Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,448 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan Murano engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Jun 152006


  • 38,000 miles


I purchase this vehicle on Sept 9, 2005 with 28,158 miles from checkered flag auto dealer for my wife. I started having issues in June 2006 around 38K miles. My wife was stop at a red light on interstate 264 exit ramp on her way home from work. According to my wife, the red light turned green and the Murano hesitate on acceleration then started accelerating slowly. After about 3 feet from the light the Murano started jerking, RPM was raving high but the car wasn't moving then promptly speed up and shutoff in the middle of traffic, she tried restarting the vehicle but it would not turn over and the check engine light came on. The Murano was towed home and the following day I brought it to the Nissan dealership for repair. After about an hour the tech said my rubber intake vibrated off and charged me to put it back on. (now there's a recall for that, I wonder if it's too late to get a refund. NHTSA campaign number: 09V169000) a bad position camshaft sensor was the cause for the check engine light. I did not have the money to replace the camshaft position sensor at the time but when I did, replacing the sensors did not fix the check engine light. The Murano is still having the same problem after 6 years. I still owe $11K and I can't wait to get rid of this nightmare. This was the worst financial decision I ever made for my family. It kills (it might really kill me in traffic) me to know my wife and daughters do not have a dependable means of getting to daycare and work while I am deployed protection my country. I contacted Nissan many time and in a nutshell I was told too bad, I should call back when I want to purchase a new vehicle.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #31

May 102010


  • 56,000 miles
I have a 2003 Nissan Murano. About 1 week ago the check engine light came on. The car doesn't start right away and also stalls during operation. I took the car to the Nissan dealer and was told the camshaft position sensor has to be replaced.

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #30

Apr 122010


  • 125,000 miles
My 2003 Nissan Murano sl will sometimes be slow to respond to accelerator inputs. Usually after the vehicle has been driven about an hour, if I come to a stop at a red light or an off ramp, when I press the accelerator, nothing happens for a second or two, then the vehicle jumps forward at a rapid rate like I floored the gas pedal. This happens whether I depress the accelerator slightly or aggressively. Sometimes if it gets too bad, I will turn the car off then start it up again to reset the computer and it will fix the issue for a while. It is obviously some computer thing. My dealer is useless and I am tired of taking the car in to him. He doesn't fix things well if I tell him what is wrong, to ask him to diagnose a problem would be agonizing. I am just living with this until it gets worse, but it is definitely a safety issue.

- Montpelier, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 272010


  • 97,500 miles


2003 Nissan Murano cam position sensor code. My car has stalled and cut out while driving. The reason is the cam position sensor. Nissan says that my VIN number isn't part of the recall. I say it should be. It a very dangerous situation when you lose power unexpectedly.

- Rehoboth, MA, USA

problem #28

Mar 162010


  • 49,756 miles
Cam position sensor (via check engine light)

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #27

Jan 162010


  • 68,500 miles
In Jan 2010 while traveling on interstate at 65 mph the engine of my 2003 Nissan Murano suddenly died leaving me with no power steering or power brakes. It was terrifying, but luckily, I managed to get to shoulder without an accident. Car engine restarted without hesitation. After waiting 5 minutes with engine idling smoothly with no apparent problem, I exited to frontage road at next exit and, 3 miles later, at 30 mph the engine suddenly died again. Restarted and pulled into nearby parking lot. Car again restarted without problem. After 10 minutes of idling smoothly, engine died while parked. Had car towed to Nissan dealer. Nissan shop reported that the "crankshaft position sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced." I found that there was recall issued in 2003 for 2003 model year Nissan Murano for exactly this issue, but both dealer and Nissan usa, when contacted by me, said the recall did not apply to my VIN # (even though NHTSA indicated recall affected 600,000 vehicles). I believe the failure of my crankshaft position sensor is directly related to the faulty solder joints in the circuit boards for the crankshaft position sensor as described in this recall. I believe the following recall should be expanded to include all 2003 model year Nissan Murano vehicles: NHTSA campaign id number: 03V455000, Nissan recall #: R3022).

