Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,254 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 10 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #253

Jul 312010


  • 60,000 miles


2005 Nissan Murano drivers side seat back left weld broke.

- N. Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #252

Jul 292010


  • 98,000 miles
1. normal use and driving 2. has failed 1 time, seat rocks everytime I turn 3. welded a new bracket on the seat. This eventually broke as well.

- Tolland, CT, USA

problem #251

Feb 252010


  • miles
Drivers car seat rattles from side to side causing difficulty when driving - serious safety hazard. Nissan Murano- 2006.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #250

Jan 102010


  • 72,000 miles


On Jan, 2010 the driver's side seat had failed on my 2005 Nissan Murano. The driver's seat frame had broken causing the seat to rock from side to side and front to back. The seat has a factory defect causing the frame to fail. There are hundreds of complaints for the 2004, 2005 2006 and 2007 Nissan Murano with the same failure. This is terribly dangerous and will cause loss of control and life threatening.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #249

Jul 252010


  • 51,893 miles
The front drivers seat frame broke under normal operating conditions after getting into my vehicle (I weight about 160lbs, 5'7" tall) on July 25th, 2010. I have not yet gotten this problem fixed because it is going to cost about $900 to fix it.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #248

Jul 172010


  • 38,361 miles
On July 17, 2010 the driver's side seat had failed on my 2005 Nissan Murano. The driver's seat frame had broken causing the seat to rock from side to side and front to back. The seat has a factory defect causing the frame to fail. There are hundreds of complaints for the 2004, 2005 2006 and 2007 Nissan Murano with the same failure. This is terribly dangerous and will cause loss of control and life threatening. Fortunately for me, I was driving in a parking lot and going rather slow. On July 26, 2010 I had the Nissan dealership repair the seat and replaced the defective part. The cost was $471.43.

- Aberdeen, NJ, USA

problem #247

Jul 202010


  • 70,000 miles


1. the events leading up to the failure. - all I did was sit on the seat and raise it to a different height. 2. the failure, how often it occurs, its consequences; and, - the metal frame broke underneath the seat resulting in the drivers seat rocking back and forth. 3. what was done to correct the failure; I.e, parts repaired or replaced (and if old part is available) nothing at this time, the dealer wants over 1,000 dollars to replace the seat frame. I'm considering welding the seat at this time.

- Round Hill, VA, USA

problem #246

Jul 222010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 44,470 miles
The rear left bracket on the driver seat of my 2005 Nissan Murano failed suddenly while I was driving at a constant speed in a straight line. The vehicle has 44K miles on it and has had no symptoms of an impending seat failure. The failure caused the seat to swiftly rock back and to the left, causing me to lose control of the vehicle momentarily. Luckily I didn't hit anything, and I was able to regain control of the vehicle. I had my 6 month old baby in the car, and this situation put her at unacceptable risk of injury. Discussions with Nissan corporate (1-800-nissan1) and the dealer have been fruitless. Both were aware that this was a known problem, with a tsb issued years ago (Nissan tsb ntb05-043D). They were unsympathetic to the danger their design flaw posed to my family. Nissan offered to fix the problem, at a cost to me of $670. A safety issue like this, even explicitly mentioned in the NHTSA list of examples of safety-related defects (seats and/or seat backs that fail unexpectedly during normal use), is absolutely unacceptable. I am completely at a loss to understand why this issue has existed for years in multiple Muranos without a recall being issued. Just look at all of the other complaints listed on this site. Hundreds of them. Something needs to be done.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #245

Jul 242010


  • 70,750 miles
I just recently purchased a used 2005 Murano. The car now has approximately 70,750 miles on it. As I was getting into the car to go get groceries, I felt the seat immediately rock to the rear left. I got out of the car to see what was wrong and because of the plastic near the base of the seat I wasn't able to identify, but noticed that I could lift the seat up back and forth. I didn't purchase an extended warranty which I believe wouldn't have mattered anyway from everyone's previous postings, but I cannot afford 1000$ for a repair that everyone seems to be having in the same exact place. This should be a safety hazard and one that is fixed by Nissan. This isn't a radio going out or anything of the sort. The seat moves when you make turns, etc, and makes me wonder if it really was worth purchasing this car for this amount of money for this to happen 2 months later. Nissans are supposed to be fantastic cars and hold their value. So far, I am not seeing it. Please recall this defect. It shouldn't take peoples lives to be put at risk to have anything done. Look what happened with Toyota?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #244

