CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,723.00
Average Mileage:
107,660 miles
Total Complaints:
157 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (68 reports)
  2. not sure (55 reports)
  3. the transmission valve body needs replacing (18 reports)
  4. replace broken motor mounts (6 reports)
  5. the errors were- 1.) faulty crankshaft position sensor, 2.) (3 reports)
  6. replace about 3/4 of your transmission fluid - NOT FILTER (2 reports)
2004 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Nov 012010

Maxima 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2004 Nissan Maxima at Lexus of Rockville Center in 2007. It had 24K miles on it or so, and it seemed to be a very good buy at the time. Fast forwarding, at around 75k miles or so, I started getting issues with the car, there is jerking and hesitating when the car is shifting. Asking mechanics that I know, they are advising that I get a new transmission. However, after researching a little further, there is insight that is suggesting other wise.

I even had a certified Nissan Dealer diagnose it recently to see what they would say. $100 later, I was advised that the transmission needs to be replaced, and the oil is burnt. This is after having the transmission serviced (oil change, etc).

It is safe to say that this is the worst experience that I ever had with a car. American cars have been ridiculed in the past, but I never had a transmission problem with an American car. In fact, I had a 1981 Chrysler Cordobra and a 1987 Chrysler New Yorker, and they ran very well in to the 90 and 100K mile range. I will definitely advise that people refrain from buying a Nissan product until this problem is resolved. There is no reason why people should be making car payments and having their car running like this. Totally rediculous.

- , Elmont, NY, USA

problem #36

Apr 022009

Maxima 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Hi everyone, The Nissan Max was my dream car for years but my dream became a nightmare. This is my first post on this message board and I wish I had known about it sooner. really haven't had or experienced any issues with my vehicle and maintain it well from the dealership. however, recently I had an issue with my Max where it started to jerk in and out of gear - the check engine light would turn on and off while at a stop sign or light. It felt really shifty when I would accelerate.

So the same day it was acting funny I called and brought it to the dealership. they said they would run some diagnostics/testing and find out what is causing the problem.

they then called a few hours later to tell me that the transmission is in need of a partial rebuild-specifically the replacement is the valve body of the transmission and its going to cost approx. $2,200 to fix.

so they know this and have a good history on everything with the vehicle. I was putting in a claim at the consumer affairs office because they were initially declining the goodwill; I know have them paying for about 1,500 of the repair work.

My question to everyone is that do you know or have you experienced issues with the transmission failing? at 67K and for a well-maintained vehicle, this doesn't sound right to me at all? not sure why this happened, but I felt nissan should have taken care of this 100%-even the service person at the dealership told me that this is out of the norm for this to happen and he seemed to side with me.

any comments?

thanks everyone.

- , Virginia Beach, VA, US

problem #35

Aug 252010

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

NISSAN NEEDS TO RECALL THIS PROBLEM. ALL 2004 NISSAN MAXIMAS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IF U REPORT IT TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU WE CAN HAVE NISSAN RECALL AND FIX THIS PROBLEM. IF BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU RECEIVES THREE COMPLAINTS ALL OF THESE MAXIMAS WILL BE RECALLED AND NISSAN WILL FIX IT. SO GO ONLINE TO BBB (BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU) MAKE A COMPLAINT AND LETS MAKE SURE NO ONE ELSE GETS A CRAPPY MAXIMA AND GET OUR CARS FIXED TOO

- , Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #34

Aug 012011

Maxima SE 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,061 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loved my Maxima until the transmission problems occurred. Started whenever the car was hot, shift from Reverse to drive, hesitation then a heavy slam as the transmission kicked in. Read about all the complaints online (some sites had over 400 complaints). Took it to a dealer who said he could count on One Hand the number of transmission problems that had come through and not to believe what I read. He also tried to tell me that Nissan didn't sell the parts to fix it and to go to a Transmission specialist!!

Contacted Nissan Canada and they made it very difficult to lodge a complaint and didn't have answers. After escalating it through Marketing person at Nissan I had an apology and was told they would try to see if they could take care of the problem. After that I had to follow up (instead of the promised phone call) and was told I was out warranty and out of luck.

My mechanic changed out the valve body assembly 2 weeks ago and it has been running great ever since then.

Not impressed with Nissan as this is clearly a recall item.

