Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,744.00
Average Mileage:
107,536 miles
Total Complaints:
151 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (66 reports)
  2. not sure (53 reports)
  3. the transmission valve body needs replacing (17 reports)
  4. replace broken motor mounts (5 reports)
  5. the errors were- 1.) faulty crankshaft position sensor, 2.) (3 reports)
  6. replace about 3/4 of your transmission fluid - NOT FILTER (2 reports)
2004 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Aug 142010

Maxima SE 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nice car from the outside. Rides like a rock even after spending money on new OEM shocks. Nway thats not my problem but that Damn Transmission they put on these cars. Slips and kicks when shifing. When the car warms up or the engine is hot, the problem is worse. I drive 25 miles one way to work. Problem starts at about 19 miles.

I have been a faithfull Maxima owner. 1988 Maxima with adjustable suspensions nice car, 1993 maxima 4DSC (4 door sports car) loved it. 1997 maxima SE fully loaded, drove from Boston to Seattle in 2 days with over 160000 miles on the engine, awsome. 2000 maxima 20th anniversary edition, bought this one brand new and sold it at 102000 miles never had a major problem.

Here came the 2004 Maxima. The bain of the my faithfullness. Today is June10th 2011. I dropped it off at a transmission shop for a rebulit on March 25th 2011. Two months 16 days and counting. Paid $2800.00 at a very reputable shop. The car is unfixable. PERIOD. UNFIXABLE. You cannot put a replacement trans because it will have the same problem. Rebuildable parts do not work. The shop has gone through 5 valve bodys. And they cannot get the car to shift right. The shop is paying for a rental that i am driving now for two months.

Have anyone checked the retail value, or trade in value for this car? STICKER SHOCK. Value is about the same as a 1998 Honda Accord. Beleive it.

NISSAN, You just lost one customer, not that i make a difference, but my posting will. I AM NEVER EVER BUYING NISSAN AGAIN. Before my problem i wanted the 2010. BUT NO. Lexus GS350 AWD. AMEN!!!

- , Kent, WA, USA

problem #30

May 152011

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

I had the transmission replaced in 2009. Now when I shift from reverse to drive it jumps. It feels like someone hit me from the back. This happens only after I drive for about 15 to 20 min.

I took it to Passport Nissan the same place that fix it before. They said I need a new transmission. I said you fix them 2 years ago how does this keep happening. They said I need a transmission and 3 motor mounts. My airconditioning hose is leaking fliud and needs to be replaced and recharged. I told them, they and Nissan are ripping people off there is no way all the people I have seen online complaining about their Nissan transmission that there in not a issue here. Nissan should be recalling and reimbursing people their expenses.

I have brought several cars in my life from Ford, Chevy, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda, never have I had this many problems with such small amount of miles on the car. I will never ever ever buy another Nissan. They could not give me one for free.

- , Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #29

Jul 072010

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

Got this Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE 2004, and since I got it it has been my worst nightmare......No joke, I have bad dreams with this car. The transmission started going bad around 82,000 miles, that was a year ago. It jumps into gear and jumps out of gear, I have had it towed once and almost have been rear-ended countless times. Merging on the freeway is a pain, I can't get to proper speed because the car does not shift properly. Between 2nd and 3rd and between 3rd and 4th are the most problems. RMPS shoot up to 7000 and if it doesn't jump just right into the next gear, it slips off and slows the car way down. Imagine how many times I have been flipped off? I am filing a complaint with the national highway traffic safety administration. I have been to 3 mechanis, plus Nissan. All three told me it's the valves in the transmission, one laughed at me when I told him the car I was having troubles with. He said those are the most common in his shop and the most expensive. Parts alone are $2000-$3000 not including labor! Nissan only confirmed this price for me, but said it would be from $3500 to $4000 and $350 labor. I HATE THIS CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HATE NISSAN MOTORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I HATE THEIR MECHANICS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are planing on buying a car and have any type of a brain, do yourself a favor and avoid this car. Take local transportation if you have to.

