Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,936 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan Murano transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jul 212006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles


To date, we have had numerous problems with our 2003 Murano. We have replaced the throttle body, motor mount, battery, tcm and transmission. On July 21, 2006 our Murano made a loud noise then quit moving. We had it towed to the dealership where they stated it needed a new tcm. That did not fix the problem so they said we needed a new transmission. We had 64,000 miles. Since then we had the car for one day and took it back for yet a new problem with the rear axle.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #16

Mar 102006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While on the highway and then in stop and go traffic I pressed on the gas and my Murano moved slowly, then picked up speed. I took it to the dealer while under warranty, 57,898 miles, but they said the computer only needed to be reset. They did not document this problem. The problem didn't happen again until around 66,000 miles. I took it back they said they could not find anything. The problem happened again at around 68,000 but more and more during stop and go traffic and now they say I need a valve body and more than likely a new transmission at $6000. Nissan but out a service bulletin telling the repair shops to look for this problem because they know its a problem. I called Nissan and they said its my problem. They won't fix it nor will they help to fix it. This is a very dangerous problem if you need the power and suddenly you don't have it.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #15

Jun 122006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,161 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to apply pressure to the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would not move forward. After the vehicle started to slowly move, it was taken to a local dealership. The mechanic determined the valve body of the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer has been alerted. Updated 08/24/06.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #14

May 202006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles


2003 Nissan Murano AWD would accelerate and skip gears. If you are in stop and go traffic and you take your foot off the gas the car will lunge forward and try to go into a higher gear then first. This started happening intermittently then it happened several times in one day the Friday before memorial day 2006. On Saturday when we started the car it made a horrible clunking noise. We drove the car to the dealer and several days later we were told we would need a brand new transmission at a cost of $4000. The car has 78,000 miles and is 32 months old. All the miles are highway miles. We do not have an extended warranty because we have always owned Nissan cars and never had a problem. I have conducted research and found several consumers have experienced the transmission problems at various life cycles of the vehicle. Some had problems with in the first thousand miles. It is suspected that the problems are caused by the new cvt technology that Nissan first introduced in the Nissan Murano in 2003. I think this is a serious problem.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #13

Apr 152006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,800 miles
After driving on the highway, then stuck in stop & go traffic, car will not accelerate. Has happened 5 times, and is very dangerous. It takes at least 10 seconds for the car the accelerate. Was told can't be fixed unless problem can be recreated. I was unable to move out of the way for police when this last happened.

- Milford, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 192006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
Overall the vehicle has been very good. At approximately 65,000 miles the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The day before it failed I heard a noise but could not determine where it was coming from. On the day it failed the noise seemed not to be present. I exited a highway after a 1 1/2 drive and the transmission made a bump sound that made the car shake for an instant. Then, the transmission seemed not to engage. The car appeared to go into limp mode. I traveled for a few miles to a small town. After being parked for a few minutes the transmission again engaged. I called the dealer, and he said to get vehicle to them, and they would take a look. A few times along the way the transmission slipped. I was informed the following day that the transmission needed to be replaced at a cost of over $5,000. Nissan refused to help in anyway. They were simply turning their back on me because the warranty expired at 60,000 miles. I requested any contribution for repairs and they refused. It was a very sad corporate policy.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #11

Oct 182004

Murano 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The consumer states that the 2003 Nissan Murano experienced a loss of power while driving at 20 mph. The vdc off and the slip where the lights T came on in the dashboard. These lights came on the first time that this happened. The next time that the loss of power was experienced the light did not come on. The car has been at the dealership twice for this issue. The dealer has no idea why the car is doing this, specifically states the consumer. The consumer has contacted Nissan directly by mail and received a message from Nissan that they wanted to schedule a final repair attempt at the dealership. The Muranos shifter was also sticking, and you could not get the car to go into park or reverse. The car would not go any higher than neutral. The car has been in the dealership three times for this problem. The owners of the car have filed for the lemon law.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 272005


  • miles
2003 Murano radiator and transmission malfunctioned.** answer required***. the alternator was replaced after the alternator light illuminated on the dash. When accelerating suddenly the vehicle would hesitate.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #9