- , Mississauga, ON, canada

problem #33

Jul 082010

Maxima SL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

I am so surprised to see all the complaints against Nissan. I thought I was alone I have been taken my damn car back and forth to all mechanics to see if I could get the problem resolved and I have spent money out of the ass. At first I had the transmission filter change with all the fixings. The car still jerked, then I was told I need motor monunts I had them put on the front and the back so they say. And it continued to happen, overall I have spent at least 2,000 or more on this damn car. I cant believe there is no solution to this problem one damn thing for sure I will not ever purchase another Nissan as long as I live. I have not had the car check over a year and it still does the jerking thing. I am refuse to put any more money in this vechicle. After completely paying for the damn car this is what the hell happens. I am sick to my stomach after reading all the complants.

- , Camden, AL, USA

problem #32

Aug 152011

Maxima LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

ok back to the transmission place thinking its my transmission. car still jerking and not wanting to get past 20 mph. service engine light on. ok they tell me cam sensor. got that fixed. now the car still jerks, cuts off if you don't give it gas, and engine light still on...

Update from Jan 1, 2012: thought my transmission was slipping. dealt with it for awhile until it became evident that something need it to be fixed. because at first the jerking didnt happen often. took it to the shop and was told it was nothing with the transmission. was told to take it to nissan were they told me it was my motor mounts. got that fixed and continued to have the same problem. the car never jerked when i drove the 25 miles back to the nissan place so they could recheck it.

- , Springfield, OH, USA

problem #31

Aug 142010

Maxima SE 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nice car from the outside. Rides like a rock even after spending money on new OEM shocks. Nway thats not my problem but that Damn Transmission they put on these cars. Slips and kicks when shifing. When the car warms up or the engine is hot, the problem is worse. I drive 25 miles one way to work. Problem starts at about 19 miles.

I have been a faithfull Maxima owner. 1988 Maxima with adjustable suspensions nice car, 1993 maxima 4DSC (4 door sports car) loved it. 1997 maxima SE fully loaded, drove from Boston to Seattle in 2 days with over 160000 miles on the engine, awsome. 2000 maxima 20th anniversary edition, bought this one brand new and sold it at 102000 miles never had a major problem.

Here came the 2004 Maxima. The bain of the my faithfullness. Today is June10th 2011. I dropped it off at a transmission shop for a rebulit on March 25th 2011. Two months 16 days and counting. Paid $2800.00 at a very reputable shop. The car is unfixable. PERIOD. UNFIXABLE. You cannot put a replacement trans because it will have the same problem. Rebuildable parts do not work. The shop has gone through 5 valve bodys. And they cannot get the car to shift right. The shop is paying for a rental that i am driving now for two months.

Have anyone checked the retail value, or trade in value for this car? STICKER SHOCK. Value is about the same as a 1998 Honda Accord. Beleive it.

NISSAN, You just lost one customer, not that i make a difference, but my posting will. I AM NEVER EVER BUYING NISSAN AGAIN. Before my problem i wanted the 2010. BUT NO. Lexus GS350 AWD. AMEN!!!

- , Kent, WA, USA

problem #30

May 152011

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

I had the transmission replaced in 2009. Now when I shift from reverse to drive it jumps. It feels like someone hit me from the back. This happens only after I drive for about 15 to 20 min.

I took it to Passport Nissan the same place that fix it before. They said I need a new transmission. I said you fix them 2 years ago how does this keep happening. They said I need a transmission and 3 motor mounts. My airconditioning hose is leaking fliud and needs to be replaced and recharged. I told them, they and Nissan are ripping people off there is no way all the people I have seen online complaining about their Nissan transmission that there in not a issue here. Nissan should be recalling and reimbursing people their expenses.

I have brought several cars in my life from Ford, Chevy, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda, never have I had this many problems with such small amount of miles on the car. I will never ever ever buy another Nissan. They could not give me one for free.

- , Upper Marlboro, MD, US

problem #29

Jul 072010

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

Got this Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE 2004, and since I got it it has been my worst nightmare......No joke, I have bad dreams with this car. The transmission started going bad around 82,000 miles, that was a year ago. It jumps into gear and jumps out of gear, I have had it towed once and almost have been rear-ended countless times. Merging on the freeway is a pain, I can't get to proper speed because the car does not shift properly. Between 2nd and 3rd and between 3rd and 4th are the most problems. RMPS shoot up to 7000 and if it doesn't jump just right into the next gear, it slips off and slows the car way down. Imagine how many times I have been flipped off? I am filing a complaint with the national highway traffic safety administration. I have been to 3 mechanis, plus Nissan. All three told me it's the valves in the transmission, one laughed at me when I told him the car I was having troubles with. He said those are the most common in his shop and the most expensive. Parts alone are $2000-$3000 not including labor! Nissan only confirmed this price for me, but said it would be from $3500 to $4000 and $350 labor. I HATE THIS CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HATE NISSAN MOTORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I HATE THEIR MECHANICS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are planing on buying a car and have any type of a brain, do yourself a favor and avoid this car. Take local transportation if you have to.

