Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,942 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #106

Jun 162010

Pathfinder

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated the fuel sending unit has malfunctioned causing the gas tank to give an inaccurate reading. The contact stated that while driving it's difficult to tell how much fuel is in the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that the fuel sending unit needed to be replaced. The contact noticed a recall for the fuel sending unit on the 2006 model but not the 2005 model path finder. The contact stated the manufacturer should reissue the recall to later model vehicles. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #105

Aug 152010

Pathfinder

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. When the check engine light illuminated he noticed that the gas gauge failed. The gauge reads empty whether the fuel tank was empty or full. The vehicle was taken to the garage to diagnose the failure in the fuel level sensor. The manufacturer took report 68729973 and they advised him that he had to take the vehicle to the dealership to be diagnosed for them to consider assisting with the repairs. He also experienced a failure with the transmission due to the defective radiator which caused the radiator fluid to leak into the transmission. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Moodus , CT, USA

problem #104

Jul 012010

Pathfinder

  • 75,000 miles
We own a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. About 6 months ago, the gas gauge started working erratically. We would fill up the tank and it wouldn't register at all and then the next time we got in the car it would register something, but the miles to empty was never accurate. Eventually it got to where it didn't work at all and just stayed on empty. I finally had to learn how many miles I would get per tank and fill up based on that number. Then one day after a long trip, I got a little off on the mileage and ran out of gas completely on a major freeway in the inside lane with no shoulder. Fortunately, I did not have my two children in the car and within about 10min of running out of gas, a state trooper pulled up behind me and pushed me out of harms way. However, had that state trooper not shown up, it would have been very bad and it certainly was dangerous for all involved. It turns out that Nissan has had issues with the fuel level sending unit on several of their models through multiple years. For some reason, they did not include the 2005 model on their recall of this defective part. Our car did fail its recent inspection because of the faulty part and my husband ended up replacing it himself at our cost. I hope something is done to correct this issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #103

Jun 232010

Pathfinder

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that the service engine warning light illuminated while the fuel level gauge would only indicate that the fuel tank was half full. The contact stated that the fuel tank was full with gasoline. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the contact was advised that the fuel sensor sending unit was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 59,000.

- Albertville, MN, USA

problem #102

May 192009

Pathfinder

  • 75,000 miles
The fuel sensor on my 2005 Nissan Pathfinder has failed. The car registers the fuel tank is empty when there is less than 1/2 tank. This is the second major issue on this car with numerous complaints from others on.this topic and the engine coolant system. This car needs to be recalled!!!!!!!!!!

- Temple, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #101

Aug 042010

Pathfinder

  • 65,460 miles
Our 2005 Nissan Pathfinder had an issue with its fuel gauge recently where the gauge would not work properly and tell us the correct amount of gas in the car. I googled the problem and based on the forums and responses it is a known problem. It seems that all Pathfinder models from 2005-2008 has this problem occur. Which seems to be a safety issue, because you cannot tell how much gas is in the car and you could run out on the highway. Nissan recalled titan, armada, QX56, quest (2005-2008), and also fountier, xterra, and Pathfinder (but only cars manufactured Jan-marc 2006 and Oct 2007-Jan 2008) for this issue. We took our car to Nissan of eastside to get this looked at and it is going to cost us $535 + tax. Nissan of eastside said they don't know why 2005 Pathfinders were not recalled, and it is the same part that the other cars that were recalled had replaced. Can you help us find out why 2005 Pathfinders were not part of this recall? I called Nissan Consumer Affairs and they know that this is same part for 2005, but were not reimbursing for repair since it was not part of recall. This is a safety hazard and seems to effect 2005.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #100

Aug 102010

Pathfinder

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel sensor went out on my 2005 Nissan Pathfinder and it is the same part that was recalled in the 2006 Pathfinders!!!!

- Turtletown, TN, USA

problem #99

Jul 232010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 73,200 miles
The fuel level sending unit has failed on my 2005 Nissan Pathfinder causing the fuel level gauge to provide inaccurate readings. The failure occurred one month ago. Since then my fuel gauge has provided inaccurate gas level readings potentially causing me to run out of gas while on the highway. I have not yet attempted to get the part fixed, but after doing some on-line research I have learned that it will cost about $500 to fix. The problem is, apparently, relatively widespread.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #98

Jul 252008

Pathfinder

  • 40,000 miles
Faulty fuel sending unit/sensor... doesn't work. And 'check engine soon light' goes on and off all the time!

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #97

Jun 152009

Pathfinder

  • 49,000 miles
On a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder the fuel gauge stopped working properly with only 49,000 miles on vehicle. Vehicle was also less than 5 yrs old. Check engine light also came on at same time and remains on even after dealer servicing for an unrelated problem. After contacting Nissan via email twice, and once over the phone, Nissan will not acknowledge that (according to internet reports) hundreds, if not thousands, of people have the same identical problem. I believe they should be forced to recall these vehicles for this problem. This poses a safety hazard due to drivers running out of gas, thus walking on freeways; with their vehicles either blocking traffic or parked on the freeway. Please help! Nissan is negligent!

