Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Maxima wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Jun 282007

Maxima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2004 Nissan Maxima SE that I bought 2 years ago with 14000 miles on it. Currently have 24000 miles so I don't drive a lot. In those 2 years, I've had struts, brakes, rotors, A/C problems, tons of anti-lock brake issues(was in shop 4 times) and at 19000 miles, a tire blowout and again another one at 24000 miles. I submitted my paperwork for cracked sidewalls on my Goodyear rsa tires on July 1,2007 and have not heard anything yet. This car has been the car from you know where. It just has problem after problem--I get one thing fixed and something else seems to come up.

- Moon Township, PA, USA

problem #61

Aug 082007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima. The vehicle has Goodyear Eagle rs-a tires, size P245/45R18. The contact discovered cracks in the sidewalls of her tires. The mechanic informed her of a recall on the tires, but stated that hers were not included. The recall number and dot number were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 40,000. Updated 09/18/07

- Greencastle, IN, USA

problem #60

Sep 012006

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Nissan Maxima tires with blow out problems customer states that the tires has cracked in the sidewalls and had to be replaced**

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #59

Jul 262007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima. The contact received a recall notice for his Goodyear Eagle rs-a, size P245/45R18 tires. He brought the letter to the Goodyear repair shop. The mechanic inspected the tires and found cracks on the sidewalls. The contact was informed that he could replace the tire, but the cost would be prorated. The balance that remained was $118. The contact informed the mechanic that the repair should be free, according to the recall notice. He left the Goodyear store without receiving the new tire. He has called the number provided in the notice for the past week and they continue to transfer him from one department to another. The dot number and recall number were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 37,000.

- Baltimore County, MD, USA

problem #58

Mar 312006

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,049 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima SE. The contact stated that the inner and outer sidewalls of the original tires were cracking on all four tires. After replacing the tires, the contact received a safety recall notice. The contact no longer has the tires, receipts, dot number, or proof of having owned the tires. The tires were Goodyear rsa. The purchase date and recall number were unknown. The current mileage was 79,000 and failure mileage was 69,049.

- Hove Sound, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #57

Apr 302007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 43,105 miles
2004 Nissan Maxima with defected Eagle tires customer wants to be reimbursed for tires** the consumer replaced the tires due to sidewall cracks. The consumer received a customer satisfaction letter in the mail after he replaced the tires.

- Barboursville, VA, USA

problem #56

Apr 232007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan maixma. Consumer states that all four good year tires have sidewall cracks. The consumer stated the tires were replaced on May 4, 2007.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #55

Jul 162005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer is a owner of 2004 Nissan Maxima the vehicle is equipped with Eagle rsap24/45R18 V Goodyear tires all four tires exhibit cracks in the upper interior sidewall. The consumer stated that in early September while changing the oil, the vehicle was raised on racks and the consumer noticed that all tires exhibited cracks in the upper interior sidewall and they were noisy immediately, the contact purchased all new tires amounting to $923.97. The consumer stated wants to reimbursed for the tires. Also, the consumer provided pictures of the defect.

- Berwyn, PA, USA

problem #54

Jul 022007

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Biggest problem is the transmission on the 2004 Maxima. It started with jerking, and speed changes while driving. Rotators, air conditioning, tires, struts, and trembling in wheel. Transmission is an ongoing problem. Also, the struts were replaced, trembling is still there, air conditioning low and hose replaced. But now it rumbles when turned on. Tires almost cost me life on expressway due to crack in sidewalls.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #53

Jun 282007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima. The vehicle has Goodyear Eagle rs-a tires. The contact received a recall notice regarding the sidewalls on his tires. It stated that this was a cosmetic recall and was not safety related. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included as part of the recall. The contact felt his vehicle should be included as part of the recall. No failures have occurred at this time. The current mileage is 58,000 and the failure mileage was inapplicable.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #52

Oct 162006

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima. While driving 25 mph, the passenger side front tire blew out. The contact stated that the sidewall was cracked on all four Goodyear tires. All four tires have been replaced. The purchase date, powertrain, and current mileage were unknown. The failure mileage was 34,000. Updated 09/26/07.

- Cahokia, IL, USA

problem #51

Nov 212006

Maxima

  • miles
The 4 rsa Goodyear tires cracked with 14,000 miles on it. Goodyear has produced bad tires and someone will get killed soon when these tires blow on the highway.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Apr 202005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Nissan Maxima SE with Goodyear Eagle rsa 245/45/18 size, in Sept. 2003. In April 2005 I had all 4 tires replaced because of the sidewall cracking. My car only had 22,000 miles on it. In Oct 2006 I had a blowout on the expressway and Goodyear couldn't determine if it was from the cracking and I bought a new tire. In June 2007, with only 46000 miles I suffered 3 flat tires due to the cracking (the new tire I just bought was fine). I complained to Goodyear and they replaced all 4 free of charge with a set of dunlop direzzas. I feel this is a tremendous safety hazard and something should be done about it.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #49

Jun 052006

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that the sidewall on the Goodyear Eagle rs-a (P245/45R18) tires have begun to crack on all four tires. He only noticed the cracking at 45,000 miles. The tires are V speed rated. The dot number was unknown. The current mileage is 69,000 and failure mileage was 35,000.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #48

Apr 032007

Maxima

  • miles
Good year Eagle rsa tire blew on I-95 in South Florida. Sidewall blew out of tire. Tires have less than 25,000 miles on them. Nissan dealership replaced blown tire, but noticed all of tires left (3) had sidewall splits that they deemed unsafe. They would not replace the other tires, they stated that they were 1/2 of a 32nd less tread than they were able to replace. These tires are defective. These are the tires that Nissan puts on all of their Maxima models. Good year should be required to replace tires.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #47

May 162007

Maxima

  • miles
I bought the 04 Nissan Maxima in December 2004, and in September. 2005 I took the car to have the tires rotated. I was informed by the local Goodyear tire dealer that two of the tires had cracks in the sidewalls. Because the car had only 10,000 miles Goodyear replaced these two tires under the original warranty. Now, in 2007 with 40,000 miles on the car the other two original tires have sidewall cracks. Of course Goodyear will only give me credit for the wear left on the tires, and a new tire cost $300. We have decided for safety reasons we were not going to replace these tires with the Goodyear Eagle size 245/45R18V. This seemed to be a similar problem as Ford and Firestone had with the Explorer several years ago. Why has the public not been informed about the Nissan/Goodyear tire problem. My conclusion was fewer of us own Nissan vehicles than Ford. So, if the tires cause a couple of us to have wrecks that was just the price of doing big business.

- Havana, FL, USA

problem #46

Mar 092007

Maxima

  • miles
I have been experiencing problems with the Goodyear Eagle rs-a's that came on my 2004 Nissan Maxima. All four tires have been leaking air due to the sidewall cracks that have developed on each tire. Due to the fact that all four tires have developed these sidewall cracks and that multiple individuals have experienced this same problem leads me to the conclusion that this is a factory defect. Due to the concern of my family's safety, I have replaced all four tires with another brand of tires.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #45

Jan 152001

Maxima

  • miles
Informed of split tire while in for service on 2004 Nissan Maxima after trip to Ohio when air sensor failed and had to drive home below 55 mph in limp/safety mode. Tire: Goodyear rsa 245/45/18. Paid for two new tires.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #44

Jan 052007

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Blowout on rear tire on expressway, on inspection found deep cracks on the sidewalls on all tires, Goodyear Eagle rsa, on my 2004 Nissan Maxima.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #43

Nov 292006

Maxima

  • miles
Consumer has had tires replaced due to cracks in the sidewall.

- Camden, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?