Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Maxima wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Feb 182006

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2004 Maxima and have Goodyear rsa245/45/18 tires. I have had a blow out while driving on long island expressway. Checked my tires this weekend found side wall cracks on both front tires and severe sidewall failure on inside of rear tires. I have replaced two tires during the first year due side wall cuts was told it was road hazard. How could a car with just 40K have had 3 out of four tires replaced and now I need to replace all four again. These tires need to be recalled before there is a death.

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #21

Feb 212005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Eagle rsa P245/45R18 I was driving my 2004 Nissan Maxima down rt. 3 East in NJ going approximately 65 mph. All of a sudden I felt the car start to vibrate and shake terribly I realized I had a flat. Before I could even have any reaction, the car jerked to the left, then to the right, I tried to stop it and I spun out of control on the highway and crashed into another car who was trying to pass on my right. My car came to a rest with my driver's side door facing oncoming traffic, and my car blocking off the left and the middle lane, and literally 1 inch from crashing into the concrete divider. Luckily oncoming traffic stopped, and the passenger and myself in my car were not injured. However there were two people in the other car we hit claiming injury after the accident. The inside wall of the tire was completely separated from the rest of the tire. My mechanic told me he never saw any tire like that. I filed a complaint with Goodyear, and I was told to have the tires sent to akron, Ohio for testing, (the adjustor that came to pick up the tire told me she never saw a tire like that either) that was 10 months ago and I haven't even gotten an answer from them. Now as I was once again driving on the highway (December 22, 2005) going approximately 70 mph, my front drivers side tire blew out, there was no accident this time. I am worried that I am not going to be so lucky when this occurs for a third time. I rotate my tires every 6,000 miles and check the air pressure in them regularly. I've filed another complaint with Goodyear but what good is that going to do? they won't give me an answer and I have to wait to be contacted again by their insurance adjustor. I don't know what to do with this, I bought a $30,000 car, and I am afraid to drive it. After reading the entries on this site, I know that I am not alone now with this problem, these tires are defective and need to be recalled before someone gets killed! I am looking for help with this situation.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #20

Dec 092005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,903 miles
My Goodyear Eagle rs-a tires have split along the sidewall. The local retailer told me these tires are known to do that and that Goodyear has a strict policy of not allowing any replacement or pro-rated credit toward the purchase of replacement tires. This is an extremely dangerous defect which could cause fatalities in the event of tire failure. These tires need to be recalled immediately! I bought this vehicle new in July, 2003 and these tires were on the vehicle as original equipment. These tires have been garage kept and rotated every 7,500 miles with proper inflation. There's plenty of tread left on these tires and they should have lasted alot longer. The tires are splitting along the sidewall. Three of the 4 tires have done this, requiring replacement of all 4 of them. Make / model: Nissan Maxima 2004; VIN [xxx]; tire model: Goodyear Eagle rs-a; maximum permissible tire pressure: 44; tire size: P245 / 45R18; mileage at time of incident: 46,903; incident date: 12/09/05; maximum load rating: 1,565; state of registration: Oklahoma; numbers on side of tire (possible "tin" ?): [xxx]. updated 07/17/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #19

Nov 042005

Maxima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 liter V6 with a manufacturer's standard tire size of P245/45R18. Currently Goodyear is having a manufacturer's defect on the tires listed above. The side walls on these tires are splitting and they are doing a recall on them...I guess they are going to reactive rather than proactive...just like Firestone. I just wanted to let you know before someone was seriously injured or killed. The reason I am writing is because I have those same tires installed and they are splitting around the side wall and the only reason I know about this is the dealer stated that Goodyear knows about the problem but is reluctant to initiate a recall...worried about dollars rather than saving lives. I am not talking about a small split but rather a split that covers almost 3/4 of the radius. Thanks for your time and assistance. I really thought you and the general public needed to know before something really bad happened.

- Kathleen, GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 192005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
2004 Nissan Maxima with 24K miles. Equipped with Goodyear Eagle R-sa P245/45R18 tires. Left front and right rear tires shows signs of sidewall separation (one inch from rim). Tread depth was measured at 7/32 and 8/32. Talked with dealer who said he had another Maxima Goodyear replaced the tires on due to sidewall separation. Goodyear has offered to replace the defective tires at less than the pro-rated warranty amount. This complaint is meant to bring attention to possibly a "bad" production run or engineered defect.

- Wesson, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jul 312005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,738 miles
The consumer stated that the tires had cracks on the sidewalls. The tires were about a year and a half old. The tires came on the vehicle when the car was bought. A Goodyear dealer checked the tires and the consumer would replace all 4 tires. The tires were Goodyear Eagle rsa. Consumer noticed the cracks yesterday. The factory representative was will check the tires.

