Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,310 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 172011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact noticed one of the two fuel tank protectors partially detached from the frame. The vehicle was previously repaired in 2006 for a recall related to the similar defect under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). The remedy repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified regarding the most recent failure and they advised him to take the vehicle to a dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 10/31/11 updated 11/07/11

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 102009


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds over a bump, the sun visor would fall down without assistance. The sun visor would remain in an upward position when secured with velcro straps. In addition, the passenger side air bag sensor would not function. While dispensing fuel the automatic nozzle clicked off continuously. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 06V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The VIN was not included in the recall. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Pickering, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 182010

(reported on)

Murano 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Nissan Murano. Consumer states issues related to the seat damage and other problems with vehicle the consumer stated when her vehicle was returned to her the seat was broken. The dealership claimed they didn't damage the seat and that a seat weld was broken. The dealership implied that maybe the consumers husband broke the seat due to his size when he exited the vehicle when he dropped it off. The consumer also stated she was charged for recall work relating to the gas tank assembly.

- Mickleton, NJ, USA

problem #12

Oct 062007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles


Failure of fuel tank that had a safety recall - after installing the guard on tank tank still split open causing gas to go all over the road we could have died. Defective design with tank on bottom of vehicle dangerous close to road.

- Lighthouse Point, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 162007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,800 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that there was a safety recall on the vehicle which was repaired. The recall was on a gas tank protector. The safety recall repair did not keep something from flying up into the contact's gas tank. The contact stated that while driving on the road, the tire kicked something back into the gas tank. The contact later found that the gas tank had been punctured. The contact was driving 65 mph, and the weather was clear. The current and failure mileage wer both 16800 miles.

- Somerspoint, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Sep 012005

Murano Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated there were strong gas fumes coming from the vehicle. The gas fumes would fill the garage. The contact took the vehicle to the Nissan dealer and the fuel system was replaced. The contact stated that the smell gas fumes continued. The contact received a recall for the fuel system in April 2006. The failure mileage was 16,000. The fuel system was replaced again. The dealer also added fuel tank protectors. The contact continued to smell gas fumes. In January 2007, the contact took the vehicle back to the dealer because of the gas fumes. The dealer replaced the evaporator canister because they found gas in it. The failure mileage was 27,000. The contact was told this was the reason for the gas fumes. The contact stated that when she returned home she saw some type of tar sealant around the fuel tank assembly. The dealer did not inform her of this. The contact stated the gas fumes were now worse. The contact has been in contact with the Nissan corporate office. The contact stated the gas fumes were making her ill.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 202006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,300 miles


: the contact stated the fuel tank leaks. The contact can still smell gas fumes very strongly. An NHTSA recall, # 06V054000 and 06V003000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The vehicle is currently at the dealership awaiting inspection.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #8

Apr 012006

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer dissatisfied with the safety of the Nissan Murano. ***** the consumer received a recall 06V054000 which referenced the fuel tank. The recall indicated that a fitting for vapor recirculation, which is welded on the fuel tank, may come off the fuel tank because incorrect material was used. The dealer did not have the part to perform the recall repair.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 262006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Today while out of town we were attempting to refill our 2005 Nissan Murano. After I had got beyond the half full point someone at the gas station pointed out that there was something leaking from our vehicle. After closer inspection by myself and then a mechanic at the service station it was noted to have a hole in the gas tank. I am unsure what caused this hole to occur being that we never heard anything actually hit the vehicle. Not only did this put a damper on our weekend getaway but we also found out how little coverage the extended warranty provided to us, which was a shock since we were very pressured into buying this extended warranty and were told that the vehicle would be covered and also that we would have 24 hour roadside assistance. After contacting the Nissan 24hr roadside assistance we learned that we had no coverage.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #6

Oct 312005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,150 miles
I bought a new 2005 Nissan Murano on 8/8/05. On 10/31/05, I hit debris on I-95. It punctured my fuel tank and gasoline leaked from it. I had to call the fire department to dispose the gasoline. I filed a complain with Nissan corporation. They refused to compensate me for the damage. I had to pay for the replacement of a new fuel tank myself.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 042005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