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 252010


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. While driving 25 mph the vehicle suddenly shut off. When the vehicle shut off the brake light began flashing and the brake pedal became difficult engage. The contact was forced to use the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The dealer informed the contact that the crank sensor needed to be replaced. There is a similar recall on other Nissan models regarding the engine and engine cooling (crank shaft sensor) but the 2003 Murano was not involved in the recall. The contact is concerned about the safety risk since there was no related recall for his year, make and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #25

Jun 122008


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. While driving the vehicle would stall, and the lights would fail without warning. After the vehicle stalls the check engine warning light illuminates on the instrument control panel. A representative from the manufacturer stated that her vehicle identification number was excluded from recall number 03V45500 ( engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #24

Sep 252009


  • 33,293 miles
During a routine service of my 2003 Nissan Murano, which has 33,293 miles on the odometer, the service technician noticed radiator fluid leaking from a hose that is located behind a fan-belt tension pulley. Upon closer inspection it was discovered that the bracket on which the pulley is mounted had failed causing the pulley to be pushed out of alignment and subsequently damaging the hose and belt, resulting in a repair cost of $450.27. The repair consisted of replacing all the effected components at my expense. As far as I know, the "defective bracket" was replaced with an identical item sharing the same defective qualities. Nissan will not divulge the reason for the brackets failure. My concern is: If this "pulley devise" had broken off the vehicle due to the failure of the bracket while I was driving at speed, it would have done incalculable damage, possibly causing me to loose control of the vehicle, probably causing an accident resulting in injury or loss of life. When I asked the service manager what caused the bracket to fail, he said he didn't know, but that I should consider myself fortunate that he discovered the problem when he did. Apparently, other owners were not so fortunate, their cars had to be towed and the damage was much more extensive. After the repairs were completed I asked to be given the defective and damaged parts and now have them in my possession.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 252009


  • miles
I have had to tow my vehicle 2003 Nissan Murano 3-4 times via acsc automobile club of southern calif and physically took it to the same company twice. Paid over $2900 out of my pocket in which I am disabled permanently due to heart disease and collect social security, and at one of my stales in the middle of laural canyon and roscoe blvd when I am not even allowed to pick up things under 5 pounds no pushing, pulling, kneeling, bending avoid wetness, fumes, gases, heights, humidity, dust you get the picture I am only 40 and I have the heart of an 75 yr old women anyways I hade to push my car all by myself for over 50 ft before someone helped me god was definetely watching over me!!!! now lets GT down to business like I said earlier I took my Murano to the same dealership they never could find out what was wrong I kept telling them about the car problem they never took me seriously. Av Nissan was the same stupid dealership charged me thousands and finally now the recall. I want my money back not all but they let me drive off never fixed the same complaint. As I described earlier about the stall in the intersection I have broken down 4 or 5 times and it was very phyisically hard on my whole body let alone my heart and that was just wrong!!!!!!

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 192008


  • 83,000 miles


Start having problems with my 2003 Nissan Murano around 80,000 miles. The car started to skip while running and soon after, the car seems to have no power. Sometime after driving it for 20 mins or more mostly coming off the highway, I would experience no power when accelerate". after turning, the car off and allow it to sit for 10 mins. The problem did not repeat until again driving over 20 mins and repeat as above. My service engine soon light came on shortly afterwards. I had my local autozone to run a diags test and two codes came up P0011"camshaft position bank 1 & P0021 camshaft position bank 2. I took the car to Nissan dealership and they too ran a diags test and both codes were present for failed intake timing sensors. They said the cars oil pressure was low and recommended a change. Nissan replaced both camshaft censors on 1/08/09. Total repairs & labor was $430 on 06/01/09 again the car was repeating the same problems. I took the car back to the same Nissan dealership and they ran another diags test. Again, codes P0011 & P0021 were present. The service tech explains the reason for the code was due to insufficient oil changes. Also, explain the car needs the 90000 mile service treatments. They performed the 27-point inspection "all" changed air filter, battery service lube locks, oil & filter change rotate tires. Total repairs and labor $334.99. When I pick the car up, the car still did not have the power it normally had before all the problems, however the engine check light was off and the tech told me to drive it and bring it back if problem occur. My total repairs this time $334.99. The car continue to miss & skip and would continue to have a loss of power and would delay when accelerating after driving more than 20 mins in 80 degree temp. I am still having problems; my vehicle should be part of the 03V455000 recall circuit board for the crank position sensors.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 282009


  • 55 miles
I have a Nissan Murano 2003, the check engine light has come on several times, and the car stalls when I press on gas it takes about 5 seconds or so to accelerate which almost caused an accident, one time earlier the car stalled stopped while driving on the highway and could have caused perhaps a deadly accident. I have been to Nissan dealer several times more then 4 with the same issue engine light and the issues. The latest time I went to Nissan they said it could be the transmission perhaps, this is a faulty car and something needs to be done.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #20

