Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,275 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 172009

Murano 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. While driving approximately 15 mph the vehicle suddenly stalled. There was also a whining sound before the vehicle would decelerate and lose power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times. The technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The most recent failure occurred when the transfer case malfunctioned. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000 updated 12/12/11 updated 02/01/12

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #14

May 082011

Murano

  • 88,000 miles
My Murano sl AWD 2005 just stopped in traffic and also while it was idling. It was moving and when I got to traffic, it stalled and wouldn't budge even thought the lights were still on. This is a real problem because an 18 wheeler can just Ram into me when this mishap happens. Updated 08/05/11

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 222011

Murano

  • 72,130 miles
When I first start my car in the garage it just died right away no lights. Then I started it up again, drove to the grocery store about 2 miles away. I then got into the car to drive out of the highway headed for home. Traveling about 1 miles in the middle of turning into a very busy main street, my car just slow down and I pushed on the gas pedal the car would idle and not move. It was a very scary moment because many cars coming close hitting me and other cars almost collided into each other. I tried to turn the car off and on just to get the car moving out of the traffic. It would not let me accelerate, then it would shake and sit there. My daughter and I were scared too death and prayed the whole time. Finally I called desperately begging for them to come and after about 45minutes the tow company truck showed up. I changed my oil faithfully and never had any problems or lights would tell me my car is in trouble. I had to tow the car to the nearest Nissan dealer across the town. I went home all stressed out because I couldn't afford a car problem and the cost. I just got out of surgery a week ago. I was searching what kind of problem could I possibly have, then I came across alot of people have the same issue like I did. Then on Monday, the dealer called and asked if I had transmission I told them no. The main service man from Nissan dealer told me that the transmission has a major problem and had to be replaced. My heart just dropped and it's a good thing that he said they will place an order and replaced this with a new transmission and I would not have my car back (not sure when). I paid $90 for tow services and don't have a car until when to get to work. This is horrible experience and not right that this happens to us. We really depend on this car for my family and take care of this fairly new car. I usually don't complain but this is one important that everyone needs to know before someone dies. Nissan needs to accept responsibility!

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #12

Jul 202005

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After purchasing a 05 Nissan Murano, a month later the airbag light started to flash. Took it to the dealer and the airbag module was replaced and system was reset. In late 06 the airbag light start flashing again, the dealer reset the system, worked fine until Oct of 08 at this point my extended warranty has ended. They reset the system and pulled the code from the unit. I was then told that the spiral cable aka clockspring cable is faulty that is the reason why the airbag light turns on at random times. I was quoted a little over $2000 for the repairs and was told there is nothing that can be done since my extended warranty has ended ask to talk to a manager and was told the same thing. Also on the way home from the dealer that day the airbag light came on again, when I called them I was given the instructions on how to reset the airbag light. I ask the if the airbag system will work if there is an accident and was told they cant guarantee it will but it should if the system is reset and the light is not on. From that day to now I have to reset the system at least once every 2 weeks. The other issue that I've had is with the transmission seals leaking with causes the oil level to get low and makes it loud and increases the RPM while driving. I had the seal replaced 3 times, once under original warranty, once with extended warranty and just recently had to pay for repairs. And again asked to talk to a service manager about this since its the same part being replaced 3 times, and was told there is nothing that can be done since there is no extended warranty.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 292009

Murano

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. While driving various speeds, the vehicle decelerates without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the pressure sensor inside of the transmission was the cause of the failure and needed to be replaced. The transmission was replaced, but the failure was noticed immediately afterwards. The failure and current mileages were 67,000.

- Northeastern, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 182009

Murano

  • 73,000 miles
The cvt transmission failed on my Nissan Murano in rush hour traffic in Oklahoma city. My wife and 5 yr old son in the vehicle, resulting in a very dangerous situation. She was almost run over. After looking into this problem I have found hundreds of people that have had the same thing happen to them. I think Nissan has a serious problem with this car that they are not addressing. This could have resulted in injury or death and Nissan refuses to acknowledge this ticking time bomb in their Muranos. Seems the problem is exclusive to the cvt transmission. I'm looking at a $6400 repair bill because it is 5000 miles out of warranty. When this occurs the vehicle simply stops moving and must be towed. Also told cannot fix cvt, must be replaced with brand new cvt, $6000.