While traveling South bound on hwy 95 needles California in a 35 mph zone apiece of debris (possibly vehicle fender molding strip) struck the gas tank of our 2005 Nissan Murano causing the tank to rupture. The vehicle was towed to copper canyon Nissan (lake havasue AZ) where the tank will be replaced. The cost for replacement will exceed $750, not including loss of fuel. My wife who was driving at the time is nine months pregnant and upon parking the vehicle at her work location was informed of the leak. The possible hazards with this are tremendous. The fire department was notified so they could place quick spill clean up due to the fuel leaking on, and running down the street. The tanks rupture was catastrophic causing the fuel leak to be excessive and from multiple holes. The tow truck operator increased the hole to release the rest of the fuel for transportation. He (tow driver) stated that the rupture was significant and dangerous. The service department was notified of the NHTSA finding and statement on 9-21-05 (re: Opening investigation into Murano tank leaks from road debris) at which time they stated they were unaware of such a problem but would contact Nissan. I will also be following up a complaint to Nissan about this possible hazard.

- Bullhead , AZ, USA

problem #4

Aug 272005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles
Regarding the NHTSA investigation of a problem with the fuel tank of the Nissan Murano where the fuel tank is susceptible to punctures from road debris during normal driving conditions. I had the exact same problem. On Aug 27th, 2005 while driving from Florida to toronto on highway I-95 a piece of debris on the road hit a lower corner of the gas tank of my 2005 Nissan Murano, making a crack in that spot. I noticed the gas level dropping fast and pulled over 2 to 3 miles ahead at exit 53, walterboro, SC and verified the gas tank was punctured. I called the Nissan roadside service, they advised to call the local police to get a report and the fire department to ensure the car was safe for towing. Nobody was injured. The car was taken to a dealership in orangeburg, SC the next Monday where they ordered a tank. I called Nissan Consumer Affairs, explained everything, they opened a case to help speed up the shipment of the tank. They have a record of the problem. The car was ready on Aug 31st, 2005. I have a claim number from Nissan roadside service. Another interesting thing is that when I got the car brand new from the dealership, a month before the previous incident, on July 23rd, 2005, it had a leak in the gas tank. It started with a smell of gas and the "service engine soon" indicator lit at all the times. That happened within a day of getting the car. The dealership replaced the tank, the smell was gone, but not the problem with the "service engine soon" indicator. After a number of emission tests they also replaced a valve in the exhaust conduct that runs from the gas tank to the car exhaust. After that the indicator came back on, so they replaced the car computer. This time the problem was resolved, or at least it has not happened again. It's fair to say the dealership service people were very helpful and notified Nissan right away to get them involve since the start.

- Mississauga, 00, USA

problem #3

Oct 152005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,200 miles
Gasoline tank punctured while driving normal highway speeds - by debris in the road. Both gasoline and radiator fluid spilled from my car.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #2

Aug 012005


  • 2,500 miles
Incident: 2005 Nissan Murano purchased on July 5, 2005 from collins Nissan in indianapolis, Indiana. Vehicle id # [xxx] I was driving West on interstate 86 through NY state on the morning of August 1, 2005. A few miles West of corning, NY I noticed the smell of gas. Stopped at a rest area and noticed gas leaking on the parking lot. I proceeded to jamestown, NY (50 miles) to take the car to the closest Nissan dealer.. signature Nissan 716 664 0175 discovered that something had gone through the gas tank and I would need to replace it. He showed me how the gas tank drops down and has a smooth unprotected surface facing forward where (what ever it was that hit the tank) went through the plastic surface. I delivered the damaged gas tank to collins Nissan and it is being held at there service department for further inspection... for over 50 years of driving, I have never had anything like this happen to me while driving many makes of cars. I am concerned about the way the tank hangs down, has a vulnerable surface, and is not protected from road hazards....the leaking gas could have caused much bigger problems. I am concerned that this could happen again with much worse results. Updated 07/19/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #1

Apr 012005


  • 100 miles
2005 Nissan Murano experienced problems with the gas tank. The consumers wife was driving the vehicle when all of a sudden she heard a clunk under the vehicle. When she arrived at her destination, she discovered smelled gas and saw that the gas was pouring from the gas tank forming a pool under and around the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where it was discovered that the gas tank had a gaping 2-3 inch hole in it. The consumer was concerned that the material used in the manufacturing of the gas tank was either defective or improper for the use in intended.

- Stratford, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?