- , Herriman, UT, USA

problem #28

May 142011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have hear and read a lot of complaints about this car already makes me sick to know that always and all the time we comsumers are the victims of car companies mistake. How the heck Nissan still stands by and watch people spend their hard earned cash! This is ridiculous the car should definitely be recalled by now. I am filling my complaint come Monday. If anyone feel like joining me call this number to report your problem to the vehicle consumers agency 18883274236. We work hard for our money. Even after the warranty paid some money I am paying close to a grand from my pocket and still paying the car note. Wrong Nissan stop ripping us off and recall this car!

- , CRANSTON, RI, USA

problem #27

Jun 302011

(reported on)

Maxima Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

Do not buy a Nissan Maxima, My car began jerking in January. I took it to the nissan dealership to get it worked on & they said it was not jerking with them. They are playing the "it's not during it with them" game. I guess someone will have to get hurt or killed before there is a recall on these cars. I have purchased three nissan maxima in the past, I will never buy another one again they are not worth the price 30 grands or more

I AM BEGGING YOU, DO NOT BUY A NISSAN MAXIMA. LIKE I SAID I HAVE HAD THREE AND THIS IS THE WORST ONE I HAVE EVER HAD. I WOULD NOT HAVE SAID THAT A YEAR AGO. THIS ONE IS AWFUL.

- , Osceola, AR, USA

problem #26

Mar 292011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

bought the car 3 months ago from dealership with 3 month warrenty car had no problems at all took it to a nissan machanick to check it out after driving the car for 3 months or 15000 miles the car started to experience severe jerking and transmission slipping.. the engine would not go more then 19 miles and the rpms would jump to large numbers and slip tne car starts kicking and doesnt drive i have the 2004 nissan maxima 3.5se model with 5 sp automatick transmission this car has been great until this point but 80xxx miles is reediculous for this type of money this was my 5TH AND LASTTTT MAXIMA I AM EVER BYING THESE MANUFACTURES RUINED THE GUD NAME OF NISSAN AND ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING TO REPAIR THERE MISTAKES THIS TRANSMISSION IS COSTING ME 3500 NEW TO REPLACE ....

TAKE MY ADVICE PEOPLE DOOOO NOOTTTTT BUY A NISSAN $30K FOR THIS CAR AND TRANNY GOES AT 78XXX MILES BUYING BMW OR HYUNDAI FROM NOW ON I HAVE SEEN ENEOUGHT TO CHANGE MY MIND OVER 600 BAD REVIEWS AND NO ONE IS HAPPY WITH THESE CARS.. IM REALLY DISSAPOINTED IN WHAT HAPPEND AND NISSAN DOESNT WANNA DO ANYTHING TO RESOLVE THIS PRBLEM SO LET IT BE EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAD A NISSAN NOT ANYMORE.. ONLY A HASSEL AND TO MUCH MONEY FOR THIS GUALITY ..

THANKS ALOT PEOPLE AND I HOPE YOU WONT HAVE TO GO TREW THIS HASSEL THAT I HAD TO SO JUST WACH OUT FOR THESE NISSANS BECAUSE THEY ARE REALL TRASHHH!!!! AND THE MANUFACTURERS DONT CARE ABOUT US U CAN GET KILLED FROM A TRANSMISSION GLITCH AND THATS WHEN THEY WILL TRYYY TO DO SOMETHING IM REALLY DISSPOINTED IN A COMPANY THATI ONCE WAS A BIG FAN OFF.. PEOPLE WHAT I HAVE LEARNED IS CRAZY READ REVIEWS BEFORE YOU GUYS BUY CARS I PAID 12K FOR THIS CAR IN 2011 AND WITH 78XXX MILES THE TRANNY GOES DO NOT BUY MAXIMAS AND I WILL CONTINUE TO POST AND CONVINCE EVERYONE I KNOW TO STAYYY AWAYY FROMMM NISSANNNS FOR GOOD THEY DONT CARE ABOUIT US THERE IN THE BUSSINESS FOR THE MONEY I HOPE THIS ADVICE HELPED MANY OF YOU AND I HOPE NISSAN WILL TAKE BLAME FOR WHAT THEY MEST UP IN

- , Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #25

Oct 152010

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took car in three times for transmission slipping and jerking. Dealer could not replicate. I told them that it did not happen until car warmed up. So they let it set on the lot for a few hours tried it for a few minutes and said nothing was wrong. The last time I made an appointment to have someone drive it immediately when I got there with the car warmed up. Now they saw the problem. After two hours of investigation they said my motor mounts were broken and needed to be replaced, $1500, and I know that won't fix it because it jerks when sitting still, at higher speeds and not consistently. The motor mounts are broken because of the lurching of the engine when the transmission shifts, not the other way around. The dealer said that there wasn't a TSB on that problem and they had never seen the problem before. A quick search on Google and they would have seen this is a major problem with the 2004 model but they are still playing the "we don't know about it" game so no responsibility taken by them. The good news is I did not get it repaired and my wife was just in an accident that may total the car. If so it won't be on the streets to annoy anyone else.

- , Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #24

Dec 152010

Maxima SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,250 miles

This is very hard to deal with. Can't drive the car very far without this starting to happen. I haven't replaced this part yet, but plan to do. If anyone have tired to replace the valve body would like to know if it worked.

- , Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #23

Feb 202011

Maxima SE 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

Dropped off my Nissan Maxima on 4/8/11 to get a diagnostic, charge $110.00. put it in reverse and back into drive, vehicle jerked really hard. Has anybody found a good fix to this problem? We need to get this vehicle recalled, there are tons of complaints about the transmission going out.

Update from Mar 9, 2011: Well the update is not good. Diagnostic results- need a new transmisson. Parts $3545.83, Labor $1320.00 for a total of $4865.83. This for Transmisson and 3 mounts. Does anyone know where I could get the job done for less and pay less for total parts.

- , Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 022009

Maxima SL 3,5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Car jerks when shifting....comes and goes.... This is my second Nissan Maxima but will definitely be my last since Nissan doesn't stand by its product like it once did.

- , Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #21

Dec 012010

Maxima SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

If anyone has had this problem, and it seems like a very common problem with this year

Maxima, they should call the NHTSA and file a complaint. 1-888-327-4236. Nissan has not

issued a voluntary recall and they may have been aware the transmission was defective.

- , Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #20

Jul 152009

Maxima LX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

Premature failure of transmission with normal driving habits. High number of internet complaints with the same symptoms indicate a factory defect.

- , Alameda, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 222010

Maxima SE 3.5SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

I would be retiring and purchased this vehicle as my last new car purchase to last. I was laid off in October and need my vehicle to look and go out on interviews. Had Nissan in the 80's and no problems.

I have had two of four of the motor mounts replaced as they were broken (was told Nissans are notorious for broken motor mounts.) The last motor mount was replaced just last month.

I noticed that the jerking became worse and the constant gear changing while driving or accelerating, 2-3 gear, 3-2-1 gear. I was on the freeway and it jerked into third gear and jerked my head so hard it was sore for days. Got a diagnostics last week which Nissan Consumer Affairs paid for. Buena Park concluded in their report that my vehicle needs a complete new transmission. The report is being handled by Nissan Consumer Affairs and they called me back today with a decision as to whether they will give me a new transmission or not, but, I missed the call. The lady stated she would call me back next Wednesday, 1/12/2011, why so long a wait is beyond me. I called back and spoke with a person in Canada and he stated he would get in touch with her and try to have her call be back tomorrow, 1/6/2011. I feel unsafe in my car so it just will sit in my driveway till I get their decision.

- , Whittier, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 292007

Maxima SL 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

my Maxima would jolt when slowing down to 20mi per hr I thought someone had rear nded me I took it to the transmission shop as I had nothing but horrible experiences with the Nissan automotive and I could not trust them the transmission shop had 22 yrs experience well he had my car for a month rebuilt the transmission 3 times even had a Nissan mechanic check out the car they could not fix the problem even after having the crankshaft position sensors replaced he did not charge me full price for the transmission job because the problem still persisted and to this day it still jerks when you slow down to 20 miles per hr. but only after the car warms up. I have to put the car in Neutral when I come to a stop and only a complete stop, or it will jolt very hard. there needs to be a recall on this as so many other consumers are having the same problem. I have called the corporate office and no one returns my calls. Lynda hengstebeck tehachapi CA

- , Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 012010

Maxima 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,310 miles

All you have to do is replace about 3/4 of your transmission fluid, but do not change the filter. I had a certified Nissan Mechanic to tell me that off the record and it worked. The dealer will not do it they will tell you that it is something else so you can spend more money. I had my Transmission Fluid changed and the problem has stopped. The mechanic recommended that I change it every 30k miles. I have two friends with the same car and they went and had the same thing done and now their cars run fine. If you want to ask me any questions you can call me at 256-797-2760 if no answer leave a message and I will call you back.

- , Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #16

Jun 162010

Maxima SE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,675 miles

I THOUGHT I HAD A GOOD DEAL. my car has spent more times in the shop then it has on the road for the past for months. when i bought my used nissan maxima 2004 2.5se fully loaded i didnt get half way home before i had to turn around to get it fixed. ford said there was nothing wrong with the transmission after keeping it for three days and that the computer need to adjust to the way i drive and to drive it for awhile. It seemed ok until it got hot. My car started jerking like it had bad gas in it. to me they just reset the computer. Trust me im not done

- , Columbia, MD, USA

problem #15

Mar 172009

Maxima ES 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

many people in puerto rico having problems with the transmission of the maxima.we need a recall to fix these problem.

- , Guayanilla, PR, Puerto Rico

problem #14

Aug 222009

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

About a year ago we started having problems with the jerking when shifting between 1st and 2nd gear. Brought it to the dealer, spent $3,000 on what they said was a problem with the engine and that this fix would take care of the jerking. We took the car home and after a couple of weeks the jerking started again. Once again we contact the Nissan dealership and brought the car back in. Well, guess what? Its the transmission, we need a new one. Can't get a rebuilt and they wanted another $3,000 to fix it. If I had known about that I needed a new transmission before we had the engine work done I would have traded the car in. Its now 6 years old and isn't worth putting another $3,000 into it. Well, I've been driving it the way it is for the past year. I've noticed that its getting worse and worse and eventually I'll crack and spend the money to have it fixed.

Since then, I've been searching online and noticed that there are tons of people that have been having problems with the transmission jerking on the Nissan Maxima. Why hasn't Nissan done a recall?????

- , Saugus, MA, USA

problem #13

Sep 032010

Maxima SE 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles

This such crap! Bought the car from a ONE OWNER, had it serviced at 98k with new transmission fluid change then at 100k noticed the jerking, decided that maybe my throttle response was a little faster than the sedan's capablity to preform, so I just watched the RPM's. Now as of Friday 9/3/2010- it left my entire family at a gas station because it's stuck in 5th gear and will not come out even if I try to use the manual shifting option. I haven't had any troubles really up until now. No slipping, knocking or other known issues of transmission trouble. Call the transmission shop which told me to call the dealer (which is worthless other than to tell me he could replace it for $3,800! And that Nissan has had problems with this transmission but hasn't recalled them.) I bought the Nissan as an investment and this is my second Maxima ('92 GXE). I believe the valve is stuck with the gear engaged. Normally on an American made vehicle- the part is $45-$100 and can be replaced without pulling the entire transmission, in this case The transmission will have to be pulled for either a replacement transmission or internal parts replacement. Not happy with this at all!

Update from Oct 20, 2010: I took the car to a local transmission shop which placed it on the computer. The errors were- 1.) faulty crankshaft position sensor, 2.) faulty camshaft position sensor. Looked the items up online and they cost in the range of $45-175. These are plug in sensors therefore the transmission doesn't need to be pulled. One is on the 1 bank and the other on 2 bank. One 10mm bolt needs to be taken out of a cover that is above one of the sensors. All in all it cost me $ 540 in repairs since I didn't have time to do it myself. I'm still having the jerking with second gear but only when i slow down easily. The car shifts now.

- , Columbia, SC, USA

problem #12

Jul 132010

Maxima SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,000 miles

I've had this car for a year and a half and it is causing me problems after problems. The transmission jerks when shifting. I wouldn't recommend the year,make and model car to anybody

- , Nashville, TN, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?