Jun 262009


  • 88,000 miles
Can stalls on highway while driving. Service engine soon light comes on. Car will not start--engine will not turn over after this occurs. No accident but could cause accident. Repairman initially stated it was a loose gas cap--tightened and service engine soon light went away. But it happened again yesterday and I stalled out at a light. Car would not start right away. Eventually did start.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #19

Jul 012009


  • 111,000 miles
I own 2003 Nissan Murano with around 111000 miles on it. At the beginning of July 2009 my car all of sudden lost all power when I was driving at around 40 mph, the engine seized, the check engine light came on. Luckily I was able to stop the car without any crash. I took the car to pep boys auto repair chain. I was told the failure happened due to a faulty crank position sensor. I had the repair made and the car is running fine now. When I was looking at your database I realized that there was a recall on 2003 Nissan Murano for the exact same problem that happened to me. The NHTSA campaign number for that recall was 03V455000. I contacted Nissan and was told my car did not fall under the recall as it was manufactured in a different plant than recalled vehicles. Any way I want to report this issue as I consider this a serious safety issue. After the engine seized driving at 40 mph I am glad I did not lose control of the car (there was no other vehicles around which helped) this is the information from recall 03V455000, this is exactly what happened to my car: This could cause the "service engine soon" warning light to come on, create a no start condition, cause reduced engine power, or cause the engine to stop running without warning during vehicle operation, which could result in a crash.

- Port Jefferson Station, NY, USA

problem #18

Jul 202009


  • 80,000 miles
My 2003 Nissan Murano has been stalling with no warning lights beforehand. Last week, the Nissan dealer told me that I needed a new battery which cost me $189. This week, my Murano is still stalling. Now, they told me that I need a new air flow meter and spark plugs which will cost me $821.64. That's more than $1,000 in two weeks on a car that's 6 years old with 80,000 miles! not to mention that the transmission had to be replaced at around $60,000... and numerous other repairs. Nissan is a company that does not stand behind its product....and I'm absolutely fed up with it.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #17

May 142009


  • 72,000 miles
This Nissan is not fit for the road it is showing signs of the recalls listed for this vehicle and the manufacturers will not fix the defects. This vehicle will not start right away and it lunges forward and could be serious.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #16

Apr 162009


  • 67,100 miles
Vehicle "service engine soon" light has come on, vehicle has varying pauses between pressing gas and vehicle reaction, vehicle stopped running while driving (with my pregnant wife driving and 18 month old son in vehicle), and restart has long crank duration. On April 17th, vehicle turned off at stop light while I was driving and restarted after long crank period. I pulled off to parking lot and car turned off and failed to recrank. This creates a very very dangerous condition in the vehicle just shutting off while driving! dealership indicated the cam sensors needed to be replaced. I have read that several other people have had similar experiences through researching this problem. I also understand that there has been a recall on crank position sensor or cam position sensor for this vehicle (year, make, model) for these exact problems, but when inquiring to Nissan about this, my VIN was not associated with the recall, despite being the same make, model, and year!

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #15

Nov 152008


  • 50,000 miles
Service engine soon lit up 3X. First 2 was covered by warranty. Third time had to pay around $100 just to check. Turns out there's computer is sensing gas vapor leak but when checked, turned out no leak but had to pay just to check. Ripoff!

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 232009

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. While driving approximately 40 to 50 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The check engine indicator illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle shut off a total of four times, but was able to be restarted. The contact took the vehicle to the repair shop for a diagnosis and the camshaft position sensor was initially determined to be the cause of the failure. The mechanic then stated that if the camshaft position sensor was replaced, it would not correct the failure. The contact was informed that the real issue was with the computer and electrical system in the vehicle. He was advised to take the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnosis. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact will take the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The current and failure mileages were 41,000. Updated 3/27/09 updated 04/01/09.(jb

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 142009


  • 66,250 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact noticed that the engine warning indicator illuminates on the instrument panel and then the vehicle stalls. The failure occurs primarily in the morning when the engine is cold. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling); therefore, the contact would have to pay approximately $400 for the repair. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. He called the manufacturer and was not provided with any assistance. The failure and current mileages were 66,250.

- Harwood Heights, IL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?