- Robbinsville, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jul 202005

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2004 Nissan Maxima SE. While the car was at the dealer for routine service, the technician told me that the inside sidewalls of all 4 tires were showing cracks, and the front passenger tire had cracks and a bulge coming out. This was when the car had only about 26,000 miles. He said the cost to replace the tires is $245 each tire, plus installation costs. He strongly recommended that I replace at least the two front tires as soon as possible. I then took the Maxima to a different Nissan dealer for their opinion as well. That dealership agreed that all 4 tires had cracks on the inside sidewalls, and the bulge was there on the right front tire. They recommended that I replace all 4 tires. I told them it seems absurd that tires that are so new would need replacement, and they said it was a common problem with these tires and I should go to Goodyear to see if they would cover all or part of the replacement cost. I called Nissan headquarters (1-800-Nissan-1) and was told the same thing, it is not Nissan's responsibility, but goodyears'. going to Goodyear this afternoon to have them checked -- and if safety risk exists I will of course have to buy new tires. I have a wife and a 21-month old baby, and cannot risk a blowout or some other catastrophe that may cause injury to my family. No tires should fail like this so quickly. General rule is if some object or thing goes into a tire, that is just a risk that the owner must bear. But if the tires show problems coming from the inside out, that indicates a tire defect. I will update this after meeting with Goodyear.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 112005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The Nissan dealer told me that I needed 4 new tires for a 2004 Nissan Maxima. The tires were cracked on all 4 tires on the inside tire walls. These are those Goodyear 245 45 18 that came on the car. These tires are defective!

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 152005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
In September 2004 I took my 2004 Nissan Maxima in for some warranty work, and scheduled maintainence. I advised that my front end felt funny, I eventually had to bring it back in for the skyroof recall and again advised that the car still felt rough, I was advised it was just from the tire rotation and would eventually smooth out, it never did. The skyroof started leaking and it took three more trips to get it fixed, every time I took my car in I told the service dept. That the car still felt rough. On June 15, 2005 I took my car back in for the 30,000 mile maintainence. The service dept. Called and said all four of my tires were coming apart on the inside sidewall, the tires were actually splitting the entire circumfrence of all four tires. They said they had never seen tires split like that. The service dept. Called Goodyear and were told they were having a few problems with those tires and would sell me new ones for $900 the dealer declined that price and Goodyear came up with a price of $550 for new tires I was called and told of the final price and advised the dealer I would be contacting an attorney. Then dealer then called me back and said they had a set of tires and rims they would sell me for $400 I agreed because I was leaving for a trip to Indiana the next morning. The tires that they put on my car were the same exact Goodyear Eagle rs-a P245/45R18 that were defective. My husband called a friend at a local tire dealership and was told they were seeing alot of those same problems with the Goodyear eage rs-a. I cannot believe that a company would endanger the lives of the very consumers that buy and trust their products to be safe. I sent a letter to Nissan North american Consumer Affairs dept on June 20, 2005 documenting all the problems, and have had no response so I have turned to you for some guidance as to my rights to be warned and protected when they know there is the potential for diaster with their product.

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #13

Jul 112004

Maxima 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Good year Eagle rsa tires size 245-45R18 these are orginal eq. On my 2004 nissian Maxima. These tires have developed splits only on the inside side walls of all 4 tires they have 32000 miles on them w/some good tread. I fear these splits will seperate the tread and cause some damage or an accident. The splits were brought to my attention when I had my tires rotated and balanced the other day. Yet on the outside side wall everything apears to be ok. This is possiblely a very dangerous situation due to the fact these splits in the side walls are only on the the insde sidewall of the tires.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 012005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact states the tires on his vehicle have large cracks on the inside wall. The tires only had 20,000 miles, the service dealer stated they were 75,000 mile tires. The tires have been replaced by a local service dealer.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jan 012005

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,602 miles
Contact states that the Goodyear tires on her vehicle are cracking. One tire is cracking on both sides, three are on the inside of the tire. Dealership told consumer that cracked tires were good. Consumer had to replace all the tires.