Mar 072005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
3/7/2005while driving to las vegas from dolan springs, when stopped at stop light in boulder city, nv- heard a loud clunk and the transmission locked up. Called Nissan roadside service and they towed to douglas Nissan in henderson, nv. 3/11/2005picked up car at douglas Nissan. On the way back to dolan springs, AZ.we smelled a lot of hot burning and when we stopped, we saw some smoke. The next day, we called douglas Nissan and they said wait for about 2 weeks to see if it continues, it is probably residue. 3/19/2005while in las vegas, we stopped at douglas Nissan to check we still had hot, burning smell. They discovered that the seal(s) were leaking. 3/23//2005we picked up the car and began drive back to dolan springs, AZ. When we got to about 15 miles (boulder city, nv), we again got the hot burning smell. We called douglas they found that the car was not fixed and was still leaking. We left car and they said would be done on 3/25. 3/24/2005made call to Nissan Nissan rep assured us car would be ready on 3/25. 3/26/2005we stopped back- car was still not fixed. They were not sure when it would be fixed. 3/29/2005car still at douglas Nissan and no idea when it will be fixed. They said they now thought it might have something to do with all-wheel drive seal. 4/30/2005car still not fixed. Parts ordered- may be on back order. No idea when it would be done. No explanation why car has been in dealership since 3/11- still not fixed. Basically, although we have had 2 months of frustration and stress, we still have enough confidence in Nissan and the Murano to purchase a new Murano.

- Garrison, MN, USA

problem #8

Jul 052005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
I have had my Murano 1 year and had no problems until now. It is a 2003 and has 22,000 miles on it. We were on vacation about 350 miles from home and I noticed what I thought was the transmission acting up. It just continued to get worse. I would stop at a red light and depress the accelator and nothing would happen until about 1 minute later. Luckily we made it in to a Nissan dealer and they checked it out and got with Nissan tech support. They verified it was the transmission. They are going to replace the entire transmission with a new one. Thank goodness it is under warranty! the Nissan dealership rented me a car to get back home from vacation and we will have to drive 350 miles back to pick up my Murano in about 3 to 4 days.

- Belmont, MS, USA

problem #7

May 082005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,500 miles


With no warning on a crowded interstate the vehicle lost all power to the drivetrain. Vehicle would rev in park but would do nothing in drive or reverse. Very busy interestate and almost hit in rear as car could not moe out of traffic. Dealer says cvt transmission failed. Dealer can not tell me what was wrong with the cvt and just says it needs replaced.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Feb 182005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
In February 2005 the alternator failed to charge the battery and the car slowed to a complete stop and the battery died in the middle of a busy intersection. I had to tow the car to the nearest dealership and the car was repaired 48 hours later. In March 2005 the gas tank lid wouldn't open and the car was running out of gas. I drove the car to the dealership and it took 48 hours to repair. However, the "repair" was done by prying the lid open and I still have not recieved the new part. In May 2005 the transmission failed in the middle of a busy intersection and I had to tow the car to the dealership. They still have the car and expect to have it for two weeks at least. They cannot guarentee that they will pay for the rental car costs which will amount to at least $350 at $25 a day. This car only has 35,000 miles on it.

- Marina Del Rey, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 092004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,459 miles
2003 Nissan Murano transmission failure with less than 24,000 miles. Transmission failed, wheels locked, unable to move or push the vehicle. Thankfully, it happened approaching a red light, no accident involved.

- Moon Township, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 232004

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Three separate incidents of cd-changer/player failure, each time unit was replaced with a "new" one. Two failures of rear cup holder. One failure of vehicle alternator at approximately 19,000 miles. Most recent failure was the ipdm control module at approximately 20,000 miles. Mysterious ongoing transmission hesitation, cause unknown.

- Hilliard, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 252004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The transmission in my Nissan Murano failed on April 25 2004. The dealership and Nissan, to this point, have been completely uncooperative. The car as of this date May 25 2004 is still sitting on their lot untouched.

- Wayland, MA, USA

problem #2

Apr 042003


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Nissan Murano SE 4WD has several issues. Firstly the right side sun visor clip is defective and will not hold visor in place: 3 trips to dealer have not resolved this issue as they never have the part. Secondly the cvt transmission presents a problem on holding the vehicle in place on a uphill incline...if you don't brake, the vehicle just rolls back, as opposed to standard auto transmission which locks, and prevents significant rollback.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #1

Oct 172003


  • 5,000 miles
While attempting to reverse out of driveway vehicle did not accelerate. Consumer had vehicle towed to the dealer. Mechanic informed the consumer that transmission failed. Consumer also had driveshaft and differential problems.

- Ramona, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?