Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004-2006 Nissan Maxima has widespread transmission problems. It starts with the vehicle jerking when shifting, & progresses to full-blown transmission failure.

Maxima owners report spending $3,000 to replace the transmission, typically around when the odometer hits 100,000 miles.

There's a class action lawsuit filed in late 2011, & it is still in the "discovery" stage. Apparently, these things take time ... far too much time.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,392 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Maxima transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments (Page 10 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #126

Oct 042010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car jerks between 1st and 2nd gear and when down shifting. It started shifting hard when I put it in reverse, feeling as if I hit something every time. I would have to push down on the brake hard because it would jerk so hard. Then my car started shifting hard between gears while driving. It was such a violent shift that if felt like someone had hit my car. It shifted so hard yesterday that my check engine light came on and it would not come out of first gear. I took the car immediately to my Nissan dealership and was told I need a brand new transmission ($3000). I researched this problem online and found that there are hundreds of 2004,05,06 Nissan Maxima owners with the exact same issue that I am having. I have called Nissan and no recalls! Nissan refused to act like this was a problem. Please help! I could understand if my car was the only one with this issue, but with hundreds of owners with the exact same issue, that is a manufacturers defect and Nissan needs to stand behind their product!

- Alma, GA, USA

problem #125

Oct 012008

Maxima

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. Whenever the contact would drive the vehicle at any speed she noticed that the vehicle would jerk and vibrate while down shifting or shifting from the first and second gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 95000 and the failure mileage was 60000.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #124

Sep 232010

Maxima

  • miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima and the transmission is giving me a problem. I shifts really hard when the accelerating or decelerating. The problem occurs only after the car has warmed up. While test driving the car, the problem did not occur; after I had signed all the papers and driven the car home did 30 mins. Away did the problem occur. The car was sold as-is. I am very upset. Nissan needs to replace the transmission at not cost to us.

- Thomaston, GA, USA

problem #123

Jan 152010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2005 Nissan Maxima sl in January 2010, so about 8 months ago. It drove beautifully, it was smooth and everything. I changed the oil, got a transmission flush, new tires, everything. A few days after I got it, I was involved in an accident. I was driving in the rain and preparing to make a left turn, and as I was doing that it stalled, then jerked and hydroplaned at the intersection and into the incoming lane of traffic into another car. I had to take it to the shop to repair it which took a few months. Then, about 3 months ago, I noticed that the car started to get worse and would stall and then jerk when I would reverse the car from park. Specifically when reversing out of a parking space. As the weeks went by, it got even worse. The car would violently jerk while switching from 1st to 2nd gear or when braking suddenly or when accelerating suddenly. Sometimes while accelerating, the car will stall, the engine revs up, and then the car would violently jerk forward as if it was hit from behind. In one instance I pulled over on the side of the highway to make sure that I wasn't hit by a car, with the latter not being the case at all. It happens everytime I drive it now. I took it to a transmission specialist and he thought that it needed a new sensor, so he installed it, and told me that it didn't stop the jerking. Then I got another transmission flush and it hasn't helped the situation.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #122

Mar 162010

Maxima

  • 101,000 miles
For at least 7 month, I have been experiencing very rough transitions between 1st and 2nd gears and also when decelerating between 3rd and 2nd gears. This occurs daily after the car has been driven 5 minutes or so. Additionally, at times (daily but not everytime I start the car) when I shift into gear, whether it is drive or reverse, the transmission takes as much as 20 seconds to engage. I have already replaced one motor mount and the transmission mount but still the engine jumps when accelerating or decelerating. Ever so conveniently for Nissan, all this started after my warranty had expired. With as many complaints as I see for this exact complaint, it seems that Nissan would call a recall before there is a tragic accident. I do not want this defect to ruin the engine so why can't Nissan take care of this?? the very reason I bought this car is because of the normal reliability and I must say that I will not buy another if Nissan doesn't take care of this problem.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #121

Mar 012010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated while accelerating from a traffic stop, the transmission began to buck with extreme hesitation. The vehicle was taken to an independent transmission facility where they informed the contact that the transmission would need to be replaced. Also, they stated that the transmission defect was a common issue with the 2004 and 2005 model years. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 106,000. Updated 3/14/11 updated 03/21/11.

- Corinth, MS, USA

problem #120

Sep 182010

Maxima

  • 99,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2005 Nissan Maxima with a faulty transmission. After reviewing Consumer Affairs web site so does over 122,000 people share the same problem I have which is a jerking transmission. The dealer wanted to charge me $98 just to look at the car knowingly what the problem is already. This is just a rip off. I found out from car repair shop in my town only Nissan has access to work on my transmission because they have no released rights for anyone else to repair their cars. The car is computerized so therefore, mom & pop repair shops can't access their system. This a monopoly by Nissan. My car stalled in the middle of an inter-section before changing gears and I was almost reared ended because of this faulty transmission.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #119

Sep 252010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Nissan Maxima transmission violently shifts from one gear range to another and is increasingly getting worst. The experience is like that of another vehicle hitting my vehicle in the rear. It's as if it might tear out from the vehicle at any time. Thus far I have been able to maintain control which is hard to do because this burst of turbulence is extremely disconcerting so much so that I am afraid of driving it. Some weeks past I took it to a transmission shop and was told that he wouldn't touch it because Nissan knows that there is a problem. He talked about cam sensor and body valve "???". the internet has page after page of others with similar conditions and have gone to the dealers and paid for repairs only to have the problem return. It can certainly cause accidents and loss of life, causing trauma time and time again as it happens. This is every time that the vehicle is driven not only the date that is given following the description the date is the date that I am filing the complaint. Jerking shifting gears jerking accelerating and slowing / breaking jerking slowing to turn jerking when reversing jerking going forward jerking when slowing down when it jerks it actually lurches this is every time the vehicle is driven.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #118