- Columbia, MS, USA

problem #10

Mar 102005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Goodyear has a known defect on their Goodyear Eagle rs-a tires (245/45R18) that were installed on the2004 Nissan Maxima (and who knows how many other vehicles). The tire sidewall was not properly made and depending on miles (I have seen the problem on Maxima's with mileage ranging from 4,000 miles up to 30,000). Goodyear states you should continuely inspect them and if cracking occurs, then they will replace them. I am very cocerned for my families safety when driving now, especially long distance, I may be able to inspect the outside sidewalls, however not the inner. If I can't see the problem I cannot get it corrected. The cracking and composition of the sidewalls could lead to a bowout or rollover if in a turn when the pressure against the tire sidewall is greatest. A Nissan Maxima is a performance family sedan so sometimes driven hard. My next concern is having to hear about this problem from word of mouth through other Maxima car owners. No safety letter from Goodyear telling owners to inspect tires regularly, nothing. They are playing the numbers with my family and my life and this is unacceptable. Please force their hand to do something. Thank you. Also you can read an internet thread from other customers with this problem at, over 5 pages: forums.Maxima.org/showthread.php?T=388048.

- Leington Park, MD, USA

problem #9

Nov 152004

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,800 miles
After a 600 mile trip on the Pennsylvania turnpike, by left rear tire sidewall failed. The outer wall separated from the inter cord for about 3 inches. The manufacturer said it was not a manufacturing problem. The tire was almost new. It had 3,700 miles on it, was properly inflated and I hit no road hazard. The tire lost air and we lost control of the car. Some minor damage. It appears to have failed due to heat. Manufacturer: Continental, conti-touring contact P225/55R17 95V. It was original equipment on a Nissan 2004 Maxima. I replaced the tire with same and kept the defective tire.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 052004

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Sidewall tire cracks - Goodyear Eagle rsa 245/45/18. These tires came stock with my 2004 Nissan Maxima SE. I have approximately 20K on these tires and they have been rotated 3 times since I purchased the car in November 2003. In December of 2004 while mounting my snow tires on this vehicle, the technician pointed out cracks in one tire which ran laterally around the entire circumference of the inner tire wall. Upon further examination, one other tire appreared to have smaller/finer cracks in the same locations. I visited the webiste Maxima.org and noticed there is an abundance of similar complaints from other 2004 Nissan Maxima owners who have this tire on their vehicle. I contacted the Goodyear corporate office and informed them of this issue. Once I identified that I owned a 2004 Nissan Maxima with these tires I was immediately referred to a local dealer to have the tires inspected. The rep. In the corporate office instructed me to give my local service manager a reference number and have him call Goodyear after the inspection was complete. The only information requested of me was the miles on the vehicle.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 152005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,400 miles
I own a 2004 Nissan Maxima sl. It has 21,450 miles on it. During a regular maintenance procedure at the dealership, I found out that all 4 oem Continental tires had longitudinal cracks on the inside sidewall. I asked the dealership for the tire waaranty and they sent me to the local Continental distributor for tire checkup. The distributor found indeed that all tires were defective and needed repalcement and the dealership advised me not drive the car for long periods of time or in the highway because tire might fail. Even tough both the tire distributor and the dealer agree that these tires need repalcement, both are blaming each othe and giving me the long run. Feel very unsafe driving this car. I truly beleive this is a serious safety issue and both the dealership and the tire manufacturer should solve this problem as soon as practical. Can you help?

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #6

Jan 102005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The Goodyear rsa tires on my 2004 Nissan Maxima have splits on the side wall. Goodyear claims to have no knowledge of any problems with this tire size, 245/45/18. Numerous Maxima owners have had tires replaced for this problem but Goodyear is uncooperative.( Maxima.org) I have called Goodyear and they have given me the run around. If they have knowledge of a tire problem they need to issue a recall before there is a fatality. I checked with Nissan and they have no knowledge of a tire problem. Your assistance with this matter would be greatly appreciated.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #5

Jan 032005

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I own a 2004 Nissan Maxima. Last week while viewing a Maxima forum, I noticed a lot of people complaining about their oem Goodyear rsa developing sidewall cracks. After inspecting my vehicel, I noticed two 2' cracks on the sidewall. I drove the vehicle to sears tire center for further inspection. I was told to bring the car straight home and to park it until the tires were replaced. They found major cracks in three of the tires. These tires only have 20,000 miles on them and I have no idea how long the cracks were there.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #4

Dec 042004

Maxima

  • 7,500 miles
All 4 of the stock Goodyear rsa 18" tires had cracking on the inside sidewall. What I mean by the inside sidwall is not the actual inside of the tire, rather the sidewall that faces towards the vehicle. No visible cracking was occuring on the outside sidewall. Pictures of this can be seen on: forums.Maxima.org/showthread.php?T=354119.

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #3

Nov 182004

Maxima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Goodyear tires Eagle rsa 245/18 side wall has cracks in tire.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?