May 182010


  • 44,490 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Murano that I bought used from carmax in 2007. I have had regular service performed by an asce certified mechanic since then. On 5/18/10 at less than 45K mi, the base of my driver seat suddenly broke one morning when I got into the car (parked in my garage). I weigh <120 lbs and was stunned. It was an obvious safety issue that could have resulted in serious injury, so I had it repaired immediately (5/20) through my regular mechanic. Total cost was $942.66 ($742.08 for the part & $127.50 for labor). I was extremely upset about being forced to pay so much for something beyond my control. Everyone agreed that it should never have happened, even my local Nissan dealership. The dealership confirmed it was classified as a mechanical defect, checked recalls (none), and suggested I call Nissan Consumer Affairs specifically to request goodwill assistance (compensation for repairs). They said since I had the repair done at an asce certified mechanic, the request should be fine. Nissan Consumer Affairs took my info & and established a case #6838133 on 6/9/10. I was assured I would be contacted by a regional specialist w/N 24 hours. When I did not receive a return call, I placed 5 more calls over the next several weeks. All assured me they were urgently requesting the regional specialist/supervisor to contact me. I re-contacted my local Nissan dealership at that point, who then attempted to call on my behalf and seek assistance through their area representative. After the 7th call, Ms. Jimenez (rude) called back to explain that Nissan's policy doesn┐T allow compensation for repairs not handled by Nissan, even though Nissan employees told me differently and were calling on my behalf. I want compensation for the $942.66 I paid for a manufacturer's mechanical breakdown-seat base should not have broken- which could have caused serious injury or death to me/my passengers. Ca dca found similar 2008 complaint thru NHTSA dismissed B/C no one hurt badly enough"!!"

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #243

Jun 052010


  • 70,000 miles


I have a 2005 Nissan Murano. My driver side seat just suddenly broke while I was driving. I spoke to another Nissan Murano owner and she told me hers did the same thing and Nissan charged her $500 to replace it. I think this is a bi ridiculous that there are so many complaints about these seats and Nissan hasn't recalled it.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #242

Jul 122010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Murano. The bracket weld under the drive seat was snapped suddenly. The drive seat is lopsided to the left while driving. I have to insert some wood blocks underneath the seat to keep it level.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #241

May 122010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Murano AWD. The power drivers seat track has broken for no apparent reason. The problem seems to be on the left side and when I turnto the left, the seat raises up and gives you the feeling that you might tip out of the seat. The seat is also loose when entering or existing the vehicle. When I took it to the dealer to be fixed, they informed me that it would cost over $800 to fix and that it was not covered under and extended warranty. Due to the extreme cost, I cannot afford to have this fixed.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #240

May 012010


  • 59,000 miles
Drivers side seat frame broken, dealer refused repair while under extended warranty.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #239

Jul 092010


  • miles
My driver side seat in my 2005 Nissan Murano with 57, 000 has a broken bracket. The seat tilts back and forth on the left side, which make it impossible and unsafe to drive.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #238

Jun 192010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 68,400 miles
Nissan Murano VIN-[xxx] - driver side front seat rear frame defect my vehicle driver side rear seat frame broke on 06/19/2010 approximately around noontime. As I was driving my Murano Nissan and came to a stop at a stoplight, I heard a hard snap and felt a little jerk towards my left side. Unsure of what it was, I continued to drive my vehicle down the road. As I was driving my vehicle, I felt a rough thumping underneath my seat. I thought for a minute that my front driver side tire was going flat or had some kind of problem. As I drove further to find a safe place to pull over to check it, I felt my front seat sway back and forth, as I accelerated and as I was braking. I accelerated again to make sure that the swaying motion was actually happening. Again, the swaying motion (back and forth) of the front seat occurred. I looked underneath the front driver side rear seat and saw what looked like a black metal track frame supporting the seat. In the area towards the rear left side of the frame was one of four metal prongs that were broken away from the metal track frame of the seat. Knowing that this was a very unsafe issue, I looked for help to resolve the issue as soon as possible. Using the internet, I found numerous shocking complaints sites regarding Nissan Muranos┐ rear seat breakage. I contacted a local news station (3onyourside), who investigated the issue and found it to be legitimate and true. Not only was my vehicle in question about the defective part, several hundred complaints were found throughout the internet. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #237

Jun 122010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 29,855 miles
2005 Nissan Murano - I was driving and left side of drivers seat all of a sudden popped & sagged & I felt seat move around like it wasn't attached to base. It was very scary to drive it - I took it to the Nissan dealer & they said a new seat frame would be $1300 but they could weld it for $350. My car only has 29,800 miles. Looking at all the similar complaints on the internet, I 'm wondering why Nissan hasn't issued a recall for this.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #236

Jun 292010


  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact was driving about 20-25 mph when the drivers side seat anchor broke. The seat began to rock and repeatly hit the driver's side door. The seat was lowered to the lowest position to stop the rocking. The dealer was notified and the vehicle was scheduled to be taken to the dealer on July 1. the manufacturer was notified and they told her there was no recall on the vehicle and gave her a report number. The failure and current mileage was 72,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #235

Jun 252010


  • 75,426 miles
Broken bracket on the driver's seat frame making the seat rock from side to side while vehicle is in motion.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #234

Sep 052009


  • 68,000 miles
Dangerous seat failure on my 05' Nissan Murano. The driver's seat frame has broken causing the seat to rock from side to side when cornering. This is terribly dangerous and will cause loss of control. The dealers are quoting a price of over $800 to repair something that should never have failed. I have investigated this problem on line and have found that some owners are having the seat welded abd that fixes the problem but Nissan is not offering that low cost option because they have no mechanics that weld!!!

- Cary, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?