Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,254 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 14 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #173

Sep 052009


  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The driver-side front seat would not move forward or backwards. As a consequence, the driver could not reach the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and and a technician stated that it would cost $1000 to repair the vehicle. No repairs were made. He was in the process of contacting the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 46000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #172

Sep 012009


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. When decelerating or making a right or left turn the drivers seat moved out of position. As a consequence, she lost control of the vehicle, and almost crashed into an intersection. She notified the dealer, and a technician speculated that the failure was caused by drivers with a heavy weight class; however, she has a small stature. The technician would not assume responsibility for the failure; therefore, no repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 32,000.

- Stafford, TX, USA

problem #171

Sep 122009


  • 52,000 miles
About a week ago I sat down in my 2005 Nissan Murano and heard a crack and the seat began to rock. I looked under the back of the seat and noticed the seat riser had broken. This surprised me as I am not a heavy guy, I weigh 200 pounds. The seat hasn't seen any damage out of the ordinary wear and tear, and the car has never been in an accident either. I figured it was just a single defect and took it to my dealer to get it fixed. They told me it was going to cost just over $1000 to replace the bracket. They also told me every single Murano they have sold has this problem. I got online to see if I could find someone to fix it cheaper and found out not only have many people had there seat break, but in the exact same place. At this point I think this is a safety issue and Nissan needs to right it. I can't imagine the outcome for someone if one of these seats break during an accident. Nissan needs to make a bracket with thicker metal and replace all these faulty ones before somebody gets seriously injured because of it.

- Moscow, ID, USA

problem #170

Sep 022009


  • 44,000 miles


I own a 2005 Nissan Murano that I purchased new. A few days ago when I got into the car the drivers seat seemed to come loose. It wobbles badly. I took the vehicle to the local Nissan dealership. I was told that the seat bracket had broken and I would need a new seat. The cost of the new seat plus installation would be approximately $1,000. Nissan customer service has told me that Nissan has no obligation to repair the problem. The car has 44,000 miles. I am the only driver and take exceptional care of the vehicle. I find other complaints online about this exact situation. Nissan is aware of the problem. This is a serious flaw in design. How can Nissan dismiss responsibility and liability for this serious safety issue" if the seat bracket fails for no apparent reason what might happen in an accident"

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #169

Sep 232009


  • 53,000 miles
My driver's seat broke in the same manner as a number of other driver's. there is plenty of instances available that should be considered to find a quick resolution to this dangerous issue. the driver seat is anchored on the right side but is loose from the left rear, allowing significant rocking back and forth and right to left when taking turns, hitting the brakes or anytime the car is moving. I bought this car new in 2005 and am happy to say I am healthy enough to not be on record guinness as the heaviest person that could brake a car seat. Both the dealer (weston Nissan, at weston, Florida) and Nissan denied my claim on 9/24/2009.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #168

Jul 012009

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,005 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The driver seat assembly failed while driving approximately 60 mph. The manufacturer took a report number 566097; however, they will not assist with the repair. The dealers estimated cost to repair the seat assembly was $1,000. The vehicle will be repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 5,005 and the current mileage was 60,000. Updated 10/26/09. Updated 10/26/09

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #167

Mar 112009


  • miles


The drivers seat leans completely to left.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #166

Sep 142009

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. On September 14, 2009 while driving 45 mph, the driver seat lowered. He noticed that the lifter assembly failed. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer and the manufacturer will be notified. The current and the failure mileages were 42,000. Updated 11/12/09 the bracket located on the rear driver seat was broken at the connection point which required welding. Updated 11/16/09

