Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Murano accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 11 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #185

May 012010

Murano 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Nissan Murano sl drivers seat motor failed in car with 30,000 miles on it. As a result, I cannot reach the gas or brake pedal. I have been able to use pillows to get me to the pedals. I filed a complaint with Nissan in July 2010 and also in June 2011. Research on car forums shows this is a common defect. The part needs to be replaced - estimate is $1200. Nissan should issue a recall on these seats.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #184

Jul 052011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 78,500 miles
I have a 2006 Nissan Murano, and yesterday my wife was driving it and the seat broke. This is the same complaint as every other Nissan Murano owner has had apparently. The back left part of the seat broke. Nissan wants $1000 to fix a faulty part. My wife is lucky to have not gotten into a wreak. This is a very dangerous issue.

- Oh, OH, USA

problem #183

Jul 062011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Structural failure of the anchor/bracket on the left rear side of 06 Nissan drivers seat. I would hear a squeaking when I would sit down but found mount bolts tight. Sat in it 6 July 2011and drivers seat broke and fell to the rear and towards driver door. Unsafe to drive in that condition. Looked it up on-line and found numerous other complaints about this part. Right now I have a piece of wood supporting the seat so I can get it to dealership. When will something be done on this defective part" does someone have to die first"

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #182

Jun 282011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 111,903 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure and driver seat failure.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #181

May 152011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
There was no event that happened prior to this problem. Driver's seat has a rocking back and forth motion at the left rear. It appears NHTSA has issued a tsb for this problem previously, but the problems still occur.

- Mo, MO, USA

problem #180

May 312011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
There was no event leading up to the failure. I simply got into my car and noted that the driver's seat suddenly rocked back and forth like it was off track or had come unbolted from the base. While driving the seat was unstable and would shift in place, especially around corners. I took the car to a local repair shop and was informed that the problem was a broken support bar. Apparently the weld where it met at the seat frame had failed.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #179

May 232011

Murano

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Murano. The contact stated the bracket on the driver seat was broken and unstable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated to repair the failure he had to pay the repair cost. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. There were no related recalls or warranties for the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Hogansville, GA, USA

problem #178

May 232011

Murano

  • 83,208 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan mirano. The contact stated the front driver side seat was broken. When the contact made a left or right turn the seat would sway in the same direction as the vehicle. Neither the dealer or manufacturer were contacted. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 83,208.

- Fallis, MS, USA

problem #177

May 082011

Murano

  • 48,000 miles
My driver's seat began rocking badly on May 8, 2011. There had been no unusual incidents or accidents. It appears that the framing on the driver's seat has broken and now my seat rocks badly anytime I get in or out of the car, as well as anytime I make a turn or drive around a curve in the road. It also pitches back and forth whenever I make a stop, thereby feeling like and "ejector" seat and choking me with the seat belt.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #176

May 272011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I own a 2006 Nissan Murano and while driving I heard a "snap" sound and the left year of the driver's seat sank which caused me to jerk the steering wheel into the oncoming lane of traffic. Fortunately there was no oncoming traffic. I took the car to my service station and upon inspection they revealed the seat frame in the back left cracked so now the seat rocks side to side. The seat is no longer stable.

- Island Lake, IL, USA

problem #175

May 222011

Murano

  • 76,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving, the seat fractured and the headrest reclined backward. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer yet the manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was out of warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 76,200.

- Powhatan , VA, USA

problem #174

May 222011

Murano

  • 75,000 miles
2006 Murano seat broke today while I was driving. It is the bracket in the left-side rear of the driver seat. It was terrifying when it happened as I almost caused an accident!. seats are not supposed to break in this manner. I just found out there is not a recall for this issue. It is ridiculous nothing is being done about this. I am an engineer and immediately noticed this part is of poor design.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #173

Apr 302011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 60,125 miles
Purchased 2006 Nissan Murano sl with 46K miles. At 60K miles, my driver seat began to rock and now it leans to the left side. The seat is broken and will have to be repaired. From what I've read, this problem is wide spread with Muranos and the repair cost is up to $1,000 I think Nissan should repair this item free and have a recall for it.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #172

Apr 272011

Murano

  • 64,000 miles
I own a 2006 Nissan Murano and the drivers side seat is loose on the left side of the driver's seat. I have 64,000 miles on it so it is probably not covered under warranty but is an extreme safety risk.

- Walton, KY, USA

problem #171

Apr 232011

Murano

  • 60,000 miles
My 2006 Nissan Murano with 60K miles had a failure in the drivers seat today that nearly caused an accident. The failure is well documented and causes the seat to sit towards the door at an extreme angle and leaving the driver in an unsafe driving position. Nissan has been completely unhelpful in fixing it as they want $1200 to repair.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #170

Apr 032011

Murano

  • 71,627 miles
I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan Murano. While I was driving one day the left side of the seat snapped and started to sag significantly. I luckily maintained control of my vehicle despite the sudden rock back in the seat. I did nothing to cause this and I weigh under 200 lbs. There is no reason for this problem that I am aware of. I then took it to a dealer who said that it would cost me $600 without even looking at the car. I just told him what happened and he knew the pieces and prices. It seems to be an incredibly common problem but nothing has been done about it so far. This seat breaking could cause an accident, injuries, or even death when it happens. There have been several complaints in this forum and I have seen complaints in several other forums. Will this be allowed to be continued at the safety of other drivers or will this problem be resolved? Nissan doesn't appear to care about it, quite the opposite they seem happy to charge ridiculous amounts of money to fix it. So I'm hoping that a solution for this can be found.

- Mount Airy, NC, USA

problem #169

Apr 082011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
1. purchased 2006 Nissan Murano in May 2010 with 40,000 miles on it. At 40,000 miles the front left tire started to make a grinding noise. 2. at 47,000 miles wheel bearing on front left tire went bad. At 51,000 miles was driving the car and heard a snap and the left side of the drivers seat collapsed and now rocks back and forth making it not only unsafe but also uncomfortable to drive. 3. paid $500 to get the wheel bearing repaired on the car. Took the car into Nissan dealership to get the seat looked at and were told that it would be a $1300 repair because Nissan does not make the part that was defective, therefore we would have to pay to get the entire seat replaced. These are both safety issues and there are 1,000's of complaints on both of these issues yet Nissan still refuses to pay for the repairs or recall the parts.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #168

Apr 122011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Driver's side seat frame broke and is now listing heavily to one side. Not exactly sure when the failure occurred but noticed that during the resetting (between buttons 1 and 2) that the seat would only raise on the right, not left. That was about a month ago. Today, while cleaning the vehicle I was wiping the seats down and noticed that the entire unit is unstable. This is a safety concern and I'm shocked by the apparent lack of Nissan's response. I have not contacted Nissan yet but will do so in the next few days. The earliest I can get the Murano into the dealership is two weeks from today. A poor way to run a business.

- Pullman, WA, USA

problem #167

Feb 152011

Murano

  • 58,000 miles
Dear sir/madam, I have a Nissan Murano 2006 and I am the second owner...I got this car on March 2010. On Feb 15th 2011, when I entered the car and put the key in ignition I heard a popping sound in the driver side car seat...since then the car seat is rocking towards the left back side and seems like it can fall anytime...I took it to the dealer and he said its a common problem in Murano and will cost 1100$. I think this should be reported and you guys should take a proper action against the car manufacturer...I can see hundreds and thousands of posts related to this problem online....so this is definitely a defect in manufacturing and should be recalled. I believe you will do the needful thanks

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #166

Mar 152011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 92,443 miles
Broken drivers seat frame.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?