Jul 062010

Maxima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph. There was an abnormal increase in engine rpms and the yet the vehicle would momentarily hesitate before jerking into gear and accelerating further. The check engine warning light was illuminated for a short period of time. The failure recurred intermittently and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the transmission fluid was replaced. The failure continued to recur intermittently and the vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer. The contact was informed by the technician that the transmission would need replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 76,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #117

Sep 012009

Maxima

  • 85,000 miles
My 2005 Nissan Maxima started having shifting problems when slowing. I would be coming to a stop sign and the transmission wouldn't jump out of gear and the car would free roll. Once stopped the car would jerk and try to take off while foot on brake. Now the transmission shifts very hard to the point to feels like im in an accident or the engine is coming through the hood. When I accelerate onto freeway from ramp im scared that I may get rear ended because the car just wont accelerate properly to get into lane safe. This occurs everyday particularly when car warms up and I then begin to smell electric burn or oil burn.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #116

Jul 132010

Maxima

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the car does a hard jerk when I am on a residential street. Whether driving to 40mph or driving through a light, my 2005 Maxima, does a hard jerk like its shifting gears. This is a serious problem in the car but I was even more upset about the jerking my son is receiving in the back seat, waking him up when he is sleep. I have gotten the car looked at by many mechanics and dealerships, they are saying the transmission is going bad. I believe the car is too new for major work to be happening like this. $2,000- $4,000 of work on a car that looks like new and is still only 5 years old is crazy. I looked online and am seeing many people with the same problems. Hard jerking, slow to accelerate in slow areas, problem happening one day and may not be a problem the next. This is a very serious problem, I felt like an accident almost occurred with my car doing the jerks on the street. Please look into this for the families sake.

- Park Forest, IL, USA

problem #115

Aug 152010

Maxima

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima SE. The contact stated that the vehicle would make and unusually loud knocking when the gear was placed in park or reverse. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was diagnosed at the transmission. The transmission was replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 83,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #114

Apr 102010

Maxima

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle has difficulty shifting into gear. When accelerating the vehicle hesitates and then jerks into gear with alot of force. This problem creates a safety hazard as the vehicle does not accelerate as expected and may a lead to rear-end collision. Additionally it creates a safety hazard when merging into faster moving traffic (I.e. merging onto the highway). The problem has been identified as a faulty valve body that ultimately leads to the deterioration of the transmission and the issue has been reported by many Nissan customers.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #113

Oct 312009

Maxima

  • 52,000 miles
Transmission races and bangs. Started right after car was out of warranty. Contacted Nissan. Car is a Nissan Maxima 2005 with under 60,000 miles. The car's transmission starts to race and bang in stop and go traffic after car bangs a few times, its hard to get the car moving from a stop. We have been back and forth with Nissan and because the car is out of warranty they will charge us for this fix. We feel as though there is a defect in the transmission and this transmission should be recalled. We are getting prices for our car outside of Nissan because of the frustration we have gone through with them.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #112

Jun 042010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I need a new transmission already? well cared for 2005 Nissan Maxima started having transmission problems at approx 75,000 miles. Nissan has not done a recall and many complaints have already been made. My car has stopped in traffic 3 times already ! sometimes won't accelerate after coming to a complete stop without me having to restart the engine. Jerks when going to from 1st to second and vice versa. I'm still making $500 payments on the car! very discouraging, Nissan should be ashamed of themselves.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #111

Jul 102010

Maxima

  • 112,000 miles
Transmission from 1st to 2nd gear and 2nd to 1st gear, sometimes won't change and than slams into 2nd gear or will downshift into 1st gear to early. This causes no acceleration or stopping short. Have now read many complaints describing the exact same problem.

- Suffield, CT, USA

problem #110

Sep 022010

Maxima

  • miles
Its seems like the transmission in my 05 Maxima is going.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #109

Jun 012010

Maxima

  • 66,000 miles
2005 Nissan Maxima having transmission problems with only 67 thousand miles, car jerks forward when stopped, stalls, and jerks when trying to reverse, I have read hundreds of consumer reports and this an ongoing problem with Nissan, dealership says my transmission needs to be replaced at a cost of 3 to 4000! I don't have that kind of cash. And am in a world of trouble with no car.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #108

Jun 172010

Maxima

  • 69,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima and he it jerking when I put it in "D" and I have read many reviews and this car should be recalled. We spend too much money on these cars and they are not safe.

- Hattiesburg, MS, USA

problem #107

Aug 212010

Maxima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Maxima. While driving approximately 40 mph the vehicle drove as if it was changing gears. When she engaged the accelerator pedal, the vehicle was moving slowly as the vehicle accelerated and it began to jump and change gears, as if it was a manual vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the transmission needed replacing. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic since the dealer wanted $4400 to repair it. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The approximate and failure mileages were 81,000.updated 01/20/11 the consumer stated once the vehicle was placed in reverse, it didn't move immediately, but then it would jerk into gear after the accelerator was applied and the vehicle would take off very fast. Updated 03/24/11

- Hampton, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?