- Weatherford, OK, USA

problem #9

Nov 282008

Murano

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle froze up and stopped abruptly while driving without warning. Had to be towed to service center. The transmission had to be replaced at a cost of $5800. Was told that the old one could not be repaired, had to be replaced.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jul 192008

Murano

  • 68,500 miles
2005 Nissan Murano with 68K miles suddenly lurched forward in my driveway almost wrecking into my house. No previous symptoms or dash lights. Towed it to the dealership, which said they didn't know what was wrong or why, but repair cost is $5,500. No other options given as they do not repair - only replace transmissions. No other shop is authorized to work on this model of transmissions. So I have no options.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #7

May 082008

Murano

  • 66,000 miles
Squealing noise coming from car, took in and paid $100+ for Nissan to diagnose the problem as internal transmission failure. Car had 66,000 miles on it which was 6,000 miles over warranty. Nissan would not cover to replace or fix the transmission. Was told cost to replace transmission would be $4,500. This happened in may did not get a response from Nissan until July.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 112008

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
2005 Nissan Murano cvt transmission failure at 90,000 miles - requires transmission replacement for $6,400 due to failed sensor in transmission. Many others are reporting same failure with their 2003 and newer Muranos on various websites.

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 092008

Murano

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car will not accelerate when I put on the gas. It started about a month ago and has gotten progressively worse. I pulled out into traffic today and almost got clobbered by another car because my car was stalling and hesitating 5 to 10 seconds at at time in the middle of the road! I could have been seriously hurt. I am parking the car until I can trade it in. I am 1000 miles out of warranty and they will not fix it for less than 6,000 dollars! ridiculous!

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #4

Dec 182007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
Transmission seized up without any prior warning. I was traveling on interstate 81 at about 65 miles per hour when I had no power. Engine was working fine, but, as I found out later, my cvt transmission have self destruct, due to a code sent from the tcm module. I was in heavy traffic any was fortunate enough to be able to get to the shoulder of the road and not be involved in an accident.

- Saltville, VA, USA

problem #3

Aug 252006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,500 miles
Exiting parking lot onto roadway, engine hesitation with little acceleration, AWD lock comes on, service engine soon comes on. Turn off roadway, shut off vehicle and restart, no acceleration power, malfunction indicator lights still on - cannot drive vehicle. Next morning towed to dealership; report is a code U1000 - electrical and ground wire problem. Tsb procedure followed based on the code. However, tsb says it applies to the code only when no malfunction indicators lights are on. Therefore, I do not believe problem is fixed. Also, since then a vibration is detected through the gas pedal when accelerating. Service manager and tech test drove and stated there was something detected but no fix since there is no tsb for this kind of problem.

- Lynnfield, MA, USA

problem #2

May 152006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 60 mph on the highway, the vehicle stalled without warning. Although no attempt was made to restart the engine, the vehicle was towed to a dealer. The dealer was unable to determine the cause, but reset the computer. Afterwards the computer was reset the vehicle stalled again. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer. The service department determined that the automatic transmission needed to be replaced. Updated 6/16/2006 -

- Briarcliff Manor, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 052005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The windshield is distorted. The glass is wavy, and it is hard to see out of. The windshield the problem was with the outer sides of the windshield. The consumer noticed the problem about two weeks after purchasing it. This occurred on April 5, 2005. When the consumer went to two different dealerships, he was advised that every vehicle of that year, make, and model had the same problem. When he contacted the manufacturer, they said that they were made that way. The contact states that the vehicle was supposed to be a 4-wheel drive, but it is only an all wheel drive vehicle when the road is wet.

- Atlanic Beach, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?