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #165

Sep 152009


  • 63,300 miles
Nissan Murano 2005 driver seat support bracket broke. The seat started to show some movement during turns and stops while car was under warranty but dialer refused to change anything claiming that it is a normal movement. Now this bracket finally broke. After looking at the bracket design it is obvious that 1/8" thk bent bracket with a cut-out where only a total of 3/4" of width is left would not be enough to support the seat for too long. Metal fatigues and brakes. It did happened to my car on 9/15/09 on the country road during the right turn. I was fortunate enough to be able to "clamp" on my steering wheel to avoid loosing control of the vehicle due to seat falling back. I can only imagine what would happen to this seat during the car wreck. Nissan refuses to replace the broken part at their expense although it is clear that the part that brackets is not a wear item it should provide the sufficient support throughout the life of a vehicle without compromising the passenger safety. Somebody needs to get involved and make Nissan to take care of this problem before people will get hurt or killed.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #164

Aug 292009


  • 34,000 miles
Driver seat in Nissan Murano fails suddenly while driving - bracket in seat becomes unwelded. Almost caused a crash when it failed. Nissan is aware of this defect and refuses to recall. Definite safety issue.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #163

Aug 082009

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


Letter from senator specter on behalf on constituents, re defect in the 2005 Nissan Murano. The drivers side seat frame/track is currently broken. The consumer stated it caused the seat to tilt toward the door.

- Richlandtown, PA, USA

problem #162

Aug 252009


  • 61,007 miles
The contact a 2005 Nissan Murano. When entering the vehicle he noticed that the drivers seat fell backwards into the rear seat. The contact then proceeded to pull the seat up but it would not stay in place. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who confirmed that the seat was broken. The estimated repair cost was 1,000. No repairs have been made and the manufacturer will be notified. The contact is aware of the safety risk since the driver and passenger seat could fall backwards without warning and possibly cause a crash. The failure mileage was 61,007 and the current mileage was 61,010.

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #161

Jul 312009


  • 49,816 miles
1. 2005 Nissan Murano - everyday use led up to the failure. 2. the seat bracket on the driver side has broken or sheared off at a point and this causes the seat to rock back and to the left dramatically while driving. 3. Nissan refused to cover under warranty, and with the part costing $750, it is yet unfixed.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #160

Apr 302009


  • 46,000 miles
The driver seat broke off it, S base. While turning right, I could actually feel my body lift. Nissan denied my claim for repair because the car was 3years old. I took the car to the closest shop to have it repaired for safety reasons. The base was ordered from Continental Nissan and replaced at a cost of $972. I filed a claim with Nissan corporation. It was denied on Aug 28th primarily because I took the car to an independent repair shop. There was no way that I could have driven an unsafe car for 4months until that decision was made.

- Bellwood, IL, USA

problem #159

Aug 062009


  • 60,000 miles
Nissan Murano 2005 : drivers power seat. The drive gear (made of plastic) is stripped by the worm gear (metal). I have spoken with my dealer and Nissan North America. They will not assist me with the $1000 repair. If Nissan would supply just the drive gear this repair could be made easily. They do not have the part. You must buy the entire seat track.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #158

Sep 022009

(reported on)


  • miles
Letter from congressman gerlach on behalf of constituent re problem with her 2005 Nissan Murano. The driver's seat anchor broke.

- Wayne, PA, USA

problem #157

Aug 012009


  • 50,000 miles
Driver seat bracket broken in the rear left (by the door) side.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #156

Aug 212009


  • 63,475 miles
2005 Nissan Murano- driver's left rear seat mount failed causing seat to sway during turns and breaking. Seat mounts likely to totally fail in crash situation. Numerous incidents known from internet search for similar failures on this make and model vehicle.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #155

Aug 202009


  • 38,000 miles
2005 Nissan Murano. Driver's seat rear left bracket is broken. It is a small, thin, L-shaped bracket that is broken in two places. The seat is no longer "attached" to the frame (on this corner) and the seat rocks when you sit in it and as you are driving it. There was no crash and both drivers of this vehicle weigh less than 200 lbs, so over-stressing is not a problem. This occurred in August of 2009 and it has not yet been repaired. The dealership wants $910 for the repair or $700 for the part alone. I am concerned that if there is a crash, the seat will not remain attached to the car.

- Germantown, OH, USA

problem #154

Aug 272009


  • 42,215 miles
The bracket for my 2005 Nissan Murano driver seat broke.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?