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #96

May 232009

Pathfinder

  • 44,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My gas gauge was not functioning (indicated empty) after I filled the tank and then it would seem to start working again after driving for a few days. It happens each time I fill the tank. I have run out of gas once even though the indicator said I had a half tank. I took it to southern states Nissan in raleigh and they said the fix would cost over $400. I did not get it fixed so I just hope it will have gas even though the tank will read half.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #95

Aug 072010

Pathfinder

  • 51,000 miles
2005 Nissan Pathfinder, service engine light is on due to the fuel level sensor (fuel tank is full, gage read 1/4 or half) and this leads me to not know how much fuel is in the vehicle. The vehicle has 51,000 miles.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #94

Dec 012009

Pathfinder

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder that started having problems with the fuel level sensor shortly after I purchased it used. The problem started around 60,000 miles. The fuel level will read empty even after the vehicle has been filled up. It also displays a service engine soon light because of the problem. My first concern is the vehicle running out of gas while driving down the road and loosing power steering, power brakes and control of the vehicle. Another major concern is that something else could go wrong with the engine but I would never know because the service engine soon light is always on due to the fuel level sensor. This vehicle is primarily driven by my wife with my infant son so my most serious concern is that they could become stranded on the side of the road. Nissan is aware of this problem and has even posted a technical bulletin ntb07-069A concerning the faulty part. The fault code is P0463 fuel level sending unit.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #93

Dec 012009

Pathfinder

  • 45,000 miles
2005 Nissan Pathfinder fuel level sensor fails... there is currently a recall for this similar issue on the 2006 and 2008 Nissan Pathfinder. The 2005 Nissan Pathfinder should be included also for the same reason. The vehicle could run out of gas due to the failed gas level sensor and result in a crash. My 2005 Pathfinder fuel gauge is malfunctioning, and from what I have read, Nissan is aware of the problem but refuses to cover it under any warranty. Shouldn't the failure in the 2005 Nissan vehicles have been included in the current recall as well?

- East Rochester, NH, USA

problem #92

Sep 012009

Pathfinder

  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder which has the same problem addressed in NHTSA campaign number 10V075000. The fuel sending unit shows the vehicle has gasoline when it is empty. This is a safety factor because "this could cause the vehicle to run out of gas and stall in traffic, increasing the risk of a crash." I have filed two complaints with Nissan North America and they refused to correct the defect.

- Newton, AL, USA

problem #91

Apr 012010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I bought a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder in Sept of 08, it had 39990 miles on it. A couple of months ago, my check engine light came on and the fuel gauge needle dropped from a full tank to empty. I took it to my mechanic and told him what had happened, he said it sounded like the fuel sending unit, so he hooked it up to the computer and that is exactly what it said the problem was. My Pathfinder has 94000 miles on it now(54000 is what I put on it) I did a search online and found at topix.com, in the Pathfinder forum out of 48 posts 10 were the 2005 Pathfinder, 14 were 2006, 7 were 2007, 2 were 2008 & 1 was the 2009 all with the very same problem. There seems to be a re-occurring problem here. The recall on the Pathfinder with the same problem was for the ones produced between 1/06 & 3/06 or 10/7-1/08. I think that this needs to be investigated. I own 2 Nissan maximas one is a 1994 the other 2001 and I have never had any issues with them. Please see what you can do about this.

- Ochlocknee, GA, USA

problem #90

Jun 152010

Pathfinder

  • 114,000 miles
The molded fuel tank shell has deformed, causing the fuel sender float arm to contact an embossment molded into the tank shell causing the instrument panel fuel gauge to show that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty. This could cause the vehicle to run out of gas and stall in traffic, increasing the risk of a crash. This is the same condition and parts that are on the 2006 Pathfinder. Nissan issued a recall to replace the fuel level sending unit inside the fuel tank with a new one that has a modified float arm.on the 2006 and 2008 year models of Pathfinder but not the 2005. The recall notice issued was NHTSA campaign id no: 10V075000. How can this condition be acceptable for the 2005 model and considered unsafe for later year models?

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #89

Jul 022009

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Began around 45,000 miles. Service engine light displays, with an inaccurate and erratic fuel gauge reading. Vehicle shows empty with warning light while driving. No way to tell how much gas is in the vehicle at times and consider it a safety issue. It is a known failure of the 'fuel sending unit' with many Nissan, dealership was aware, Nissan voluntarily recalled some 2006 and 2008 Nissan paths for the fuel gauge/sending units but not 2005! it is the same exact problem. I travel with my young daughter and I had to repair at my expense so that I wouldn't run out of gas. A young mother out of gas and stranded with her young child ---how unsafe can you get? 2005S should be repaired at their expense.

- Purvis, MS, USA

problem #88

Jun 222010

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
2005 Nissan Pathfinder: Service engine soon light code P0463 was diagnosed as a failed fuel sending unit. Failure resulted in inaccurate measurement of fuel present in the vehicle's fuel tank. The total cost of parts and labor to replace the failed sending unit at a Nissan service department was just less than $600.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #87

May 152009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,499 miles
The check engine light came on approximately 12 months ago regarding the fuel level sensor (which is attached to the fuel pump and enclosed inside the gas tank). Nissan has recalled 2006 and newer models for the same problem but not the 2005 models. This failure causes erratic readings in the fuel level gauge on a regular basis and can cause the vehicle to cease operation even though the gauge shows fuel availability. Unfortunately my vehicle will fail its upcoming state mandated emission inspection even though it has not emission issue or fuel vapor leak. Nissan wants $600+ to repair this defect. Upon viewing national websites it appears this is a very common occurrence with the 2005 Nissan models.

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?