Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,400.00
Average Mileage:
71,910 miles
Total Complaints:
3 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (2 reports)
  2. replaced transfer case (1 reports)
2003 Nissan Murano transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #3

Feb 192011

Murano

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am (mabye was) a big fan of my 2003 Nissan Murano AWD. Last week, I noticed some strange very minor response when I was trying to acclerate or brake. Then on Saturday (2/19/2011) there was faint knocking noise which turned into a large knocking noise. I thought the noise was coming from the tire. I took it to the Nissan dealer and their first diagnosis was to replace the rear differential at $2300. Then I got a call the next day and they told me its not the differential but the transfer case which cost $3400 to replace.

I always maintainf my vehicle well and take it to the dealer for routine maintenance. I googled this problem and found out that this is a known defect in the design of the Nissan CVT transmission and Nissan refuses to recall this problem. I'm currently in touch with Nissan consumer affair and demanding that they take care of this problem. If not, I will launch a Egyptian style facebbook revolt!!!!

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 042011

Murano

  • CVT transmission
  • 72,700 miles

On March 4, 2011, my Murano started making a strange clicking noise. The noise was upgraded to a loud banging and vehicle shaking. I took the Murano to my dealership in Gatineau and I was told that the problem was the transfer case. Here are the parts list on the estimate - transfer case assembly - AWD lock switch - AWD control unit

The quote for the repair? $5 468.07 plus diagnostic cost! No need to say I brought it back home (on a towing)

I contacted Nissan Canada twice regarding this issue. Still waiting.

- , Gatineau, QC, canada

problem #1

Mar 062011

Murano 3.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 59,030 miles

Here is are excerpts of my letters to NISSAN CANADA!

Good afternoon,

iT HAS BEEN 8 DAYS SINCE MY ORIGINAL COMPLAINT TO NISSAN AND I HAVE YET TO HEAR FROM ANYONE. TODAY, MARCH 16, 2011, I CALLED NISSAN AGAIN AND SPOKE TO ANNE AT EXT. 457408 AND WAS GIVEN A POLITE BRUSH-OFF AND TOLD THAT SHE WOULD MAKE NOTE THAT I CALLED AGAIN.

MY CAR HAS NOT BEEN FIXED AND I HAVE NOW MISSED A WEEK OF WORK AS I HAVE TO VEHICLE TO COMMUTE TO THE OFFICE. I HAVE BEEN WAITING PATIENTLY FOR NISSAN TO STAND UP AND OFFER ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER!!! ORIGINALLY, I WAS TOLD TO EXPECT 4 DAYS BEFORE I HEARD FROM SOMEONE.

PLEASE CONTACT ME AT ------------. I HAVE MADE MYSELF VERY VOCAL ABOUT MY DISCONTENT WITH NISSAN CANADA REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND WILL CONTINUE TO DO SO. I WILL NOT HAVE THE VEHICLE SERVICED UNTIL I HEAR FROM SOMEONE IN A DECISION MAKING POSITION FROM NISSAN.

KIM C**

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- To: information.centre@nissancanada.com Subject: Attn: DEBBIE: CUSTOMER SERVICE Customer complaint-2003 Nissan Murano--CUSTOMER #-------- Date: Tue, 8 Mar 2011 14:32:56 -0500

Good afternoon,

On March 2, 2011, my Murano started making a strange clicking noise under the hood. It sounded like there was a rock in the tire or a loose part under the front end. By March 3, 2001, the noise was upgraded to a loud banging, with the whole front end of the vehicle shaking. I took the Murano to my mechanic Touchette Auto in Ottawa on March 4, 2010 for a diagnostic and was later contacted March 7, 2010 and told that the noise was a transmission issue and that I had to take it to a transmission specialist. I started my search online for problems of this nature and was astounded to find that the CVT transmission issue is a huge problem in the 2003 Nissan Murano....so much so that I am surprised that a class action lawsuit has not been taken up with Nissan!

I contacted my warranty company and they advised me that the transmission issue would be covered by Nissan because of the Extended Warranty related to the CVT tranmission for up to 10 years/120,000 km. I was relieved to hear this and promptly took my Murano to receive attention at 417 Nissan, 1599 Star Top, Gloucester, Ontario (613)749-9417. Today, March 8, 2010, I received a call from John GOOD of 417 Nissan with my diagnostic results. I was told that the problem was NOT the transmission but gave me a list of problems as follows: -transfer case -transmission seal (x2--apparently for each end of the transmission.) -catalytic converter -O2 sensor -switch control unit

The quote for this repair? $6333.00 plus diagnostic cost! Mr. GOOD said that none of this was covered by the extended warranty!! I went back to A-Protect Warranty Corporation and was advised that the Nissan quote was ridiculous and that all of those issues are related to the transmission. They said that they could direct me to another transmission mechanic who would repair the vehicle for much cheaper and that they would only cover $400.00 of the repairs.

I know that I am not the first person to contact Nissan Canada regarding this issue. I know when am being given the runaround. I am not being unreasonable when I say that Nissan is trying to pass the buck by claiming that the transfer case/seals are not covered by the Extended CVT Warranty. It has been the subject of many complaints and I know that Nissan has paid for the repairs when they have been pushed against the wall. Trust me, I am willing and able to push against the wall if need be. The CVT Transmission has been a headache for Nissan and I can't believe that when customers ask for compensation, they are being turned away with a "sorry, we can't help you."

How can a part-the transfer case-and the seals on either end of the transmission---which are all directly related to this faulty CVT transmission not be considered part of the warranty coverage? If I tell you right now that I don't have $6333.00 to fix the vehicle and I drive it until the transmission blows up, will Nissan cover the damage then(under the Extended Warranty of course!) Because that is what I will do!

I have spent the last 2 days being bounced back and forth, trying to have someone offer assistance in this matter. I have spent hours on the phone with Nissan customer service reps in Canada and the US and no one wants to help me. I have never been so frustrated with a company and I will not just walk away quietly, accepting the cop out of Nissan on standing by their product!! I am viewing over 500 complaints on Edmunds.com regarding Nissan's unwillingness to help their customers. That is only one website.....I can list many more!

- , Orleans, Ontario, canada

Not what you are looking for?