noise when driving and going over bumps. It was almost a constant sound. The engine would idle and sputter, when stopped at a red light. When the consumer accelerated from the light, the vehicle stalled. It was determined the timing chain snapped and caused damage to the crank sprocket and chain. The times chains, guides, timing chain tensioner and crank sprocket were all replaced. The vehicle started but mis-fired due to the valves being bent. The engine block was then replaced, due to damage to the valve guides and piston tops. The vehicle had to be to towed to the dealer, because the vehicle was emitting blue grayish, colored smoke, and then stalled. Updated 06/18/14

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 212013

Juke

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Nissan Juke. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact could not be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the timing belt chain needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Los Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?