- , Herriman, UT, USA

problem #28

May 142011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

I have hear and read a lot of complaints about this car already makes me sick to know that always and all the time we comsumers are the victims of car companies mistake. How the heck Nissan still stands by and watch people spend their hard earned cash! This is ridiculous the car should definitely be recalled by now. I am filling my complaint come Monday. If anyone feel like joining me call this number to report your problem to the vehicle consumers agency 18883274236. We work hard for our money. Even after the warranty paid some money I am paying close to a grand from my pocket and still paying the car note. Wrong Nissan stop ripping us off and recall this car!

- , CRANSTON, RI, USA

problem #27

Jun 302011

(reported on)

Maxima Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Do not buy a Nissan Maxima, My car began jerking in January. I took it to the nissan dealership to get it worked on & they said it was not jerking with them. They are playing the "it's not during it with them" game. I guess someone will have to get hurt or killed before there is a recall on these cars. I have purchased three nissan maxima in the past, I will never buy another one again they are not worth the price 30 grands or more

I AM BEGGING YOU, DO NOT BUY A NISSAN MAXIMA. LIKE I SAID I HAVE HAD THREE AND THIS IS THE WORST ONE I HAVE EVER HAD. I WOULD NOT HAVE SAID THAT A YEAR AGO. THIS ONE IS AWFUL.

- , Osceola, AR, USA

problem #26

Mar 292011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

bought the car 3 months ago from dealership with 3 month warrenty car had no problems at all took it to a nissan machanick to check it out after driving the car for 3 months or 15000 miles the car started to experience severe jerking and transmission slipping.. the engine would not go more then 19 miles and the rpms would jump to large numbers and slip tne car starts kicking and doesnt drive i have the 2004 nissan maxima 3.5se model with 5 sp automatick transmission this car has been great until this point but 80xxx miles is reediculous for this type of money this was my 5TH AND LASTTTT MAXIMA I AM EVER BYING THESE MANUFACTURES RUINED THE GUD NAME OF NISSAN AND ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING TO REPAIR THERE MISTAKES THIS TRANSMISSION IS COSTING ME 3500 NEW TO REPLACE ....

TAKE MY ADVICE PEOPLE DOOOO NOOTTTTT BUY A NISSAN $30K FOR THIS CAR AND TRANNY GOES AT 78XXX MILES BUYING BMW OR HYUNDAI FROM NOW ON I HAVE SEEN ENEOUGHT TO CHANGE MY MIND OVER 600 BAD REVIEWS AND NO ONE IS HAPPY WITH THESE CARS.. IM REALLY DISSAPOINTED IN WHAT HAPPEND AND NISSAN DOESNT WANNA DO ANYTHING TO RESOLVE THIS PRBLEM SO LET IT BE EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAD A NISSAN NOT ANYMORE.. ONLY A HASSEL AND TO MUCH MONEY FOR THIS GUALITY ..

THANKS ALOT PEOPLE AND I HOPE YOU WONT HAVE TO GO TREW THIS HASSEL THAT I HAD TO SO JUST WACH OUT FOR THESE NISSANS BECAUSE THEY ARE REALL TRASHHH!!!! AND THE MANUFACTURERS DONT CARE ABOUT US U CAN GET KILLED FROM A TRANSMISSION GLITCH AND THATS WHEN THEY WILL TRYYY TO DO SOMETHING IM REALLY DISSPOINTED IN A COMPANY THATI ONCE WAS A BIG FAN OFF.. PEOPLE WHAT I HAVE LEARNED IS CRAZY READ REVIEWS BEFORE YOU GUYS BUY CARS I PAID 12K FOR THIS CAR IN 2011 AND WITH 78XXX MILES THE TRANNY GOES DO NOT BUY MAXIMAS AND I WILL CONTINUE TO POST AND CONVINCE EVERYONE I KNOW TO STAYYY AWAYY FROMMM NISSANNNS FOR GOOD THEY DONT CARE ABOUIT US THERE IN THE BUSSINESS FOR THE MONEY I HOPE THIS ADVICE HELPED MANY OF YOU AND I HOPE NISSAN WILL TAKE BLAME FOR WHAT THEY MEST UP IN

- , Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #25

Oct 152010

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

Took car in three times for transmission slipping and jerking. Dealer could not replicate. I told them that it did not happen until car warmed up. So they let it set on the lot for a few hours tried it for a few minutes and said nothing was wrong. The last time I made an appointment to have someone drive it immediately when I got there with the car warmed up. Now they saw the problem. After two hours of investigation they said my motor mounts were broken and needed to be replaced, $1500, and I know that won't fix it because it jerks when sitting still, at higher speeds and not consistently. The motor mounts are broken because of the lurching of the engine when the transmission shifts, not the other way around. The dealer said that there wasn't a TSB on that problem and they had never seen the problem before. A quick search on Google and they would have seen this is a major problem with the 2004 model but they are still playing the "we don't know about it" game so no responsibility taken by them. The good news is I did not get it repaired and my wife was just in an accident that may total the car. If so it won't be on the streets to annoy anyone else.

- , Colorado Springs, CO, US

problem #24

Dec 152010

Maxima SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,250 miles

This is very hard to deal with. Can't drive the car very far without this starting to happen. I haven't replaced this part yet, but plan to do. If anyone have tired to replace the valve body would like to know if it worked.

- , Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #23

Feb 202011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

Dropped off my Nissan Maxima on 4/8/11 to get a diagnostic, charge $110.00. put it in reverse and back into drive, vehicle jerked really hard. Has anybody found a good fix to this problem? We need to get this vehicle recalled, there are tons of complaints about the transmission going out.

Update from Mar 9, 2011: Well the update is not good. Diagnostic results- need a new transmisson. Parts $3545.83, Labor $1320.00 for a total of $4865.83. This for Transmisson and 3 mounts. Does anyone know where I could get the job done for less and pay less for total parts.

- , Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 022009

Maxima SL 3,5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Car jerks when shifting....comes and goes.... This is my second Nissan Maxima but will definitely be my last since Nissan doesn't stand by its product like it once did.

- , Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #21

Dec 012010

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

If anyone has had this problem, and it seems like a very common problem with this year

Maxima, they should call the NHTSA and file a complaint. 1-888-327-4236. Nissan has not

issued a voluntary recall and they may have been aware the transmission was defective.

- , Hialeah, FL, US

problem #20

Jul 152009

Maxima LX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

Premature failure of transmission with normal driving habits. High number of internet complaints with the same symptoms indicate a factory defect.

- , Alameda, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 222010

Maxima SE 3.5SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

I would be retiring and purchased this vehicle as my last new car purchase to last. I was laid off in October and need my vehicle to look and go out on interviews. Had Nissan in the 80's and no problems.

I have had two of four of the motor mounts replaced as they were broken (was told Nissans are notorious for broken motor mounts.) The last motor mount was replaced just last month.

I noticed that the jerking became worse and the constant gear changing while driving or accelerating, 2-3 gear, 3-2-1 gear. I was on the freeway and it jerked into third gear and jerked my head so hard it was sore for days. Got a diagnostics last week which Nissan Consumer Affairs paid for. Buena Park concluded in their report that my vehicle needs a complete new transmission. The report is being handled by Nissan Consumer Affairs and they called me back today with a decision as to whether they will give me a new transmission or not, but, I missed the call. The lady stated she would call me back next Wednesday, 1/12/2011, why so long a wait is beyond me. I called back and spoke with a person in Canada and he stated he would get in touch with her and try to have her call be back tomorrow, 1/6/2011. I feel unsafe in my car so it just will sit in my driveway till I get their decision.

- , Whittier, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 292007

Maxima SL 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

my Maxima would jolt when slowing down to 20mi per hr I thought someone had rear nded me I took it to the transmission shop as I had nothing but horrible experiences with the Nissan automotive and I could not trust them the transmission shop had 22 yrs experience well he had my car for a month rebuilt the transmission 3 times even had a Nissan mechanic check out the car they could not fix the problem even after having the crankshaft position sensors replaced he did not charge me full price for the transmission job because the problem still persisted and to this day it still jerks when you slow down to 20 miles per hr. but only after the car warms up. I have to put the car in Neutral when I come to a stop and only a complete stop, or it will jolt very hard. there needs to be a recall on this as so many other consumers are having the same problem. I have called the corporate office and no one returns my calls. Lynda hengstebeck tehachapi CA

- , Tehachapi, CA, US

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?